ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #9876    
Old June 15th, 2009 (7:22 AM).
Logan's Avatar
Logan Logan is offline
  • Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 10,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vednix View Post
Um. Just asking if someone can answer my question? it's two pages back.
If your having real problems just re-point the two offsets. Then delete the .spr and .pal extension files. It will be in a different location in unlz.gba.
__________________
Wait, I saw bare kicks, saw bare clothes
Said psyduck that, I can't wear those
I don't like them, they're not my ting
They went silent, they're all weirdos

Relevant Advertising!

  #9877    
Old June 15th, 2009 (8:01 AM).
Melash's Avatar
Melash Melash is offline
Back for now.
     
    Join Date: May 2008
    Location: Idaho
    Age: 23
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Relaxed
    Posts: 425
    Hmm, I have a question about running A-Map. Is it possible to export a tileset as an image file (.bmp or .dib?) If so, how can you do it?
      #9878    
    Old June 15th, 2009 (8:02 AM).
    Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
    Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
    hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
       
      Join Date: May 2008
      Age: 23
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Bashful
      Posts: 3,487
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Melash View Post
      Hmm, I have a question about running A-Map. Is it possible to export a tileset as an image file (.bmp or .dib?) If so, how can you do it?
      Easy:

      Go to Block Editor, then the menu Picture - Save Tileset (1 or 2). Saves it as a picture. Change pallette with the dropdown menu near the centre of the Block Editor window.
      __________________


      Temmie vibrates intensely.

      awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

      OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

      can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

      RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

        #9879    
      Old June 15th, 2009 (8:05 AM).
      Vednix's Avatar
      Vednix Vednix is offline
      :D
         
        Join Date: May 2009
        Age: 23
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Docile
        Posts: 254
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Melash View Post
        Hmm, I have a question about running A-Map. Is it possible to export a tileset as an image file (.bmp or .dib?) If so, how can you do it?

        This is reasonably easy. Open your ROM in A-map (I use 1.92), open up the map wiht the tilesets you want, or the ones you want to change, click the jigsaw peice, then you should see the tileset. then go Picture, then save tileset1. Then you can save it as a .dib
        __________________
        ._.
          #9880    
        Old June 15th, 2009 (8:18 AM).
        DarkPrince304's Avatar
        DarkPrince304 DarkPrince304 is offline
        Back to Hacking after exams!!!
           
          Join Date: May 2009
          Location: PokeCommunity
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Calm
          Posts: 167
          How do I edit Blocks in A-Map when I save them in .BVD Format...because in the Tileset I cannot see everything like Houses full Pokemon Center,etc
          __________________
          I am the creator of Pokemon Gotta Catch em' All! Game.







          Click on the Banner to go to main thread
            #9881    
          Old June 15th, 2009 (8:20 AM).
          Logan's Avatar
          Logan Logan is offline
          • Platinum Tier
           
          Join Date: Nov 2008
          Location: Salisbury, England
          Age: 22
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Sassy
          Posts: 10,030
          You need to save it as .dib or .bmp. And make your your on the right pal
          __________________
          Wait, I saw bare kicks, saw bare clothes
          Said psyduck that, I can't wear those
          I don't like them, they're not my ting
          They went silent, they're all weirdos
            #9882    
          Old June 15th, 2009 (8:34 AM).
          PlatniumPiano's Avatar
          PlatniumPiano PlatniumPiano is offline
          You are now breathing manually
             
            Join Date: Dec 2008
            Location: Yesterday
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Lax
            Posts: 480
            I have three questions, relating to Ruby version...

            1. In both players starting houses, whenever I put a brown dirt tile in a certain location, instead I get a different one... this happens for every ruby ROM I do, so I don't think that its the ROM.... I could be wrong though. Here's the picture:

            Spoiler:


            2. Is there a way to edit/remove the Pokeball animations/text that goes along with catching a Pokemon? My hack is going to use some sort of Pokeball-less taming to get Pokemon, and I need to remove them from the game. How would I go about this? Would I have to use uNLZ or something awfully difficult like ASM?


            3. How exatcly do you work a hex editor? whenever I search for a word the game uses that I want to edit, say, Magma, I do not find it in the hex column or the ASCII coulmn. Do I need a new hex editor or am I missing something entirely? (BTW I'm using a program called HexEdit)


            Thank you!
            __________________

            If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
              #9883    
            Old June 15th, 2009 (8:47 AM).
            Vrai's Avatar
            Vrai Vrai is offline
            can you feel my heart?
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Jun 2008
            Age: 23
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 2,893
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by PlatniumPiano View Post
            I have three questions, relating to Ruby version...

            1. In both players starting houses, whenever I put a brown dirt tile in a certain location, instead I get a different one... this happens for every ruby ROM I do, so I don't think that its the ROM.... I could be wrong though. Here's the picture:

            Spoiler:


            Thank you!
            Well, I dunno much about your other two questions, but I believe this has something to do with a level script. Remove all of the level scripts and see what happens. :3
            __________________
              #9884    
            Old June 15th, 2009 (8:48 AM).
            IIMarckus's Avatar
            IIMarckus IIMarckus is offline
               
              Join Date: Oct 2007
              Gender:
              Posts: 402
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by PlatniumPiano View Post
              3. How exatcly do you work a hex editor? whenever I search for a word the game uses that I want to edit, say, Magma, I do not find it in the hex column or the ASCII coulmn. Do I need a new hex editor or am I missing something entirely? (BTW I'm using a program called HexEdit)
              You need a table file to see the correct letters. Try using the relative search option if your editor has one.
              __________________
              iimarck.us / hax.iimarck.us

              If you want me, please contact me by email. [email protected]

              If you want to hack Pokémon RBY or GSC, read, read, and read some more. This has tons of valuable information.

              Pokémon Red disassembly project

              Rules that should be rethought: 25charlimit, bumping.
              Bad posts are bad posts, regardless of how many words are in them or how old the thread is.
              Good posts are good posts, regardless of how old the thread is—and brevity is underrated.
                #9885    
              Old June 15th, 2009 (9:30 AM).
              HackMew's Avatar
              HackMew HackMew is offline
              Mewtwo Strikes Back
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Jun 2006
              Posts: 1,314
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by PlatniumPiano View Post
              2. Is there a way to edit/remove the Pokeball animations/text that goes along with catching a Pokemon? My hack is going to use some sort of Pokeball-less taming to get Pokemon, and I need to remove them from the game. How would I go about this? Would I have to use uNLZ or something awfully difficult like ASM?
              unLZ won't help much at all... you might hide the balls, but the text would be still there. So you need something awfully difficult aka ASM.
              __________________
                #9886    
              Old June 15th, 2009 (9:57 AM).
              RaycrowX's Avatar
              RaycrowX RaycrowX is offline
              Beginning ROM Hacker
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2009
                Location: Jenison, MI
                Gender:
                Posts: 36
                My post earlier kind of got buried, but I'd still like an answer. I can't go on with my hack until this problem is resolved. Any help is appreciated.

                Spoiler:
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by RaycrowX View Post
                I've been trying to insert some maps into my ROM (FireRed) to replace the Safari Zone, but have been having no luck. It always seems to overwrite some of my maps with the map that I just inserted, and I can't seem to be able to fix it. Originally I thought it was the map footer, because I was getting the "Invalid pointer to map footer." on the map after the one I just inserted. But I fixed it using this tutorial. So now a couple maps after the one I just inserted are blank, but I don't care about that, since I was going to replace them anyways. My problem is that when I enter the map before the one I just inserted it warps me to a spot on the one I just inserted. It's something like this:

                Obviously that's not where it's supposed to warp me to. It's not even the right map. I think it's overwriting stuff, but I don't know how to fix it. It looks fine in A-map. This is really important to know before doing other stuff because right now it seems I can't insert any maps. Can anybody help me?
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by RaycrowX View Post
                Thanks, ~Watermelon, but I re-checked the warps and all the warps are correct. That's not even the problem because it is warping me to the wrong map. The weird thing is that all the events are still there. When I walk into a map that is supposed to be a small cave with a couple of sprites in it, it warps me to another one of my maps, but still includes the sprites. They are at the right coordinates but on another map. And I am warped to what I think are the right coordinates on that other map. I've included another screenshot so you can see what I mean.

                Now obviously they are not supposed to be there. Correct events, wrong map. That's why I think it's overwriting something. Maybe like the map header or footer or something, because it looks fine in AdvanceMap.
                  #9887    
                Old June 15th, 2009 (11:07 AM).
                Melash's Avatar
                Melash Melash is offline
                Back for now.
                   
                  Join Date: May 2008
                  Location: Idaho
                  Age: 23
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Relaxed
                  Posts: 425
                  Hmm...there isn't anyway to save the block data from a ROM as an image file, is there? (A-Map, of course)
                    #9888    
                  Old June 15th, 2009 (4:03 PM).
                  Desu Desu is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2009
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 1
                    Can anyone tell me how or where to get /open the "Palette View"?
                      #9889    
                    Old June 15th, 2009 (7:51 PM).
                    PlatniumPiano's Avatar
                    PlatniumPiano PlatniumPiano is offline
                    You are now breathing manually
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2008
                      Location: Yesterday
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Lax
                      Posts: 480
                      I have a somewhat major problem. In a map I have, there is a givepokemon event. If the event does not occur, I can enter/leave the house freely. When the event does occur though, (the flag has been "set") I can go to the lower level of the map, but not to the upper level, or other warp. When I try to leave via the upper level, the screen goes black. Is this a problem with my ROM, and am I going to have to start over, or is it a level script problem? The reason I say this is because I recently added a level scipt outside the map where the givepokemon event occurs. It is supposed to check a flag, flag 800, being the Pokemon flag, then hide a sprite if the flag has been set. I think this might be the culprit because flag 800 is set in the givepokemon map, and when I try to exit, the level script somehow cannot figure out how to hide a sprite if I have a Pokemon with me. Or maybe I messed up and need to read a level scripting tutorial. Could I have some help? I still want the sprite hidden, I just want to be able to come onto that map as well

                      Help is very much appreciated.
                      __________________

                      If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
                        #9890    
                      Old June 15th, 2009 (10:37 PM).
                      Vednix's Avatar
                      Vednix Vednix is offline
                      :D
                         
                        Join Date: May 2009
                        Age: 23
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Docile
                        Posts: 254
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Melash View Post
                        Hmm...there isn't anyway to save the block data from a ROM as an image file, is there? (A-Map, of course)

                        When saving it, you can try selecting all files instead of .dib, then typing ".bmp" (without quotes) after the name you put in. that mgiht work.

                        Also, to do wiht my problem, I put free offsets for both the pallette and the image, and it still does it
                        __________________
                        ._.
                          #9891    
                        Old June 15th, 2009 (10:51 PM).
                        theswordbuggy's Avatar
                        theswordbuggy theswordbuggy is offline
                        Rom Hacker
                           
                          Join Date: May 2009
                          Location: Australia, Queensland
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 21
                          i have a question is it possible to add new overworlds to pokemon emerald.
                            #9892    
                          Old June 15th, 2009 (11:43 PM).
                          final_agent final_agent is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Aug 2008
                            Gender:
                            Posts: 4
                            *sigh* Well since no one seemed all that interested in replying to my past post I guess no one knew much about it.

                            So I'd like to suggestions, besides advance-text, which tools could help me translate the japanese version of pokemon fire red's attacks and pokemon names?

                            A good portion of tools simply don't want anything to do with the japanese version so it would help if someone could give me a hint.
                              #9893    
                            Old June 15th, 2009 (11:56 PM).
                            0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                            0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                            Im comin' home...
                            • Silver Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Jan 2008
                            Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                            Age: 24
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Gentle
                            Posts: 1,812
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by final_agent View Post
                            *sigh* Well since no one seemed all that interested in replying to my past post I guess no one knew much about it.

                            So I'd like to suggestions, besides advance-text, which tools could help me translate the japanese version of pokemon fire red's attacks and pokemon names?

                            A good portion of tools simply don't want anything to do with the japanese version so it would help if someone could give me a hint.
                            For what reason are you translating the Japanese one when the game exists in so many languages!
                            Silly Silly person!
                            __________________
                            >Boot Jailbot
                            >Pass *****
                            .
                            .
                            Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                            Greetings Warden
                            of Superjail Penitentiary
                            Awaiting user input...

                            >Display User_Info
                            ╠══User Info══╣
                            Username:
                            0m3GA ARS3NAL
                            Age: 18
                            Sex: Male ♂
                            Race: Caucasian
                            Quote:
                            "What is this
                            I don't even..."

                            M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                            ╠══End of File══╣
                            Awaiting user input...

                            >
                              #9894    
                            Old June 16th, 2009 (5:38 AM).
                            Gamewhale's Avatar
                            Gamewhale Gamewhale is offline
                            lol --
                               
                              Join Date: Jul 2007
                              Gender:
                              Nature: Jolly
                              Posts: 51
                              Can someone please give me a link to a download of Trainer Edit?

                              Thanks in advance.
                              __________________

                                #9895    
                              Old June 16th, 2009 (7:48 AM).
                              Logan's Avatar
                              Logan Logan is offline
                              • Platinum Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Nov 2008
                              Location: Salisbury, England
                              Age: 22
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Sassy
                              Posts: 10,030
                              Well, I find A-Trainer much more efficient. Try it out, just go to the toolbox and go to Hackmew's thread
                              __________________
                              Wait, I saw bare kicks, saw bare clothes
                              Said psyduck that, I can't wear those
                              I don't like them, they're not my ting
                              They went silent, they're all weirdos
                                #9896    
                              Old June 16th, 2009 (8:06 AM).
                              CureYoshiDarkness's Avatar
                              CureYoshiDarkness CureYoshiDarkness is offline
                              CATCH PHRASE!
                              • Crystal Tier
                               
                              Join Date: May 2008
                              Location: Hoenn's Trumpet
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Gentle
                              Posts: 1,094
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by theswordbuggy View Post
                              i have a question is it possible to add new overworlds to pokemon emerald.
                              If they're in the same colour pallette, unless you pallette edit, too.
                              __________________


                                #9897    
                              Old June 16th, 2009 (8:47 AM).
                              Gamewhale's Avatar
                              Gamewhale Gamewhale is offline
                              lol --
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2007
                                Gender:
                                Nature: Jolly
                                Posts: 51
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Goodies View Post
                                Well, I find A-Trainer much more efficient. Try it out, just go to the toolbox and go to Hackmew's thread ;)
                                I have already tried it, but it has a bad glitch that I can't fix or work with, so I have to use Trainer Edit instead. Thanks for the suggestion though. :)

                                So does anyone have a link to a download of Trainer Edit?
                                __________________

                                  #9898    
                                Old June 16th, 2009 (9:03 AM).
                                Logan's Avatar
                                Logan Logan is offline
                                • Platinum Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Nov 2008
                                Location: Salisbury, England
                                Age: 22
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Sassy
                                Posts: 10,030
                                Maybe we could help you with the error? Maybe ask hackmew? I'm intrigued, are you adding the new trainers next to each other? As that is often a problem, I suggest putting a space or two between each trainer.
                                __________________
                                Wait, I saw bare kicks, saw bare clothes
                                Said psyduck that, I can't wear those
                                I don't like them, they're not my ting
                                They went silent, they're all weirdos
                                  #9899    
                                Old June 16th, 2009 (9:10 AM).
                                Gamewhale's Avatar
                                Gamewhale Gamewhale is offline
                                lol --
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jul 2007
                                  Gender:
                                  Nature: Jolly
                                  Posts: 51
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Goodies View Post
                                  Maybe we could help you with the error? Maybe ask hackmew? I'm intrigued, are you adding the new trainers next to each other? As that is often a problem, I suggest putting a space or two between each trainer.
                                  Well, I'm trying to give Roxanne a Lv. 20 Pupitar as her last Pokemon, but when I save and go on to Brawly, he has the Lv. 20 Pupitar as his first Pokemon! So I change it to a Lv. 24 Machop, and then I go back to Roxanne, and now she has the Lv. 24 Machop instead of the Pupitar! Do you know of any way to fix it?
                                  __________________

                                    #9900    
                                  Old June 16th, 2009 (9:16 AM).
                                  Logan's Avatar
                                  Logan Logan is offline
                                  • Platinum Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2008
                                  Location: Salisbury, England
                                  Age: 22
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Sassy
                                  Posts: 10,030
                                  You just make a new trainer with the sprite, music and Pokémon etc. And then change the script to have that trainer ID. That should work.
                                  __________________
                                  Wait, I saw bare kicks, saw bare clothes
                                  Said psyduck that, I can't wear those
                                  I don't like them, they're not my ting
                                  They went silent, they're all weirdos
                                  Closed Thread

                                  Quick Reply

                                  Join the conversation!

                                  Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                  Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                  Sponsored Links
                                  Thread Tools

                                  Posting Rules
                                  You may not post new threads
                                  You may not post replies
                                  You may not post attachments
                                  You may not edit your posts

                                  BB code is On
                                  Smilies are On
                                  [IMG] code is On
                                  HTML code is Off

                                  Forum Jump


                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:46 PM.