ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #12226    
Old November 10th, 2009 (1:23 PM). Edited November 10th, 2009 by NarutoActor.
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post
Yeah but ya cannot change intro texts with it.
And maybe even level scripts... but I'm not sure about it.
HA, another example of how my tutorial would of benifited the community. (crinco said it was common knolage :C)

On Topic, You can edit the intro text eather use visual boy and find the texts offset and decomlie it as text in xse, or find the offset ( or I can just tel you the offset) and put it in the script search in PKSV and decomplie it has text.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deviation View Post
It is all determined by Block Behaviour. You will be surprised at what Block Behaviour can do (however, be careful, when determining Random battles, apparently the battle background will always be the caves. I am not sure of this, as I was told it)
use 08 00 for a flor backrond.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xmouvelianx View Post
so deviation, you mean we can actually decide where random battle will appear..cool!
i never knew that. thx a billion.
you know a basic wildbattle scipt would work too.
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest

Relevant Advertising!

  #12227    
Old November 10th, 2009 (3:08 PM).
Viremaster Viremaster is offline
     
    Join Date: Nov 2009
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 3
    Here is my question...

    for a personal project, I've wanted to make my own gen 1 pokemon save editor. I have seen one released over a decade ago, and wanted to use it as a reference. However upon using it to do a minor change to the file (money held), it became unreadable to the game. I tried manually changing the variable. Same result, saying the save file was corrupted. Is this a form of anti-tamperment, or am I hacking the file incorrectly?

    I am using the last release of VBA to emulate Pokemon Blue.
      #12228    
    Old November 10th, 2009 (4:29 PM).
    Hassamu_Scizor's Avatar
    Hassamu_Scizor Hassamu_Scizor is offline
    The Impulse
       
      Join Date: Oct 2009
      Nature: Adamant
      Posts: 4
      Ok this might be somewhere in the hundreds of pages here, I searched for it but I only skimmed through everything that came up and none of the posts seemed to relate to the upcoming question. I think the answer may be "learn how to use XSE and Advance Map together better" but here goes:

      How do I do either of these things:
      Move the starting area? Like from Pallet to say, Saffron.
      Start with a Pokemon? Like Growlithe or Scizor?

      I'm kinda lazy so if it's a really easy answer or something sorry for wasting your time...
        #12229    
      Old November 10th, 2009 (4:40 PM).
      BlitŻ's Avatar
      BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
      guahh my dog is so cute
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Feb 2009
      Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
      Age: 22
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Jolly
      Posts: 472
      I'm having a problem inserting my titlescreen, however it only happens under certain circumstances. I'm using NTME to make a tilemap to insert a pokemon or a new background, but whenever i insert and load it up in VBA, it doesn't work. But if I load it up in No$ Gba, it does.., so does anybody know how i can make it work in VBA?>
      __________________
        #12230    
      Old November 10th, 2009 (11:00 PM).
      herbeon herbeon is offline
         
        Join Date: Nov 2009
        Posts: 10
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by NarutoActor View Post
        On Topic, You can edit the intro text eather use visual boy and find the texts offset and decomlie it as text in xse, or find the offset ( or I can just tel you the offset) and put it in the script search in PKSV and decomplie it has text.
        Could you tell me how to find the offsets, other than tracing it using A-Map?

        By the way, I have another question. How can I change the names of May, Brendan, and Wally? I see in the text that there is a variable [RIVAL]. Is it possible that I can find the offset where the names are assigned?
          #12231    
        Old November 11th, 2009 (12:09 AM).
        0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
        0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
        Im comin' home...
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Jan 2008
        Location: Superjail Penitentiary
        Age: 24
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Gentle
        Posts: 1,812
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by herbeon View Post
        Could you tell me how to find the offsets, other than tracing it using A-Map?

        By the way, I have another question. How can I change the names of May, Brendan, and Wally? I see in the text that there is a variable [RIVAL]. Is it possible that I can find the offset where the names are assigned?
        Try searching for it in the ROM... Use a Hex Editor and a Table...
        __________________
        >Boot Jailbot
        >Pass *****
        .
        .
        Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
        Greetings Warden
        of Superjail Penitentiary
        Awaiting user input...

        >Display User_Info
        ╠══User Info══╣
        Username:
        0m3GA ARS3NAL
        Age: 18
        Sex: Male ♂
        Race: Caucasian
        Quote:
        "What is this
        I don't even..."

        M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
        ╠══End of File══╣
        Awaiting user input...

        >
          #12232    
        Old November 11th, 2009 (1:08 AM).
        Surf's Avatar
        Surf Surf is offline
        ...
           
          Join Date: Jul 2008
          Location: Rust
          Age: 22
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 1,197
          Are there any flags, that are set, that define the gender?
          __________________
          I'm looking for some good (When I say good,
          I mean you can hold your own by yourself)
          N**i Zombies players, to form a team or even a
          clan, to play with casually.
          Send me a PM with your Highest Level and your PSN,
          and I'll get back to you.
            #12233    
          Old November 11th, 2009 (3:23 AM).
          Aljam's Avatar
          Aljam Aljam is offline
          Pierce the heavens
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: Jul 2008
          Location: Canada
          Age: 23
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 583
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by herbeon View Post
          Could you tell me how to find the offsets, other than tracing it using A-Map?

          By the way, I have another question. How can I change the names of May, Brendan, and Wally? I see in the text that there is a variable [RIVAL]. Is it possible that I can find the offset where the names are assigned?
          use A-text and search for the name. Then, write it to the ini and change it. voila there you go XD
          __________________
          Paired with Druyii.
            #12234    
          Old November 11th, 2009 (7:30 AM).
          HackMew's Avatar
          HackMew HackMew is offline
          Mewtwo Strikes Back
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Jun 2006
          Posts: 1,314
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Surf View Post
          Are there any flags, that are set, that define the gender?
          No, no flags. The gender is the 8th byte in the player data structure. Further info can be found on my first ASM lesson, in the Documents and Tutorials.
          __________________
            #12235    
          Old November 11th, 2009 (11:23 AM). Edited November 11th, 2009 by colcolstyles.
          colcolstyles's Avatar
          colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
          Yours truly
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: May 2008
          Location: The Bay Area
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Lonely
          Posts: 1,584
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Surf View Post
          Are there any flags, that are set, that define the gender?
          No but you can obtain the player's gender in a script with 'checkgender' just like 'checkflag' except with no parameters. I think thethethethe's scripting tutorial covers that.
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by herbeon View Post
          By the way, I have another question. How can I change the names of May, Brendan, and Wally? I see in the text that there is a variable [RIVAL]. Is it possible that I can find the offset where the names are assigned?
          Alright I found it. The names for the rivals and other stuff are stored at '0x5E821B'. Each name is separated by an '0xFF' byte so if your new name is shorter than the previous name, then all you have to do is fill the bytes of the previous name that you didn't use with '0xFF'. However, if your new name is longer (and it most likely will be if you're replacing May's name) then you will have to repoint the text. The pointer to Brendan's name can be found at '0x009090' and May's at '0x00909C'. I don't know where the pointers to the other texts (e.g. Team names, game names, team leader names, etc.) are but they shouldn't be too hard to locate.
          Oh yeah and this is all for Emerald, by the way.
          __________________

          Brother of Vrai
            #12236    
          Old November 11th, 2009 (11:59 AM).
          Haku.'s Avatar
          Haku. Haku. is offline
          (FLAME)...H....A...K..U
             
            Join Date: Jan 2008
            Location: Singapore :D
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Quiet
            Posts: 385
            okay guys.. how do i make new over world sprite without any bugs..
            the 40+ patch didnt work.. only showed in a-map but not in gba.
            __________________

              #12237    
            Old November 11th, 2009 (1:52 PM).
            NarutoActor's Avatar
            NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
            The rocks cry out to me
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: Jan 2009
            Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
            Age: 23
            Gender: Female
            Nature: Bashful
            Posts: 1,979
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by herbeon View Post
            Could you tell me how to find the offsets, other than tracing it using A-Map?

            By the way, I have another question. How can I change the names of May, Brendan, and Wally? I see in the text that there is a variable [RIVAL]. Is it possible that I can find the offset where the names are assigned?
            theres a hex tutorial on pc or vm me and I can send you the tutorial I made.
            __________________
            ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
              #12238    
            Old November 11th, 2009 (2:59 PM).
            Shadow_Knux's Avatar
            Shadow_Knux Shadow_Knux is offline
               
              Join Date: Jan 2009
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Brave
              Posts: 25
              Hello, I'm pretty much a noob when it comes to hacking, but...

              How can I change the Pokemon that are offered as Game Corner Prizes in Celadon?

              Thanks in advance!
                #12239    
              Old November 11th, 2009 (7:12 PM).
              Aljam's Avatar
              Aljam Aljam is offline
              Pierce the heavens
              • Gold Tier
               
              Join Date: Jul 2008
              Location: Canada
              Age: 23
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Modest
              Posts: 583
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Shadow_Knux View Post
              Hello, I'm pretty much a noob when it comes to hacking, but...

              How can I change the Pokemon that are offered as Game Corner Prizes in Celadon?

              Thanks in advance!
              You can do that by scripting.

              This is a question I would like to ask. What are the dimensions for the boot screen in FR?
              __________________
              Paired with Druyii.
                #12240    
              Old November 11th, 2009 (9:50 PM).
              Haku.'s Avatar
              Haku. Haku. is offline
              (FLAME)...H....A...K..U
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2008
                Location: Singapore :D
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Quiet
                Posts: 385
                you know when you use the tilemap editor there is a dotted line right at the right..
                that's the dimension.

                EDIT:
                can anyone answer my question on top?
                __________________

                  #12241    
                Old November 11th, 2009 (10:28 PM).
                SirCopycat SirCopycat is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2009
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 5
                  Me...once again, lol

                  Just need a push in te right direction, is there a Tutorial about changing the overworld sprites? I've tried doing it on my own, i have a little idea how to change it, i'm using Overworld editor, but whenever I change Oak's sprite it comes out pretty screwed, just need a little hand with a tut to see how to do it properly. Apologies if i'm getting annoying
                    #12242    
                  Old November 12th, 2009 (11:16 AM).
                  Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
                  Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
                  The Faltine
                     
                    Join Date: Mar 2008
                    Location: Slovenia
                    Age: 21
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 3,572
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by SirCopycat View Post
                    Me...once again, lol

                    Just need a push in te right direction, is there a Tutorial about changing the overworld sprites? I've tried doing it on my own, i have a little idea how to change it, i'm using Overworld editor, but whenever I change Oak's sprite it comes out pretty screwed, just need a little hand with a tut to see how to do it properly. Apologies if i'm getting annoying
                    What part did screw up?
                    You mean a tutorial of spriting (drawing) tutorial, or an inserting tutorial?
                    __________________
                      #12243    
                    Old November 12th, 2009 (1:03 PM).
                    SirCopycat SirCopycat is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2009
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 5
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by H2O Turquoise View Post
                      What part did screw up?
                      You mean a tutorial of spriting (drawing) tutorial, or an inserting tutorial?
                      Sorry, should have stated better, inserting a Overworld sprite, i'm fine with spriting etc, just the inserting business, as I said with overworld Editor, as I said I want to change Prof Oaks Overworld Sprite to something else, so for ease I grabbed the Super Nerd Sprite 9think it's super nerd anyway) I added the sprite to Overworld Editor just fine, but when I added the second frame the colours got a bit distorted, and wghen I booted it up in game to see what it looked like it was still distorted.

                      I didn't save a screenie but i'll give it another go and grab a screenshot now:

                      this is my first step, I imported the sprite and chose to import the pallette as well (When I do it without it gets a distorted) and all is peachy:

                      overworld1 attatchment

                      then I go to the next frame and this has happened:

                      Overworld2 attachment

                      so i'm a bit confused, so I just carry on and add the sprite for that frame:

                      Overworld3 attachment

                      and then the sprte seems to have grown a beard >> and as I said when I import it into game it's just like hat pretty screwy.
                      Attached Images
                      File Type: jpg overworld3.jpg‎ (31.6 KB, 17 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                      File Type: jpg overworld1.jpg‎ (32.0 KB, 11 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                      File Type: jpg overworld2.jpg‎ (29.9 KB, 8 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                        #12244    
                      Old November 12th, 2009 (1:17 PM).
                      Shadow_Knux's Avatar
                      Shadow_Knux Shadow_Knux is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Jan 2009
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Brave
                        Posts: 25
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Aljam View Post
                        You can do that by scripting.

                        This is a question I would like to ask. What are the dimensions for the boot screen in FR?
                        I looked in the code, but I couldn't find out how to do that. Can you be more specific, please?
                        __________________
                          #12245    
                        Old November 12th, 2009 (1:35 PM).
                        Aljam's Avatar
                        Aljam Aljam is offline
                        Pierce the heavens
                        • Gold Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2008
                        Location: Canada
                        Age: 23
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Modest
                        Posts: 583
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Shadow_Knux View Post
                        I looked in the code, but I couldn't find out how to do that. Can you be more specific, please?
                        you use XSE which is located in the toolbox. then you learn how to script by using one of the XSE tuts in the Documents section.

                        Where would be a good offset to start off using free space? (other than 8000000)
                        __________________
                        Paired with Druyii.
                          #12246    
                        Old November 12th, 2009 (2:38 PM).
                        Liquid Shadow's Avatar
                        Liquid Shadow Liquid Shadow is offline
                        xD
                           
                          Join Date: Mar 2008
                          Gender:
                          Posts: 223
                          Does anybody know the TileMap for the Pokemon logo in Pokemon Ruby? Any help would be appreciated.
                          __________________

                          4 truths of life
                          1. You cannot touch all your teeth with your tongue.
                          2. All idiots, after reading the first truth, will try it.
                          3. And discover that the first truth is a lie.
                          4. You're smiling now because you're an idiot.
                            #12247    
                          Old November 12th, 2009 (7:04 PM).
                          Haku.'s Avatar
                          Haku. Haku. is offline
                          (FLAME)...H....A...K..U
                             
                            Join Date: Jan 2008
                            Location: Singapore :D
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Quiet
                            Posts: 385
                            aljam. do you know where to get lurio and lucario cry?
                            Oh yea and do anybody here knows the offset for the palette of the word "POKEMON FIRERED VERSION"
                            __________________

                              #12248    
                            Old November 12th, 2009 (8:28 PM).
                            herbeon herbeon is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Nov 2009
                              Posts: 10
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
                              Alright I found it. The names for the rivals and other stuff are stored at '0x5E821B'. Each name is separated by an '0xFF' byte so if your new name is shorter than the previous name, then all you have to do is fill the bytes of the previous name that you didn't use with '0xFF'. However, if your new name is longer (and it most likely will be if you're replacing May's name) then you will have to repoint the text. The pointer to Brendan's name can be found at '0x009090' and May's at '0x00909C'. I don't know where the pointers to the other texts (e.g. Team names, game names, team leader names, etc.) are but they shouldn't be too hard to locate.
                              Oh yeah and this is all for Emerald, by the way.
                              Thanks very much. It's really helpful to me.
                              By the way, what does "repoint" mean? I came across that words many times, but don't know its meaning.
                                #12249    
                              Old November 12th, 2009 (11:33 PM).
                              ~Teh Panda~'s Avatar
                              ~Teh Panda~ ~Teh Panda~ is offline
                              Sea of Dreams - Redux
                              • Silver Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Aug 2007
                              Posts: 906
                              Hey, does anyone know the offsets for the intro to firered? I was interested in tinkering it and fooling with some of the animations. Any help would be greatly appreciated
                              __________________




                              Mystic still in work to let you know...
                                #12250    
                              Old November 13th, 2009 (2:41 AM).
                              Mr. Frog's Avatar
                              Mr. Frog Mr. Frog is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Apr 2009
                                Location: The pony swamp (somewhere near johto)
                                Age: 24
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Quirky
                                Posts: 38
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by SirCopycat View Post
                                Sorry, should have stated better, inserting a Overworld sprite, i'm fine with spriting etc, just the inserting business, as I said with overworld Editor, as I said I want to change Prof Oaks Overworld Sprite to something else, so for ease I grabbed the Super Nerd Sprite 9think it's super nerd anyway) I added the sprite to Overworld Editor just fine, but when I added the second frame the colours got a bit distorted, and wghen I booted it up in game to see what it looked like it was still distorted.

                                I didn't save a screenie but i'll give it another go and grab a screenshot now:

                                this is my first step, I imported the sprite and chose to import the pallette as well (When I do it without it gets a distorted) and all is peachy:

                                overworld1 attatchment

                                then I go to the next frame and this has happened:

                                Overworld2 attachment

                                so i'm a bit confused, so I just carry on and add the sprite for that frame:

                                Overworld3 attachment

                                and then the sprte seems to have grown a beard >> and as I said when I import it into game it's just like hat pretty screwy.
                                Not sure about that back sprite, but the other ones seem to be a pallet problem.
                                You say you said to import pallet... but the pallets in attachment 1 and 2 are different...

                                actually, that back sprite looks like its corrupt...
                                Closed Thread

                                Quick Reply

                                Join the conversation!

                                Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                Sponsored Links
                                Thread Tools

                                Posting Rules
                                You may not post new threads
                                You may not post replies
                                You may not post attachments
                                You may not edit your posts

                                BB code is On
                                Smilies are On
                                [IMG] code is On
                                HTML code is Off

                                Forum Jump


                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:16 AM.