ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #12401    
Old November 22nd, 2009 (4:50 PM).
NiKaNoRoU's Avatar
NiKaNoRoU NiKaNoRoU is offline
Dedicated to Thrace
     
    Join Date: Sep 2009
    Age: 25
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 660
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Shiny_Noctowl View Post
    What's a good program to use to edit tilesets?
    Tile molester is the best by far, so far. Use googlesearch and you'll eventually get it.
    __________________

    Your knight from the plane of light

    Relevant Advertising!

      #12402    
    Old November 22nd, 2009 (4:52 PM).
    NarutoActor's Avatar
    NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
    The rocks cry out to me
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
    Age: 23
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Bashful
    Posts: 1,979
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Shiny_Noctowl View Post
    What's a good program to use to edit tilesets?
    what kind
    un compresed images- tile molester
    tiles for maps- advance map
    tiles for tile maps, such as the title screen- unlz gba
    __________________
    ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
      #12403    
    Old November 22nd, 2009 (4:58 PM).
    Shiny_Noctowl Shiny_Noctowl is offline
       
      Join Date: Dec 2008
      Age: 23
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 39
      I want to know how to edit the tiles so that they look different. I already know how to edit maps.
        #12404    
      Old November 22nd, 2009 (5:01 PM).
      NarutoActor's Avatar
      NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
      The rocks cry out to me
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Jan 2009
      Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
      Age: 23
      Gender: Female
      Nature: Bashful
      Posts: 1,979
      so edit tiles for maps...advance map.
      __________________
      ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
        #12405    
      Old November 22nd, 2009 (5:09 PM).
      Shiny_Noctowl Shiny_Noctowl is offline
         
        Join Date: Dec 2008
        Age: 23
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 39
        No, that lets me edit maps, not tiles (unless there's some feature I'm overlooking). I want to make it so that, for example, the tiles that look like the Space Shuttle will look like the USS Enterprise instead.
          #12406    
        Old November 22nd, 2009 (5:24 PM). Edited November 22nd, 2009 by NarutoActor.
        NarutoActor's Avatar
        NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
        The rocks cry out to me
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Jan 2009
        Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
        Age: 23
        Gender: Female
        Nature: Bashful
        Posts: 1,979
        Theres a puzzel Piece buttune in advance map that allows you to edit the tiles. so yes advance map. or Tools>block editor or cntrl+b
        __________________
        ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
          #12407    
        Old November 22nd, 2009 (11:10 PM).
        Haku.'s Avatar
        Haku. Haku. is offline
        (FLAME)...H....A...K..U
           
          Join Date: Jan 2008
          Location: Singapore :D
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Quiet
          Posts: 385
          Anyone knows how to import a worldmap?
          I know there's a tut but i can't understand it =X
          __________________

            #12408    
          Old November 23rd, 2009 (4:57 AM).
          Juan Juan is offline
          Brazilian with a bad English
             
            Join Date: Jun 2007
            Location: Pindamonhangaba - SP
            Age: 26
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 92
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by xmouvelianx View Post
            Anyone knows how to import a worldmap?
            I know there's a tut but i can't understand it =X
            WorldMap image is:

            Tileset + Tilemap + Palettes

            So look about it and you will be able to change it.
            __________________
              #12409    
            Old November 23rd, 2009 (5:55 AM).
            Amachi's Avatar
            Amachi Amachi is offline
            (。・ω・)ノ゙ Hello, I am Amachi-chan~♪
               
              Join Date: Jun 2006
              Location: Australia
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Jolly
              Posts: 5,877
              Is it possible to enable the Pokedex menu, enable the National dex, disable the menu, and still have it all work? By still work I mean allow all evolutions and so on.
              __________________
              CHILL OUT DUDES, I GOT THIS
              Paired with Juicy.
                #12410    
              Old November 23rd, 2009 (6:35 AM).
              Late's Avatar
              Late Late is offline
              Pokémon Artist
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2008
                Location: "We all live in a Pokémon World!"
                Age: 22
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Careful
                Posts: 549
                Umm... I have a question about warps. I have a warp in Pallet Town (I made a cave there) The warp goes into my cave but I can't get out of the cave. I noticed that the arrow to out is in different place and if I move my warp to there it works, but it goes to the middle of Pallet Town...
                How do I fix this? (Haven't used so much warps)
                __________________

                Please feed my Pokémon and warm my eggs.
                Thanks for everyone who have clicked these, you've helped me a lot

                Anyone has Club Nintendo codes that you don't need? I want those.
                If you have one code for me I can trade you my Explorers of Sky code as I can't put it because I have registered already one. (Registered my brother's game and now I can't register mine...) Someone have same thing? PM me.
                I know there's nobody who wishes to do this xD
                I'm talking about Club Nintendo of Europe.
                  #12411    
                Old November 23rd, 2009 (6:49 AM).
                Mr. Frog's Avatar
                Mr. Frog Mr. Frog is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Apr 2009
                  Location: The pony swamp (somewhere near johto)
                  Age: 24
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Quirky
                  Posts: 38
                  The "arrow" is actually a seperate tile to the normal ground.
                  you'll need to use this ground on the warp for it to work.
                  (just copy the working tile to where the warp should be as i can't point out the exact tile without a screeny of the tileset!)
                  __________________
                    #12412    
                  Old November 23rd, 2009 (8:49 AM).
                  NiKaNoRoU's Avatar
                  NiKaNoRoU NiKaNoRoU is offline
                  Dedicated to Thrace
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2009
                    Age: 25
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 660
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Late View Post
                    Umm... I have a question about warps. I have a warp in Pallet Town (I made a cave there) The warp goes into my cave but I can't get out of the cave. I noticed that the arrow to out is in different place and if I move my warp to there it works, but it goes to the middle of Pallet Town...
                    How do I fix this? (Haven't used so much warps)
                    You get in the middle of pallet town because you have specified in which map to wrap, but not in which wrap. To understand what I mean, look at the wrap that takes you into Oak's lab and then look at the one that takes you out of it.
                    Isn't something similar to those two wraps?
                    For example, the one might have 'wrap number 3' and another number above which is 1.
                    THe other wrap should have 'wrap number 1' and another number which should be 3 in order for these two to connect.

                    If you still don't get it, have some practise. Make a new wrap and have it wrap you to the lab using the same coordinates as the default wrap in the lab's door, and then change the wrap in the lab that takes you outside to your new wrap's number, and voila! you get out of the lab on that new wrap, and not on the door!
                    __________________

                    Your knight from the plane of light
                      #12413    
                    Old November 23rd, 2009 (9:15 AM).
                    Late's Avatar
                    Late Late is offline
                    Pokémon Artist
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2008
                      Location: "We all live in a Pokémon World!"
                      Age: 22
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Careful
                      Posts: 549
                      Thanks both of you. Got it work already with frogpony's help.
                      Already noticed that my warps number was 4 when it should be 3... I didn't notice that there's also 0 so it got to be 3 as the warp itself said. Just a little mistake.
                      I have made houses and other things with warps but this cave got me crazy, first problem was with my script (only 0xFE was missing...) now this. As I already said, little mistakes, should think first and ask then. (I just have little hurry with this thing, because I should've get this ready yesterday...)
                      __________________

                      Please feed my Pokémon and warm my eggs.
                      Thanks for everyone who have clicked these, you've helped me a lot

                      Anyone has Club Nintendo codes that you don't need? I want those.
                      If you have one code for me I can trade you my Explorers of Sky code as I can't put it because I have registered already one. (Registered my brother's game and now I can't register mine...) Someone have same thing? PM me.
                      I know there's nobody who wishes to do this xD
                      I'm talking about Club Nintendo of Europe.
                        #12414    
                      Old November 23rd, 2009 (12:53 PM).
                      NarutoActor's Avatar
                      NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
                      The rocks cry out to me
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2009
                      Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
                      Age: 23
                      Gender: Female
                      Nature: Bashful
                      Posts: 1,979
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Amachi View Post
                      Is it possible to enable the Pokedex menu, enable the National dex, disable the menu, and still have it all work? By still work I mean allow all evolutions and so on.
                      Yes setflag (menu for pokedex i think its 0x826 but I might be off a little) setflag (regional) setflag (national) clearflag (menu)
                      __________________
                      ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
                        #12415    
                      Old November 23rd, 2009 (1:34 PM).
                      Pokepal17's Avatar
                      Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                      More cowbell~
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2008
                      Location: Steeltown
                      Age: 22
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Modest
                      Posts: 1,511
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Amachi View Post
                      Is it possible to enable the Pokedex menu, enable the National dex, disable the menu, and still have it all work? By still work I mean allow all evolutions and so on.
                      NaruotActor is wrong.

                      Setflag 0x829 for the Pokedex.
                      Special 0x16F to enable the National dex.
                      And HackMew's ASM routine to disable the menu.

                      Unfortunately, I don't know but I believe it would work.
                      __________________
                      Pokémon Stardrop
                        #12416    
                      Old November 23rd, 2009 (1:37 PM).
                      NarutoActor's Avatar
                      NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
                      The rocks cry out to me
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2009
                      Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
                      Age: 23
                      Gender: Female
                      Nature: Bashful
                      Posts: 1,979
                      can't you just clearflag 0x829?
                      __________________
                      ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
                        #12417    
                      Old November 23rd, 2009 (1:40 PM).
                      Amachi's Avatar
                      Amachi Amachi is offline
                      (。・ω・)ノ゙ Hello, I am Amachi-chan~♪
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2006
                        Location: Australia
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Jolly
                        Posts: 5,877
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by NarutoActor View Post
                        Yes setflag (menu for pokedex i think its 0x826 but I might be off a little) setflag (regional) setflag (national) clearflag (menu)
                        I was thinking something like that, but I wasn't sure if it disabled the functions that the national dex gives you.
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Pokepal17 View Post
                        NaruotActor is wrong.

                        Setflag 0x829 for the Pokedex.
                        Special 0x16F to enable the National dex.
                        And HackMew's ASM routine to disable the menu.

                        Unfortunately, I don't know but I believe it would work.
                        Well, then what is this ASM routine? I appreciate the help, but I can't do anything if you remain so ambiguous :P
                        __________________
                        CHILL OUT DUDES, I GOT THIS
                        Paired with Juicy.
                          #12418    
                        Old November 23rd, 2009 (1:47 PM).
                        Pokepal17's Avatar
                        Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                        More cowbell~
                        • Silver Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2008
                        Location: Steeltown
                        Age: 22
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Modest
                        Posts: 1,511
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Amachi View Post
                        I was thinking something like that, but I wasn't sure if it disabled the functions that the national dex gives you.

                        Well, then what is this ASM routine? I appreciate the help, but I can't do anything if you remain so ambiguous
                        Unfortunately, it's not for the public and I believe it was made for the use of >Dante<. Ask HackMew, anyway. Also, disbaling the menu won't affect the Pokedex since it will still be there, but not accessible.

                        Also, the ASM routine will idsable the menu and a registered key item.
                        __________________
                        Pokémon Stardrop
                          #12419    
                        Old November 23rd, 2009 (4:47 PM).
                        Lasivian Lasivian is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2009
                          Posts: 2
                          How can I shut off the music in Pokemon Diamond?

                          I'm a competent user that has a rom and an editor, but I can't find any files to delete that look like game music.

                          (IE. I want the music removed but not the sound effects, I can't figure out which files in the rom are which)

                          Thanks
                            #12420    
                          Old November 24th, 2009 (12:01 AM).
                          gummybarz's Avatar
                          gummybarz gummybarz is offline
                          • Silver Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Feb 2009
                          Location: ☉☽☿ ♀ ⊕ ♁ ♂ ♃ ♄♅ ♆ ♇ ⚳ ☄
                          Age: 22
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Naughty
                          Posts: 783
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Lasivian View Post
                          How can I shut off the music in Pokemon Diamond?

                          I'm a competent user that has a rom and an editor, but I can't find any files to delete that look like game music.

                          (IE. I want the music removed but not the sound effects, I can't figure out which files in the rom are which)

                          Thanks
                          Can you elaboarate a little more? Well I think if you wanted the music change or removed from a certain room you would have to change the script.

                          Here is an example made up script

                          [email protected]
                          Player walks in room
                          Music play 0x1


                          The music play 0x1 could be any music, say it's the music from pallet town. You would have to either remove that script and replace it with a different script.

                          [email protected]
                          Player walks in room
                          Music play 0x2

                          The music play 0x2 would be a different type of music.



                          Anyways I have a question, I really didn't know where to post it.

                          What language is pokemon fire red coded in?
                          __________________
                          This signature has been disabled.
                          Your CSS makes a vertical scroll bar appear, which we don\'t like
                          Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                          You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                          Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                            #12421    
                          Old November 24th, 2009 (4:37 AM).
                          Pokepal17's Avatar
                          Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                          More cowbell~
                          • Silver Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Oct 2008
                          Location: Steeltown
                          Age: 22
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Modest
                          Posts: 1,511
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Sakari View Post

                          Can you elaboarate a little more? Well I think if you wanted the music change or removed from a certain room you would have to change the script.

                          Here is an example made up script

                          [email protected]
                          Player walks in room
                          Music play 0x1


                          The music play 0x1 could be any music, say it's the music from pallet town. You would have to either remove that script and replace it with a different script.

                          [email protected]
                          Player walks in room
                          Music play 0x2

                          The music play 0x2 would be a different type of music.



                          Anyways I have a question, I really didn't know where to post it.

                          What language is pokemon fire red coded in?
                          He said Pokemon DIamond, so I doubt a solution for Fire Red will work on Diamond.
                          __________________
                          Pokémon Stardrop
                            #12422    
                          Old November 24th, 2009 (6:32 AM).
                          Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
                          Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
                          The Faltine
                             
                            Join Date: Mar 2008
                            Location: Slovenia
                            Age: 21
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 3,572
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Sakari View Post
                            Anyways I have a question, I really didn't know where to post it.

                            What language is pokemon fire red coded in?
                            You mean hex?
                            It uses 16 numbers: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, A, B, C, D, E, F.
                            So all GBA games are written in Hex.
                            __________________
                              #12423    
                            Old November 24th, 2009 (7:04 AM).
                            Wichu's Avatar
                            Wichu Wichu is offline
                            Project Amethyst
                               
                              Join Date: Sep 2007
                              Location: North Herts, England
                              Age: 24
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Naive
                              Posts: 2,051
                              If you mean the source code, I doubt anyone outside of Nintendo or Game Freak knows. I suspect it's probably C, though. You won't be able to extract the code from the ROM, as it's been compiled into machine language (i.e. ASM).
                              __________________
                                #12424    
                              Old November 24th, 2009 (7:09 AM).
                              Haku.'s Avatar
                              Haku. Haku. is offline
                              (FLAME)...H....A...K..U
                                 
                                Join Date: Jan 2008
                                Location: Singapore :D
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Quiet
                                Posts: 385
                                Any noes a good ASM tutorial for making new key items that could be called out in-game?
                                __________________

                                  #12425    
                                Old November 24th, 2009 (7:25 AM).
                                Lasivian Lasivian is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2009
                                  Posts: 2
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Sakari View Post


                                  Can you elaboarate a little more?
                                  I want to strip out the music files from Pokemon Diamond so there is no background music.

                                  It that makes the game unstable I guess I can replace them with 0-byte files, but I do not know which files are the background music.

                                  Thanks
                                  Closed Thread
                                  Quick Reply

                                  Sponsored Links
                                  Thread Tools

                                  Posting Rules
                                  You may not post new threads
                                  You may not post replies
                                  You may not post attachments
                                  You may not edit your posts

                                  BB code is On
                                  Smilies are On
                                  [IMG] code is On
                                  HTML code is Off

                                  Forum Jump


                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 8:05 PM.