ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #12726    
Old December 12th, 2009 (9:19 PM).
BlitŻ's Avatar
BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
guahh my dog is so cute
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by AztecFire View Post
That's not what I'm trying to do :/.

There should be no need to repoint a cry :/. All it is, is that there's probably a command somewhere in the script that tells it to play Lotad's cry, and I want to change it so that it plays Nidoran's cry.

Repointing the cry would be useless, because then every Lotad in-game would now have Nidoran's cry, which would be stupid :/.

This is what I said. Read more carefully:
To change any form of the intro, you need ASM, which stands for ASseMbly. But you're right, it is a script though, but it is much too complicated for, from what I'm guessing, a beginner hacker. Unless you what to go through the rigors of learning ASM, I suggest you either don't change it, or live with the lotad cry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rokrdude View Post
URGENT HELP NEEDED

I m trying to post my hack for a while in progressing hack but not been able to do so

It goes upto that point where it says that u can post now a poll as u have posted ur hack but after i post the poll im not sure where my thread goes
It has happened thrice

Can anyone help?

Have you me the requirements for posting a thread in the progressing hacks section? Compare your thread with these rules. If it does still happen, I suggest you ask a moderator.
__________________

Relevant Advertising!

  #12727    
Old December 12th, 2009 (11:26 PM).
Blaziquaza's Avatar
Blaziquaza Blaziquaza is offline
...
     
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Location: Whyalla, Australia
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Jolly
    Posts: 781
    Does anybody have Overworld Changer 4.0.1?Because I need it.
    __________________
    Everything you say to me pushes one step closer to the edge



    And I'm about to break
    I need a little room to breathe...

    Steam IGN: Hybrid Theory
      #12728    
    Old December 13th, 2009 (12:00 AM).
    Champion Victoria Champion Victoria is offline
    Puella docta
       
      Join Date: Oct 2008
      Nature: Sassy
      Posts: 36
      Is it fairly easy to replace May's sprites in Emerald (overworld, trainer card, and battle sprites) with that of Leaf's sprites in FR/LG? How would I go about doing this, and what tools would I need?

      Thanks!
        #12729    
      Old December 13th, 2009 (6:06 AM).
      Kaikai Kaikai is offline
         
        Join Date: Nov 2009
        Gender: Female
        Posts: 90
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by AztecFire View Post
        That's not what I'm trying to do :/.

        There should be no need to repoint a cry :/. All it is, is that there's probably a command somewhere in the script that tells it to play Lotad's cry, and I want to change it so that it plays Nidoran's cry.

        Repointing the cry would be useless, because then every Lotad in-game would now have Nidoran's cry, which would be stupid :/.

        This is what I said. Read more carefully:
        Repointing the cry? So THATS the reason why Munchlax and Porygon-Z in my Ruby hack has the same cry. :/
          #12730    
        Old December 13th, 2009 (8:51 AM). Edited December 13th, 2009 by simonrule18.
        simonrule18's Avatar
        simonrule18 simonrule18 is offline
        Iwant to create my own pokemon
           
          Join Date: Jul 2008
          Posts: 35
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Ashachu View Post
          HOW THE HECK DO YOU TRADE VIA INTERNET?!?!?!?
          Sorry for caps.
          i want to play pokemon online but it's play slow i want to play faster

          sorry for my english im from morocco
          ----------------------------------------------------
          hi
          can any one tell me how i can find "surf" in pokemon light platinum beta2
            #12731    
          Old December 13th, 2009 (10:25 AM).
          BlitŻ's Avatar
          BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
          guahh my dog is so cute
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Feb 2009
          Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
          Age: 22
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Jolly
          Posts: 472
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Champion Victoria View Post
          Is it fairly easy to replace May's sprites in Emerald (overworld, trainer card, and battle sprites) with that of Leaf's sprites in FR/LG? How would I go about doing this, and what tools would I need?

          Thanks!
          It's all of a matter of exporting the image from the ROM into another one. There are tutorials to do it in the Documents and Tutorials section, but I suggest you do not use leaf green for your hacking, as there are more tools available that work for fire red.
          __________________
            #12732    
          Old December 13th, 2009 (3:17 PM).
          Piplup-Trainer's Avatar
          Piplup-Trainer Piplup-Trainer is offline
          This is my custom user title.
             
            Join Date: Nov 2007
            Location: Europe. Many people haven`t heard about the country in which I live.
            Age: 25
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 228
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Piplup-Trainer
            Does anyone know a (good working) map editor for Crystal?
            Anybody knows a answer to my question?
            I`ve tried GoldMap but after loading a testmap it said that the ROM has a wrong tileset.
            __________________
            I LEFT PC!
            http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=66475&vmid=2790824#vmessage2790824


            Short summary :

            2007 : ROM Hacking - asking some questions regarding Pokemon Ruby/Sapphire
            2008 : Trading - mostly to complePokemon keDex in Pokemon Diamond until 2009
            2009 : Battling - battles without ev'd Pokemon until 2009, competitive battles until 2010
            2010 : Chatting - talking to pc friends, but more often on ut more often on MSN), having a good time
            2011 : Less activity - it dropped more because of Windows Live Messenger and Facebook
              #12733    
            Old December 13th, 2009 (3:30 PM). Edited December 13th, 2009 by Shiny_Noctowl.
            Shiny_Noctowl Shiny_Noctowl is offline
               
              Join Date: Dec 2008
              Age: 23
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 39
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Chicken Bones View Post
              You make a green s tile wth a script containing (for XSE)

              warp 0x(map bank in hex) 0x(map no in hex) 0(a-map warp no in hex or FF) 0x(0 if you used n a-map warp no.,X coordinte if you used FF) 0x(0 if you used n a-map warp no.,X coordinte if you used FF)

              warp 0xE 0x3 0xFF 0x2 0x2

              warps you to map 3 of bank 14 2 spaces to the right and below the top left corner.
              So how do I make it check to see if the player has a specific key item, and warp to one place if he/she does, and another otherwise?

              Also, I made a simple test script to make sure I understood it correctly, but nothing happens when you step on the script tile. What's wrong with it?

              '-----------------------
              #org 0xEEEEEE
              warp 0x0 0x9 0xFF 0x2 0x2
                #12734    
              Old December 13th, 2009 (3:55 PM).
              Kaikai Kaikai is offline
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2009
                Gender: Female
                Posts: 90
                Anyone know some Pokemon Gold tools that are good?

                Like sprite editors, and trainer editors, and gym leaders/elite fours/champion red editors that dont get an error when saving
                  #12735    
                Old December 13th, 2009 (6:18 PM).
                Chicken Bones Chicken Bones is offline
                Hacks 4 fun
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2009
                  Posts: 18
                  Quote:
                  So how do I make it check to see if the player has a specific key item, and warp to one place if he/she does, and another otherwise?

                  Also, I made a simple test script to make sure I understood it correctly, but nothing happens when you step on the script tile. What's wrong with it?

                  '-----------------------
                  #org 0xEEEEEE
                  warp 0x0 0x9 0xFF 0x2 0x2
                  In a-map on your script tile change the first unknown to 0003 and the var number to 5001

                  to make a check do

                  checkitem 0x(item number in hex) 0x1
                    #12736    
                  Old December 13th, 2009 (7:26 PM). Edited December 13th, 2009 by Champion Victoria.
                  Champion Victoria Champion Victoria is offline
                  Puella docta
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2008
                    Nature: Sassy
                    Posts: 36
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by BlitŻ View Post
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Champion Victoria
                    Is it fairly easy to replace May's sprites in Emerald (overworld, trainer card, and battle sprites) with that of Leaf's sprites in FR/LG? How would I go about doing this, and what tools would I need?

                    Thanks!
                    It's all of a matter of exporting the image from the ROM into another one. There are tutorials to do it in the Documents and Tutorials section, but I suggest you do not use leaf green for your hacking, as there are more tools available that work for fire red.
                    Hey, thanks. I've found some threads and used unLZ-gba and the Overworld editor to change the May overworld sprites and the trainer front sprites. However, I can't seem to find anything that will help me change the backsprites.

                    I've found this here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=182974 , and have been able to use Tile Molester to find the backsprites for May. But now I'm stuck.

                    I can copy and paste sprite sheets, but I don't know what to do after that. I paste the sheet, and it gives me some sort of selection mode. I can move around the newly pasted sheet, and see the original sprites underneath--I don't know how to make it just *stay* there and save on top of the sprites.

                    How do I get this to work after pasting the sprites on top?

                    Is there an easier way to do this? It looks like Leaf's backsprites are still in the game, right after Brendan and May--can I tell the game to use those instead?

                    EDIT: Nevermind, figured it out. I've gotten the backsprite working now, but I have some residual palette issues--there is a spot of green on the hat where a shadow should be, and the coloration in general seems odd. I've imported the palette in TM though, so I am not sure what else to do. The palette seems to be working perfectly fine inside TM.

                    EDIT: Got it. Figured out how to search with APE. Huzzah.
                      #12737    
                    Old December 13th, 2009 (10:36 PM).
                    0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                    0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                    Im comin' home...
                    • Silver Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jan 2008
                    Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                    Age: 25
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Gentle
                    Posts: 1,816
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Chicken Bones View Post
                    In a-map on your script tile change the first unknown to 0003 and the var number to 5001

                    to make a check do

                    checkitem 0x(item number in hex) 0x1
                    Not 5001, 4050....

                    I dunno why you think it's 5001...
                    __________________
                    >Boot Jailbot
                    >Pass *****
                    .
                    .
                    Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                    Greetings Warden
                    of Superjail Penitentiary
                    Awaiting user input...

                    >Display User_Info
                    ╠══User Info══╣
                    Username:
                    0m3GA ARS3NAL
                    Age: 18
                    Sex: Male ♂
                    Race: Caucasian
                    Quote:
                    "What is this
                    I don't even..."

                    M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                    ╠══End of File══╣
                    Awaiting user input...

                    >
                      #12738    
                    Old December 13th, 2009 (11:21 PM).
                    Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
                    Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
                    The Faltine
                       
                      Join Date: Mar 2008
                      Location: Slovenia
                      Age: 21
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 3,578
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
                      Not 5001, 4050....

                      I dunno why you think it's 5001...
                      Actually there's where you put the var you're going to set in the script to prevent repeating.
                      __________________
                        #12739    
                      Old December 13th, 2009 (11:48 PM).
                      0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                      0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                      Im comin' home...
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2008
                      Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                      Age: 25
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Gentle
                      Posts: 1,816
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by H2O Turquoise View Post
                      Actually there's where you put the var you're going to set in the script to prevent repeating.
                      Elaborate, for the longest time, 4050 has been the standard, the rule of thumb, explain please.
                      __________________
                      >Boot Jailbot
                      >Pass *****
                      .
                      .
                      Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                      Greetings Warden
                      of Superjail Penitentiary
                      Awaiting user input...

                      >Display User_Info
                      ╠══User Info══╣
                      Username:
                      0m3GA ARS3NAL
                      Age: 18
                      Sex: Male ♂
                      Race: Caucasian
                      Quote:
                      "What is this
                      I don't even..."

                      M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                      ╠══End of File══╣
                      Awaiting user input...

                      >
                        #12740    
                      Old December 14th, 2009 (8:07 PM).
                      FireShock FireShock is offline
                      Trainer
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2009
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 63
                        Can anyone tell me the APE offset for the battle status bar in Firered?
                          #12741    
                        Old December 14th, 2009 (8:12 PM).
                        BlitŻ's Avatar
                        BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
                        guahh my dog is so cute
                        • Crystal Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Feb 2009
                        Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
                        Age: 22
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Jolly
                        Posts: 472
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by FireShock View Post
                        Can anyone tell me the APE offset for the battle status bar in Firered?
                        Grrowl! I wrote a tutorial on how to find APE offsets, looks like my efforts were none too rewarding >_<

                        Here's the tutorial~
                        __________________
                          #12742    
                        Old December 14th, 2009 (8:54 PM).
                        colcolstyles's Avatar
                        colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
                        Yours truly
                        • Crystal Tier
                         
                        Join Date: May 2008
                        Location: The Bay Area
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Lonely
                        Posts: 1,590
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
                        Elaborate, for the longest time, 4050 has been the standard, the rule of thumb, explain please.
                        The variable that you put in the "Var number" text box is the variable that is compared with the value in the "Var value" text box. If the two are equal, the script will execute. If not, then the script won't execute. The only reason people think that the "Var number" has to be 4050 or whatever is that 4050 is the variable assigned to the script tile in Pallet Town which, naturally, is the first script tile people found when looking for ways to make their scripts work.
                        So, as H2O Turquoise was saying, if you have the Var number as 0x7000 and the var value as 0x0000, at the end of the script that you assigned to that script tile you would put something like "addvar 0x7000 0x1" or "setvar 0x7000 0x1" or by any means make 0x7000 not equal to 0x0001.

                        As for the unknown, well, there's a reason it's called unknown. :P

                        (Also, do you have that "player can move while the script is executing" script yet? You said you could do it but I'll believe it when I see it)
                        __________________

                        Brother of Vrai
                          #12743    
                        Old December 14th, 2009 (8:55 PM).
                        FireShock FireShock is offline
                        Trainer
                           
                          Join Date: Dec 2009
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 63
                          Thanks for the tut I normally use the Map Viewer to find a APE offset but, for some reason the Status Bar in battle doesn't come up in the Map Viewer so this way works better for me thanks.
                            #12744    
                          Old December 14th, 2009 (9:17 PM).
                          pokefan777 pokefan777 is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Oct 2008
                            Posts: 1
                            Hi, I'm trying to change trainer's pokemon, I tried using PET but it would not read my fire red rom. Can somebody help me with this?
                              #12745    
                            Old December 14th, 2009 (9:24 PM).
                            FireShock FireShock is offline
                            Trainer
                               
                              Join Date: Dec 2009
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 63
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by pokefan777 View Post
                              Hi, I'm trying to change trainer's pokemon, I tried using PET but it would not read my fire red rom. Can somebody help me with this?
                              You should try using HackMew's Advance Trainer that is what I use and it works perfectly you can download it from his tools in the Toolbox Forum.
                                #12746    
                              Old December 15th, 2009 (5:13 AM).
                              Pokepal17's Avatar
                              Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                              More cowbell~
                              • Silver Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2008
                              Location: Steeltown
                              Age: 23
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Modest
                              Posts: 1,517
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
                              The variable that you put in the "Var number" text box is the variable that is compared with the value in the "Var value" text box. If the two are equal, the script will execute. If not, then the script won't execute. The only reason people think that the "Var number" has to be 4050 or whatever is that 4050 is the variable assigned to the script tile in Pallet Town which, naturally, is the first script tile people found when looking for ways to make their scripts work.
                              So, as H2O Turquoise was saying, if you have the Var number as 0x7000 and the var value as 0x0000, at the end of the script that you assigned to that script tile you would put something like "addvar 0x7000 0x1" or "setvar 0x7000 0x1" or by any means make 0x7000 not equal to 0x0001.

                              As for the unknown, well, there's a reason it's called unknown.

                              (Also, do you have that "player can move while the script is executing" script yet? You said you could do it but I'll believe it when I see it)
                              The player will sometimes look like he/she's able to move but in actual fact the script has finished and the graphics being displayed haven't. An example of this would be making an earthqauke script. Even though you put waitstate at the end, you'll be able to walk about because the actually script has finished, but the earthquake graphics haven't. :3
                              __________________
                              Pokémon Stardrop
                                #12747    
                              Old December 15th, 2009 (7:24 AM).
                              simonrule18's Avatar
                              simonrule18 simonrule18 is offline
                              Iwant to create my own pokemon
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2008
                                Posts: 35
                                can any one tell me how ican edit text pokemon soulsilver
                                  #12748    
                                Old December 15th, 2009 (9:04 AM).
                                Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
                                Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
                                The Faltine
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2008
                                  Location: Slovenia
                                  Age: 21
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 3,578
                                  I have this idea and I'd like to use it.
                                  Quote:
                                  The Gym Leader challenges you to a race. You do the talk, everything then applymovement. No waitmovement following, just a release. When the Gym Leader finishes moving, you lose. But if you get to a trigger script before the GL, you win.
                                  Would that be possible?
                                  __________________
                                    #12749    
                                  Old December 15th, 2009 (9:15 AM). Edited December 15th, 2009 by simonrule18.
                                  simonrule18's Avatar
                                  simonrule18 simonrule18 is offline
                                  Iwant to create my own pokemon
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jul 2008
                                    Posts: 35
                                    hello
                                    can any one tell me is there pokemon gba like pokemon soulsilver DS


                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by H2O Turquoise View Post
                                    I have this idea and I'd like to use it.
                                    i want the name of the programs to translate pokemon soul silver and heart Gold can you help me please...
                                    thank's
                                      #12750    
                                    Old December 15th, 2009 (12:39 PM).
                                    onyx79's Avatar
                                    onyx79 onyx79 is offline
                                    Red Dead Revolver
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jan 2009
                                      Location: Orange Islands (=
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Modest
                                      Posts: 503
                                      the 25 slots can freeze your game if you catch them?
                                      I plan to edit the 25 slots into a 4th gen pokemon's so I'm wondering what will happen.
                                      also if a pokemon will evolve into the 25 slots(magmar into magmortar)can this also freeze the game?
                                      __________________
                                      my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=5397075&postcount=64
                                      Closed Thread

                                      Quick Reply

                                      Join the conversation!

                                      Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                      Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                      Sponsored Links
                                      Thread Tools

                                      Posting Rules
                                      You may not post new threads
                                      You may not post replies
                                      You may not post attachments
                                      You may not edit your posts

                                      BB code is On
                                      Smilies are On
                                      [IMG] code is On
                                      HTML code is Off

                                      Forum Jump


                                      All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:31 PM.