ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #10176    
Old July 2nd, 2009 (4:01 PM).
MegaMaccer's Avatar
MegaMaccer MegaMaccer is offline
If a tree falls in a forest
     
    Join Date: Dec 2008
    Location: New Zealand
    Age: 27
    Posts: 276
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
    I mean... what sprites were replaced?
    For the PokéDex order editor, take a look at the Toolbox.
    *Heads to Toolbox*
    For Freezpool, Wartortle was replaced, front and back. Various other sprites were replaced, but there are quite a few other Fakemon that have been inserted. All of them have the same problem with their backsprites, while the frontsprites are fine.
    __________________
    Latest Torzach Updates:

    The Hero sprite and Heroine overworlds, and Torzach's own Forum!

    Relevant Advertising!

      #10177    
    Old July 2nd, 2009 (4:17 PM).
    Zanny77's Avatar
    Zanny77 Zanny77 is offline
    I'm back, baby!
       
      Join Date: Mar 2009
      Location: Maine
      Age: 26
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Jolly
      Posts: 259
      I have a problem that I used to be able to figure out...but I forgot. :\
      When I try to insert a tileset, I get "Palette file not found." What do I do?
      I have changed the palette in AdvanceMap, and it should work.
      __________________

      I SUPPORTQUOTECREDITHACK
        #10178    
      Old July 2nd, 2009 (6:47 PM).
      monkeyman2092's Avatar
      monkeyman2092 monkeyman2092 is offline
      Aipom Awesome!!
         
        Join Date: Jun 2009
        Nature: Naughty
        Posts: 140
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
        That requires ASM hacking.
        Uh... What exactly is ASM?
        __________________


        Aipom, Pikachu, and Eevee shall take over the world very soon... Very soon...

        Map Requests Accepted JUST NOT FOR THE MAP RATING THREAD
          #10179    
        Old July 2nd, 2009 (10:23 PM).
        0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
        0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
        Im comin' home...
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Jan 2008
        Location: Superjail Penitentiary
        Age: 24
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Gentle
        Posts: 1,812
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by monkeyman2092 View Post
        Uh... What exactly is ASM?
        ASM stands for Assembly.
        It is a much more complicated programing language used for advanced GBA commands.
        It is recommended you get yourself acquainted with ROM hacking before you even attempt ASM, as it is one of the most difficult methods out there.
        (Well, it would be easier if SOME PEOPLE WOULD POST MORE TUTORIALS (You KNOW WHO YOU ARE!!!))
        __________________
        >Boot Jailbot
        >Pass *****
        .
        .
        Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
        Greetings Warden
        of Superjail Penitentiary
        Awaiting user input...

        >Display User_Info
        ╠══User Info══╣
        Username:
        0m3GA ARS3NAL
        Age: 18
        Sex: Male ♂
        Race: Caucasian
        Quote:
        "What is this
        I don't even..."

        M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
        ╠══End of File══╣
        Awaiting user input...

        >
          #10180    
        Old July 2nd, 2009 (10:47 PM).
        Vednix's Avatar
        Vednix Vednix is offline
        :D
           
          Join Date: May 2009
          Age: 23
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Docile
          Posts: 254
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
          Why would you want a 4th one?
          Well, its for a hack im thinking of. mudkip in mystery dungeon has 4 frames: one standing, the 3 moving. I was wondering if i would insert another frame for it so that I could have all frames instead of cutting one out. Also, I want to change the dimensions from 16x32 to 17x32. Can this be done wihtout bumming up the frame?
          __________________
          ._.
            #10181    
          Old July 2nd, 2009 (10:53 PM).
          Christos's Avatar
          Christos Christos is offline
          • Moderator
          • Battle Server Staff
          • Platinum Tier
           
          Join Date: Feb 2006
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Serious
          Posts: 6,403
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by MegaMaccer View Post
          Alright, I'm back with the same problem (well, a similar problem) to the one I had yesterday. The backsprites of all the Fakemon are still weird (Its a case of different palettes. Only really slightly different, but still different) which I think is what our problem is. So what I did was get the frontsprite with the correct palette, and paste the backsprite with the bad pal onto the top, which changed the colours really slightly. Nothing major at all. After that I re-inserted without changing anything. I had all boxes ticked except auto fix pointers, and then once I inserted it, this is what happened:
          Spoiler:
          This is the original problem:
          Spoiler:
          And this is the old indexed sprite (the one that had the wrong colours):
          Spoiler:
          and the new one (the one with the big block around it):
          Spoiler:
          As you can see, the frontsprite works fine:
          Spoiler:
          If anyone can help with this, it would be much appreciated. I really really need to get this fixed up. I hope its a fairly easy fix ^^
          If you see a block around it, then it's probably because the background is the wrong color. The first color in a palette is transparent in the game, so that's the one you should use for the background.
          __________________

          A Pokemon that is discriminated!
          Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
            #10182    
          Old July 4th, 2009 (3:20 PM). Edited July 4th, 2009 by theswordbuggy.
          theswordbuggy's Avatar
          theswordbuggy theswordbuggy is offline
          Rom Hacker
             
            Join Date: May 2009
            Location: Australia, Queensland
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 21
            I have a question. Are we able to ask the people in this community what the story in our hack could be and we can, where do i post a thread so that i could do that.

            Thank You,
            Sword Buggy
              #10183    
            Old July 4th, 2009 (4:02 PM).
            MegaMaccer's Avatar
            MegaMaccer MegaMaccer is offline
            If a tree falls in a forest
               
              Join Date: Dec 2008
              Location: New Zealand
              Age: 27
              Posts: 276
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by theswordbuggy View Post
              I have a question. Are we able to ask the people in this community what the story in our hack could be and we can, where do i post a thread so that i could do that.

              Thank You,
              Sword Buggy
              I'm not sure I exactly understand :\ The Scrapbox is for posting hack ideas, and you don't have to have any media for that section at all. Perhaps thats what you were asking?
              __________________
              Latest Torzach Updates:

              The Hero sprite and Heroine overworlds, and Torzach's own Forum!
                #10184    
              Old July 4th, 2009 (4:20 PM).
              Logan's Avatar
              Logan Logan is offline
              • Platinum Tier
               
              Join Date: Nov 2008
              Location: Salisbury, England
              Age: 22
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Sassy
              Posts: 10,030
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by theswordbuggy View Post
              I have a question. Are we able to ask the people in this community what the story in our hack could be and we can, where do i post a thread so that i could do that.

              Thank You,
              Sword Buggy
              Here is where you should go.

              Quote:
              Originally Posted by MegaMaccer View Post
              I'm not sure I exactly understand :\ The Scrapbox is for posting hack ideas, and you don't have to have any media for that section at all. Perhaps thats what you were asking?
              How about next time, if you don't know the answer you don't tell them misleading answers.

              Quote:
              Originally Posted by ChronicEdge View Post
              So imagine this scenario, if you will:

              I'm in a double battle. I have a Dodrio and Marowak. It's turn three; Dodrio's about to die. Dodrio goes first and uses Rest. Next, Marowak uses Swagger on Dodrio to boost its attack for Sleep Talk. My question: The next time he attacks, is there a chance of Dodrio being injured due to Confusion even though he's asleep?

              I'd test this myself, but I don't have Platinum yet.
              Can I ask, what does this have to do with hacking?
              __________________
              Wait, I saw bare kicks, saw bare clothes
              Said psyduck that, I can't wear those
              I don't like them, they're not my ting
              They went silent, they're all weirdos
                #10185    
              Old July 4th, 2009 (7:12 PM).
              874521's Avatar
              874521 874521 is offline
              School days again...
                 
                Join Date: Dec 2008
                Location: Philippines
                Age: 19
                Gender: Female
                Nature: Naughty
                Posts: 507
                When inserting the tile in the attachment, when changing the palettes, can I use the other palettes?
                Attached Images
                File Type: png platinumhouse.PNG‎ (1.8 KB, 1 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                __________________
                Hacks I Support:
                Pokemon Ametrino





                --------------------------
                My Thread: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=201787
                Post your suggestions on my thread.
                Contains DPP and HGSS Tiles and Overworlds!



                874521 Pair up with Napalm
                  #10186    
                Old July 5th, 2009 (7:33 AM).
                Shroomish's Avatar
                Shroomish Shroomish is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2009
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 9
                  How do i use a warp so that when the player uses the warp he falls from above onto the next map?
                    #10187    
                  Old July 5th, 2009 (7:35 AM).
                  Vednix's Avatar
                  Vednix Vednix is offline
                  :D
                     
                    Join Date: May 2009
                    Age: 23
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Docile
                    Posts: 254
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Shroomish View Post
                    How do i use a warp so that when the player uses the warp he falls from above onto the next map?
                    You would have to set the position of the map so that he falls in the place you want him to.
                    __________________
                    ._.
                      #10188    
                    Old July 5th, 2009 (7:42 AM).
                    HackMew's Avatar
                    HackMew HackMew is offline
                    Mewtwo Strikes Back
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2006
                    Posts: 1,314
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Vednix View Post
                    Well, its for a hack im thinking of. mudkip in mystery dungeon has 4 frames: one standing, the 3 moving. I was wondering if i would insert another frame for it so that I could have all frames instead of cutting one out. Also, I want to change the dimensions from 16x32 to 17x32. Can this be done wihtout bumming up the frame?
                    It's better if you just cut one out, as having one more frame would require ASM hacking for sure. As for the dimensions, you can't use 17x32 or "weird" dimensions like that. Due to the way the images are loaded, you wouldn't be able to display them properly.
                    __________________
                      #10189    
                    Old July 5th, 2009 (7:54 AM).
                    Sija Sija is offline
                       
                      Join Date: May 2008
                      Posts: 3
                      Hello. I'm new in room hacking and I have one question. How to reduce ROM size? It's mean final rom size is smaller than before. I think that remove sound and music can help, I'm right? and how do this?
                        #10190    
                      Old July 5th, 2009 (7:56 AM).
                      HackMew's Avatar
                      HackMew HackMew is offline
                      Mewtwo Strikes Back
                      • Crystal Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2006
                      Posts: 1,314
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Sija View Post
                      Hello. I'm new in room hacking and I have one question. How to reduce ROM size? It's mean final rom size is smaller than before. I think that remove sound and music can help, I'm right? and how do this?
                      Why would you need to reduce the ROM size?
                      __________________
                        #10191    
                      Old July 5th, 2009 (8:00 AM).
                      Shroomish's Avatar
                      Shroomish Shroomish is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2009
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 9
                        i kinda meant how do i get him to fall? can i use an indoor door tile? or does it have to be a hole tile? I think how it might work is if i make a new tile in tileset 1 using block editor that looks like the indoor door tile, but behaves like a hole. how do i use block editor to achieve these means? i can't seem to figure out how to add a tile graphic already existing in the rom. it just doesn't copy and paste for me...
                          #10192    
                        Old July 5th, 2009 (8:19 AM).
                        BlitŻ's Avatar
                        BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
                        guahh my dog is so cute
                        • Crystal Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Feb 2009
                        Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
                        Age: 22
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Jolly
                        Posts: 472
                        I have a question about HM's in gmae

                        Is thier still the rule intact where you have to get a specific badge to be able to use an HM?
                        __________________
                          #10193    
                        Old July 5th, 2009 (8:20 AM).
                        Vednix's Avatar
                        Vednix Vednix is offline
                        :D
                           
                          Join Date: May 2009
                          Age: 23
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Docile
                          Posts: 254
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
                          It's better if you just cut one out, as having one more frame would require ASM hacking for sure. As for the dimensions, you can't use 17x32 or "weird" dimensions like that. Due to the way the images are loaded, you wouldn't be able to display them properly.
                          Ok, thanks Hackmew.

                          @Shroomish: I suggest looking at other fallin parts and see how they work.
                          __________________
                          ._.
                            #10194    
                          Old July 5th, 2009 (8:55 AM).
                          PlatniumPiano's Avatar
                          PlatniumPiano PlatniumPiano is offline
                          You are now breathing manually
                             
                            Join Date: Dec 2008
                            Location: Yesterday
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Lax
                            Posts: 480
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by jebees View Post
                            I have a question about HM's in gmae

                            Is thier still the rule intact where you have to get a specific badge to be able to use an HM?
                            Yes, to my knowledge. To use them w/o badges, you would have to create an item that could perform whatever task the HM performs. It's not too hard. If you want a script I can send you one.
                            __________________

                            If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
                              #10195    
                            Old July 5th, 2009 (9:16 AM).
                            BlitŻ's Avatar
                            BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
                            guahh my dog is so cute
                            • Crystal Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2009
                            Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
                            Age: 22
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Jolly
                            Posts: 472
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by JohnPaulJones View Post
                            Yes, to my knowledge. To use them w/o badges, you would have to create an item that could perform whatever task the HM performs. It's not too hard. If you want a script I can send you one.

                            that would be good, but how would I put that script into a item? Would I use a program?
                            __________________
                              #10196    
                            Old July 5th, 2009 (10:58 AM).
                            Blaziken_rjcf's Avatar
                            Blaziken_rjcf Blaziken_rjcf is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Jul 2009
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 13
                              i can't make warp points in emerald using advance map... i set everything correctly but when i go to said warp point, nothing happens. i also cant increase the size of the maps because when i go there, it takes me to a dark place with one single place where i can move that has grass. after using walk through walls cheat i discovered that the right side appears to have no limit and if i go twice up, it freezes. also, when i walk, the grass i was on/in disappears. when i make the warp point its to a new map i created. i set everything correctly (checked more than 5 times) but nothing happens
                                #10197    
                              Old July 5th, 2009 (11:03 AM).
                              Vednix's Avatar
                              Vednix Vednix is offline
                              :D
                                 
                                Join Date: May 2009
                                Age: 23
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Docile
                                Posts: 254
                                Hey, im having a problem with Overworld editor RE. I import my first sprite, and tick both boxes. then go to the next frame and import the picture with only "import image" ticked (because i do not need to tick the export pallette again). and the pallette is messed up! I reimport it to the same frame and this time tick "import pallette", and it looks fine. I go back to the first frame, and the pallette is messed up. help!
                                __________________
                                ._.
                                  #10198    
                                Old July 5th, 2009 (12:04 PM). Edited July 5th, 2009 by 0m3GA ARS3NAL.
                                0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                                0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                                Im comin' home...
                                • Silver Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Jan 2008
                                Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                                Age: 24
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Gentle
                                Posts: 1,812
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by jebees View Post
                                that would be good, but how would I put that script into a item? Would I use a program?
                                Actually, you would need to use ASM... If you want the item to have the script on it...
                                OR, you could place the script on a tile, and have it check to see if a pokemon you have has the attack it teaches...
                                __________________
                                >Boot Jailbot
                                >Pass *****
                                .
                                .
                                Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                                Greetings Warden
                                of Superjail Penitentiary
                                Awaiting user input...

                                >Display User_Info
                                ╠══User Info══╣
                                Username:
                                0m3GA ARS3NAL
                                Age: 18
                                Sex: Male ♂
                                Race: Caucasian
                                Quote:
                                "What is this
                                I don't even..."

                                M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                                ╠══End of File══╣
                                Awaiting user input...

                                >
                                  #10199    
                                Old July 5th, 2009 (12:16 PM).
                                monkeyman2092's Avatar
                                monkeyman2092 monkeyman2092 is offline
                                Aipom Awesome!!
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jun 2009
                                  Nature: Naughty
                                  Posts: 140
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
                                  ASM stands for Assembly.
                                  It is a much more complicated programing language used for advanced GBA commands.
                                  It is recommended you get yourself acquainted with ROM hacking before you even attempt ASM, as it is one of the most difficult methods out there.
                                  (Well, it would be easier if SOME PEOPLE WOULD POST MORE TUTORIALS (You KNOW WHO YOU ARE!!!))
                                  I've been doing ROM Hacking for 4 months. I think I'm used to it.

                                  EDIT: Some one said they needed help with warps? Well, the first thing is to check the "bank", "map", and "exit". If "bank" or "map" aren't correct, then the warp will mess up and things will act all creepy.
                                  __________________


                                  Aipom, Pikachu, and Eevee shall take over the world very soon... Very soon...

                                  Map Requests Accepted JUST NOT FOR THE MAP RATING THREAD
                                    #10200    
                                  Old July 5th, 2009 (12:29 PM).
                                  Blaziken_rjcf's Avatar
                                  Blaziken_rjcf Blaziken_rjcf is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jul 2009
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 13
                                    i tried that already, monkeyman2092. as i said (or not, maybe i forgot) the settings are perfect. i click "go to" and it takes me right where it's supposed to take me but if i go in the actual game, nothing happens
                                    Closed Thread

                                    Quick Reply

                                    Join the conversation!

                                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                    Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                    Sponsored Links
                                    Thread Tools

                                    Posting Rules
                                    You may not post new threads
                                    You may not post replies
                                    You may not post attachments
                                    You may not edit your posts

                                    BB code is On
                                    Smilies are On
                                    [IMG] code is On
                                    HTML code is Off

                                    Forum Jump


                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:23 PM.