ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #9826    
Old June 13th, 2009 (4:39 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vednix View Post
hey, I wanna have a shiny at the start of the game. How do i do this?
Searching "shiny" in the forum is just too hard is it? Look here. You might want to look for level scripts too.
__________________

Relevant Advertising!

  #9827    
Old June 13th, 2009 (4:42 AM).
Vednix's Avatar
Vednix Vednix is offline
:D
     
    Join Date: May 2009
    Age: 23
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Docile
    Posts: 254
    Um...that's looks a little hard Hackmew

    Is there a simpler way? such as a tool or something.
    __________________
    ._.
      #9828    
    Old June 13th, 2009 (5:06 AM).
    HackMew's Avatar
    HackMew HackMew is offline
    Mewtwo Strikes Back
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Jun 2006
    Posts: 1,314
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Vednix View Post
    Um...that's looks a little hard Hackmew :(

    Is there a simpler way? such as a tool or something.
    ZodiacDaGreat made one. Eventually you can wait for mine.
    __________________
      #9829    
    Old June 13th, 2009 (5:10 AM).
    874521's Avatar
    874521 874521 is offline
    School days again...
       
      Join Date: Dec 2008
      Location: Philippines
      Age: 19
      Gender: Female
      Nature: Naughty
      Posts: 507
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by onyx79 View Post
      that UNLZ really hates me,I've tried to replace the 1st empty slot with a magmortar here's the magmortar it's indexed:
      when I find the empty slot(it's look this ?? with green back color)and then I insert the magmortar I just see nothing,no picture I replaced the offset with 800010 that I found on unlz and did anything and this is my final result: ignore my missingno
      Did you replace both offsets? Or try this tutorial:
      http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=154220
      __________________
      Hacks I Support:
      Pokemon Ametrino





      --------------------------
      My Thread: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=201787
      Post your suggestions on my thread.
      Contains DPP and HGSS Tiles and Overworlds!



      874521 Pair up with Napalm
        #9830    
      Old June 13th, 2009 (5:18 AM).
      Vednix's Avatar
      Vednix Vednix is offline
      :D
         
        Join Date: May 2009
        Age: 23
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Docile
        Posts: 254
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
        ZodiacDaGreat made one. Eventually you can wait for mine.
        Ok. I'll wait for yours, seen as you make some awesome tools around here. Anyway, I have a problem.

        I read through some indexing and inserting sprite tuts, and decided to give it a go. The front sprite comes out just fine, but for some reason the pallette on the back comes out messed up .

        What I did was went to the sprite I wanted to change, inported my sprite (16 bit colour depth), click Write to ROM, put in a blank offset, ticked Export image, auto fix point, and abort if big, then clicked ok. then click Write to rom again, the unticked export image and ticked export pallette.

        I then did the exact same thing for the bakc spirte, but obviously I went to the bakc sprite of the one I wanted to change. put in a new offset etc, and generally did the same thing. But ti comes out wrong? Halp.
        __________________
        ._.
          #9831    
        Old June 13th, 2009 (5:41 AM).
        Spherical Ice's Avatar
        Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
        • Moderator
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Nov 2007
        Location: Bristol, UK
        Age: 19
        Posts: 5,201
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Vednix View Post
        Ok. I'll wait for yours, seen as you make some awesome tools around here. Anyway, I have a problem.

        I read through some indexing and inserting sprite tuts, and decided to give it a go. The front sprite comes out just fine, but for some reason the pallette on the back comes out messed up .

        What I did was went to the sprite I wanted to change, inported my sprite (16 bit colour depth), click Write to ROM, put in a blank offset, ticked Export image, auto fix point, and abort if big, then clicked ok. then click Write to rom again, the unticked export image and ticked export pallette.

        I then did the exact same thing for the bakc spirte, but obviously I went to the bakc sprite of the one I wanted to change. put in a new offset etc, and generally did the same thing. But ti comes out wrong? Halp.
        Did you make the backsprite's pallete the shiny pallete used for the Pokémon? Did you put a blank offset for the pallete as well?
        __________________

        A Pokemon that is discriminated!
        Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
          #9832    
        Old June 13th, 2009 (5:44 AM).
        Vednix's Avatar
        Vednix Vednix is offline
        :D
           
          Join Date: May 2009
          Age: 23
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Docile
          Posts: 254
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
          Did you make the backsprite's pallete the shiny pallete used for the Pokémon? Did you put a blank offset for the pallete as well?
          No. It is the normal pallette and i did not put a blank offset for the pallette as the tutorial said not to.
          __________________
          ._.
            #9833    
          Old June 13th, 2009 (6:22 AM).
          Vrai's Avatar
          Vrai Vrai is offline
          can you feel my heart?
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Jun 2008
          Age: 23
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 2,893
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by muzzyguy View Post
          I have a few questions these are all on fire red.

          1. On other peoples roms when you beat a gym leader it will say there name and give you badge but i can't change that on advance text it still says [player] got boulderbadge from brock how do i cnage it.

          2.on the intro bit before you choose your name and stuff where it tells you the buttons people have changed that how do i?

          3.How do i make an IPS file and put it up for download?
          1. Don't use AdvanceText for things like that. Create your own scripts using a tool like XSE. :/

          2. That's the kind of thing you use AdvanceText for. Search for some of the text in the intro, and then edit it.

          3. You can use a tool called Lunar IPS (LIPS). It both patches and creates patches. To put it up for download, you can use a sharing site like MediaFire or SendSpace, or you can attach it to one of your posts.
          __________________
            #9834    
          Old June 13th, 2009 (3:00 PM).
          BlitŻ's Avatar
          BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
          guahh my dog is so cute
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Feb 2009
          Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
          Age: 22
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Jolly
          Posts: 472
          Are their any tuts out there that can help you understand ASM and teach you how to incorporate it in the game?
          __________________
            #9835    
          Old June 13th, 2009 (4:08 PM).
          0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
          0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
          Im comin' home...
          • Silver Tier
           
          Join Date: Jan 2008
          Location: Superjail Penitentiary
          Age: 24
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Gentle
          Posts: 1,812
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by jebees View Post
          Are their any tuts out there that can help you understand ASM and teach you how to incorporate it in the game?
          Not to the best of my knowledge.
          I know there are some ARM/THUMB based instruction manuals and reference sheets around the net, but none of them are as easy to understand as HackMew's or The^4's tuts...
          We'll have to wait...
          __________________
          >Boot Jailbot
          >Pass *****
          .
          .
          Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
          Greetings Warden
          of Superjail Penitentiary
          Awaiting user input...

          >Display User_Info
          ╠══User Info══╣
          Username:
          0m3GA ARS3NAL
          Age: 18
          Sex: Male ♂
          Race: Caucasian
          Quote:
          "What is this
          I don't even..."

          M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
          ╠══End of File══╣
          Awaiting user input...

          >
            #9836    
          Old June 13th, 2009 (4:56 PM).
          BlitŻ's Avatar
          BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
          guahh my dog is so cute
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Feb 2009
          Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
          Age: 22
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Jolly
          Posts: 472
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
          Not to the best of my knowledge.
          I know there are some ARM/THUMB based instruction manuals and reference sheets around the net, but none of them are as easy to understand as HackMew's or The^4's tuts...
          We'll have to wait...
          okay thanks but I have a problem

          I made trainer's on Pet and put them into the scripts. The wierd thing sis when I click on some numbers on PEt the numbers change to the next one. So when I finished making my trainer, I would jus save, then reload the ROM, and put the numbers that were there into the script. But when I tried it ingame, I would get a different trainer. This is probably from getting the wrong number

          my question is what is a accurate way to get the write number to put in the script?
          __________________
            #9837    
          Old June 13th, 2009 (6:19 PM).
          Quickster's Avatar
          Quickster Quickster is offline
          Dream or Drop?
             
            Join Date: Oct 2007
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Quiet
            Posts: 351
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by jebees View Post
            okay thanks but I have a problem

            I made trainer's on Pet and put them into the scripts. The wierd thing sis when I click on some numbers on PEt the numbers change to the next one. So when I finished making my trainer, I would jus save, then reload the ROM, and put the numbers that were there into the script. But when I tried it ingame, I would get a different trainer. This is probably from getting the wrong number

            my question is what is a accurate way to get the write number to put in the script?
            Hmm,im not sure of your problem,but switch to A-Trainer.Its a lot easier to nuderstand and better in my opinino.Its in hack-mews tool factory.
            __________________
            I laugh looking at this.

            But sometimes I want to come back to it...

              #9838    
            Old June 13th, 2009 (11:11 PM).
            u0850913's Avatar
            u0850913 u0850913 is offline
            What, nine thousand?!
               
              Join Date: Feb 2009
              Location: In ur base, eating ur guys
              Age: 22
              Nature: Calm
              Posts: 36
              So liek, hai everyone.
              I'm working on a Pokemon hack, and I need one simple question answered, that I haven't found asked anywhere else before.
              So, when I edit the cry of a Pokemon in PokeCry GUI, I have no idea how to do it, so I click the "..." button at the top-right, to load the Ruby ROMfile, then I load the WAV file, and this is the bit I need help with. What am I supposed to click? What I've been doing is pressing "Check Rom," then "Repoint," and all the way through until I get to "Dump". I load my ROM up in VBA, and the screen's just all white. I've got a backup ROM, but can someone help me here?
              __________________
                #9839    
              Old June 13th, 2009 (11:28 PM).
              XandZero XandZero is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2009
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 4
                Hi, I'm looking to remove the starting copyright and title screen in Pokemon platinum; or at least tell the game to skip it and instead immediately start up with the blue continue/new game/option screen.

                I'm trying to speed up the time it takes to start the game. The topics on this forum only go as far as editing the title screen.
                  #9840    
                Old June 13th, 2009 (11:59 PM).
                Spherical Ice's Avatar
                Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
                • Moderator
                • Silver Tier
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2007
                Location: Bristol, UK
                Age: 19
                Posts: 5,201
                I'm annoyed with unLZ.GBA right now. You know when it aborts your changes because the size is too big. Well, the little three digit code that pops up is the amount of bytes needed in hex, right? So, in FSF, I converted it to the DEC equivalent and searched for an offset with enough free space. I replace the image offset with my new offset and click Write to ROM. I think that the image has changed, but when I go off of the page with the image on, and then return to it again, it is still in it's original form, as if I had done nothing. The offset is also the original offset. It's happened to me with at least seven different images, but it only happens if the size is greater than before.

                I've tried multiple times to solve this problem, but failed everytime. It happens on every ROM I try, clean or not. Help is much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
                __________________

                A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                  #9841    
                Old June 14th, 2009 (12:06 AM).
                destinedjagold's Avatar
                destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                Oh Hai Thar~
                • Silver Tier
                 
                Join Date: May 2007
                Location: Philippines
                Age: 26
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Careful
                Posts: 8,519
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by u0850913 View Post
                So liek, hai everyone.
                I'm working on a Pokemon hack, and I need one simple question answered, that I haven't found asked anywhere else before.
                So, when I edit the cry of a Pokemon in PokeCry GUI, I have no idea how to do it, so I click the "..." button at the top-right, to load the Ruby ROMfile, then I load the WAV file, and this is the bit I need help with. What am I supposed to click? What I've been doing is pressing "Check Rom," then "Repoint," and all the way through until I get to "Dump". I load my ROM up in VBA, and the screen's just all white. I've got a backup ROM, but can someone help me here?
                That tool is really difficult to master, and it's not a safe tool for hacking, for it may cause glitches in your game.

                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                I'm annoyed with unLZ.GBA right now. You know when it aborts your changes because the size is too big. Well, the little three digit code that pops up is the amount of bytes needed in hex, right? So, in FSF, I converted it to the DEC equivalent and searched for an offset with enough free space. I replace the image offset with my new offset and click Write to ROM. I think that the image has changed, but when I go off of the page with the image on, and then return to it again, it is still in it's original form, as if I had done nothing. The offset is also the original offset. It's happened to me with at least seven different images, but it only happens if the size is greater than before.

                I've tried multiple times to solve this problem, but failed everytime. It happens on every ROM I try, clean or not. Help is much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
                delete the file with the .spr extension file in the same folder where your ROM is located. that way, you can see your new sprites in Unlz-GBA... Though they are no longer together with the other old sprites...

                Also, I think if you search for free offsets manually with hex, you'll get a higher success rate.

                But if you wish to use FSF, then you can ask HackMew on how to search for free space properly.

                Also, you should receive a pop-up that the new sprite has been repointed successfully if you gave unlz a new offset for it to repoint the new image.
                __________________


                FC: 0061-1111-6462
                TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                  #9842    
                Old June 14th, 2009 (1:01 AM).
                u0850913's Avatar
                u0850913 u0850913 is offline
                What, nine thousand?!
                   
                  Join Date: Feb 2009
                  Location: In ur base, eating ur guys
                  Age: 22
                  Nature: Calm
                  Posts: 36
                  So, um, what do I do then? I have a custom Pokemon that is ESSENTIAL for this game. If I can't edit the cry, is there some way I can swap it with another Pokemon's? I don't want to write this one over an existing Pokemon in unLZ, so I've got it on a blank space. How can I give it a certain cry?

                  Also, do I have to use hex codes for the "ID" area in PokeCry? Or just the Pokemon's Pokedex number? Because I've tried both of them, and neither worked.
                  __________________
                    #9843    
                  Old June 14th, 2009 (1:04 AM).
                  Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                  Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                  hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                     
                    Join Date: May 2008
                    Age: 23
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Bashful
                    Posts: 3,487
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by u0850913 View Post
                    So, um, what do I do then? I have a custom Pokemon that is ESSENTIAL for this game. If I can't edit the cry, is there some way I can swap it with another Pokemon's? I don't want to write this one over an existing Pokemon in unLZ, so I've got it on a blank space. How can I give it a certain cry?

                    Also, do I have to use hex codes for the "ID" area in PokeCry? Or just the Pokemon's Pokedex number? Because I've tried both of them, and neither worked.
                    It isn't recommended to change the cry. Ask HackMew for help, as he gave me advice about Pokecry (even though he wasn't the creator), but trust me, it is better to wait for a better tool.
                    __________________


                    Temmie vibrates intensely.

                    awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                    OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                    can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                    RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                      #9844    
                    Old June 14th, 2009 (1:13 AM).
                    RainbowNebula's Avatar
                    RainbowNebula RainbowNebula is offline
                    Colour
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Apr 2009
                    Location: UK
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Lonely
                    Posts: 679
                    Don't Mean To Nag, But Can Someone Answer My Question?
                      #9845    
                    Old June 14th, 2009 (1:14 AM).
                    Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                    Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                    hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                       
                      Join Date: May 2008
                      Age: 23
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Bashful
                      Posts: 3,487
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by ConwaySlowking126 View Post
                      Don't Mean To Nag, But Can Someone Answer My Question?
                      Helped if you could tell us it, by quoting it.
                      __________________


                      Temmie vibrates intensely.

                      awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                      OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                      can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                      RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                        #9846    
                      Old June 14th, 2009 (1:14 AM).
                      Alex31's Avatar
                      Alex31 Alex31 is offline
                      Pro D<
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2008
                        Location: Above the Gameboard
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Careful
                        Posts: 98
                        This sounds very noobish, but in a hack of Pokemon Fire-Red, if its not a First Generation Pokemon, it wont evolve, so is there any way to edit the game to make it so you have the National Dex earlier on than after defeating the Elite Four.
                        I've seen it done in some games, but finding out how to do it would be very helpful, thanks.
                        __________________
                          #9847    
                        Old June 14th, 2009 (1:17 AM).
                        RainbowNebula's Avatar
                        RainbowNebula RainbowNebula is offline
                        Colour
                        • Crystal Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Apr 2009
                        Location: UK
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Lonely
                        Posts: 679
                        Quote:
                        Can Anyone Tell Me How To Edit D/P/Pt Music?
                        Like Battle Music?
                        Ok, Please, I'm Gonna Make Hack Of Diamond
                          #9848    
                        Old June 14th, 2009 (1:43 AM).
                        Kalsard's Avatar
                        Kalsard Kalsard is offline
                        Looking for time travellers.
                           
                          Join Date: May 2009
                          Location: New Zealand
                          Age: 22
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Calm
                          Posts: 95
                          Quote:
                          This sounds very noobish, but in a hack of Pokemon Fire-Red, if its not a First Generation Pokemon, it wont evolve, so is there any way to edit the game to make it so you have the National Dex earlier on than after defeating the Elite Four.
                          I've seen it done in some games, but finding out how to do it would be very helpful, thanks.
                          Special 0x81F or something. Triggers your national dex, just look it up in Oak's script.

                          How would you release a Pokemon from your party?
                          Thanks
                          __________________

                          "What I have shown you is reality. What you remember, that is the illusion."

                            #9849    
                          Old June 14th, 2009 (2:07 AM). Edited June 14th, 2009 by muzzyguy.
                          muzzyguy's Avatar
                          muzzyguy muzzyguy is offline
                          When disaster strikes!
                             
                            Join Date: May 2009
                            Posts: 58
                            XSE is not working for me i put in the script completely right and it doesnt work!

                            and has any one got a complete script for give pokedex and get your first badge. And dont tell me to read the tutorial that comes with it cos ive read it twice all the way through.
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Atlus View Post
                            1. Don't use AdvanceText for things like that. Create your own scripts using a tool like XSE. :/

                            2. That's the kind of thing you use AdvanceText for. Search for some of the text in the intro, and then edit it.

                            3. You can use a tool called Lunar IPS (LIPS). It both patches and creates patches. To put it up for download, you can use a sharing site like MediaFire or SendSpace, or you can attach it to one of your posts.
                            EDIT: And is there a tool to edit the title screen in fire red?


                            And on number 2 i meant before you see oak the bit where theres a pikachu in tp corner




                            he told me to make my own script for the 1st badge how do i do that
                              #9850    
                            Old June 14th, 2009 (2:32 AM).
                            Reb's Avatar
                            Reb Reb is offline
                            Bad Mood :X
                               
                              Join Date: Jun 2009
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Lonely
                              Posts: 18
                              iam edieting the titlescreen.But when i import the raw and test it,hers what happen.
                              http:*//i397.photobucket.com/albums/pp52/trebuh12345/hyu.jpg

                              (remove the *)

                              it screwed up,i already pallet edited it.
                              Maybe the tilemap is too big?
                              Closed Thread
                              Quick Reply

                              Sponsored Links
                              Thread Tools

                              Posting Rules
                              You may not post new threads
                              You may not post replies
                              You may not post attachments
                              You may not edit your posts

                              BB code is On
                              Smilies are On
                              [IMG] code is On
                              HTML code is Off

                              Forum Jump


                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 8:02 AM.