ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #12076    
Old October 24th, 2009 (10:44 AM).
Diegoisawesome's Avatar
Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
Oh god the bees
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: :noitacoL
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 1,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by romancandle View Post
Totally ignored before. This is a big problem in my hack, as while playing the hack, I cannot remove the tree (it's blocking the path to the next city).
Change the tree's Movement type from Face down to No movement.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles

Relevant Advertising!

  #12077    
Old October 24th, 2009 (10:48 AM).
romancandle romancandle is offline
     
    Join Date: Oct 2009
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Adamant
    Posts: 72
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by diegoisawesome View Post
    Change the tree's Movement type from Face down to No movement.
    This worked, thank you. I don't know why it says "look down" in the original copies. Maybe it's a glitch when converting it to Amap. Anyway, now I have a new problem: game isn't registering that I have the badge for cut >.< Is the "allow cut" a flag or variable, or is it tied into each specific flag?
      #12078    
    Old October 24th, 2009 (11:17 AM).
    Diegoisawesome's Avatar
    Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
    Oh god the bees
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Dec 2007
    Location: :noitacoL
    Age: 20
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Naive
    Posts: 1,032
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by romancandle View Post
    This worked, thank you. I don't know why it says "look down" in the original copies. Maybe it's a glitch when converting it to Amap. Anyway, now I have a new problem: game isn't registering that I have the badge for cut >.< Is the "allow cut" a flag or variable, or is it tied into each specific flag?
    Set the second badge flag for Cut to work.
    __________________


    My other resources:
    My Website
    diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
    diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
    The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
    Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
    GBA Intro Manager
    The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
      #12079    
    Old October 24th, 2009 (11:45 AM). Edited October 24th, 2009 by romancandle.
    romancandle romancandle is offline
       
      Join Date: Oct 2009
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Adamant
      Posts: 72
      Fixed the problem I had. Connections were overlapping, causing it to freeze.
        #12080    
      Old October 24th, 2009 (11:47 AM).
      Westie7's Avatar
      Westie7 Westie7 is offline
         
        Join Date: Sep 2009
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 167
        Is there a way to make all three starters come with different items? I want to make a hack with three Eevee starters with Thunder, Fire, and Water Stones respectively. If there's a tool that could let me do that, I'd rather that than a hex or script editor, but either way works. I just fail at scripting.
          #12081    
        Old October 24th, 2009 (11:49 AM).
        romancandle romancandle is offline
           
          Join Date: Oct 2009
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 72
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Westie7 View Post
          Is there a way to make all three starters come with different items? I want to make a hack with three Eevee starters with Thunder, Fire, and Water Stones respectively. If there's a tool that could let me do that, I'd rather that than a hex or script editor, but either way works. I just fail at scripting.
          Code:
          givepokemon 0x4002 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
          Thats the charmander pokeball script. The 3rd 0x is the item hex code. Put the hex code in that spot in the script.
            #12082    
          Old October 24th, 2009 (12:03 PM).
          Westie7's Avatar
          Westie7 Westie7 is offline
             
            Join Date: Sep 2009
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 167
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by romancandle View Post
            Code:
            givepokemon 0x4002 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
            Thats the charmander pokeball script. The 3rd 0x is the item hex code. Put the hex code in that spot in the script.
            Now how do I use that? I don't know how to script and that sort of thing
              #12083    
            Old October 24th, 2009 (12:11 PM).
            romancandle romancandle is offline
               
              Join Date: Oct 2009
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 72
              Look up a pokemon scripting tutorial in the tutorial section. I recommend diegoisawesome's scripting tutorial. It's very useful. I still use it constantly.
                #12084    
              Old October 24th, 2009 (6:58 PM).
              Mister Flogers's Avatar
              Mister Flogers Mister Flogers is offline
                 
                Join Date: Sep 2009
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Lax
                Posts: 19
                Okay i have quite a few question i am almost sure i cant find in this thread so far.

                1.Is it possible to remove pokemon from you, like if you talk to some one and he wants a pokemon so you give it to him.
                2.How do I make it so you can nickname a pokemon you receive.
                3.exactly how many flags can you make
                4.lastly, I am trying to make it so you can go to all 4 areas of the pokemon world(I know, gonna take me forever) so how do I make it so you can move the map, ingame, so that it shows each part on a 'page'(I am using FR)

                thanks in advanced ^-^
                  #12085    
                Old October 24th, 2009 (9:22 PM).
                Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
                Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
                Sitting by the back window
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2008
                  Location: Best City OCE
                  Age: 21
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Bold
                  Posts: 5,945
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Mister Flogers View Post
                  Okay i have quite a few question i am almost sure i cant find in this thread so far.

                  1.Is it possible to remove pokemon from you, like if you talk to some one and he wants a pokemon so you give it to him.
                  2.How do I make it so you can nickname a pokemon you receive.
                  3.exactly how many flags can you make
                  4.lastly, I am trying to make it so you can go to all 4 areas of the pokemon world(I know, gonna take me forever) so how do I make it so you can move the map, ingame, so that it shows each part on a 'page'(I am using FR)

                  thanks in advanced ^-^
                  1. :\
                  2. call somethingorrather...it's in thethethethe's scripting tutorial.
                  3. You can go from 0x01 to 0xFFFF. Most of the ones before 0x1000 are used, though.
                  4. Not nearly enough fly spots or space, even on an expanded ROM; don't even try.
                  __________________
                  Brony represent.
                    #12086    
                  Old October 24th, 2009 (9:47 PM).
                  Blaziquaza's Avatar
                  Blaziquaza Blaziquaza is offline
                  ...
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2009
                    Location: Whyalla, Australia
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Jolly
                    Posts: 781
                    So,what was I going to say?Oh,right.So I want to put Nat.Dex Pokemon in Shadow Blast.unfortunately,I haven't seen a way to activate the Nat.Dex in R/S.Does anybody know?Is there a special script?Thanks.
                    __________________
                    Everything you say to me pushes one step closer to the edge



                    And I'm about to break
                    I need a little room to breathe...

                    Steam IGN: Hybrid Theory
                      #12087    
                    Old October 24th, 2009 (10:36 PM).
                    Mister Flogers's Avatar
                    Mister Flogers Mister Flogers is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Sep 2009
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Lax
                      Posts: 19
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by BlaziquazaLv.Z View Post
                      So,what was I going to say?Oh,right.So I want to put Nat.Dex Pokemon in Shadow Blast.unfortunately,I haven't seen a way to activate the Nat.Dex in R/S.Does anybody know?Is there a special script?Thanks.
                      All that I know is that if you give your character a pokemon from the Nat.Dex, you automatically get it, like charmander.

                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Ninja Caterpie View Post
                      1. :\
                      2. call somethingorrather...it's in thethethethe's scripting tutorial.
                      3. You can go from 0x01 to 0xFFFF. Most of the ones before 0x1000 are used, though.
                      4. Not nearly enough fly spots or space, even on an expanded ROM; don't even try.
                      Thank you, so heres some follow up questions

                      1.so you cant remove, or give away a pokemon? =[
                      2.is there enough for me to include johto and if possible hoenn?

                      again thanks in advanced
                        #12088    
                      Old October 25th, 2009 (12:19 AM).
                      Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                      Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                      Memento Mori
                      • Gold Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jul 2008
                      Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                      Age: 24
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Calm
                      Posts: 14,479
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by romancandle View Post
                      Code:
                      givepokemon 0x4002 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
                      Thats the charmander pokeball script. The 3rd 0x is the item hex code. Put the hex code in that spot in the script.
                      Huh ya really used part of Nintendo's scary level script? :D
                      I wouldn't use it... but since he wants all starters to be Eevee it doesn't matter...

                      Anyways to Westie : replace the 0x0 after 0x5 with 0x60 (Fire Stone), or 0x61 (Thunder Stone), or 0x62 (Water Stone)

                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Mister Flogers View Post
                      2.is there enough for me to include johto and if possible hoenn?
                      Yeah ya can include 2 regions in one hack.
                      And remove pokemon... there's a way but... how to say it... it's way too complicated.
                      Try to pm/vm metapod23. He knows how to do it.
                      __________________
                      ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                      Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                        #12089    
                      Old October 25th, 2009 (4:08 AM). Edited October 27th, 2009 by Spherical Ice.
                      Spherical Ice's Avatar
                      Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
                      • Moderator
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2007
                      Location: Bristol, UK
                      Age: 19
                      Posts: 5,185
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by ziglef View Post
                      Ok so this is what happens, i'm working on my own rom, and i got the starting map to work and i got the 2 map to work also, but now i changed some warps and stuff and when i go to the warp that goes from the first map to the second the games just stays black...

                      Anyone got an ideia how to fix this ?
                      Uh, even though this was aaaaaaaaaaages ago, there's been no proper answer and I have the same problem. Help, anyone?
                      I have added 03 as the unknown for the warp event and in Advance Map everyhting warps fine, just so you know. Finally, the map I' warping to was one I had inserted. I guess it has something to do with the Map Footer, but I'm unsure.
                      __________________

                      A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                      Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                        #12090    
                      Old October 25th, 2009 (7:23 AM).
                      giradialkia's Avatar
                      giradialkia giradialkia is offline
                      • Crystal Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Apr 2009
                      Location: Ireland
                      Age: 23
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Timid
                      Posts: 1,563
                      I've got a question- well, request- can anyone link me to the old version of Overworld Editor? I want to use the +40 sprite patch, but can't edit them to the full if i've only got Overworld Editor RE. So, yeah, can anyone link me to the old one, please?
                      __________________

                      I'm working on an album of Pokémon-inspired music. Check out the Soundcloud link if you're interested!


                      This is my Soundcloud | | This is my bandcamp
                        #12091    
                      Old October 25th, 2009 (8:03 AM).
                      HackMew's Avatar
                      HackMew HackMew is offline
                      Mewtwo Strikes Back
                      • Crystal Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2006
                      Posts: 1,314
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Ninja Caterpie View Post
                      3. You can go from 0x01 to 0xFFFF. Most of the ones before 0x1000 are used, though.
                      Not quite. Flags are "only" 0x1 - 0x3FFF. But yeah, anything that's 0x1000 or higher is not used by the game at 99.9%.
                      __________________
                        #12092    
                      Old October 25th, 2009 (8:06 AM).
                      Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
                      Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
                      The Faltine
                         
                        Join Date: Mar 2008
                        Location: Slovenia
                        Age: 21
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 3,572
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
                        Not quite. Flags are "only" 0x1 - 0x3FFF. But yeah, anything that's 0x1000 or higher is not used by the game at 99.9%.
                        Above 0x3FFF are variables, right?
                        __________________
                          #12093    
                        Old October 25th, 2009 (8:15 AM).
                        HackMew's Avatar
                        HackMew HackMew is offline
                        Mewtwo Strikes Back
                        • Crystal Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2006
                        Posts: 1,314
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by H2O Turquoise View Post
                        Above 0x3FFF are variables, right?
                        Yeah, that's right. Variables are 0x4000-0xFFFF plus a bunch of temp ones.
                        __________________
                          #12094    
                        Old October 25th, 2009 (1:17 PM).
                        Mister Flogers's Avatar
                        Mister Flogers Mister Flogers is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Sep 2009
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Lax
                          Posts: 19
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
                          Yeah, that's right. Variables are 0x4000-0xFFFF plus a bunch of temp ones.
                          Oh okay thanks that would explain why 0xF000 didnt work as a flag thanks,

                          So I was looking into it and asked foullump if he knew anything about removing pokemon, and he said that there might be a removepokemon code but he doesnt know how it works(wether you just put pokemon number and level)

                          1.Does removepokemon work?
                          2.If so ,what are the parameters supposed to be?

                          Oh and

                          Quote:
                          Yeah ya can include 2 regions in one hack.
                          And remove pokemon... there's a way but... how to say it... it's way too complicated.
                          Try to pm/vm metapod23. He knows how to do it.
                          is there enough for 3?
                            #12095    
                          Old October 25th, 2009 (3:41 PM).
                          midnight ride midnight ride is offline
                          none
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2009
                            Age: 24
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Timid
                            Posts: 7
                            Hello everyone.

                            This is a Fire Red ROM.

                            I was wondering if it was possible to make more room on a ROM for maps, like having the name on the list instead of choosing to re-name an already named map and thus change all of the original map to what I re-named that one to. Because my system of saving the names over old maps isn't the best.
                              #12096    
                            Old October 26th, 2009 (6:24 AM).
                            Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                            Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                            Memento Mori
                            • Gold Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2008
                            Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                            Age: 24
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Calm
                            Posts: 14,479
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Mister Flogers View Post
                            is there enough for 3?
                            Well... maybe small (like 4 gyms max one...) but I don't think there's a space to include 3 full 8 gyms regions.
                            __________________
                            ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                            Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                              #12097    
                            Old October 26th, 2009 (8:46 AM).
                            HackMew's Avatar
                            HackMew HackMew is offline
                            Mewtwo Strikes Back
                            • Crystal Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2006
                            Posts: 1,314
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Mister Flogers View Post
                            So I was looking into it and asked foullump if he knew anything about removing pokemon, and he said that there might be a removepokemon code but he doesnt know how it works(wether you just put pokemon number and level)

                            1.Does removepokemon work?
                            2.If so ,what are the parameters supposed to be?
                            There's no such "removepokemon" command, nor special. You have to use plain ASM.
                            __________________
                              #12098    
                            Old October 26th, 2009 (9:01 AM).
                            Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
                            Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
                            The Faltine
                               
                              Join Date: Mar 2008
                              Location: Slovenia
                              Age: 21
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 3,572
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
                              There's no such "removepokemon" command, nor special. You have to use plain ASM.
                              I think there was a special, a bug in Pokemon Crono beta 1 that caused all of the player's Pokemon to disappear. But that was for Ruby.
                              __________________
                                #12099    
                              Old October 26th, 2009 (9:04 AM).
                              HackMew's Avatar
                              HackMew HackMew is offline
                              Mewtwo Strikes Back
                              • Crystal Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Jun 2006
                              Posts: 1,314
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by H2O Turquoise View Post
                              I think there was a special, a bug in Pokemon Crono beta 1 that caused all of the player's Pokemon to disappear. But that was for Ruby.
                              A bug is not useful though :P
                              Anyway, thethethethe made a tutorial once, but the routine was buggy and never fixed, so not really usable. But yeah, I might be making something by myself someday.
                              __________________
                                #12100    
                              Old October 26th, 2009 (9:10 AM).
                              Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                              Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                              Memento Mori
                              • Gold Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Jul 2008
                              Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                              Age: 24
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Calm
                              Posts: 14,479
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by H2O Turquoise View Post
                              I think there was a special, a bug in Pokemon Crono beta 1 that caused all of the player's Pokemon to disappear. But that was for Ruby.
                              Ash's Gray has script where one of your pokemon is removed...
                              And I don't think there's ASM used.
                              __________________
                              ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                              Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                              Closed Thread
                              Quick Reply

                              Sponsored Links
                              Thread Tools

                              Posting Rules
                              You may not post new threads
                              You may not post replies
                              You may not post attachments
                              You may not edit your posts

                              BB code is On
                              Smilies are On
                              [IMG] code is On
                              HTML code is Off

                              Forum Jump


                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:05 PM.