ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #12051    
Old October 22nd, 2009 (9:03 PM).
Mr. Frog's Avatar
Mr. Frog Mr. Frog is offline
     
    Join Date: Apr 2009
    Location: The pony swamp (somewhere near johto)
    Age: 24
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quirky
    Posts: 38
    Are you maps set to "inside"?
    Running shoes are disabled inside buildings.

    and this may sound REALLY stupid, but are you sure the player is being given the shoes?
    maybe its a problem with your give running shoe script.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #12052    
    Old October 23rd, 2009 (12:59 AM). Edited October 23rd, 2009 by Jambo51.
    Jambo51's Avatar
    Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
    Glory To Arstotzka
       
      Join Date: Jun 2009
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Quiet
      Posts: 732
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by adamb241 View Post
      I've search this thread for answer with no avail to my problem. I'm working on a hack and have inserted a plentiful maps into the game over existing ones such as Route 1, 2 and a few cities. My problem at hand is that the running shoes aren't working and yet, I've check all of the headers fifty times already. Is there any other way to fix this major bug in my game? Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.
      When you bring up the header, hit Ctrl-H to change advance map to professional view.
      Under "Map Options", Map Header, there'll be a horrible looking load of jibberish:
      CC552E08C4A8710808BA7108F4293508230159006500020301060000 (Route 1)

      Copy and paste the last 14 digits from that (^) over the last 14 digits of your new route maps in the map header.
      This: 00020301060000

      Then save and reload map (option on the header page).

      This'll sort the problem straight away, trust me. And you'll need to do this to get the bike to work anyway!

      Header types:
      Route: 00020301060000
      Village/Town/City: 00020101060000
      Forest: 000B0301070000
      Cave: 00000401070000
      Gatehouse: 00000810020000
      Rocket (Team) Hideout: 0000080007F*03 *3rd to last digit changes with floor! F=BF1, E=BF2, D=BF3, C=BF4
      Silph Co.: 00000800070*00 *3rd to last digit changes with floor! 1=1st floor, 2=2nd floor etc
      Pokemon Mansion Type inside: 000*0800070003 *Varies with map header. Not sure why.

      That about covers it. :D
      __________________
      Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
        #12053    
      Old October 23rd, 2009 (2:46 AM).
      Mew~'s Avatar
      Mew~ Mew~ is offline
      THE HOST IS BROKEN
      • Gold Tier
       
      Join Date: Mar 2009
      Posts: 4,165
      What number in unlz is the hero back sprite? the red one?
      __________________
      There was nothing. Followed by everything. Swirling, burning specks of creation that circled life-giving suns. And then we reached to the light.

        #12054    
      Old October 23rd, 2009 (3:27 AM).
      Jambo51's Avatar
      Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
      Glory To Arstotzka
         
        Join Date: Jun 2009
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Quiet
        Posts: 732
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Pokemon League Champion View Post
        What number in unlz is the hero back sprite? the red one?
        It isn't in unLZ because it isn't a compressed picture.

        You need to get a programme like Tile Molester and look up a tutorial on how to change the backsprites.
        __________________
        Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
          #12055    
        Old October 23rd, 2009 (1:31 PM).
        romancandle romancandle is offline
           
          Join Date: Oct 2009
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 72
          So, in random spots on my hack's maps, if I open the menu and go to a full screen menu (such as the pokedex), when I close said menu, I can not longer control the player sprite, but either nothing or in one case, the local cut tree! Why is this happening, and how can I fix it?
            #12056    
          Old October 23rd, 2009 (2:18 PM).
          Mr.Silver's Avatar
          Mr.Silver Mr.Silver is offline
          Say Hello To Nurse Barbra
             
            Join Date: Jun 2009
            Location: The Ushimi region.
            Age: 23
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 670
            Yeah have a problem tools like Ntme worked fine for me yesterday but today there saying "runtime error '50003'"
            Can anyone explain what this means or how i can fix it?
            __________________







              #12057    
            Old October 23rd, 2009 (3:45 PM).
            mukkamukka's Avatar
            mukkamukka mukkamukka is offline
            Elite Four Champion
               
              Join Date: Sep 2009
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 38
              Hey Guys,

              How do i put what pokemon i want in it. I know that it is something like givepokemon 152 5 0. I know that is for chikorita. I want the other ones as well. So could somebody please give m ethe link to get it. Also the one for items if you can.


              Cheers mukkamukka
              __________________
              Theses are the hacks that i truly support:





                #12058    
              Old October 23rd, 2009 (11:20 PM).
              Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
              Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
              Memento Mori
              • Gold Tier
               
              Join Date: Jul 2008
              Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
              Age: 25
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Calm
              Posts: 14,503
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by mukkamukka View Post
              Hey Guys,

              How do i put what pokemon i want in it. I know that it is something like givepokemon 152 5 0. I know that is for chikorita. I want the other ones as well. So could somebody please give m ethe link to get it. Also the one for items if you can.
              I get your post as a request how to give player pokemon...

              So let's get this straight.

              Quote:
              Originally Posted by mukkamukka View Post
              givepokemon 152 5 0. I know that is for chikorita.
              Okay first things first. This is NOT for giving Chikorita.
              That way player get level 5 Solrock.
              First number in command must be hex one. So the pokemon number must be also converted to hex. (For example Chikorita is number 152 what is in hex 98) so it must be givepokemon 0x98 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0 (the last 3 0x0s are free space for giving)
              __________________
              ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

              Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                #12059    
              Old October 23rd, 2009 (11:33 PM).
              Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
              Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
              The Faltine
                 
                Join Date: Mar 2008
                Location: Slovenia
                Age: 21
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 3,578
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post
                I get your post as a request how to give player pokemon...

                So let's get this straight.


                Okay first things first. This is NOT for giving Chikorita.
                That way player get level 5 Solrock.
                First number in command must be hex one. So the pokemon number must be also converted to hex. (For example Chikorita is number 152 what is in hex 98) so it must be givepokemon 0x98 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0 (the last 3 0x0s are free space for giving)
                No, that's wrong.
                0x means in hex. So if we put 152 or 0x98, it's the same.
                __________________
                  #12060    
                Old October 24th, 2009 (6:18 AM).
                Aquilae's Avatar
                Aquilae Aquilae is offline
                =))))))))88888888OOOOOOOO<
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2007
                  Location: South East Asia (Singapore)
                  Posts: 386
                  Is there a way to set the EVs / IVs / Nature of a trainer's pokemon? As far as I know they are random and in the case of EVs, they have 0 across the board.

                  Would there also be a way to make the badge level limitations affect all pokemon? For example, unless you get the Poop badge traded pokemon over level 70 will disobey you. Is it possible to make all pokemon disobey you over that level? I'd imagine you have to force the game not to register you as the OT, or edit the badge's effects.
                  __________________

                  Check out my youtube channel!
                  http://www.youtube.com/user/AquiIae

                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Dark_Azelf, on Anti's social life
                  Ive seen dead tree stumps who get more action
                    #12061    
                  Old October 24th, 2009 (6:40 AM).
                  Wichu's Avatar
                  Wichu Wichu is offline
                  Project Amethyst
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2007
                    Location: North Herts, England
                    Age: 24
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Naive
                    Posts: 2,052
                    Nope, the only place in the game where trainers' Pokémon can have IVs/EVs is the Battle Tower. I guess you could try an ASM hack similar to HackMew's shiny hack (which allows trainers to have shinies).
                    The second one should be possible with ASM too.
                    __________________
                      #12062    
                    Old October 24th, 2009 (10:37 AM).
                    romancandle romancandle is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2009
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 72
                      Totally ignored before. This is a big problem in my hack, as while playing the hack, I cannot remove the tree (it's blocking the path to the next city).

                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by romancandle View Post
                      So, in random spots on my hack's maps, if I open the menu and go to a full screen menu (such as the pokedex), when I close said menu, I can not longer control the player sprite, but either nothing or in one case, the local cut tree! Why is this happening, and how can I fix it?
                        #12063    
                      Old October 24th, 2009 (10:44 AM).
                      Diegoisawesome's Avatar
                      Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
                      Oh god the bees
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2007
                      Location: :noitacoL
                      Age: 20
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Naive
                      Posts: 1,039
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by romancandle View Post
                      Totally ignored before. This is a big problem in my hack, as while playing the hack, I cannot remove the tree (it's blocking the path to the next city).
                      Change the tree's Movement type from Face down to No movement.
                      __________________


                      My other resources:
                      My Website
                      diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
                      diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
                      The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
                      Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
                      GBA Intro Manager
                      The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
                        #12064    
                      Old October 24th, 2009 (10:48 AM).
                      romancandle romancandle is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2009
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Adamant
                        Posts: 72
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by diegoisawesome View Post
                        Change the tree's Movement type from Face down to No movement.
                        This worked, thank you. I don't know why it says "look down" in the original copies. Maybe it's a glitch when converting it to Amap. Anyway, now I have a new problem: game isn't registering that I have the badge for cut >.< Is the "allow cut" a flag or variable, or is it tied into each specific flag?
                          #12065    
                        Old October 24th, 2009 (11:17 AM).
                        Diegoisawesome's Avatar
                        Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
                        Oh god the bees
                        • Silver Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2007
                        Location: :noitacoL
                        Age: 20
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Naive
                        Posts: 1,039
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by romancandle View Post
                        This worked, thank you. I don't know why it says "look down" in the original copies. Maybe it's a glitch when converting it to Amap. Anyway, now I have a new problem: game isn't registering that I have the badge for cut >.< Is the "allow cut" a flag or variable, or is it tied into each specific flag?
                        Set the second badge flag for Cut to work.
                        __________________


                        My other resources:
                        My Website
                        diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
                        diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
                        The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
                        Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
                        GBA Intro Manager
                        The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
                          #12066    
                        Old October 24th, 2009 (11:45 AM). Edited October 24th, 2009 by romancandle.
                        romancandle romancandle is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Oct 2009
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Adamant
                          Posts: 72
                          Fixed the problem I had. Connections were overlapping, causing it to freeze.
                            #12067    
                          Old October 24th, 2009 (11:47 AM).
                          Westie7's Avatar
                          Westie7 Westie7 is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Sep 2009
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 167
                            Is there a way to make all three starters come with different items? I want to make a hack with three Eevee starters with Thunder, Fire, and Water Stones respectively. If there's a tool that could let me do that, I'd rather that than a hex or script editor, but either way works. I just fail at scripting.
                              #12068    
                            Old October 24th, 2009 (11:49 AM).
                            romancandle romancandle is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2009
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Adamant
                              Posts: 72
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Westie7 View Post
                              Is there a way to make all three starters come with different items? I want to make a hack with three Eevee starters with Thunder, Fire, and Water Stones respectively. If there's a tool that could let me do that, I'd rather that than a hex or script editor, but either way works. I just fail at scripting.
                              Code:
                              givepokemon 0x4002 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
                              Thats the charmander pokeball script. The 3rd 0x is the item hex code. Put the hex code in that spot in the script.
                                #12069    
                              Old October 24th, 2009 (12:03 PM).
                              Westie7's Avatar
                              Westie7 Westie7 is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Sep 2009
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 167
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by romancandle View Post
                                Code:
                                givepokemon 0x4002 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
                                Thats the charmander pokeball script. The 3rd 0x is the item hex code. Put the hex code in that spot in the script.
                                Now how do I use that? I don't know how to script and that sort of thing
                                  #12070    
                                Old October 24th, 2009 (12:11 PM).
                                romancandle romancandle is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Oct 2009
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Adamant
                                  Posts: 72
                                  Look up a pokemon scripting tutorial in the tutorial section. I recommend diegoisawesome's scripting tutorial. It's very useful. I still use it constantly.
                                    #12071    
                                  Old October 24th, 2009 (6:58 PM).
                                  Mister Flogers's Avatar
                                  Mister Flogers Mister Flogers is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Sep 2009
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Lax
                                    Posts: 19
                                    Okay i have quite a few question i am almost sure i cant find in this thread so far.

                                    1.Is it possible to remove pokemon from you, like if you talk to some one and he wants a pokemon so you give it to him.
                                    2.How do I make it so you can nickname a pokemon you receive.
                                    3.exactly how many flags can you make
                                    4.lastly, I am trying to make it so you can go to all 4 areas of the pokemon world(I know, gonna take me forever) so how do I make it so you can move the map, ingame, so that it shows each part on a 'page'(I am using FR)

                                    thanks in advanced ^-^
                                      #12072    
                                    Old October 24th, 2009 (9:22 PM).
                                    Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
                                    Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
                                    Sitting by the back window
                                       
                                      Join Date: Mar 2008
                                      Location: Best City OCE
                                      Age: 21
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Bold
                                      Posts: 5,988
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Mister Flogers View Post
                                      Okay i have quite a few question i am almost sure i cant find in this thread so far.

                                      1.Is it possible to remove pokemon from you, like if you talk to some one and he wants a pokemon so you give it to him.
                                      2.How do I make it so you can nickname a pokemon you receive.
                                      3.exactly how many flags can you make
                                      4.lastly, I am trying to make it so you can go to all 4 areas of the pokemon world(I know, gonna take me forever) so how do I make it so you can move the map, ingame, so that it shows each part on a 'page'(I am using FR)

                                      thanks in advanced ^-^
                                      1. :\
                                      2. call somethingorrather...it's in thethethethe's scripting tutorial.
                                      3. You can go from 0x01 to 0xFFFF. Most of the ones before 0x1000 are used, though.
                                      4. Not nearly enough fly spots or space, even on an expanded ROM; don't even try.
                                      __________________
                                      Brony represent.
                                        #12073    
                                      Old October 24th, 2009 (9:47 PM).
                                      Blaziquaza's Avatar
                                      Blaziquaza Blaziquaza is offline
                                      ...
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jun 2009
                                        Location: Whyalla, Australia
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Jolly
                                        Posts: 781
                                        So,what was I going to say?Oh,right.So I want to put Nat.Dex Pokemon in Shadow Blast.unfortunately,I haven't seen a way to activate the Nat.Dex in R/S.Does anybody know?Is there a special script?Thanks.
                                        __________________
                                        Everything you say to me pushes one step closer to the edge



                                        And I'm about to break
                                        I need a little room to breathe...

                                        Steam IGN: Hybrid Theory
                                          #12074    
                                        Old October 24th, 2009 (10:36 PM).
                                        Mister Flogers's Avatar
                                        Mister Flogers Mister Flogers is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Sep 2009
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Lax
                                          Posts: 19
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by BlaziquazaLv.Z View Post
                                          So,what was I going to say?Oh,right.So I want to put Nat.Dex Pokemon in Shadow Blast.unfortunately,I haven't seen a way to activate the Nat.Dex in R/S.Does anybody know?Is there a special script?Thanks.
                                          All that I know is that if you give your character a pokemon from the Nat.Dex, you automatically get it, like charmander.

                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Ninja Caterpie View Post
                                          1. :\
                                          2. call somethingorrather...it's in thethethethe's scripting tutorial.
                                          3. You can go from 0x01 to 0xFFFF. Most of the ones before 0x1000 are used, though.
                                          4. Not nearly enough fly spots or space, even on an expanded ROM; don't even try.
                                          Thank you, so heres some follow up questions

                                          1.so you cant remove, or give away a pokemon? =[
                                          2.is there enough for me to include johto and if possible hoenn?

                                          again thanks in advanced
                                            #12075    
                                          Old October 25th, 2009 (12:19 AM).
                                          Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                                          Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                                          Memento Mori
                                          • Gold Tier
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jul 2008
                                          Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                                          Age: 25
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Calm
                                          Posts: 14,503
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by romancandle View Post
                                          Code:
                                          givepokemon 0x4002 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
                                          Thats the charmander pokeball script. The 3rd 0x is the item hex code. Put the hex code in that spot in the script.
                                          Huh ya really used part of Nintendo's scary level script? :D
                                          I wouldn't use it... but since he wants all starters to be Eevee it doesn't matter...

                                          Anyways to Westie : replace the 0x0 after 0x5 with 0x60 (Fire Stone), or 0x61 (Thunder Stone), or 0x62 (Water Stone)

                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Mister Flogers View Post
                                          2.is there enough for me to include johto and if possible hoenn?
                                          Yeah ya can include 2 regions in one hack.
                                          And remove pokemon... there's a way but... how to say it... it's way too complicated.
                                          Try to pm/vm metapod23. He knows how to do it.
                                          __________________
                                          ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                                          Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                                          Closed Thread

                                          Quick Reply

                                          Join the conversation!

                                          Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                          Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:26 AM.