ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #12101    
Old October 28th, 2009 (12:15 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
  • Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 14,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by B_Kennedy View Post
1. Is it possible, by modifying the overworld sprite of the player, to have a pokemon follow you?

2. If the above is possible, can a script be made to change the sprite when the pokemon evolves?

3. Is it possible to make it so that a certain pokemon can not be removed from the active party?
1. by modifying player's OW yes. If ya don't change it then just by ASM
2. ASM I guess but I'm not sure if this is possible
3. I don't think so.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

Anime List | PSN Trophy List

Relevant Advertising!

  #12102    
Old October 28th, 2009 (3:59 AM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 24
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larvitar170 View Post
This is an issue that deals with scripting. I am trying to figure out how to make it to where when the player loses, he goes to the pokemon center. I am using the patch that deleted all the events to try to fix my own game with my own scripting, but I can't figure out how to actually script it. Any ideas?
the rom is already programed if you loose to take you to the last gym you were at.
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #12103    
Old October 28th, 2009 (5:29 AM).
Larvitar170's Avatar
Larvitar170 Larvitar170 is offline
Noobie hacker
     
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Location: Kentucky.
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Modest
    Posts: 66
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by NarutoActor View Post
    the rom is already programed if you loose to take you to the last gym you were at.
    I thought so too, but when I test it, it takes me back to my first town, top right corner, with messed up pallets.
    __________________
    Current project: Pokemon Mud Brown (Working Title, will be changed.)
    No link because I haven't made a page for it yet.
    Team: Myself as mapper, scripter, and spriter.Brandinokthx as spriter.

      #12104    
    Old October 28th, 2009 (8:33 AM).
    Hash06 Hash06 is offline
       
      Join Date: Oct 2009
      Location: Kent, England
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 4
      Hi ive been hacking pokemon firered for about 3 months now but it has been nothing special but now id like to be able to make all or at least as many of the reagions that have been created in pokemon all in one game. Also i would like to be able put all of the new pokemon in the game so it is possible to catch every single pokemon in the game. If someone could help me with both of these problems id be very thankfull cheers.
        #12105    
      Old October 28th, 2009 (10:03 AM).
      Bayonetta's Avatar
      Bayonetta Bayonetta is offline
         
        Join Date: Apr 2009
        Posts: 34
        F/R questions:

        Is it possible to extend the time of the title screen so it wont loop back to the boot screen?
        And how?

        And, Is there a tutorial that explains how to change the animation of the intro video?
        the one with gengar and nidorino fighting.
        __________________
          #12106    
        Old October 28th, 2009 (10:05 AM).
        Larvitar170's Avatar
        Larvitar170 Larvitar170 is offline
        Noobie hacker
           
          Join Date: Jul 2009
          Location: Kentucky.
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 66
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Hash06 View Post
          Hi ive been hacking pokemon firered for about 3 months now but it has been nothing special but now id like to be able to make all or at least as many of the reagions that have been created in pokemon all in one game. Also i would like to be able put all of the new pokemon in the game so it is possible to catch every single pokemon in the game. If someone could help me with both of these problems id be very thankfull cheers.
          Can't be done. From what I hear, in FR you can have two big regions and one small.

          As for the pokemon, there are the ones from the first three gyms plus 25 more due to some strange circumstance.
          __________________
          Current project: Pokemon Mud Brown (Working Title, will be changed.)
          No link because I haven't made a page for it yet.
          Team: Myself as mapper, scripter, and spriter.Brandinokthx as spriter.

            #12107    
          Old October 28th, 2009 (10:05 AM).
          Spherical Ice's Avatar
          Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Nov 2007
          Location: Bristol, UK
          Age: 19
          Posts: 5,240
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Hash06 View Post
          Hi ive been hacking pokemon firered for about 3 months now but it has been nothing special but now id like to be able to make all or at least as many of the reagions that have been created in pokemon all in one game. Also i would like to be able put all of the new pokemon in the game so it is possible to catch every single pokemon in the game. If someone could help me with both of these problems id be very thankfull cheers.
          Pretty much impossible. Sorry. You could probably fit in two regions and the already programmed-in 386 'mons, plus the 25 free spaces that I don't really enjoy using.

          Sorry, buddy. D:

          Edit: Damn, beaten. But yeah, you get the idea.

          @ Drakuaza: Well, the latter is possible with ASM, IIRC. But I'm not sure how. To just change the sprites of Gengar and Nidorino, unLZ-GBA is handy. (:
          By the way, MS rules. XD
          __________________

          A Pokemon that is discriminated!
          Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
            #12108    
          Old October 28th, 2009 (10:52 AM).
          Bayonetta's Avatar
          Bayonetta Bayonetta is offline
             
            Join Date: Apr 2009
            Posts: 34
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
            Pretty much impossible. Sorry. You could probably fit in two regions and the already programmed-in 386 'mons, plus the 25 free spaces that I don't really enjoy using.

            Sorry, buddy. D:

            Edit: Damn, beaten. But yeah, you get the idea.

            @ Drakuaza: Well, the latter is possible with ASM, IIRC. But I'm not sure how. To just change the sprites of Gengar and Nidorino, unLZ-GBA is handy. (:
            By the way, MS rules. XD
            Hmm. I see, well is there any ASM tutorial that could explain that? i couldnt find anything regarding that issue at the current guides

            @maplestory thing, i quit it like 3 months or 4 ago.
            __________________
              #12109    
            Old October 28th, 2009 (11:27 AM).
            Larsie13 Larsie13 is offline
            Gone
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Oct 2006
            Location: The Netherlands
            Age: 26
            Nature: Modest
            Posts: 159
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Drakuaza View Post
            F/R questions:

            Is it possible to extend the time of the title screen so it wont loop back to the boot screen?
            And how?

            And, Is there a tutorial that explains how to change the animation of the intro video?
            the one with gengar and nidorino fighting.
            About the first question... As far as I know, the title screen is special in that the song played there has no loop point. In other words, when it's done, it's done. Nothing happens. Now, when the game is on the title screen, and notices that the song has finished playing, it automatically resets the game. Through some ASM hacking, it should be possible to extend the time, or, alternately, you could insert a longer song. Or of course a song that loops, so that the game doesn't reset at all.
              #12110    
            Old October 28th, 2009 (11:30 AM).
            tente2's Avatar
            tente2 tente2 is offline
            "Outta my way, dammit!"
               
              Join Date: Sep 2009
              Location: Snowpoint City
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Bashful
              Posts: 403
              Hey,I'm trying to make a hack out of emerald,and I ALWAYS MAKE SURE SPRITES ARE 100% CUSTOM.Unfortunately,I haven't tried a hack before for 3rd gen,and have no idea how to change tilesets.I know a-map has a tool for it,but it doesn't accept my tilesets (as in they don't show up).How did you people with the custom tilesets import them?
                #12111    
              Old October 28th, 2009 (11:47 AM).
              Bayonetta's Avatar
              Bayonetta Bayonetta is offline
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2009
                Posts: 34
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Larsie13 View Post
                About the first question... As far as I know, the title screen is special in that the song played there has no loop point. In other words, when it's done, it's done. Nothing happens. Now, when the game is on the title screen, and notices that the song has finished playing, it automatically resets the game. Through some ASM hacking, it should be possible to extend the time, or, alternately, you could insert a longer song. Or of course a song that loops, so that the game doesn't reset at all.
                I have a song that lasts 1:24. and it loops at 50 or so.So its not the song. its the timing, and the original title loops, add it to a map, it will loop.
                __________________
                  #12112    
                Old October 28th, 2009 (11:52 AM).
                NarutoActor's Avatar
                NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
                The rocks cry out to me
                • Silver Tier
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2009
                Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
                Age: 24
                Gender: Female
                Nature: Bashful
                Posts: 1,979
                did you walk to your mom. if you game allows you to get defeated without first taking to your mom that will happen.
                __________________
                ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
                  #12113    
                Old October 28th, 2009 (9:31 PM).
                Larvitar170's Avatar
                Larvitar170 Larvitar170 is offline
                Noobie hacker
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2009
                  Location: Kentucky.
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Modest
                  Posts: 66
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by NarutoActor View Post
                  did you walk to your mom. if you game allows you to get defeated without first taking to your mom that will happen.
                  I fixed that. Does it all have to do with level hacking and things like that? When I lose, I get the right script, saying I scurried home before my first pokemon center, but it keeps sending me to map 0.0
                  __________________
                  Current project: Pokemon Mud Brown (Working Title, will be changed.)
                  No link because I haven't made a page for it yet.
                  Team: Myself as mapper, scripter, and spriter.Brandinokthx as spriter.

                    #12114    
                  Old October 29th, 2009 (4:16 AM).
                  Konekodemon's Avatar
                  Konekodemon Konekodemon is offline
                  The Master of Pokemon Breeding
                  • Crystal Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2007
                  Location: NC
                  Age: 33
                  Gender: Female
                  Nature: Gentle
                  Posts: 1,979
                  How do I change the title screen on Pokemon FireRed to be whatever I want it to be?
                  __________________

                  Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
                  Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile.php?id=231549&ref=61528
                  Get a Free PS3, this is no joke: http://www.YourPS34free.com/index.php?ref=5580831
                    #12115    
                  Old October 29th, 2009 (5:00 AM).
                  Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                  Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                  Memento Mori
                  • Gold Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2008
                  Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                  Age: 25
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Calm
                  Posts: 14,515
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Konekodemon View Post
                  How do I change the title screen on Pokemon FireRed to be whatever I want it to be?
                  Check tutorials
                  Tutorial's section has lots of tuts for title screen editing
                  __________________
                  ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                  Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                    #12116    
                  Old October 29th, 2009 (5:27 AM).
                  Konekodemon's Avatar
                  Konekodemon Konekodemon is offline
                  The Master of Pokemon Breeding
                  • Crystal Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2007
                  Location: NC
                  Age: 33
                  Gender: Female
                  Nature: Gentle
                  Posts: 1,979
                  Yes, but there very hard for me to understand any of it.
                  __________________

                  Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
                  Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile.php?id=231549&ref=61528
                  Get a Free PS3, this is no joke: http://www.YourPS34free.com/index.php?ref=5580831
                    #12117    
                  Old October 29th, 2009 (7:47 AM).
                  Larsie13 Larsie13 is offline
                  Gone
                  • Crystal Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2006
                  Location: The Netherlands
                  Age: 26
                  Nature: Modest
                  Posts: 159
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Drakuaza View Post
                  I have a song that lasts 1:24. and it loops at 50 or so.So its not the song. its the timing, and the original title loops, add it to a map, it will loop.
                  Well, I guess it's different for FR than it is for R/S/E, then. In Emerald at least, and probably in R/S too, it happens like I said in my previous post. Don't know how it works in FR...
                    #12118    
                  Old October 29th, 2009 (11:03 AM). Edited January 2nd, 2013 by Bozster.
                  Bozster's Avatar
                  Bozster Bozster is offline
                  Chief Lunatic
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2008
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Jolly
                    Posts: 115
                    I'm about to install Sappy 1.2 on my laptop.
                    I'd downloaded it from the Helmeted Rodent website.
                    Is it safe(ie are there any more viruses, like in Elite Map)?
                    Thanks

                    Yeah, sorry, another problem!
                    Can anyone explain why this happens:
                    Attachment 50726
                    Thanks again
                      #12119    
                    Old October 29th, 2009 (11:44 AM).
                    Sora's Nobody's Avatar
                    Sora's Nobody Sora's Nobody is offline
                    The Official Roxas
                    • Gold Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2009
                    Location: Destiny Island
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Brave
                    Posts: 1,111
                    so my problem is that any ruby rom i download theres some kind of defect to it, no matter where i download the rom from, the groudon is gone, do any of you know how to fix that
                    __________________

                    Sora's Nobody ★ Nothing Yet!
                    ♠The Official Roxas♠ My Stuff:
                    height: 200; min-height: 200px; position:relative; bottom: 45px; user-select: none; ">

                      #12120    
                    Old October 29th, 2009 (12:07 PM).
                    panthers4091 panthers4091 is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2009
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 31
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Bozster View Post
                      I'm about to install Sappy 1.2 on my laptop.
                      I'd downloaded it from the Helmeted Rodent website.
                      Is it safe(ie are there any more viruses, like in Elite Map)?
                      Thanks

                      Yeah, sorry, another problem!
                      Can anyone explain why this happens:
                      Attachment 50726
                      Thanks again
                      Download the advanced series in the tools section and use the sprite position editor.
                        #12121    
                      Old October 29th, 2009 (2:16 PM).
                      Bozster's Avatar
                      Bozster Bozster is offline
                      Chief Lunatic
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2008
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Jolly
                        Posts: 115
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by panthers4091 View Post
                        Download the advanced series in the tools section and use the sprite position editor.
                        Great! Thanks for the help!

                        Now, another query(sprry if I'm annoying anyone!):
                        Does anyone know where I can get the 4th gen Pokemon 'death cries'?
                          #12122    
                        Old October 29th, 2009 (2:27 PM).
                        0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                        0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                        Im comin' home...
                        • Silver Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Jan 2008
                        Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                        Age: 25
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Gentle
                        Posts: 1,816
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Bozster View Post
                        Great! Thanks for the help!

                        Now, another query(sprry if I'm annoying anyone!):
                        Does anyone know where I can get the 4th gen Pokemon 'death cries'?
                        Chances are, the sounds are all just the regular sounds/cries, just slowed and lowered by the game's engine.
                        You'll have to either record it, or rip the cry and do it yourself with a sound editing program like Wavepad...
                        __________________
                        >Boot Jailbot
                        >Pass *****
                        .
                        .
                        Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                        Greetings Warden
                        of Superjail Penitentiary
                        Awaiting user input...

                        >Display User_Info
                        ╠══User Info══╣
                        Username:
                        0m3GA ARS3NAL
                        Age: 18
                        Sex: Male ♂
                        Race: Caucasian
                        Quote:
                        "What is this
                        I don't even..."

                        M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                        ╠══End of File══╣
                        Awaiting user input...

                        >
                          #12123    
                        Old October 29th, 2009 (3:36 PM).
                        midnight ride midnight ride is offline
                        none
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2009
                          Age: 25
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Timid
                          Posts: 7
                          Hello again.
                          How does one(using advance map) make a snowy city? I dont want the whole rom to be snowy, just a city or route. And I dont mean just the weather i mean the palettes.

                          and here's a previous question I had that still needs some answering if anybody can help:

                          This is a Fire Red ROM.

                          Spoiler:
                          I was wondering if it was possible to make more room on a ROM for maps (areas), like having the name on the list instead of choosing to re-name an already named map and thus change all of the original map to what I re-named that one to.(ex. Changing Pallet town to something I want a new area to be called then having it save the name onto the original pallet town also.) Because my system of saving the names over old maps isn't the best.
                            #12124    
                          Old October 30th, 2009 (2:07 AM).
                          Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                          Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                          hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                             
                            Join Date: May 2008
                            Age: 23
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Bashful
                            Posts: 3,487
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by midnight ride View Post
                            Hello again.
                            How does one(using advance map) make a snowy city? I dont want the whole rom to be snowy, just a city or route. And I dont mean just the weather i mean the palettes.

                            and here's a previous question I had that still needs some answering if anybody can help:

                            This is a Fire Red ROM.

                            Spoiler:
                            I was wondering if it was possible to make more room on a ROM for maps (areas), like having the name on the list instead of choosing to re-name an already named map and thus change all of the original map to what I re-named that one to.(ex. Changing Pallet town to something I want a new area to be called then having it save the name onto the original pallet town also.) Because my system of saving the names over old maps isn't the best.
                            1. To make a snowy route, you insert the Snowy tiles yourself into the Secondary Tileset (which is route and city specific, so pick which one first), and then use that.
                            2. There is no known way to insert new map names without replacing old ones. Yet.
                            __________________


                            Temmie vibrates intensely.

                            awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                            OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                            can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                            RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                              #12125    
                            Old October 30th, 2009 (9:42 PM). Edited October 30th, 2009 by Konekodemon.
                            Konekodemon's Avatar
                            Konekodemon Konekodemon is offline
                            The Master of Pokemon Breeding
                            • Crystal Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Mar 2007
                            Location: NC
                            Age: 33
                            Gender: Female
                            Nature: Gentle
                            Posts: 1,979
                            Can someone post a full Tutorial on how to use Pokemap please? I've looked all over the web and can't find any complete Tutorials for Pokemap.

                            Also how do I edit in newer generation Pokemon onto a GBC game without having to delete older generation Pokemon?
                            __________________

                            Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
                            Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile.php?id=231549&ref=61528
                            Get a Free PS3, this is no joke: http://www.YourPS34free.com/index.php?ref=5580831
                            Closed Thread

                            Quick Reply

                            Join the conversation!

                            Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                            Create a PokéCommunity Account

                            Sponsored Links
                            Thread Tools

                            Posting Rules
                            You may not post new threads
                            You may not post replies
                            You may not post attachments
                            You may not edit your posts

                            BB code is On
                            Smilies are On
                            [IMG] code is On
                            HTML code is Off

                            Forum Jump


                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:10 AM.