ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #11551    
Old September 9th, 2009 (1:24 AM). Edited January 2nd, 2013 by Bozster.
Bozster's Avatar
Bozster Bozster is offline
Chief Lunatic
     
    Join Date: Jul 2008
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 101
    I haz a problem!
    I just got a new laptop, with Vista Business. I moved my roms and modding programs onto it with a memory stick. However, when I load up the rom, I always get this message:
    Attachment 49753
    Then, when I try to save again, this happens:
    Attachment 49754
    Of course, due to the fact that it's an emulator, not the actual cartridge, there is no backup memory and the message goes on forever!
    Does anyone with Vista have a solution to the problem? Please?

    Relevant Advertising!

      #11552    
    Old September 9th, 2009 (1:50 AM).
    0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
    0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
    Im comin' home...
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Jan 2008
    Location: Superjail Penitentiary
    Age: 24
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Gentle
    Posts: 1,812
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by narutoactor View Post
    for re sizing sprites theres a program also so theres deff no way of ading more slots i thought it would be a simple repointing to free space
    I saw the post before this and went WHAT?!
    YEAH YOU CAN!
    You defiantly can add more OW's... but only in R/S/E if I am remembering correctly... unfortunately, you can't do that with FR / LG, BUT! If I remember correctly AGAIN, I think HackMew was working on a way to change that...
    If I remember correctly of course.
    __________________
    >Boot Jailbot
    >Pass *****
    .
    .
    Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
    Greetings Warden
    of Superjail Penitentiary
    Awaiting user input...

    >Display User_Info
    ╠══User Info══╣
    Username:
    0m3GA ARS3NAL
    Age: 18
    Sex: Male ♂
    Race: Caucasian
    Quote:
    "What is this
    I don't even..."

    M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
    ╠══End of File══╣
    Awaiting user input...

    >
      #11553    
    Old September 9th, 2009 (2:45 AM).
    HackMew's Avatar
    HackMew HackMew is offline
    Mewtwo Strikes Back
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Jun 2006
    Posts: 1,314
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Bozster View Post
    I haz a problem!
    I just got a new laptop, with Vista Business:disappoin. I moved my roms and modding programs onto it with a memory stick. However, when I load up the rom, I always get this message:
    Attachment 49753
    Then, when I try to save again, this happens:
    Attachment 49754
    Of course, due to the fact that it's an emulator, not the actual cartridge, there is no backup memory and the message goes on forever!
    Does anyone with Vista have a solution to the problem? Please?:(:(
    I honestly doubt it's Vista's fault... How did you set your emulator? Could you post your savegame too?
    __________________
      #11554    
    Old September 9th, 2009 (3:52 AM).
    Bozster's Avatar
    Bozster Bozster is offline
    Chief Lunatic
       
      Join Date: Jul 2008
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 101
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
      I honestly doubt it's Vista's fault... How did you set your emulator? Could you post your savegame too?
      I didn't "set" anything. I just moved my roms and programs from my XP-based home PC(where the saves work) to my Vista laptop(where they don't). Everything(except the roms) is the same as when I downloaded them. I have tried on other XPs without problem, too. As for the .sav, I deleted it because I thought it was problematic.
        #11555    
      Old September 9th, 2009 (7:26 AM).
      Cryomancer's Avatar
      Cryomancer Cryomancer is offline
      blocks your path.
         
        Join Date: May 2007
        Location: Wisconsin
        Age: 33
        Gender:
        Nature: Lax
        Posts: 49
        I am considering removing the cries from leaf green entirely, as they don't serve a purpose for what I am working on. My replacements will be taking a lot of art space, so I figure I can either expand the rom or delete the cries, or both.

        I was wondering if anyone had tried this, if there is a simplistic way of doing it, and if this would cause any problems at all?

        I am also curious if rom expansion is truly as simple in this case as just adding more blank space to the end. I hear the GBA limit is 32 megs, does anyone have experience trying that out too?
          #11556    
        Old September 9th, 2009 (8:10 AM).
        NarutoActor's Avatar
        NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
        The rocks cry out to me
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Jan 2009
        Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
        Age: 23
        Gender: Female
        Nature: Bashful
        Posts: 1,979
        your correct in some aspects the limit as of now is 32mgs also just switch the crys with sounds
        and expanding is a esay as a click of a button
        __________________
        ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
          #11557    
        Old September 9th, 2009 (11:49 AM). Edited September 9th, 2009 by HackinJohn.
        HackinJohn's Avatar
        HackinJohn HackinJohn is offline
        FireRed ROM Hacker
           
          Join Date: Mar 2007
          Location: Olivine City, Johto
          Gender:
          Nature: Quirky
          Posts: 92
          Hi, I have a question about Advanced Map. For some reason, whenever I try to insert a new map, it automatically becomes PALLET TOWN (XX.X), and I can't figure out why. Someone told me something about zones and addresses (?), but I don't really understand what they are. If someone could tell me/point me to the RIGHT way to insert new maps (preferably a step-by-step), it would be highly appreciated!

          [Basically, I'm just asking how to change a new map's name without changing a whole bunch of map names.]

          Thanks;
          HJ.
          __________________
          Spoiler:
            #11558    
          Old September 9th, 2009 (12:17 PM).
          Matteron (96)'s Avatar
          Matteron (96) Matteron (96) is offline
          Difference is everything...
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: May 2008
          Age: 20
          Posts: 270
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by HackinJohn View Post
          Hi, I have a question about Advanced Map. For some reason, whenever I try to insert a new map, it automatically becomes PALLET TOWN (XX.X), and I can't figure out why. Someone told me something about zones and addresses (?), but I don't really understand what they are. If someone could tell me/point me to the RIGHT way to insert new maps (preferably a step-by-step), it would be highly appreciated!

          [Basically, I'm just asking how to change a new map's name without changing a whole bunch of map names.]

          Thanks;
          HJ.
          all you have to do is go into header, then where you c the drop down menu with all the towns/route names, just click on one you aren't going to use and then change it's name in the text box next to.
          __________________
          Matteron(96)
          Currently Playing--->
          Progress: Post-Game
          Current Team:


          In Terms of Hacking...
          Favorite ROM
          Skills
          Working On
          In Terms of Game Dev...
          Working On
          News
          I'm currently up for hire, for almost anything in ROM hacking, so just send me a PM.
            #11559    
          Old September 9th, 2009 (12:30 PM).
          HackinJohn's Avatar
          HackinJohn HackinJohn is offline
          FireRed ROM Hacker
             
            Join Date: Mar 2007
            Location: Olivine City, Johto
            Gender:
            Nature: Quirky
            Posts: 92
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Matteron (96) View Post

            all you have to do is go into header, then where you c the drop down menu with all the towns/route names, just click on one you aren't going to use and then change it's name in the text box next to.
            Thanks, but that wasn't really my question. Let me show you what's wrong:

            Any ideas?
            __________________
            Spoiler:
              #11560    
            Old September 9th, 2009 (12:44 PM).
            Pokepal17's Avatar
            Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
            More cowbell~
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: Oct 2008
            Location: Steeltown
            Age: 22
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Modest
            Posts: 1,511
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
            I saw the post before this and went WHAT?!
            YEAH YOU CAN!
            You defiantly can add more OW's... but only in R/S/E if I am remembering correctly... unfortunately, you can't do that with FR / LG, BUT! If I remember correctly AGAIN, I think HackMew was working on a way to change that...
            If I remember correctly of course.
            HackMew has made it work. Ask him or LaZ about it.
            __________________
            Pokémon Stardrop
              #11561    
            Old September 9th, 2009 (1:19 PM).
            jarcon jarcon is offline
               
              Join Date: Aug 2009
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 8
              From two pages and three days ago...
              Quote:
              I've encountered a very odd glitch. After a battle, occasionally, the controls will be transferred to a different person on the map. Like, after you finish a battle, when you move around with the arrow keys, the player doesn't move, a different person moves.... wtf?

              It only happens sometimes, maybe 1 out of every 5 or 6 battles, and only after a battle. But still... Does anyone know why its doing this and what I could do to fix it?
                #11562    
              Old September 9th, 2009 (1:33 PM).
              destinedjagold's Avatar
              destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
              Oh Hai Thar~
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: May 2007
              Location: Philippines
              Age: 26
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Careful
              Posts: 8,547
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by jarcon View Post
              From two pages and three days ago...
              And if you've used the Search Button, you wouldn't have to wait for someone to reply then.

              Anyways, change the direction of where the NPC(the one you control after the battle) is facing...
              __________________


              FC: 0061-1111-6462
              TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                #11563    
              Old September 9th, 2009 (1:34 PM).
              NarutoActor's Avatar
              NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
              The rocks cry out to me
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Jan 2009
              Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
              Age: 23
              Gender: Female
              Nature: Bashful
              Posts: 1,979
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by jarcon View Post
              From two pages and three days ago...
              properly something to do with the scripts upen the script and will see if theres any glitches in the script
              __________________
              ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
                #11564    
              Old September 9th, 2009 (1:37 PM).
              Diegoisawesome's Avatar
              Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
              Oh god the bees
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Dec 2007
              Location: :noitacoL
              Age: 20
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Naive
              Posts: 1,035
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by jarcon View Post
              From two pages and three days ago...
              Switch all people on all maps that have the movement "Look down" to "No Movement", especially the one you end up controlling.
              __________________


              My other resources:
              My Website
              diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
              diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
              The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
              Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
              GBA Intro Manager
              The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
                #11565    
              Old September 9th, 2009 (4:25 PM).
              Quest's Avatar
              Quest Quest is offline
              Veteran Roleplayer
              • Gold Tier
               
              Join Date: May 2009
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Careful
              Posts: 979
              How do you play IPS games. BEcause all the hacks are IPS files VBA can only play GBA files. Please Help
                #11566    
              Old September 9th, 2009 (4:33 PM).
              Pokepal17's Avatar
              Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
              More cowbell~
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Oct 2008
              Location: Steeltown
              Age: 22
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Modest
              Posts: 1,511
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by kkeith View Post
              How do you play IPS games. BEcause all the hacks are IPS files VBA can only play GBA files. Please Help
              ROMS are illegal to post so we post IPS patches. This should help you:
              http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=73966
              __________________
              Pokémon Stardrop
                #11567    
              Old September 9th, 2009 (5:32 PM).
              Cello's Avatar
              Cello Cello is offline
              Tonight!
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Aug 2009
              Location: get the mascot involved
              Age: 27
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Jolly
              Posts: 1,498
              You know what, I never have thought to try this.

              Do you think that if you were to expand the canvas size of your saved .DIB file from the block editor that it would allow more space?

              I feel like this would work, but i'm a little scared to test this on my own hack, for obvious reasons. Has anybody ever tested this?
              __________________
              Yeah Football Fan!
                #11568    
              Old September 9th, 2009 (6:09 PM).
              0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
              0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
              Im comin' home...
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Jan 2008
              Location: Superjail Penitentiary
              Age: 24
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Gentle
              Posts: 1,812
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Cello View Post
              You know what, I never have thought to try this.

              Do you think that if you were to expand the canvas size of your saved .DIB file from the block editor that it would allow more space?

              I feel like this would work, but i'm a little scared to test this on my own hack, for obvious reasons. Has anybody ever tested this?
              Don't do it, your only hope of getting more tile space is to simply repoint and make a bigger one / expand it that way.
              __________________
              >Boot Jailbot
              >Pass *****
              .
              .
              Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
              Greetings Warden
              of Superjail Penitentiary
              Awaiting user input...

              >Display User_Info
              ╠══User Info══╣
              Username:
              0m3GA ARS3NAL
              Age: 18
              Sex: Male ♂
              Race: Caucasian
              Quote:
              "What is this
              I don't even..."

              M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
              ╠══End of File══╣
              Awaiting user input...

              >
                #11569    
              Old September 10th, 2009 (1:43 AM). Edited September 10th, 2009 by STM.
              STM STM is offline
              My DS doesn't read DS games...
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2007
                Posts: 22
                Sorry for coming back again if I'm being annoying :(

                But I can't find a tutorial ANYWHERE on how to edit level up moves or TM/HM moves on GSC (preferably Gold though)

                Also, whats the recommended Hex editor, I'm using Windhex.
                  #11570    
                Old September 10th, 2009 (3:40 AM).
                HackMew's Avatar
                HackMew HackMew is offline
                Mewtwo Strikes Back
                • Crystal Tier
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2006
                Posts: 1,314
                Quote:
                I've encountered a very odd glitch. After a battle, occasionally, the controls will be transferred to a different person on the map. Like, after you finish a battle, when you move around with the arrow keys, the player doesn't move, a different person moves.... wtf?

                It only happens sometimes, maybe 1 out of every 5 or 6 battles, and only after a battle. But still... Does anyone know why its doing this and what I could do to fix it?
                Depsite what the other people said, it has nothing to with the facing. The problem happens because when you insert new people using AM all their values are set to zero, even if some shouldn't. See the answer here.
                __________________
                  #11571    
                Old September 10th, 2009 (11:40 AM).
                The Gambling Gallade's Avatar
                The Gambling Gallade The Gambling Gallade is offline
                Bored.
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2009
                  Location: USA
                  Age: 22
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Bold
                  Posts: 74
                  Wow. Its been a week now, and no one has answered my question.

                  Here is the problem.

                  In Advance Map, all of the warps work fine.

                  When I play them in the game, and I enter a door, it takes me to a different map, but out of bounds, in the black area. What is my problem?
                  __________________
                  I wish that I had something cool to put into my signature.
                    #11572    
                  Old September 10th, 2009 (12:50 PM).
                  IIMarckus's Avatar
                  IIMarckus IIMarckus is offline
                  J946@5488AA97464
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2007
                    Gender:
                    Posts: 402
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by STM View Post
                    Sorry for coming back again if I'm being annoying

                    But I can't find a tutorial ANYWHERE on how to edit level up moves or TM/HM moves on GSC (preferably Gold though)
                    Starting at offset 0x427BD (Gold) is a list of 251 pointers. Following a pointer will lead you to the evolutions and level‐up moves of each Pokémon. The pointers are in Pokédex order.

                    For instance, the 32nd pointer, at offset 0x427FB, leads to offset 0x42C46. Following it leads to this sequence of bytes:

                    01 10 21 00 01 2B 01 21 08 1E 0C 18 11 28 17 74 1E 1F 26 20 00

                    The bytes through the first 00 are evolution data, which has been explained elsewhere; the bytes through the second 00 are move data. The format is simple: two bytes, where the first is the level and the second is the move. Therefore, these bytes are interpreted like so:
                    • 01 10 21 — evolves to Pokémon #33 (Nidorino) at level 16
                    • 00 — no more evolutions
                    • 01 2B — Leer at level 1
                    • 01 21 — Tackle at level 1
                    • 08 1E — Horn Attack at level 8
                    • 0C 18 — Double Kick at level 12
                    • 11 28 — Poison Sting at level 17
                    • 17 74 — Focus Energy at level 23
                    • 1E 1F — Fury Attack at level 30
                    • 26 20 — Horn Drill at level 38
                    • 00 — No more level‐up moves
                    The level‐up data is never any different from this, but here are more examples of evolutions.
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by STM View Post
                    Also, whats the recommended Hex editor, I'm using Windhex.
                    Windhex is a fine hex editor.
                    __________________
                    iimarck.us / hax.iimarck.us

                    If you want me, please contact me by email. iimarckus@gmail.com

                    If you want to hack Pokémon RBY or GSC, read, read, and read some more. This has tons of valuable information.

                    Pokémon Red disassembly project

                    Rules that should be rethought: 25charlimit, bumping.
                    Bad posts are bad posts, regardless of how many words are in them or how old the thread is.
                    Good posts are good posts, regardless of how old the thread is—and brevity is underrated.
                      #11573    
                    Old September 10th, 2009 (2:47 PM).
                    xadamxzzz's Avatar
                    xadamxzzz xadamxzzz is offline
                    Pokemon Thunderstone Owner
                       
                      Join Date: Jul 2009
                      Location: Canada
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Sassy
                      Posts: 348
                      OK I have a question.I patched a project origin to a firered rom and after I make a map save the game and close A-Map...after I open it again I cant open the map again the error is like and access denied thing but I can open maps that I haven't edited yet so what do I do?
                        #11574    
                      Old September 10th, 2009 (5:21 PM).
                      darkspire091 darkspire091 is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Aug 2009
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 2
                        Does anyone know the number for the types for FireRed in unlz? For images that say normal/fighting/grass ect on the pokedex. I thinks it's something like 1454 in ruby but i search all of FireRed and couldn't find it...
                          #11575    
                        Old September 11th, 2009 (12:08 PM).
                        NarutoActor's Avatar
                        NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
                        The rocks cry out to me
                        • Silver Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Jan 2009
                        Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
                        Age: 23
                        Gender: Female
                        Nature: Bashful
                        Posts: 1,979
                        its near the very end try presing black and wight or + and - so it will go from meaning less junk to what looks like the types
                        __________________
                        ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
                        Closed Thread

                        Quick Reply

                        Join the conversation!

                        Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                        Create a PokéCommunity Account

                        Sponsored Links
                        Thread Tools

                        Posting Rules
                        You may not post new threads
                        You may not post replies
                        You may not post attachments
                        You may not edit your posts

                        BB code is On
                        Smilies are On
                        [IMG] code is On
                        HTML code is Off

                        Forum Jump


                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:31 AM.