ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Draconius GO
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #8551    
Old March 10th, 2009 (9:15 PM). Edited March 10th, 2009 by thrilljack.
thrilljack thrilljack is offline
     
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Posts: 2
    I'm using Advanced map to put 152+ pokemon (totodile, mudkip, misdraevus, etc) into my Fire Red game. I thought I'd test it a bit before I started modding my game, so I used Pokemon Amplifier to mod these 152+ pokemon to evolve at lvl 4 or 5.
    I went to route 1, caught a totodile, and then leveled it to 4. It went to the evolution screen, but then the evolution cancelled and the text box ended with "...?"

    What's the problem here, and how can I fix it?

    EDIT: I searched and found out that evidently I have to enable a national pokedex (I searched the site and got nothing, but when I searched the thread I found lots. Why in the world doesn't searching the website also search threads? Dumb...)
    Anyways, doing another search for how to get a national pokedex isn't giving me much. Can anybody give me some pointers, some links maybe?

    EDIT 2: More searching has turned up this:
    For fire red, it's setflag 0x829.
    If you want the national dex, do this:
    setflag 0x829
    special 0x16F

    OK so... I'm new to this. What does that mean, where do I put it, and what program do I use?

    Relevant Advertising!

      #8552    
    Old March 10th, 2009 (10:57 PM).
    Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
    Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
    The Faltine
       
      Join Date: Mar 2008
      Location: Slovenia
      Age: 21
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 3,578
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by thrilljack View Post
      I'm using Advanced map to put 152+ pokemon (totodile, mudkip, misdraevus, etc) into my Fire Red game. I thought I'd test it a bit before I started modding my game, so I used Pokemon Amplifier to mod these 152+ pokemon to evolve at lvl 4 or 5.
      I went to route 1, caught a totodile, and then leveled it to 4. It went to the evolution screen, but then the evolution cancelled and the text box ended with "...?"

      What's the problem here, and how can I fix it?

      EDIT: I searched and found out that evidently I have to enable a national pokedex (I searched the site and got nothing, but when I searched the thread I found lots. Why in the world doesn't searching the website also search threads? Dumb...)
      Anyways, doing another search for how to get a national pokedex isn't giving me much. Can anybody give me some pointers, some links maybe?

      EDIT 2: More searching has turned up this:
      For fire red, it's setflag 0x829.
      If you want the national dex, do this:
      setflag 0x829
      special 0x16F

      OK so... I'm new to this. What does that mean, where do I put it, and what program do I use?
      For EDIT 2, you have to make a script and then compile it in XSE. Those are called scripting. Diegoisawesome's tutorial should be able to help you.
      __________________
        #8553    
      Old March 10th, 2009 (11:12 PM).
      thrilljack thrilljack is offline
         
        Join Date: Mar 2009
        Posts: 2
        Thanks for the help and (sorry for the stupid question but...) where can I get XSE? I've searched for it and it seems like it's the one mod I can't find a download link for, and yet everybody seems to have it or mention it.
          #8554    
        Old March 10th, 2009 (11:53 PM).
        Pokepal17's Avatar
        Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
        More cowbell~
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Oct 2008
        Location: Steeltown
        Age: 23
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Modest
        Posts: 1,517
        It's in HackMew's tool thread in the Toolbox.
        __________________
        Pokémon Stardrop
          #8555    
        Old March 11th, 2009 (7:09 AM).
        Raziel Raziel is offline
           
          Join Date: Sep 2007
          Gender:
          Posts: 12
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by ~Watermelon View Post
          You have to use specials for badges. I can't really make out the difference between additem and giveitem.
          And, all this shows you in the file std.rbh that came out with your XSE.
          Ah, I didn't notice those files.. Thanks a lot :D
            #8556    
          Old March 11th, 2009 (8:07 AM).
          Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
          Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
          The Faltine
             
            Join Date: Mar 2008
            Location: Slovenia
            Age: 21
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 3,578
            I have another question:
            I Naranja, the Wingull just flew above everything, every tile. How is that possible?
            __________________
              #8557    
            Old March 11th, 2009 (10:45 AM).
            Lyzo's Avatar
            Lyzo Lyzo is offline
            On vacation
               
              Join Date: Mar 2007
              Location: The Netherlands
              Age: 22
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Bold
              Posts: 252
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Equeraide View Post
              I've searched these and nothing helped me out.. I don't know what to search... I SEARCHED ALL OF THESE...

              1. How do you execute a certain script within radius of the NPC?
              example: You come down a ladder, you walk to the right 1 cell, there's an NPC there who says "Hello," and other stuff to you, but he's 9 cells away. How do you execute it from that far away? Sorta like the trainer-radius thingie.
              what I've tried: setting the radius in Advance Map; searching

              2. Execute a script made in XSE on a "Script event" on Advance Map
              example: You leave a house, then there's a Script Event when you have 2 cells to the right. After standing on the script event, it says like "You cannot go here" etc.
              what I've tried: simply putting an offset that worked with an NPC onto the Script Event (It just says hello, works with an NPC but not when on the script)

              3. Warping an NPC
              example: You go down and see an enemy. the enemy warps away, kinda like the "warpteleport" for the NPC.
              what I've tried: I HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO EVEN START THIS....

              4. How do you make an NPC seeable/unseeable only once you've ran a script?
              example: You talk to prof. oak, you walk outside and this guy who has previously been blocking the path has now stopped, or vice versa.
              what I've tried: I think I found the script for this before, then I lost it then never ever saw it again

              5. How do you do specials/turning..
              Examples:
              SPECIALS: When the "!, ? !!" or "X" pops up.
              TURNING: Turn the NPC to face upwards, downwards, left, or to the right without moving, in place.
              what I've tried: #raw (whatever the special thingie is)

              I really need help with this, to my case there are NO guides that explains any of these...
              Here's the answer in a spoiler :P.
              Spoiler:

              1. Just use a "Script Event".

              2. This depends, scripts without movements will probably work fine, however scripts with movements need special numbers to work, you can change these in advance map by doing the following: In advance map, go to the events tab and click on your green "Script Event" Tile. Then you will see a bunch of things on the left:

              So what you do is change the first "Unkown" to "0300" and change the "Var Number" to "5040"

              3. Just use the "movesprite" command. It's used like this: movesprite [people number] [x coordinate to move to] [y coordinate to move to]
              Example:
              Code:
              movesprite 0x4 0xA 0xA
              I said to move the sprite with people number "4" to the posistion of "10, 10"
              Now notice that this is only temporary and will only stay so till you exit the map. To actually move it forever, you'd have to make two different sprites and first the first one dissappear with a flag and then make the otherone appear by using a clearflag. (You can find out about flags in almost all the scripting tutorials, but I advise you to look here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=164276 )

              4. Making a person dissappear is always done using flags. Once you're done with a person and want to make it dissappear, set a flag. For instance flag 200 and change the persons "Person ID" to "0200". It won't dissappear right away, but after leaving the map it will be gone untill you clear the flag 200.

              Setting and clearing flags goes like this: using the commands, "setflag" and "clearflag".
              Example:
              Code:
              setflag 0x200
              clearflag 0x200
              
              Simple enough right?
              If you want to make a person dissappear in an event use the command "hidesprite". To never let this sprite appear again, use a flag as well, otherwise the sprite will come back after the map is refreshed.
              This is done like this:
              Code:
              hidesprite 0x3
              setflag 0x200
              
              Set the persons ID to 0200 and after the event happens it won't appear again.
              5. This is all done by the command "applymovement" I don't feel like explaining this, so just look at the same tutorial I gave you before: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=164276
              __________________


              Thank you The Blueprint !!!
                #8558    
              Old March 11th, 2009 (12:07 PM).
              Xatoku's Avatar
              Xatoku Xatoku is offline
              Game Developer
                 
                Join Date: Feb 2009
                Location: Canada
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 451
                What do these values mean for the trainerbattle script?

                trainerbattle 0x0 0xB2 0x0 0x8781A60 0x8781AB2

                What does 0x0 mean?
                0xB2?
                0x8781A60? etc.
                  #8559    
                Old March 11th, 2009 (12:39 PM).
                Christos's Avatar
                Christos Christos is offline
                • Platinum Tier
                 
                Join Date: Feb 2006
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Serious
                Posts: 6,414
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Xatoku View Post
                What do these values mean for the trainerbattle script?

                trainerbattle 0x0 0xB2 0x0 0x8781A60 0x8781AB2

                What does 0x0 mean?
                0xB2?
                0x8781A60? etc.
                The first is the type of the battle, the second is the battle number and the last two pointers are for the text, the one before the battle and the defeat text.

                There's a lot of tutorials explaining the trainerbattle command, and you can even see what the parameters are in script editors such as XSE.
                __________________

                A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                  #8560    
                Old March 11th, 2009 (1:59 PM).
                Diegoisawesome's Avatar
                Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
                Oh god the bees
                • Silver Tier
                 
                Join Date: Dec 2007
                Location: :noitacoL
                Age: 20
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Naive
                Posts: 1,039
                I have a problem with Sappy 2006:
                I've installed all the VB6 Runtime files. Sappy works fine...until I press practically any button. When I do, it closes. Can anyone help???
                __________________


                My other resources:
                My Website
                diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
                diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
                The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
                Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
                GBA Intro Manager
                The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
                  #8561    
                Old March 11th, 2009 (3:26 PM).
                Xatoku's Avatar
                Xatoku Xatoku is offline
                Game Developer
                   
                  Join Date: Feb 2009
                  Location: Canada
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 451
                  Alright my question is, when I change the backsprite and everything it works perfectly, except for the last sprite going back to the old back sprite, how do I fix this?
                    #8562    
                  Old March 11th, 2009 (4:49 PM).
                  Equeraide Equeraide is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Jan 2009
                    Gender:
                    Posts: 11
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Lyzo View Post
                    Here's the answer in a spoiler .
                    THANKS!! All worked as planned, but gave me one more question...

                    1. How do you make an NPC move on a Script Tile/Event? I tested the script on a regular person, and they moved, but they didn't move at all (but executed the other scripts) when I set the script on a Script Tile/Event

                    Script:
                    Code:
                    #dynamic 0x800000
                    #org @start
                    lock
                    msgbox @heyYou 0x6
                    applymovement 0xFF @surprise
                    waitmovement 0x0
                    applymovement 0x04 @walkTowardsYou
                    waitmovement 0x0
                    release
                    end
                    #org @heyYou
                    = \c\h01\h04???: HEY YOU!!!
                    #org @surprise
                    #raw 0x62 0x01 0xFE
                    #org @walkTowardsYou
                    #raw 0x12 0x12 0x12 0x12 0x10 0x12 0x12 0x12 0x11 0x12 0x12 0x10 0x12 0x10 0x10 0x13 0x10 0xFE
                      #8563    
                    Old March 11th, 2009 (7:40 PM).
                    FinalZero's Avatar
                    FinalZero FinalZero is offline
                    ...
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2008
                      Posts: 115
                      In this thread of "[READ] Frequently Asked Questions" (I'm sorry, it won't let me post URLs...) it was said:
                      Quote:
                      3. It is near-impossible to use ALL the pokemon in any hack. Why? Because the game only has 25 (98 with the advance versions if you know what you're doing) free slots to add more pokemon. More slots require engine-hacking.
                      I'm aware of the 25 slots before the generation III pokemon begin, but what/where are the others it is talking about?

                      Also, has any knowledge been collected on how to modify and/or add natures?
                        #8564    
                      Old March 12th, 2009 (11:34 AM).
                      Tharghana's Avatar
                      Tharghana Tharghana is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2007
                        Location: Canada
                        Gender:
                        Nature: Adamant
                        Posts: 8
                        I need some help here, IS There a Way to Edit the Pokemon Types, now, let me say this clearly, NOT the types of Pokemon, the Types THEMSELVES, like Change Dark-Type from being immune to Psychic. If there is a way, Some help would be appreciated.
                        __________________

                          #8565    
                        Old March 12th, 2009 (12:06 PM).
                        Spookyghost Spookyghost is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Jan 2009
                          Posts: 30
                          As above poster said. I'm also interested in doing this, is there a way to insert/add new types?
                            #8566    
                          Old March 12th, 2009 (12:21 PM).
                          Xatoku's Avatar
                          Xatoku Xatoku is offline
                          Game Developer
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2009
                            Location: Canada
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 451
                            Is there a way to view tilesets so you can use them for your own hack?
                              #8567    
                            Old March 12th, 2009 (12:31 PM).
                            Pokepal17's Avatar
                            Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                            More cowbell~
                            • Silver Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Oct 2008
                            Location: Steeltown
                            Age: 23
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Modest
                            Posts: 1,517
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Xatoku View Post
                            Is there a way to view tilesets so you can use them for your own hack?
                            Only by looking in a map which is made from that tileset.
                            __________________
                            Pokémon Stardrop
                              #8568    
                            Old March 12th, 2009 (12:36 PM).
                            Xatoku's Avatar
                            Xatoku Xatoku is offline
                            Game Developer
                               
                              Join Date: Feb 2009
                              Location: Canada
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 451
                              So you can't save them for your own hack?
                                #8569    
                              Old March 12th, 2009 (12:50 PM).
                              Pokepal17's Avatar
                              Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                              More cowbell~
                              • Silver Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2008
                              Location: Steeltown
                              Age: 23
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Modest
                              Posts: 1,517
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Xatoku View Post
                              So you can't save them for your own hack?
                              You can rip them from the ROM if that's what you mean.
                              Just go to the block editor and click on picture -> save tileset (1 for the first one used in the map, 2 for the second). Then save it and you have your tileset.
                              __________________
                              Pokémon Stardrop
                                #8570    
                              Old March 12th, 2009 (1:04 PM).
                              Xatoku's Avatar
                              Xatoku Xatoku is offline
                              Game Developer
                                 
                                Join Date: Feb 2009
                                Location: Canada
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 451
                                Thank you! You made my day 1 more question, how do you import the saved Tileset into the other rom?
                                  #8571    
                                Old March 12th, 2009 (2:28 PM).
                                EkshtrimSama's Avatar
                                EkshtrimSama EkshtrimSama is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: May 2007
                                  Nature: Adamant
                                  Posts: 60
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by EkshtrimSama View Post
                                  Crystal Question
                                  What is the highest EXP Base Value that is possible without messing up the game? [Simply is it possible to go beyond 255?]
                                  Someone? :<
                                  I just dont wanna mess the game.. [Almost happened with level 255 pokemons]
                                  __________________
                                    #8572    
                                  Old March 12th, 2009 (2:40 PM).
                                  FinalZero's Avatar
                                  FinalZero FinalZero is offline
                                  ...
                                     
                                    Join Date: Dec 2008
                                    Posts: 115
                                    Quote:
                                    I need some help here, IS There a Way to Edit the Pokemon Types, now, let me say this clearly, NOT the types of Pokemon, the Types THEMSELVES, like Change Dark-Type from being immune to Psychic. If there is a way, Some help would be appreciated.
                                    This thread: (put "www" in front) explains how to: pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=83674

                                    Quote:
                                    As above poster said. I'm also interested in doing this, is there a way to insert/add new types?
                                    I don't know how to add new types though.
                                      #8573    
                                    Old March 12th, 2009 (3:32 PM). Edited March 12th, 2009 by mrhiyuck.
                                    mrhiyuck's Avatar
                                    mrhiyuck mrhiyuck is offline
                                    //
                                       
                                      Join Date: Sep 2007
                                      Posts: 29
                                      I have hopefully a quick question.

                                      I recently changed the hero sprite from 16x32 to 32x32 using Overworld Changer and edited it as there was nothing there with the new offset. When I loaded up the ROM there wasn't a hero sprite at all, it didn't seem to load. However, when I tested a ice tile with the sliding, the sprite loads for the sliding effect and on the next tile. However, on moving it again it disappears. Help on resolving this?
                                        #8574    
                                      Old March 12th, 2009 (4:14 PM).
                                      AmusedRaccoon's Avatar
                                      AmusedRaccoon AmusedRaccoon is offline
                                      Dilettante
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2008
                                        Nature: Lax
                                        Posts: 48
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Xatoku View Post
                                        Thank you! You made my day 1 more question, how do you import the saved Tileset into the other rom?
                                        In the block editor, in the same place where it says "Save Tileset 1" (or 2), right under it is "Load Tileset 1" (or 2).

                                        What I do is make my own tiles, then change one of the unused palettes in AdvanceMap to one of my tiles, then Save Tileset for the one I'm using (usually 2), then copy-paste my tile into the saved tileset, then load again in AdvanceMap. There are tutorials on this somewhere, but that's pretty much the gist of it.



                                        Now, I've searched this thread, its archived version, and the script help thread, and couldn't find anything:

                                        Is there a command to script a monochrome (black and white) or sepia filter? Or, failing that, can anyone point me to an ASM tutorial that will give me the means to do it?


                                        It's for a flashback sort of scene, if that will help convey what I'm talking about, and I really need to know. Thanks in advance.
                                        __________________

                                        CARROT | 305201384203

                                          #8575    
                                        Old March 12th, 2009 (4:42 PM).
                                        Equeraide Equeraide is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jan 2009
                                          Gender:
                                          Posts: 11
                                          ghrrr!!! 2 more.. (added unresponded one, so 3.)

                                          1. How do you make an NPC move on a Script Tile/Event? I tested the script on a regular person, and they moved, but they didn't move at all (but executed the other scripts) when I set the script on a Script Tile/Event

                                          2. The cave warps won't work... I set the unknown to 03 and all that stuff, it doesn't work. When I replace the sprite with a ladder, it works, but with the cave sprite, it doesn't work. I tried putting the warp tile 1 cell away from the cave sprite, not working. Warp tile on the sprite, not working as well. Tried making the Cave Sprite walkable, nothing. Made it unwalkable, still not walking... This is extremely frustrating me...

                                          3. How do you make an NPC (person) appear invisible at first and become visible when you walk on a Script Event?
                                          Closed Thread

                                          Quick Reply

                                          Join the conversation!

                                          Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                          Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:33 PM.