ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #10826    
Old August 6th, 2009 (2:06 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haz View Post
Well that sucks in a way :/ I think a lot of cool hacks could be made if someone made tools. I would but I don't know how
If you would be willing to get into all that, you COULD learn.
I suggest by starting to learn a programing language, it might be tough at first, but once you get a grasp of it, you can seriously make some cool stuff.
(Just look at A-Map)
I suggest starting with Visual Basic 6, VB.Net, or Visual C++.
(From what I remember, Vb6, and VB.Net both cost money, but I think C++ is free now... I may be mistaken.)
There are plenty of tutorials online, I suggest Youtube.
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>

Relevant Advertising!

  #10827    
Old August 6th, 2009 (2:35 AM).
Haz's Avatar
Haz Haz is offline
Haz ya seen my hack?
     
    Join Date: Nov 2008
    Location: Australia- Aussie, Aussie, Aussie!, Oi, Oi, Oi!
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Docile
    Posts: 698
    Ok good. Thanks for that. The only problem would be time.
    __________________
    DeviantART: Haz-Za

    Fanfiction.net: Ha-Za-A


    Credits to Galukxy for this awesome banner
      #10828    
    Old August 6th, 2009 (5:00 AM).
    3dd13's Avatar
    3dd13 3dd13 is offline
    Leader of the Fallen
       
      Join Date: Oct 2008
      Location: Alabama! The Heart of Hell!
      Age: 25
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Lonely
      Posts: 96
      ok, seriously, im making a downgrade, and need to change the crys in firered starting with treekos. please tell me a simple way, starting with using pokecry.
      __________________
        #10829    
      Old August 6th, 2009 (7:52 AM).
      TSK's Avatar
      TSK TSK is offline
      Swimming in shinies
         
        Join Date: Jun 2007
        Nature: Timid
        Posts: 161
        Whenever I try to insert a replacement sprite for Charizard on the titlescreen (in Fire Red)the new sprite shares it's palette entries with the "Pokémon" Logo... Any advice?
        __________________
        SilverCurrent is on indefinite hiatus.
          #10830    
        Old August 6th, 2009 (8:21 AM).
        Khaz Khaz is offline
           
          Join Date: Aug 2009
          Posts: 8
          it would be really nice for someone to give me the link they got a-text from.....

          oh and here are the exact words: Program to edit texts in a Pokémon Advance ROM. has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

          the link i searched for is Broken and its now a :What you need. When u need it - search page..
            #10831    
          Old August 6th, 2009 (11:08 AM).
          jakerman999's Avatar
          jakerman999 jakerman999 is offline
          looking for spriters
             
            Join Date: Oct 2007
            Location: Ingersoll
            Age: 24
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 52
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by TSK View Post
            Whenever I try to insert a replacement sprite for Charizard on the titlescreen (in Fire Red)the new sprite shares it's palette entries with the "Pokémon" Logo... Any advice?
            hey TSK, I'm having a similar problem but with gamefreak text instead of the sprite. you could try googling a program called TSSC which changes the sprite on the intro screen for you, or you could manually edit the ROM by searching for the new image and changing the pallet pointer to the correct pallet.
            __________________
            you must build -inal pylons.

            jakerman999's PokePet

            sharpshell the level 45 Kabutops!


            I have a life, I bought it on e-bay.

            support shiny gold!
              #10832    
            Old August 6th, 2009 (2:42 PM).
            monkeyman2092's Avatar
            monkeyman2092 monkeyman2092 is offline
            Aipom Awesome!!
               
              Join Date: Jun 2009
              Nature: Naughty
              Posts: 140
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Samike360 View Post
              Ok, I have a problem. In A-map, whenever I add a new map and change the name, it changes all the names of the maps that I have already added. Plus, when moving between maps, I encounter this:
              Spoiler:



              Please help me fix this issue, I think that it is with footers/headers and I have tried playing around with stuff in hex, but nothing is working. (This is for Johto Adventures)
              For the map name, the reason it does that is because if you use a map name, say PALLET TOWN, and you change it to say... Karlli Town, then all the maps with PALLET TOWN names will be changed to Karlli Town or whatever you put.

              As for the map screw-up, it goes away if a certain script on the map is executed. Look into the script to see if something causes it to happen.
              __________________


              Aipom, Pikachu, and Eevee shall take over the world very soon... Very soon...

              Map Requests Accepted JUST NOT FOR THE MAP RATING THREAD
                #10833    
              Old August 6th, 2009 (2:47 PM).
              Samike360's Avatar
              Samike360 Samike360 is offline
              Lover of May
                 
                Join Date: Mar 2009
                Location: ATL
                Gender:
                Nature: Bold
                Posts: 396
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by monkeyman2092 View Post
                For the map name, the reason it does that is because if you use a map name, say PALLET TOWN, and you change it to say... Karlli Town, then all the maps with PALLET TOWN names will be changed to Karlli Town or whatever you put.

                As for the map screw-up, it goes away if a certain script on the map is executed. Look into the script to see if something causes it to happen.
                Ok thanks. But how would I change it so that the maps can have all different names?
                __________________





                Please warm my eggs...I'll be sure to return the favor

                From now one, if you haven't contacted me yet....I will not accept hacks unless they are at least in progressing hacks. So if you want my help, get some screenshots first.
                  #10834    
                Old August 6th, 2009 (2:58 PM).
                monkeyman2092's Avatar
                monkeyman2092 monkeyman2092 is offline
                Aipom Awesome!!
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2009
                  Nature: Naughty
                  Posts: 140
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Samike360 View Post
                  Ok thanks. But how would I change it so that the maps can have all different names?
                  Find a name under the name drop down list that you never see in the game, and use that.
                  __________________


                  Aipom, Pikachu, and Eevee shall take over the world very soon... Very soon...

                  Map Requests Accepted JUST NOT FOR THE MAP RATING THREAD
                    #10835    
                  Old August 6th, 2009 (4:42 PM).
                  exzibit15 exzibit15 is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2009
                    Posts: 3
                    hello. is there a software that can edit the wild pokemon to becomde shiny pokemon?? or to making the finding rate of shiny pokemon higher?
                      #10836    
                    Old August 6th, 2009 (6:44 PM). Edited August 6th, 2009 by Perri Lightfoot.
                    Perri Lightfoot's Avatar
                    Perri Lightfoot Perri Lightfoot is offline
                    Proud to hack Ruby Version!
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Mar 2008
                    Location: Nevada
                    Age: 31
                    Gender: Female
                    Nature: Modest
                    Posts: 176
                    A question I need some help with: Is there any way, any way at all, to remove a Pokémon from your party? I know that trading with an NPC will remove a Pokemon from your party and replace it with another, but is there any way to bypass the entire trade and simply remove the Pokémon (without getting anything in return?)
                    __________________
                    Signature under construction. Watch this space~
                      #10837    
                    Old August 6th, 2009 (7:39 PM).
                    metapod23's Avatar
                    metapod23 metapod23 is offline
                    Hardened Trainer
                       
                      Join Date: Mar 2009
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Timid
                      Posts: 673
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Pink Parka Girl View Post
                      A question I need some help with: Is there any way, any way at all, to remove a Pokémon from your party? I know that trading with an NPC will remove a Pokemon from your party and replace it with another, but is there any way to bypass the entire trade and simply remove the Pokémon (without getting anything in return?)
                      The only way I know is to use the Daycare script that allows you to give a Pokemon to the daycare person.
                      __________________
                        #10838    
                      Old August 6th, 2009 (7:57 PM).
                      0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                      0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                      Im comin' home...
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2008
                      Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                      Age: 24
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Gentle
                      Posts: 1,812
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by metapod23 View Post
                      The only way I know is to use the Daycare script that allows you to give a Pokemon to the daycare person.
                      Someone made an ASM routine to do this, but another way this could work is to simply erase the data from the RAM.
                      __________________
                      >Boot Jailbot
                      >Pass *****
                      .
                      .
                      Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                      Greetings Warden
                      of Superjail Penitentiary
                      Awaiting user input...

                      >Display User_Info
                      ╠══User Info══╣
                      Username:
                      0m3GA ARS3NAL
                      Age: 18
                      Sex: Male ♂
                      Race: Caucasian
                      Quote:
                      "What is this
                      I don't even..."

                      M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                      ╠══End of File══╣
                      Awaiting user input...

                      >
                        #10839    
                      Old August 7th, 2009 (1:11 AM).
                      Late's Avatar
                      Late Late is offline
                      Pokémon Artist
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2008
                        Location: "We all live in a Pokémon World!"
                        Age: 22
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Careful
                        Posts: 549
                        I don't know if this is possible but I want Pokémon Emerald's bikes to Fire Red. I like the idea of two different bikes. I could make some secret places with those bikes. Does anybody know how I can do that? (I know that it's easy to hack Emerald as well but I have already started Fire Red hacking and it's much better game to hack.) If anybody doesn't know it doesn't matter (yes, it matters...) I can do a hack without these bikes.
                        __________________

                        Please feed my Pokémon and warm my eggs.
                        Thanks for everyone who have clicked these, you've helped me a lot

                        Anyone has Club Nintendo codes that you don't need? I want those.
                        If you have one code for me I can trade you my Explorers of Sky code as I can't put it because I have registered already one. (Registered my brother's game and now I can't register mine...) Someone have same thing? PM me.
                        I know there's nobody who wishes to do this xD
                        I'm talking about Club Nintendo of Europe.
                          #10840    
                        Old August 7th, 2009 (1:45 AM).
                        Co500's Avatar
                        Co500 Co500 is offline
                        Nostalgia Edition
                        • Silver Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2008
                        Location: Far Awayyyyyyy
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 565
                        I have a problem its for johto Adventures aswell as soon as you go onto another map you cant return or itl freeze, I think its the offset where Ive placed it because im a rookie mapper so if anyone is experienced please help
                        __________________
                        It can't end now. Not like this.


                        I hope you’ll remember, there is something good in goodbye.



                          #10841    
                        Old August 7th, 2009 (2:33 AM).
                        0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                        0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                        Im comin' home...
                        • Silver Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Jan 2008
                        Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                        Age: 24
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Gentle
                        Posts: 1,812
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Late View Post
                        I don't know if this is possible but I want Pokémon Emerald's bikes to Fire Red. I like the idea of two different bikes. I could make some secret places with those bikes. Does anybody know how I can do that? (I know that it's easy to hack Emerald as well but I have already started Fire Red hacking and it's much better game to hack.) If anybody doesn't know it doesn't matter (yes, it matters...) I can do a hack without these bikes.
                        You would have to adapt the ASM routines from Emerald to work on FireRed version, which could take quite some time.
                        (Hmm sounds like another project I heard of... muahahah (It has nothing to do with the bikes...))
                        If you want a cheaper way to do it, I suppose you could make a script that works only if you have one bike or another... (Like for the bunny hops that the Acro Bike can do, you could make a script that makes it LOOK like you are bunny hopping over that area...)
                        __________________
                        >Boot Jailbot
                        >Pass *****
                        .
                        .
                        Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                        Greetings Warden
                        of Superjail Penitentiary
                        Awaiting user input...

                        >Display User_Info
                        ╠══User Info══╣
                        Username:
                        0m3GA ARS3NAL
                        Age: 18
                        Sex: Male ♂
                        Race: Caucasian
                        Quote:
                        "What is this
                        I don't even..."

                        M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                        ╠══End of File══╣
                        Awaiting user input...

                        >
                          #10842    
                        Old August 7th, 2009 (3:05 AM).
                        Bozster's Avatar
                        Bozster Bozster is offline
                        Chief Lunatic
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2008
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 101
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by con-11 View Post
                          I have a problem its for johto Adventures aswell as soon as you go onto another map you cant return or itl freeze, I think its the offset where Ive placed it because im a rookie mapper so if anyone is experienced please help
                          I think I know where you're going wrong. You're talking about going to another map through connections, yes? In that case you need to make sure that both maps connect with each other. Just one of the maps connected to the other won't do. On A-Map, press Ctrl+A on your maps to open up Connection Manager.

                          Now I have a question:
                          Is there a tutorial which tells me all the offsets I need in HEX editing?
                            #10843    
                          Old August 7th, 2009 (3:30 AM).
                          Palkia9 Palkia9 is offline
                             
                            Join Date: May 2009
                            Posts: 5
                            Hello can you help me for download the rom base in the rom hacking ressource #26.
                            Thanks for the person who help me.
                              #10844    
                            Old August 7th, 2009 (5:07 AM).
                            Pikablµ Pikablµ is offline
                            Banned
                               
                              Join Date: Jul 2009
                              Location: omg look lol
                              Age: 21
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Impish
                              Posts: 21
                              NOOOO!
                              NO NO NO!!!!

                              I have a completely unmodified clean FireRed BPRE US ROM. So I begun hacking it, started with the titlescreen, followed the steps of this tutorial. so when i had to load a raw to edit the titlescreen in unlz gba, it said too big. No problem, let's look for free space in FSF, i said. But NO FREE SPACE FOUND!?!?! What?????


                              How do i solve this? How do i edit the titlescreen? HOW?!?!!?!?! Does a ROM have that less free space? i can't even edit the titlescreen?

                              Any help would be greatly appreciated. GREATLY.
                                #10845    
                              Old August 7th, 2009 (5:21 AM).
                              Hoshiko Aki's Avatar
                              Hoshiko Aki Hoshiko Aki is offline
                              Avatar rules
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2008
                                Posts: 109
                                Hello,

                                I have a question about the d/p/pt boot screen in some of the other hacks.
                                Is there a patch or something? Yes: can you give my a link to it. If not: How can i add it to my hack then and where can I get the pic for it?
                                  #10846    
                                Old August 7th, 2009 (5:46 AM).
                                Pokepal17's Avatar
                                Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                                More cowbell~
                                • Silver Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2008
                                Location: Steeltown
                                Age: 22
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Modest
                                Posts: 1,511
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by raibaru View Post
                                Hello,

                                I have a question about the d/p/pt boot screen in some of the other hacks.
                                Is there a patch or something? Yes: can you give my a link to it. If not: How can i add it to my hack then and where can I get the pic for it?
                                http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=155219
                                There's the tutorial, it's pretty easy to follow.
                                __________________
                                Pokémon Stardrop
                                  #10847    
                                Old August 7th, 2009 (10:14 AM).
                                Samike360's Avatar
                                Samike360 Samike360 is offline
                                Lover of May
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2009
                                  Location: ATL
                                  Gender:
                                  Nature: Bold
                                  Posts: 396
                                  For some reason, when I enter a certain map (route 2 in Johto Adventures) a person event doesn't appear at all the 2 scripts completely fail to activate. Can anyone tell me what could be the problem?
                                  __________________





                                  Please warm my eggs...I'll be sure to return the favor

                                  From now one, if you haven't contacted me yet....I will not accept hacks unless they are at least in progressing hacks. So if you want my help, get some screenshots first.
                                    #10848    
                                  Old August 7th, 2009 (12:18 PM).
                                  monkeyman2092's Avatar
                                  monkeyman2092 monkeyman2092 is offline
                                  Aipom Awesome!!
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jun 2009
                                    Nature: Naughty
                                    Posts: 140
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Late View Post
                                    I don't know if this is possible but I want Pokémon Emerald's bikes to Fire Red. I like the idea of two different bikes. I could make some secret places with those bikes. Does anybody know how I can do that? (I know that it's easy to hack Emerald as well but I have already started Fire Red hacking and it's much better game to hack.) If anybody doesn't know it doesn't matter (yes, it matters...) I can do a hack without these bikes.
                                    It is possible, but it requires a crazy amount of scripting experience.

                                    First off, goto the Firered Bike shop and find the person who gives you a bike. I'm not much of a scripter, but it would take a script kinda like the one in Emerald/Ruby/Sapphire. It requires all kinds of intense scripting, but it should be as simple as copy and paste. However, you need to find the Hidden ID of the two Hoenn Region bikes on the Firered ROM, and edit that from the original script. But, there are some other things that may set you back, such as things like the variables, flags, etc... If you know it well enough, it should be possible. It requires no ASM hacking what-so-ever if you can figure it out.
                                    __________________


                                    Aipom, Pikachu, and Eevee shall take over the world very soon... Very soon...

                                    Map Requests Accepted JUST NOT FOR THE MAP RATING THREAD
                                      #10849    
                                    Old August 7th, 2009 (12:49 PM).
                                    Matteron (96)'s Avatar
                                    Matteron (96) Matteron (96) is offline
                                    Difference is everything...
                                    • Gold Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: May 2008
                                    Age: 20
                                    Posts: 270
                                    Ok this has become a real problem for me, whenever I insert new tiles they don't work correctly, by that I mean tiles that are supposed to cover the hero, they don't, example, trees, lamp posts, etc.
                                    P.S. I put 00 in their behavior bites and background bites.
                                    __________________
                                    Matteron(96)
                                    Currently Playing--->
                                    Progress: Post-Game
                                    Current Team:


                                    In Terms of Hacking...
                                    Favorite ROM
                                    Skills
                                    Working On
                                    In Terms of Game Dev...
                                    Working On
                                    News
                                    I'm currently up for hire, for almost anything in ROM hacking, so just send me a PM.
                                      #10850    
                                    Old August 7th, 2009 (12:55 PM).
                                    monkeyman2092's Avatar
                                    monkeyman2092 monkeyman2092 is offline
                                    Aipom Awesome!!
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jun 2009
                                      Nature: Naughty
                                      Posts: 140
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Matteron (96) View Post
                                      Ok this has become a real problem for me, whenever I insert new tiles they don't work correctly, by that I mean tiles that are supposed to cover the hero, they don't, example, trees, lamp posts, etc.
                                      P.S. I put 00 in their behavior bites and background bites.
                                      The problem may be this:

                                      If there are tiles in the second box of the Block Editor, then whether it covers the hero or not is determined by the Background Byte. Ex:

                                      If the lampost is a combined tile consisting of the lampost top and the ground beneath it, then you're out of luck.

                                      If the lampost is a seperate tile and you put the ground beneath it, then 00 should let it cover the hero.
                                      __________________


                                      Aipom, Pikachu, and Eevee shall take over the world very soon... Very soon...

                                      Map Requests Accepted JUST NOT FOR THE MAP RATING THREAD
                                      Closed Thread
                                      Quick Reply

                                      Sponsored Links
                                      Thread Tools

                                      Posting Rules
                                      You may not post new threads
                                      You may not post replies
                                      You may not post attachments
                                      You may not edit your posts

                                      BB code is On
                                      Smilies are On
                                      [IMG] code is On
                                      HTML code is Off

                                      Forum Jump


                                      All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:15 AM.