ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #11076    
Old August 19th, 2009 (7:18 AM).
Tyrantrum's Avatar
Tyrantrum Tyrantrum is offline
ʕ´•ᴥ•`ʔ
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Jersey
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 5,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by TehBazzard View Post
Is there any program that would allow me to change the name of certain moves in the game? Like if I wanted to rename a move into something else, like Bite into Chew for example.
Yes, there is. It is called Attack Editor Pro. (AEP for short...)
You can find it in the toolbox. Just search for it.
__________________




(x) Tumblr
(y) Twitter
Previously Eeveon

Relevant Advertising!

  #11077    
Old August 19th, 2009 (8:10 AM).
Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
Musician and Pixel Artist
     
    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Location: United Kingdom
    Age: 22
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Modest
    Posts: 243
    Does anybody know where I can get a working version of Advance Text?
    __________________
    Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
      #11078    
    Old August 19th, 2009 (8:16 AM).
    Cello's Avatar
    Cello Cello is offline
    Tonight!
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Aug 2009
    Location: get the mascot involved
    Age: 27
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Jolly
    Posts: 1,498
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Q-Bone View Post
    Does anybody know where I can get a working version of Advance Text?
    It's probably not a problem with the A-Text program that you download, just that you don't have the files to run it.
    There are three different files you need in your system32 folder in order for a-text to run:
    -comdlg32.ocx
    -comctl32.ocx
    -mscomctl.ocx

    Google each file + download them, place them in your C: /WINDOWS\system32 folder, then run A-Text again.
      #11079    
    Old August 19th, 2009 (8:17 AM).
    Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
    Musician and Pixel Artist
       
      Join Date: Jan 2009
      Location: United Kingdom
      Age: 22
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Modest
      Posts: 243
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Cello View Post
      It's probably not a problem with the A-Text program that you download, just that you don't have the files to run it.
      There are three different files you need in your system32 folder in order for a-text to run:
      -comdlg32.ocx
      -comctl32.ocx
      -mscomctl.ocx

      Google each file + download them, place them in your C: /WINDOWS\system32 folder, then run A-Text again.
      Thanks a lot. I've tried that before but I think I only downloaded two of the files.
      __________________
      Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
        #11080    
      Old August 19th, 2009 (8:22 AM).
      Cello's Avatar
      Cello Cello is offline
      Tonight!
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Aug 2009
      Location: get the mascot involved
      Age: 27
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Jolly
      Posts: 1,498
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Q-Bone View Post
      Thanks a lot. I've tried that before but I think I only downloaded two of the files.
      Yeah, it's a very common problem. I had it happen to me too. That was all I had to do in order for it to work.

      There's also a video that I followed for it with a few extra steps:
      youtube.com/watch?v=gqwNwszaEjQ
        #11081    
      Old August 19th, 2009 (9:24 AM).
      Hobusu's Avatar
      Hobusu Hobusu is offline
         
        Join Date: May 2009
        Nature: Quirky
        Posts: 52
        I have a question, and I wasn't able to find an answer by searching in this thread.
        I'm wondering how to edit the map.
        NOT the overworld, the Town Map and/or the Pokenav Map.
        Please PM me the answer, I probably won't find the answer in here.
        Thanks!
        __________________
          #11082    
        Old August 19th, 2009 (9:29 AM).
        Diegoisawesome's Avatar
        Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
        Oh god the bees
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Dec 2007
        Location: :noitacoL
        Age: 20
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Naive
        Posts: 1,032
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by diegoisawesome View Post
        I have the same tilemap being used for two of my world maps. For some reason, on the fourth world map (which is #3 in the programming), nine tiles near the bottom-right corner keep getting replaced with tile #3, while on the other, it works just fine.

        Can anyone help?
        What, does nobody know the answer? This is the third repost so far.
        __________________


        My other resources:
        My Website
        diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
        diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
        The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
        Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
        GBA Intro Manager
        The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
          #11083    
        Old August 19th, 2009 (12:18 PM).
        Blackwing - Crow Blackwing - Crow is offline
           
          Join Date: Aug 2009
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 2
          how can i change the colors of the character on the trainer card of pokemon fire red because im new at this...and thankz
            #11084    
          Old August 19th, 2009 (12:39 PM).
          Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
          Musician and Pixel Artist
             
            Join Date: Jan 2009
            Location: United Kingdom
            Age: 22
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Modest
            Posts: 243
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Blackwing - Crow View Post
            how can i change the colors of the character on the trainer card of pokemon fire red because im new at this...and thankz
            You can use a Palette Editor such as APE, which can be found in the Toolbox Section of the Emulation Forum.
            __________________
            Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
              #11085    
            Old August 19th, 2009 (1:36 PM).
            NarutoActor's Avatar
            NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
            The rocks cry out to me
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: Jan 2009
            Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
            Age: 23
            Gender: Female
            Nature: Bashful
            Posts: 1,979
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Blackwing - Crow View Post
            how can i change the colors of the character on the trainer card of pokemon fire red because im new at this...and thankz
            i personaly have a pet pev on this I get so mad when I see a good hack but the sprites are just collared changes I want to see new custume sprites or origanl I hate seing an odling collared character
            __________________
            ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
              #11086    
            Old August 19th, 2009 (3:16 PM).
            uncivilyoshi uncivilyoshi is offline
               
              Join Date: Aug 2009
              Posts: 5
              Is there any way to change trainer music, Gym leaders more then anything.
                #11087    
              Old August 19th, 2009 (5:46 PM).
              BlitŻ's Avatar
              BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
              guahh my dog is so cute
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Feb 2009
              Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
              Age: 22
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Jolly
              Posts: 472
              I recently tried to insert a new pokemon sprite into my rom using torferno's pokemon insertion tut, but when I tried it out in the game by going into a pokemon battle, the screen tuned birhgt purple after the beggining battle music, so what im asking is why did this happen and how do I fix this
              __________________
                #11088    
              Old August 19th, 2009 (5:48 PM).
              Anjirusensei's Avatar
              Anjirusensei Anjirusensei is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2009
                Location: Stalker!?
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Adamant
                Posts: 8
                Okay... I'm confused about this.
                The new maps I made won't allow me to get on the bicycle at all.
                (I'm using Advance map 1.92)
                I can run however, so that's good but wondering if this is possible to fix at all.
                  #11089    
                Old August 19th, 2009 (6:11 PM).
                Curt_09's Avatar
                Curt_09 Curt_09 is offline
                Also known as Chozo
                   
                  Join Date: Feb 2009
                  Location: Oklahoma
                  Age: 26
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 500
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by uncivilyoshi View Post
                  Is there any way to change trainer music, Gym leaders more then anything.
                  Just use one of the trainer editing tools. I recommend A-Trainer, but you could use Battle-Ed or (God forbid) PET. You have the option to change their battle music. Inserting new music... Just follow what narutoactor said.
                  __________________
                  Old hacks I liked back in the day:



                    #11090    
                  Old August 19th, 2009 (6:55 PM).
                  TehBazzard's Avatar
                  TehBazzard TehBazzard is offline
                  Main creator of FireRed+
                     
                    Join Date: Aug 2009
                    Posts: 66
                    Now, in my hack, I have added in a character and labled him as a trainer in Advanced Map. How do I set in his text, pokemon, their moves, and that sort of stuff in?
                    Also, I also added in a Pokeball in the overworld also using Advanced Map. How do I make it give an item (I know giveitem codes, but I don't know how to apply them)?
                    Sorry, but I just started my hack like two days ago. Can anyone help?
                      #11091    
                    Old August 19th, 2009 (7:18 PM).
                    BlitŻ's Avatar
                    BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
                    guahh my dog is so cute
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2009
                    Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
                    Age: 22
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Jolly
                    Posts: 472
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by TehBazzard View Post
                    Now, in my hack, I have added in a character and labled him as a trainer in Advanced Map. How do I set in his text, pokemon, their moves, and that sort of stuff in?
                    Also, I also added in a Pokeball in the overworld also using Advanced Map. How do I make it give an item (I know giveitem codes, but I don't know how to apply them)?
                    Sorry, but I just started my hack like two days ago. Can anyone help?
                    well to give a trainer pokemon etc. you need to get the program Atrainer, or PET, but A trainer is recommended. You get both from Hackmews factory in the toolbox forum here in Emulation

                    and the second one as you said is a give item script, but you need to know how to put it on A-map, right?, So after you write your script in XSE, open your rom and press the compile button, then take the first offset marked as New offset and paste that in the event offset for the event in A map
                    __________________
                      #11092    
                    Old August 19th, 2009 (8:03 PM).
                    TehBazzard's Avatar
                    TehBazzard TehBazzard is offline
                    Main creator of FireRed+
                       
                      Join Date: Aug 2009
                      Posts: 66
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Fan King View Post
                      well to give a trainer pokemon etc. you need to get the program Atrainer, or PET, but A trainer is recommended. You get both from Hackmews factory in the toolbox forum here in Emulation

                      and the second one as you said is a give item script, but you need to know how to put it on A-map, right?, So after you write your script in XSE, open your rom and press the compile button, then take the first offset marked as New offset and paste that in the event offset for the event in A map
                      Thanks for the info on ATrainer, but about adding in items, well, I couldn't find the codes for the items themselves. Does any place mention the code for items so I can use them in the script? You know like Hex Values?
                        #11093    
                      Old August 19th, 2009 (9:26 PM).
                      Curt_09's Avatar
                      Curt_09 Curt_09 is offline
                      Also known as Chozo
                         
                        Join Date: Feb 2009
                        Location: Oklahoma
                        Age: 26
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 500
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by TehBazzard View Post
                        Thanks for the info on ATrainer, but about adding in items, well, I couldn't find the codes for the items themselves. Does any place mention the code for items so I can use them in the script? You know like Hex Values?
                        Yeah, RaiRai-Kun's XSE Tutorial has items and Pokemon listed in hex.
                        __________________
                        Old hacks I liked back in the day:



                          #11094    
                        Old August 20th, 2009 (4:35 AM). Edited August 20th, 2009 by Q-Bone.
                        Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
                        Musician and Pixel Artist
                           
                          Join Date: Jan 2009
                          Location: United Kingdom
                          Age: 22
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Modest
                          Posts: 243
                          Hey.

                          I was just wondering why my Fire Red ROM is 250-something MB? I've made 2 quite large maps on it and changed a couple of images, and its increased from around 5MB to 250MB. Why is this?
                          __________________
                          Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
                            #11095    
                          Old August 20th, 2009 (5:29 AM).
                          pisaman2 pisaman2 is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Aug 2009
                            Posts: 1
                            In a Ruby Hack, what script do I have to write to give the player a standard pokedex?

                            I have searched but cannot find anything... It is driving me crazy :/
                              #11096    
                            Old August 20th, 2009 (5:42 AM).
                            Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
                            Musician and Pixel Artist
                               
                              Join Date: Jan 2009
                              Location: United Kingdom
                              Age: 22
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Modest
                              Posts: 243
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by pisaman2 View Post
                              In a Ruby Hack, what script do I have to write to give the player a standard pokedex?

                              I have searched but cannot find anything... It is driving me crazy :/
                              Put 'setflag 0x801' in your Script.
                              __________________
                              Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
                                #11097    
                              Old August 20th, 2009 (6:38 AM).
                              874521's Avatar
                              874521 874521 is offline
                              School days again...
                                 
                                Join Date: Dec 2008
                                Location: Philippines
                                Age: 19
                                Gender: Female
                                Nature: Naughty
                                Posts: 507
                                Question, when changing the intro sprites, why does mine when answering the yes and no question in the intro, the palette of the intro sprite is different. Please answer for those who know.

                                Pictures:
                                __________________
                                Hacks I Support:
                                Pokemon Ametrino





                                --------------------------
                                My Thread: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=201787
                                Post your suggestions on my thread.
                                Contains DPP and HGSS Tiles and Overworlds!



                                874521 Pair up with Napalm
                                  #11098    
                                Old August 20th, 2009 (6:41 AM).
                                Diegoisawesome's Avatar
                                Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
                                Oh god the bees
                                • Silver Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Dec 2007
                                Location: :noitacoL
                                Age: 20
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Naive
                                Posts: 1,032
                                Quote:
                                I have the same tilemap being used for two of my world maps. For some reason, on the fourth world map (which is #3 in the programming), nine tiles near the bottom-right corner keep getting replaced with tile #3, while on the other, it works just fine.

                                Can anyone help?
                                What, is everyone ignoring me? Repost #5.
                                __________________


                                My other resources:
                                My Website
                                diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
                                diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
                                The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
                                Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
                                GBA Intro Manager
                                The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
                                  #11099    
                                Old August 20th, 2009 (6:42 AM).
                                NarutoActor's Avatar
                                NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
                                The rocks cry out to me
                                • Silver Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Jan 2009
                                Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
                                Age: 23
                                Gender: Female
                                Nature: Bashful
                                Posts: 1,979
                                I am gessing that when yes and no appear it use a diferent platlet offset in vishual boy there should be a platelet viewer it will also say the offset paste the offset in ape and change it to what you want . hoped I help
                                __________________
                                ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
                                  #11100    
                                Old August 20th, 2009 (7:01 AM).
                                874521's Avatar
                                874521 874521 is offline
                                School days again...
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2008
                                  Location: Philippines
                                  Age: 19
                                  Gender: Female
                                  Nature: Naughty
                                  Posts: 507
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by narutoactor View Post
                                  I am gessing that when yes and no appear it use a diferent platlet offset in vishual boy there should be a platelet viewer it will also say the offset paste the offset in ape and change it to what you want . hoped I help
                                  How will I know the offset in the palette viewer?
                                  __________________
                                  Hacks I Support:
                                  Pokemon Ametrino





                                  --------------------------
                                  My Thread: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=201787
                                  Post your suggestions on my thread.
                                  Contains DPP and HGSS Tiles and Overworlds!



                                  874521 Pair up with Napalm
                                  Closed Thread
                                  Quick Reply

                                  Sponsored Links
                                  Thread Tools

                                  Posting Rules
                                  You may not post new threads
                                  You may not post replies
                                  You may not post attachments
                                  You may not edit your posts

                                  BB code is On
                                  Smilies are On
                                  [IMG] code is On
                                  HTML code is Off

                                  Forum Jump


                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:23 AM.