ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #9801    
Old June 12th, 2009 (4:52 PM).
nibbsy7's Avatar
nibbsy7 nibbsy7 is offline
Head of LG Entertainment
     
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Location: Australia
    Nature: Calm
    Posts: 12
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Atlus View Post
    Create a new script and put it in there. Or, you can look in Prof. Oak's lab, and open up the scripts through A-Map and XSE (set XSE as your script editor), and find the script that gives you the Pokédex flag to begin with (I don't know it off the top of my head, but I think it's something like 0x828).
    I have tried but i cant find the script, I thought i had found it, but nothing different happened. would it be possible for someone to make an ips patch of it? Or make a tutorial, because i am having alot of difficulty making this work.
    __________________
    Nibbsy's PokePet

    Pignin the level 89 Swinub!


    By nibbsy7

    Relevant Advertising!

      #9802    
    Old June 12th, 2009 (5:01 PM).
    Vrai's Avatar
    Vrai Vrai is offline
    can you feel my heart?
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Jun 2008
    Age: 23
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Adamant
    Posts: 2,898
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Zero-the hero of light View Post
    The thing is, whenever I do insert them without editing the palletes the tiles just turn into a green block, and I don't know how to edit the palletes. And whenever I add The DP tiles and edit the palletes, for the trees, It's to big, so it doesn't show the whole tree.

    P.S.thank you for answering my questions
    You kinda contradicted yourself there, saying that you didn't know how to edit palettes, and then you did. o_O

    Well, if you know how to edit blocks, palette editing isn't that hard. Just open up the block editor, open up the Palettes menu, and click "Edit Palettes". From there, it's as simple as clicking; I minimize the A-Map window (leaving the palette editor up) and, with my tiles that I want to insert in the background, use the Select Color button. You could also just put in the RGB values for each color.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by nibbsy7 View Post
    I have tried but i cant find the script, I thought i had found it, but nothing different happened. would it be possible for someone to make an ips patch of it? Or make a tutorial, because i am having alot of difficulty making this work.
    Yes, I see what you're saying; it's a little bit difficult to find that specific script. gave up after three seconds of looking
    If all you want to do is add the National Dex, I would suggest making a script that simply sets that flag, and put it in a spot that the player has to walk through (as a trigger script; the green "S" in the event types).
    __________________
      #9803    
    Old June 12th, 2009 (5:23 PM).
    mrhiyuck's Avatar
    mrhiyuck mrhiyuck is offline
    //
       
      Join Date: Sep 2007
      Posts: 29
      Does anyone have a list of Emerald's used variables? I want to be safe when I chose one. XSE's guide said roughly 0x5000 - 0x7FFF is free, but I'm worried I'll interfere with another.
        #9804    
      Old June 12th, 2009 (6:03 PM).
      Vrai's Avatar
      Vrai Vrai is offline
      can you feel my heart?
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Jun 2008
      Age: 23
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Adamant
      Posts: 2,898
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by mrhiyuck View Post
      Does anyone have a list of Emerald's used variables? I want to be safe when I chose one. XSE's guide said roughly 0x5000 - 0x7FFF is free, but I'm worried I'll interfere with another.
      You can probably trust HackMew's judgment on that as if you can't trust his judgment anyways :P; if it's used, you can always edit the script and select another one.
      __________________
        #9805    
      Old June 12th, 2009 (6:10 PM).
      nibbsy7's Avatar
      nibbsy7 nibbsy7 is offline
      Head of LG Entertainment
         
        Join Date: Mar 2009
        Location: Australia
        Nature: Calm
        Posts: 12
        Thank You So much Atlus! I finally got it working! Your a legend in modern times and in pokemon hacking terms! ive made it so that you walk over a part after viridian city, and it upgrades your dex! thanks so much!
        __________________
        Nibbsy's PokePet

        Pignin the level 89 Swinub!


        By nibbsy7
          #9806    
        Old June 12th, 2009 (7:14 PM).
        RaycrowX's Avatar
        RaycrowX RaycrowX is offline
        Beginning ROM Hacker
           
          Join Date: Apr 2009
          Location: Jenison, MI
          Gender:
          Posts: 36
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by ~Watermelon View Post
          Check the warp numbers.
          If they are bigger than the amount of warps in the warp-into map, it will warp you in a random location.
          Thanks, ~Watermelon, but I re-checked the warps and all the warps are correct. That's not even the problem because it is warping me to the wrong map. The weird thing is that all the events are still there. When I walk into a map that is supposed to be a small cave with a couple of sprites in it, it warps me to another one of my maps, but still includes the sprites. They are at the right coordinates but on another map. And I am warped to what I think are the right coordinates on that other map. I've included another screenshot so you can see what I mean.
          Spoiler:
          Now obviously they are not supposed to be there. Correct events, wrong map. That's why I think it's overwriting something. Maybe like the map header or footer or something, because it looks fine in AdvanceMap.
          Attached Images
          File Type: png MapOverwriteWithEvents.png‎ (8.4 KB, 249 views) (Save to Dropbox)
            #9807    
          Old June 12th, 2009 (10:49 PM).
          Bozster's Avatar
          Bozster Bozster is offline
          Chief Lunatic
             
            Join Date: Jul 2008
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Jolly
            Posts: 115
            Hey, on XSE is there a way to open up scripts that are already in the game? Like a search box or something
              #9808    
            Old June 13th, 2009 (12:46 AM).
            Logan's Avatar
            Logan Logan is online now
            • Platinum Tier
             
            Join Date: Nov 2008
            Location: Salisbury, England
            Age: 22
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Sassy
            Posts: 10,062
            Yes, just highlight the script tile and press open script.
              #9809    
            Old June 13th, 2009 (12:47 AM).
            muzzyguy's Avatar
            muzzyguy muzzyguy is offline
            When disaster strikes!
               
              Join Date: May 2009
              Posts: 58
              I have a few questions these are all on fire red.

              1. On other peoples roms when you beat a gym leader it will say there name and give you badge but i can't change that on advance text it still says [player] got boulderbadge from brock how do i cnage it.

              2.on the intro bit before you choose your name and stuff where it tells you the buttons people have changed that how do i?

              3.How do i make an IPS file and put it up for download?
                #9810    
              Old June 13th, 2009 (12:50 AM).
              onyx79's Avatar
              onyx79 onyx79 is offline
              Red Dead Revolver
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2009
                Location: Orange Islands (=
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Modest
                Posts: 503
                that UNLZ really hates me,I've tried to replace the 1st empty slot with a magmortar here's the magmortar it's indexed:
                when I find the empty slot(it's look this ?? with green back color)and then I insert the magmortar I just see nothing,no picture I replaced the offset with 800010 that I found on unlz and did anything and this is my final result: ignore my missingno
                __________________
                my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=5397075&postcount=64
                  #9811    
                Old June 13th, 2009 (12:58 AM).
                PastaPen PastaPen is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2008
                  Posts: 48
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by BOBcorevette View Post
                  Firaaz Here is a tutorial
                  go to pkmn hackers online . com and on the left side is a tutorial for back round editing i dont have 15 posts so i cant put a link
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Marxvile View Post
                  I know where you mean... For the place, I think this is it:

                  Thank you, this will be very helpful.
                  __________________
                    #9812    
                  Old June 13th, 2009 (4:29 AM).
                  Vednix's Avatar
                  Vednix Vednix is offline
                  :D
                     
                    Join Date: May 2009
                    Age: 23
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Docile
                    Posts: 254
                    hey, I wanna have a shiny at the start of the game. How do i do this?
                    __________________
                    ._.
                      #9813    
                    Old June 13th, 2009 (4:39 AM).
                    HackMew's Avatar
                    HackMew HackMew is offline
                    Mewtwo Strikes Back
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2006
                    Posts: 1,314
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Vednix View Post
                    hey, I wanna have a shiny at the start of the game. How do i do this?
                    Searching "shiny" in the forum is just too hard is it? Look here. You might want to look for level scripts too.
                    __________________
                      #9814    
                    Old June 13th, 2009 (4:42 AM).
                    Vednix's Avatar
                    Vednix Vednix is offline
                    :D
                       
                      Join Date: May 2009
                      Age: 23
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Docile
                      Posts: 254
                      Um...that's looks a little hard Hackmew

                      Is there a simpler way? such as a tool or something.
                      __________________
                      ._.
                        #9815    
                      Old June 13th, 2009 (5:06 AM).
                      HackMew's Avatar
                      HackMew HackMew is offline
                      Mewtwo Strikes Back
                      • Crystal Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2006
                      Posts: 1,314
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Vednix View Post
                      Um...that's looks a little hard Hackmew :(

                      Is there a simpler way? such as a tool or something.
                      ZodiacDaGreat made one. Eventually you can wait for mine.
                      __________________
                        #9816    
                      Old June 13th, 2009 (5:10 AM).
                      874521's Avatar
                      874521 874521 is offline
                      School days again...
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2008
                        Location: Philippines
                        Age: 20
                        Gender: Female
                        Nature: Naughty
                        Posts: 507
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by onyx79 View Post
                        that UNLZ really hates me,I've tried to replace the 1st empty slot with a magmortar here's the magmortar it's indexed:
                        when I find the empty slot(it's look this ?? with green back color)and then I insert the magmortar I just see nothing,no picture I replaced the offset with 800010 that I found on unlz and did anything and this is my final result: ignore my missingno
                        Did you replace both offsets? Or try this tutorial:
                        http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=154220
                        __________________
                        Hacks I Support:
                        Pokemon Ametrino





                        --------------------------
                        My Thread: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=201787
                        Post your suggestions on my thread.
                        Contains DPP and HGSS Tiles and Overworlds!



                        874521 Pair up with Napalm
                          #9817    
                        Old June 13th, 2009 (5:18 AM).
                        Vednix's Avatar
                        Vednix Vednix is offline
                        :D
                           
                          Join Date: May 2009
                          Age: 23
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Docile
                          Posts: 254
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
                          ZodiacDaGreat made one. Eventually you can wait for mine.
                          Ok. I'll wait for yours, seen as you make some awesome tools around here. Anyway, I have a problem.

                          I read through some indexing and inserting sprite tuts, and decided to give it a go. The front sprite comes out just fine, but for some reason the pallette on the back comes out messed up .

                          What I did was went to the sprite I wanted to change, inported my sprite (16 bit colour depth), click Write to ROM, put in a blank offset, ticked Export image, auto fix point, and abort if big, then clicked ok. then click Write to rom again, the unticked export image and ticked export pallette.

                          I then did the exact same thing for the bakc spirte, but obviously I went to the bakc sprite of the one I wanted to change. put in a new offset etc, and generally did the same thing. But ti comes out wrong? Halp.
                          __________________
                          ._.
                            #9818    
                          Old June 13th, 2009 (5:41 AM).
                          Spherical Ice's Avatar
                          Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
                          • Crystal Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2007
                          Location: Bristol, UK
                          Age: 19
                          Posts: 5,240
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Vednix View Post
                          Ok. I'll wait for yours, seen as you make some awesome tools around here. Anyway, I have a problem.

                          I read through some indexing and inserting sprite tuts, and decided to give it a go. The front sprite comes out just fine, but for some reason the pallette on the back comes out messed up .

                          What I did was went to the sprite I wanted to change, inported my sprite (16 bit colour depth), click Write to ROM, put in a blank offset, ticked Export image, auto fix point, and abort if big, then clicked ok. then click Write to rom again, the unticked export image and ticked export pallette.

                          I then did the exact same thing for the bakc spirte, but obviously I went to the bakc sprite of the one I wanted to change. put in a new offset etc, and generally did the same thing. But ti comes out wrong? Halp.
                          Did you make the backsprite's pallete the shiny pallete used for the Pokémon? Did you put a blank offset for the pallete as well?
                          __________________

                          A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                          Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                            #9819    
                          Old June 13th, 2009 (5:44 AM).
                          Vednix's Avatar
                          Vednix Vednix is offline
                          :D
                             
                            Join Date: May 2009
                            Age: 23
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Docile
                            Posts: 254
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                            Did you make the backsprite's pallete the shiny pallete used for the Pokémon? Did you put a blank offset for the pallete as well?
                            No. It is the normal pallette and i did not put a blank offset for the pallette as the tutorial said not to.
                            __________________
                            ._.
                              #9820    
                            Old June 13th, 2009 (6:22 AM).
                            Vrai's Avatar
                            Vrai Vrai is offline
                            can you feel my heart?
                            • Crystal Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2008
                            Age: 23
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Adamant
                            Posts: 2,898
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by muzzyguy View Post
                            I have a few questions these are all on fire red.

                            1. On other peoples roms when you beat a gym leader it will say there name and give you badge but i can't change that on advance text it still says [player] got boulderbadge from brock how do i cnage it.

                            2.on the intro bit before you choose your name and stuff where it tells you the buttons people have changed that how do i?

                            3.How do i make an IPS file and put it up for download?
                            1. Don't use AdvanceText for things like that. Create your own scripts using a tool like XSE. :/

                            2. That's the kind of thing you use AdvanceText for. Search for some of the text in the intro, and then edit it.

                            3. You can use a tool called Lunar IPS (LIPS). It both patches and creates patches. To put it up for download, you can use a sharing site like MediaFire or SendSpace, or you can attach it to one of your posts.
                            __________________
                              #9821    
                            Old June 13th, 2009 (3:00 PM).
                            BlitŻ's Avatar
                            BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
                            guahh my dog is so cute
                            • Crystal Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2009
                            Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
                            Age: 22
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Jolly
                            Posts: 472
                            Are their any tuts out there that can help you understand ASM and teach you how to incorporate it in the game?
                            __________________
                              #9822    
                            Old June 13th, 2009 (4:08 PM).
                            0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                            0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                            Im comin' home...
                            • Silver Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Jan 2008
                            Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                            Age: 25
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Gentle
                            Posts: 1,816
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by jebees View Post
                            Are their any tuts out there that can help you understand ASM and teach you how to incorporate it in the game?
                            Not to the best of my knowledge.
                            I know there are some ARM/THUMB based instruction manuals and reference sheets around the net, but none of them are as easy to understand as HackMew's or The^4's tuts...
                            We'll have to wait...
                            __________________
                            >Boot Jailbot
                            >Pass *****
                            .
                            .
                            Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                            Greetings Warden
                            of Superjail Penitentiary
                            Awaiting user input...

                            >Display User_Info
                            ╠══User Info══╣
                            Username:
                            0m3GA ARS3NAL
                            Age: 18
                            Sex: Male ♂
                            Race: Caucasian
                            Quote:
                            "What is this
                            I don't even..."

                            M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                            ╠══End of File══╣
                            Awaiting user input...

                            >
                              #9823    
                            Old June 13th, 2009 (4:56 PM).
                            BlitŻ's Avatar
                            BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
                            guahh my dog is so cute
                            • Crystal Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2009
                            Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
                            Age: 22
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Jolly
                            Posts: 472
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
                            Not to the best of my knowledge.
                            I know there are some ARM/THUMB based instruction manuals and reference sheets around the net, but none of them are as easy to understand as HackMew's or The^4's tuts...
                            We'll have to wait...
                            okay thanks but I have a problem

                            I made trainer's on Pet and put them into the scripts. The wierd thing sis when I click on some numbers on PEt the numbers change to the next one. So when I finished making my trainer, I would jus save, then reload the ROM, and put the numbers that were there into the script. But when I tried it ingame, I would get a different trainer. This is probably from getting the wrong number

                            my question is what is a accurate way to get the write number to put in the script?
                            __________________
                              #9824    
                            Old June 13th, 2009 (6:19 PM).
                            Quickster's Avatar
                            Quickster Quickster is offline
                            Dream or Drop?
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2007
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Quiet
                              Posts: 351
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by jebees View Post
                              okay thanks but I have a problem

                              I made trainer's on Pet and put them into the scripts. The wierd thing sis when I click on some numbers on PEt the numbers change to the next one. So when I finished making my trainer, I would jus save, then reload the ROM, and put the numbers that were there into the script. But when I tried it ingame, I would get a different trainer. This is probably from getting the wrong number

                              my question is what is a accurate way to get the write number to put in the script?
                              Hmm,im not sure of your problem,but switch to A-Trainer.Its a lot easier to nuderstand and better in my opinino.Its in hack-mews tool factory.
                              __________________
                              I laugh looking at this.

                              But sometimes I want to come back to it...

                                #9825    
                              Old June 13th, 2009 (11:11 PM).
                              u0850913's Avatar
                              u0850913 u0850913 is offline
                              What, nine thousand?!
                                 
                                Join Date: Feb 2009
                                Location: In ur base, eating ur guys
                                Age: 22
                                Nature: Calm
                                Posts: 36
                                So liek, hai everyone.
                                I'm working on a Pokemon hack, and I need one simple question answered, that I haven't found asked anywhere else before.
                                So, when I edit the cry of a Pokemon in PokeCry GUI, I have no idea how to do it, so I click the "..." button at the top-right, to load the Ruby ROMfile, then I load the WAV file, and this is the bit I need help with. What am I supposed to click? What I've been doing is pressing "Check Rom," then "Repoint," and all the way through until I get to "Dump". I load my ROM up in VBA, and the screen's just all white. I've got a backup ROM, but can someone help me here?
                                __________________
                                Closed Thread

                                Quick Reply

                                Join the conversation!

                                Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                Sponsored Links
                                Thread Tools

                                Posting Rules
                                You may not post new threads
                                You may not post replies
                                You may not post attachments
                                You may not edit your posts

                                BB code is On
                                Smilies are On
                                [IMG] code is On
                                HTML code is Off

                                Forum Jump


                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:37 AM.