The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #8701    
Old March 27th, 2009 (8:16 AM).
+Roxas+'s Avatar
+Roxas+ +Roxas+ is offline
God Of Umbreon
     
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Posts: 92
    you just need to go on google, type in lunar ips, go to the first one and download it. If you don't have vba alrady search that up and download it and now go to the site gba rom news it has a search funtion hat you can find any game, type in pokemon firered and walla its says firered dowload that. But Sometimes that does not work so goto to google and type in POKEMON FIRERED ROM and see what comes up, if the site says doperoms, then go there and download that.

    +~Dark Umbreon~+
    __________________

    Relevant Advertising!

      #8702    
    Old March 27th, 2009 (11:36 AM).
    0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
    0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
    Im comin' home...
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Jan 2008
    Location: Superjail Penitentiary
    Age: 24
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Gentle
    Posts: 1,812
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ~Watermelon View Post
    In A-Map, on the Wild Pokemon feature, there's 'Tree'. I don't know what that is.
    I know what Grass, Water and Fishing rod options are, but what's Tree?
    There is a scripting command that starts a wild battle with 'tree' pokemon... I forget which though... or even if it was a scripting command... heh, I haven't used 'tree' in a long time!
    __________________
    >Boot Jailbot
    >Pass *****
    .
    .
    Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
    Greetings Warden
    of Superjail Penitentiary
    Awaiting user input...

    >Display User_Info
    ╠══User Info══╣
    Username:
    0m3GA ARS3NAL
    Age: 18
    Sex: Male ♂
    Race: Caucasian
    Quote:
    "What is this
    I don't even..."

    M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
    ╠══End of File══╣
    Awaiting user input...

    >
      #8703    
    Old March 28th, 2009 (4:46 AM).
    Pokepal17's Avatar
    Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
    More cowbell~
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Oct 2008
    Location: Steeltown
    Age: 22
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Modest
    Posts: 1,511
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
    There is a scripting command that starts a wild battle with 'tree' pokemon... I forget which though... or even if it was a scripting command... heh, I haven't used 'tree' in a long time!
    Well let me help you remember

    special 0xAB

    it's used in rock smash scripts
    __________________
    Pokémon Stardrop
      #8704    
    Old March 28th, 2009 (8:30 AM).
    Kodiak's Avatar
    Kodiak Kodiak is offline
       
      Join Date: Mar 2009
      Posts: 1
      Hey, sorry if this questions already been asked, but I've looked around and have not been able to find an answer to my question.

      I'm new to ROM hacking and I'm trying to figure out how to make testing go faster. Anyway, I was
      wondering if its possible to somehow skip Prof. Oak's whole intro speech at the beginning of the game
      while using VisualBoyAdvance, so I can get right to testing without going through that whole process every time.

      Btw, Im hacking Fire Red if it matters.
      __________________
      Attempting to learn pokemon ROM hacking.
        #8705    
      Old March 28th, 2009 (8:48 AM).
      Aurasan Aurasan is offline
         
        Join Date: Dec 2008
        Gender:
        Posts: 46
        Hi.. looked and did not see. Can someone point me in the direction of all the platinum hacks? Besides promh stats working, I can't think of anything else.. or find anything else. I'd like to edit movesets, and know if this stats really is working. kthxbai
        __________________





          #8706    
        Old March 28th, 2009 (11:51 AM).
        Zephiel Zephiel is offline
           
          Join Date: Feb 2007
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 42
          There was a trainer in my hack that after beating her, I took control of another trainer on the route for some reason and couldn't go anywhere. I deleted her, thinking that would solve the problem, but it didn't. Now another trainer on the route does the same thing. What's the problem? Thanks.
            #8707    
          Old March 28th, 2009 (4:24 PM).
          destinedjagold's Avatar
          destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
          Oh Hai Thar~
          • Silver Tier
           
          Join Date: May 2007
          Location: Philippines
          Age: 26
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Careful
          Posts: 8,507
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Aurasan View Post
          Hi.. looked and did not see. Can someone point me in the direction of all the platinum hacks? Besides promh stats working, I can't think of anything else.. or find anything else. I'd like to edit movesets, and know if this stats really is working. kthxbai
          platinum just came out...
          and tools for hacking the 4th gen is still being worked on.
          try looking somewhere else, for probably there lies what you're looking for. :\

          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Zephiel View Post
          There was a trainer in my hack that after beating her, I took control of another trainer on the route for some reason and couldn't go anywhere. I deleted her, thinking that would solve the problem, but it didn't. Now another trainer on the route does the same thing. What's the problem? Thanks.
          change the direction those NPC's are facing.
          __________________


          FC: 0061-1111-6462
          TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

            #8708    
          Old March 28th, 2009 (4:43 PM).
          abweitl's Avatar
          abweitl abweitl is offline
          :D
             
            Join Date: Dec 2007
            Age: 23
            Gender:
            Posts: 17
            Send a message via AIM to abweitl Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to abweitl
            how do i insert custom tiles and have the right palette in advance map.
              #8709    
            Old March 28th, 2009 (4:44 PM).
            WhereIsIt WhereIsIt is offline
               
              Join Date: Mar 2009
              Posts: 2
              This is for Ruby/Sapphire
              -Like one of the guys above me, I'm not going to look through 351 page's-
              -I HAVE tried the Search button/Tutorial Section and Google and neither of them seem to get me my answer because i just dont know what to write to get my Answer.-

              My question(s) Are

              1-How do i Remove Towns/Routes in Advance Map (If i have to use EliteMap for it then forget it cause i find Advance is more easier to use)

              2-How do i add in(This is where the wording issue comes in so ill just say what it is i want)
              I want to make a battle like when you fight Rayquaza i can get the battle thing done and everything but when i finish my battle Rayquaza also dissapears along with the pokemon that i add for that Type of battle. All i wanna know is how to add it WITHOUT Screwing over the others.

              3-Is it possible to ADD pokemon and keep all the others?
                #8710    
              Old March 28th, 2009 (5:06 PM).
              sasquatchd00d's Avatar
              sasquatchd00d sasquatchd00d is offline
              welcoming a clean head.
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2008
                Location: barracuda, capital of the world
                Age: 25
                Nature: Relaxed
                Posts: 265
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Kodiak View Post
                Hey, sorry if this questions already been asked, but I've looked around and have not been able to find an answer to my question.

                I'm new to ROM hacking and I'm trying to figure out how to make testing go faster. Anyway, I was
                wondering if its possible to somehow skip Prof. Oak's whole intro speech at the beginning of the game
                while using VisualBoyAdvance, so I can get right to testing without going through that whole process every time.

                Btw, Im hacking Fire Red if it matters.
                As soon as you're in your room after the intro, save. Unless you're editing the player's room itself, it will work just fine.
                __________________
                [ [???="Not so good artwork. If you can even call it that."]deviantART[/???] | [???="No thread yet. Maybe eventually."]Pokémon Apollo[/???] | [???="SkythurBathandBeyond151"]Pair[/???] ]
                  #8711    
                Old March 28th, 2009 (6:18 PM).
                destinedjagold's Avatar
                destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                Oh Hai Thar~
                • Silver Tier
                 
                Join Date: May 2007
                Location: Philippines
                Age: 26
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Careful
                Posts: 8,507
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by abweitl View Post
                how do i insert custom tiles and have the right palette in advance map.
                there's a tutorial to do that.
                look at the Documents and Tutorials.

                Quote:
                Originally Posted by WhereIsIt View Post

                1-How do i Remove Towns/Routes in Advance Map (If i have to use EliteMap for it then forget it cause i find Advance is more easier to use)

                2-How do i add in(This is where the wording issue comes in so ill just say what it is i want)
                I want to make a battle like when you fight Rayquaza i can get the battle thing done and everything but when i finish my battle Rayquaza also dissapears along with the pokemon that i add for that Type of battle. All i wanna know is how to add it WITHOUT Screwing over the others.

                3-Is it possible to ADD pokemon and keep all the others?
                1. you can't, at least, that's what I think. Why not just leave it alone or edit it into something useless?

                2. Script it.

                3. Use the 25 free spaces for PKMN. How...? Dunno, but it's possible. Search around.
                __________________


                FC: 0061-1111-6462
                TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                  #8712    
                Old March 28th, 2009 (7:19 PM).
                WhereIsIt WhereIsIt is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2009
                  Posts: 2
                  You missed my 2nd one, I know that it has to be scripted but how?
                    #8713    
                  Old March 29th, 2009 (3:27 AM).
                  Larsie13 Larsie13 is offline
                  Gone
                  • Crystal Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2006
                  Location: The Netherlands
                  Age: 26
                  Nature: Modest
                  Posts: 159
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by sasquatchd00d View Post
                  As soon as you're in your room after the intro, save. Unless you're editing the player's room itself, it will work just fine.
                  And if you're gonna edit the player's room, just make a save state just before you're warped there from the intro. So, SHIFT + F[1-10].
                    #8714    
                  Old March 29th, 2009 (4:28 AM).
                  Surf's Avatar
                  Surf Surf is offline
                  ...
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2008
                    Location: Rust
                    Age: 22
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Relaxed
                    Posts: 1,197
                    Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Surf
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by WhereIsIt View Post
                    You missed my 2nd one, I know that it has to be scripted but how?
                    Look at a scripting tutorial
                    We're not going to hand it to you on a silver platter.
                    Try Diagos, it's the best XSE one.
                      #8715    
                    Old March 29th, 2009 (5:47 AM).
                    jinzorob jinzorob is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Apr 2008
                      Posts: 10
                      Above the tileset in Advance Map, there is a border block. How do you use it for a border? It would save a lot of time if I could use it.
                        #8716    
                      Old March 29th, 2009 (6:12 AM).
                      sasquatchd00d's Avatar
                      sasquatchd00d sasquatchd00d is offline
                      welcoming a clean head.
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2008
                        Location: barracuda, capital of the world
                        Age: 25
                        Nature: Relaxed
                        Posts: 265
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by jinzorob View Post
                        Above the tileset in Advance Map, there is a border block. How do you use it for a border? It would save a lot of time if I could use it.
                        It is the border block. Those tiles will show up all the way around the map.
                        __________________
                        [ [???="Not so good artwork. If you can even call it that."]deviantART[/???] | [???="No thread yet. Maybe eventually."]Pokémon Apollo[/???] | [???="SkythurBathandBeyond151"]Pair[/???] ]
                          #8717    
                        Old March 29th, 2009 (6:20 AM).
                        jinzorob jinzorob is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Apr 2008
                          Posts: 10
                          What I actually meant was is there anyway to insert this border block while you're creating a map? Instead of inserting each individual tile around the map. I hope you understand what I mean.
                            #8718    
                          Old March 29th, 2009 (6:32 AM).
                          sasquatchd00d's Avatar
                          sasquatchd00d sasquatchd00d is offline
                          welcoming a clean head.
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2008
                            Location: barracuda, capital of the world
                            Age: 25
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 265
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by jinzorob View Post
                            What I actually meant was is there anyway to insert this border block while you're creating a map? Instead of inserting each individual tile around the map. I hope you understand what I mean.
                            CTRL + Right Click and drag around the tiles you want to use. This will give you like a stamp of more tiles than one. That's about the quickest it will get.
                            __________________
                            [ [???="Not so good artwork. If you can even call it that."]deviantART[/???] | [???="No thread yet. Maybe eventually."]Pokémon Apollo[/???] | [???="SkythurBathandBeyond151"]Pair[/???] ]
                              #8719    
                            Old March 29th, 2009 (6:46 AM).
                            jinzorob jinzorob is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Apr 2008
                              Posts: 10
                              Thanks a lot man. That's exactly what I was looking for.

                              Another question:
                              Is there any way to insert tiles that were made by someone else?
                                #8720    
                              Old March 29th, 2009 (7:28 AM).
                              sasquatchd00d's Avatar
                              sasquatchd00d sasquatchd00d is offline
                              welcoming a clean head.
                                 
                                Join Date: Nov 2008
                                Location: barracuda, capital of the world
                                Age: 25
                                Nature: Relaxed
                                Posts: 265
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by jinzorob View Post
                                Thanks a lot man. That's exactly what I was looking for.

                                Another question:
                                Is there any way to insert tiles that were made by someone else?
                                Here's a great tutorial by Neti that covers tile inserting and block editing. Clicky!
                                __________________
                                [ [???="Not so good artwork. If you can even call it that."]deviantART[/???] | [???="No thread yet. Maybe eventually."]Pokémon Apollo[/???] | [???="SkythurBathandBeyond151"]Pair[/???] ]
                                  #8721    
                                Old March 29th, 2009 (7:54 AM).
                                chinchil123's Avatar
                                chinchil123 chinchil123 is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2009
                                  Age: 22
                                  Gender:
                                  Nature: Timid
                                  Posts: 3
                                  Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to chinchil123
                                  Hiya,
                                  I have a problem with my scripts. I am using advanced map, PKSV and FSF. When I compile a script onto my ROM in advanced map the text is fine in the game. After a few uses of the ROM on VBA the text either stops showing up or has strange symbols after my piece of text.
                                  So, I went back on to advanced map and opened the script. Sometimes a new thing appears at the top of my script saying 0xFF or something similar (can't remeber exactly) or numbers for symbols in the game at the end of my script. I have no idea why they are there, how they got there or how to get rid of them. Deleting and then saving does not work as after a few times on the rom it comes back. ARGGGHHHHHH!

                                  Please can someone help me and explain what is going wrong ^-^
                                  __________________
                                  Why is ROM scripting so complicated??

                                  Please have a look:
                                  http://www.freedom-forums.co.uk
                                    #8722    
                                  Old March 29th, 2009 (9:25 AM).
                                  Worldslayer608's Avatar
                                  Worldslayer608 Worldslayer608 is offline
                                  ಥдಥ
                                  • Silver Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2008
                                  Location: San Diego
                                  Age: 27
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Calm
                                  Posts: 892
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by chinchil123 View Post
                                  Hiya,
                                  I have a problem with my scripts. I am using advanced map, PKSV and FSF. When I compile a script onto my ROM in advanced map the text is fine in the game. After a few uses of the ROM on VBA the text either stops showing up or has strange symbols after my piece of text.
                                  So, I went back on to advanced map and opened the script. Sometimes a new thing appears at the top of my script saying 0xFF or something similar (can't remeber exactly) or numbers for symbols in the game at the end of my script. I have no idea why they are there, how they got there or how to get rid of them. Deleting and then saving does not work as after a few times on the rom it comes back. ARGGGHHHHHH!

                                  Please can someone help me and explain what is going wrong ^-^
                                  Try compiling and scripting with XSE by HackMew
                                  __________________



                                  SMEARGLE SOLO CHALLENGE
                                  HARDCORE EDITION
                                  To vanquish without peril is to triumph without glory...
                                  Voted Best Game Designer 2011 on PC
                                    #8723    
                                  Old March 29th, 2009 (9:27 AM).
                                  onyx79's Avatar
                                  onyx79 onyx79 is offline
                                  Red Dead Revolver
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jan 2009
                                    Location: Orange Islands (=
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Modest
                                    Posts: 503
                                    Hello,I never hacked a pokemon game before,and I want to start,but I don't want to create a new pokemon game I just want to create some new features for my pokemon emerald game,I need a program for this(I don't know what works,and doesn't works)so I will be very happy if someone will give me a program for this...
                                    anyway I have some questions:
                                    1.How do I added a new place for the game(not taking an old place and completley change it,just an entrance for a new map nd the map itself.
                                    2.How do I added a new trainers for the game and changing their sprite and pokemon?
                                    3.How can I added new 4th generation pokemons(I heard you can added up to 25 pokemons without deleting an exciting,example putting dialga without deleting onix...)?
                                    4.Can I added some new special battle places like the battle frontier?
                                      #8724    
                                    Old March 29th, 2009 (9:32 AM).
                                    Worldslayer608's Avatar
                                    Worldslayer608 Worldslayer608 is offline
                                    ಥдಥ
                                    • Silver Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Mar 2008
                                    Location: San Diego
                                    Age: 27
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Calm
                                    Posts: 892
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by onyx79 View Post
                                    Hello,I never hacked a pokemon game before,and I want to start,but I don't want to create a new pokemon game I just want to create some new features for my pokemon emerald game,I need a program for this(I don't know what works,and doesn't works)so I will be very happy if someone will give me a program for this...
                                    anyway I have some questions:
                                    1.How do I added a new place for the game(not taking an old place and completley change it,just an entrance for a new map nd the map itself.
                                    2.How do I added a new trainers for the game and changing their sprite and pokemon?
                                    3.How can I added new 4th generation pokemons(I heard you can added up to 25 pokemons without deleting an exciting,example putting dialga without deleting onix...)?
                                    4.Can I added some new special battle places like the battle frontier?
                                    1. Use Advance Map. if you are using Emeral as your ROM MAKE SURE YOU BACK IT UP. It will save you heartache trust me.

                                    2. Script them then add the OW using Advance Map

                                    3. There is a nice tut for creating and inserting/replacing sprites in the documents and tutorials section, along with a lot of other great tutorials to help you get started.

                                    4. script the event sequens, then build the new battle place in AMap and compile the scripts

                                    You can find all the tools you need in the tools section. For scripting check out HackMew's XSE
                                    __________________



                                    SMEARGLE SOLO CHALLENGE
                                    HARDCORE EDITION
                                    To vanquish without peril is to triumph without glory...
                                    Voted Best Game Designer 2011 on PC
                                      #8725    
                                    Old March 29th, 2009 (9:55 AM).
                                    onyx79's Avatar
                                    onyx79 onyx79 is offline
                                    Red Dead Revolver
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jan 2009
                                      Location: Orange Islands (=
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Modest
                                      Posts: 503
                                      thanks for your help,I hope I will be able to do this....
                                      Closed Thread
                                      Quick Reply

                                      Sponsored Links
                                      Thread Tools

                                      Posting Rules
                                      You may not post new threads
                                      You may not post replies
                                      You may not post attachments
                                      You may not edit your posts

                                      BB code is On
                                      Smilies are On
                                      [IMG] code is On
                                      HTML code is Off

                                      Forum Jump


                                      All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:27 PM.