ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #13426    
Old February 8th, 2010 (8:36 AM).
trebornosliw's Avatar
trebornosliw trebornosliw is offline
Learning
     
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Age: 25
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Adamant
    Posts: 523
    I'm afraid I'm hopeless with pallettes, you should've seen how I mutilated NiKa's Gardevoir OW the first time I inserted it :\
    Anyway, I have two more questions to throw out there:
    1. Just to verify, all I need to do to hide a sprite before the character enters that map in question is set the sprite's Person ID to a flag number, then set that flag before entering the map, right? For example, I've got a sprite on Route 11 with a Person ID of 0201, so if I setflag 0x201 on a different map, will he be hidden when I go to Route 11?
    2. Anyone know the offset for the Vs. Seeker script? I'm going to try to hunt down the vs. seeker move pose value, because logically, it has to be there somewhere. This isn't even that important, just some random thing I'm going to try.
    __________________
    Credit for my avatar goes to the Lego company.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #13427    
    Old February 8th, 2010 (1:36 PM).
    Masih Masih is offline
       
      Join Date: Jan 2010
      Posts: 2
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Zootster View Post
      For some reason I can't use the bike in any of the new maps I've made. I made sure that their types were set to Village/City/Route/etc, and I've even gone as far as to make the header of one of my towns identical to that of Viridian City (where the bike works), but still no luck. Help would be greatly appreciated.
      same problem ......................................
        #13428    
      Old February 8th, 2010 (3:47 PM).
      558122_DG's Avatar
      558122_DG 558122_DG is offline
      Learning how to make mistakes
         
        Join Date: Nov 2009
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 739
        check the behavior byte on the tiles you used.
        __________________
        This signature has been disabled.
        Spoilers are forbidden in signatures
        Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

        You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

        Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
          #13429    
        Old February 8th, 2010 (3:56 PM).
        Muffin™'s Avatar
        Muffin™ Muffin™ is offline
        Knows your age
           
          Join Date: Dec 2009
          Location: sucking balls
          Age: 7
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Calm
          Posts: 429
          Anyone know how to set off that beep when an exclamation point, question mark ect. goes off?
          __________________
          >>>/v/
            #13430    
          Old February 8th, 2010 (4:05 PM).
          Burning Citadel's Avatar
          Burning Citadel Burning Citadel is offline
          Mocha City Gym Leader
             
            Join Date: Jan 2010
            Location: Canada
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Careful
            Posts: 1
            Okay, So i know how to create a new map you open any random map and then go 'file' create new map. (something along those lines). Correct me if I'm wrong. Okay So Now I've Gone and made this beautiful map. Now what my problem is, is i want to insert that map into its own header not the header of the one I chose the random map out of. I.E. I Choose the town map from PALLET Town and then i go to 'file' create my new map. Then what happens is it puts it into The PALLET Town Header and changes the name to PALLET Town? Anyone get what I'm getting at anyway I Haven't found anything yet thats being of any help so some help would be great.

            Thanks, Burning Citadel
            __________________
            I Refuse To Take This Sig Off Untill Sony Brings Back Backwards Compatibility In The PS3. Note I Own A 360 Not A PS3. Shut Up. *Sigh*
              #13431    
            Old February 8th, 2010 (4:40 PM).
            colcolstyles's Avatar
            colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
            Yours truly
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: May 2008
            Location: The Bay Area
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Lonely
            Posts: 1,590
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by trebornosliw View Post
            I'm afraid I'm hopeless with pallettes, you should've seen how I mutilated NiKa's Gardevoir OW the first time I inserted it :\
            Anyway, I have two more questions to throw out there:
            1. Just to verify, all I need to do to hide a sprite before the character enters that map in question is set the sprite's Person ID to a flag number, then set that flag before entering the map, right? For example, I've got a sprite on Route 11 with a Person ID of 0201, so if I setflag 0x201 on a different map, will he be hidden when I go to Route 11?
            2. Anyone know the offset for the Vs. Seeker script? I'm going to try to hunt down the vs. seeker move pose value, because logically, it has to be there somewhere. This isn't even that important, just some random thing I'm going to try.
            1. Yup
            2. I don't believe that the Vs. Seeker uses a script in the sense that you could reprogram it with something along the lines of XSE. If I had to guess, I would say that ASM would be required. Also, what's the "move pose value"?

            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Septile View Post
            Anyone know how to set off that beep when an exclamation point, question mark ect. goes off?
            Right before you put the applymovement command, plug in the following command + parameter:

            Code:
            sound 0x15
            The "beep" that plays when the exclamation box appears does not inherently accompany the movement and must be added manually with the above command.

            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Burning Citadel View Post
            Okay, So i know how to create a new map you open any random map and then go 'file' create new map. (something along those lines). Correct me if I'm wrong. Okay So Now I've Gone and made this beautiful map. Now what my problem is, is i want to insert that map into its own header not the header of the one I chose the random map out of. I.E. I Choose the town map from PALLET Town and then i go to 'file' create my new map. Then what happens is it puts it into The PALLET Town Header and changes the name to PALLET Town? Anyone get what I'm getting at anyway I Haven't found anything yet thats being of any help so some help would be great.

            Thanks, Burning Citadel
            I'm not quite sure what you mean by this but are you asking if it's possible to make a new map and then insert it under, say, Viridian City?
            __________________

            Brother of Vrai
              #13432    
            Old February 8th, 2010 (4:54 PM).
            Zootster's Avatar
            Zootster Zootster is offline
            Awesome Guy Extrordinaire
               
              Join Date: Aug 2004
              Location: Place.
              Age: 27
              Gender:
              Nature: Lax
              Posts: 233
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by 558122_DG View Post
              check the behavior byte on the tiles you used.
              It's 00, though it's the same on premade maps where the bike works....
              __________________


                #13433    
              Old February 8th, 2010 (5:50 PM).
              trebornosliw's Avatar
              trebornosliw trebornosliw is offline
              Learning
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2009
                Age: 25
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Adamant
                Posts: 523
                @Colcolstyles: Thanks. By move pose value, I meant the value required to initiate frame 9 of the standard OW sprite, namely, the vs. seeker pose, but what you said is basically what I was expecting :\
                __________________
                Credit for my avatar goes to the Lego company.
                  #13434    
                Old February 9th, 2010 (7:27 AM).
                mgarciai mgarciai is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Feb 2010
                  Posts: 6
                  I switched blue/gary's ow with red in firedred using the overworld editor.
                  I also switched made sure his palette was switched from 05 or 06 or w/e it was to 00 so retain his color without affecting any other trainer using that palette.

                  Now, when I see red in prof. oaks lab, his sprite is that of red's and the purple border he and leaf have are gone, but his edges are some weird purple color. Where did I go wrong?
                    #13435    
                  Old February 9th, 2010 (4:46 PM).
                  icychill66 icychill66 is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2010
                    Posts: 126
                    I haven't seen anything about this, but does anyone know how to manipulate the shinyness? I would like to make wild encounters have a 1:400 or so chance of being shiny, rather than the 1:8,000 or whatever the exact number is. Is this possible to do?
                      #13436    
                    Old February 9th, 2010 (6:18 PM). Edited February 9th, 2010 by Ps:hi.
                    Ps:hi's Avatar
                    Ps:hi Ps:hi is offline
                    mr.MEGA HACK
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2010
                      Location: ...
                      Nature: Brave
                      Posts: 9
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by icychill66 View Post
                      I haven't seen anything about this, but does anyone know how to manipulate the shinyness? I would like to make wild encounters have a 1:400 or so chance of being shiny, rather than the 1:8,000 or whatever the exact number is. Is this possible to do?
                      The only way that I know is

                      Spoiler:
                      to go into pokepic and export the shiny, and regular pictures, swap them with paint, import them back to pokepic, compress it to the rom, then try that.
                      __________________
                        #13437    
                      Old February 9th, 2010 (6:39 PM).
                      icychill66 icychill66 is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Feb 2010
                        Posts: 126
                        but that is just simply changing the sprites of pokemon. I'm wondering how to actually change the frequency of them appearing in the wild.
                          #13438    
                        Old February 9th, 2010 (11:55 PM).
                        Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                        Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                        hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                           
                          Join Date: May 2008
                          Age: 23
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Bashful
                          Posts: 3,487
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by icychill66 View Post
                          but that is just simply changing the sprites of pokemon. I'm wondering how to actually change the frequency of them appearing in the wild.
                          It may require some ASM knowledge. So... Basically, to any "hacker" that is new, it isn't possible, but if you ask ASM hackers, they say use ASM. As well as others.

                          Basically. ASM knowledge is needed.
                          __________________


                          Temmie vibrates intensely.

                          awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                          OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                          can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                          RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                            #13439    
                          Old February 10th, 2010 (1:45 AM).
                          Maco's Avatar
                          Maco Maco is offline
                          learning the ropes...
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2010
                            Location: Sydney, Australia
                            Age: 27
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Careful
                            Posts: 72
                            Sorry for a long post below, I wanted to explain what I did clearly.

                            I've been trying to replace a Pokemon sprite in Fire Red with a revamped version of the Yellow Version Charmander I made. I coloured and indexed the file in photoshop, the revamped sprite is 64x64 pixels and uses the same transparent colour as the original (a light-brown colour).

                            When I import using Hackmew's unLZ, I tick all three boxes, and allocate the new sprite to an empty space suggested by Free Space Finder.

                            The intended new sprite and the result in-game:
                            Spoiler:



                            I've read many guides for this, and I've searched all over google and this thread for three days with no luck. Thanks in advance for the help.
                              #13440    
                            Old February 10th, 2010 (2:26 AM).
                            HackMew's Avatar
                            HackMew HackMew is offline
                            Mewtwo Strikes Back
                            • Crystal Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2006
                            Posts: 1,314
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by icychill66 View Post
                            I haven't seen anything about this, but does anyone know how to manipulate the shinyness? I would like to make wild encounters have a 1:400 or so chance of being shiny, rather than the 1:8,000 or whatever the exact number is. Is this possible to do?
                            The actual chances are 1/8192. Manipulating the shininess is not a good idea, anyway. You would have to ASM hack a lot of routines, and traded shinies would not be shiny any more. The closest thing you can get is through the Shinyzer and some level scripts: with a bit of randomness, you could increase the chances of finding a shiny.


                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Ps:hi View Post
                            The only way that I know is

                            Spoiler:
                            to go into pokepic and export the shiny, and regular pictures, swap them with paint, import them back to pokepic, compress it to the rom, then try that.
                            Changing all the sprites is not that smart... it would have been definitely better to just replace the palette pointers, eventually. But anyway, doing that would result in all Pokémon looking shiny, even if they aren't.


                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Maco View Post
                            Sorry for a long post below, I wanted to explain what I did clearly.

                            I've been trying to replace a Pokemon sprite in Fire Red with a revamped version of the Yellow Version Charmander I made. I coloured and indexed the file in photoshop, the revamped sprite is 64x64 pixels and uses the same transparent colour as the original (a light-brown colour).

                            When I import using Hackmew's unLZ, I tick all three boxes, and allocate the new sprite to an empty space suggested by Free Space Finder.

                            The intended new sprite and the result in-game:
                            Spoiler:



                            I've read many guides for this, and I've searched all over google and this thread for three days with no luck. :( Thanks in advance for the help.
                            What offsets did you use?
                            __________________
                              #13441    
                            Old February 10th, 2010 (3:19 AM).
                            Maco's Avatar
                            Maco Maco is offline
                            learning the ropes...
                               
                              Join Date: Feb 2010
                              Location: Sydney, Australia
                              Age: 27
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Careful
                              Posts: 72
                              0800000 (sprite) and 0800010 (palette). These were the first values to pop up in Free Space Finder.
                              A tutorial told me to separate the 2, and have the palette coming after.
                                #13442    
                              Old February 10th, 2010 (4:16 AM). Edited February 10th, 2010 by ryu15.
                              ryu15 ryu15 is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Feb 2010
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 1
                                Hi, do you know how can I change Lucas' name if I chosen Dawn as character in Pokemon Platinum? I want him to be named Diamond. Doable?
                                EDIT: ^$#^#!&!!!!!!! damn... what a fail
                                  #13443    
                                Old February 10th, 2010 (5:25 AM). Edited February 10th, 2010 by icychill66.
                                icychill66 icychill66 is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Feb 2010
                                  Posts: 126
                                  Ok, changing shinyness probability doesn't sound like the best thing to do, now. However, forgive my noobness..., I keep seeing this ASM thing coming up. I've tried to figure out what it is, but I don't know what it stands for. Could someone please tell me:
                                  1. What is ASM?
                                  2. What does it do?
                                  3. Where can I learn how to do it?

                                  thanks

                                  Sorry, for the double post, but I just remembered that ASM stands for assembly language! haha anyways, I still would like to know how to learn to ASM hack the game.
                                    #13444    
                                  Old February 10th, 2010 (6:21 AM). Edited February 10th, 2010 by Ps:hi.
                                  Ps:hi's Avatar
                                  Ps:hi Ps:hi is offline
                                  mr.MEGA HACK
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jan 2010
                                    Location: ...
                                    Nature: Brave
                                    Posts: 9
                                    I have this weird problem...

                                    Whenever I do at least 3 hacks, and I test it out, The games sound gets all glitch y,
                                    Then most of the time the game freezes.

                                    Help?
                                    __________________
                                      #13445    
                                    Old February 10th, 2010 (7:45 AM).
                                    HackMew's Avatar
                                    HackMew HackMew is offline
                                    Mewtwo Strikes Back
                                    • Crystal Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jun 2006
                                    Posts: 1,314
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Maco View Post
                                    0800000 (sprite) and 0800010 (palette). These were the first values to pop up in Free Space Finder.
                                    A tutorial told me to separate the 2, and have the palette coming after.
                                    Well... The difference between the two offsets is too small. The sprite is inserted at 0x800000, while the palette is inserted just 16 bytes after, which is definitely not enough. Not to say you don't need to change the palette offset at all because you can just overwrite it. Reinsert it again, this time using the old palette offset and if you did it correctly, everything should be fine.


                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by icychill66 View Post
                                    Sorry, for the double post, but I just remembered that ASM stands for assembly language! haha anyways, I still would like to know how to learn to ASM hack the game.
                                    You might want to use the search function; I've got some tutorials in my Knowledge thread. The link is my signature.
                                    __________________
                                      #13446    
                                    Old February 10th, 2010 (11:13 AM). Edited February 10th, 2010 by Maco.
                                    Maco's Avatar
                                    Maco Maco is offline
                                    learning the ropes...
                                       
                                      Join Date: Feb 2010
                                      Location: Sydney, Australia
                                      Age: 27
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Careful
                                      Posts: 72
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
                                      Well... The difference between the two offsets is too small. The sprite is inserted at 0x800000, while the palette is inserted just 16 bytes after, which is definitely not enough. Not to say you don't need to change the palette offset at all because you can just overwrite it. Reinsert it again, this time using the old palette offset and if you did it correctly, everything should be fine.
                                      I've had some success with replacing the palette and inserting the image in some free space, but the transparency colour isn't working and there are 5 random dots where the black colour has turned to white along the outline (sign of too many colours when indexed?):
                                      Spoiler:
                                        #13447    
                                      Old February 10th, 2010 (11:24 AM).
                                      Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                                      Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                                      hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                                         
                                        Join Date: May 2008
                                        Age: 23
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Bashful
                                        Posts: 3,487
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Maco View Post
                                        When I do just replace the old sprite, I get the "Compressed size is too big" error. I'm thinking maybe I have more than 16 colours in the image, although I did specify 16 colours when indexing in photoshop. Perhaps I'm not doing that right?
                                        No. Which tutorial is it?

                                        Anyway, you tried the image BEFORE the pallette? No, the Pallette needs to be 2 lines above the Image, NOT the image before the pallette, so instead of 0800000 (sprite) and 0800010 (palette), it should go: 0800000 (pallette HEX) and 0800010 (Sprite HEX).
                                        __________________


                                        Temmie vibrates intensely.

                                        awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                                        OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                                        can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                                        RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                                          #13448    
                                        Old February 10th, 2010 (11:28 AM).
                                        HackMew's Avatar
                                        HackMew HackMew is offline
                                        Mewtwo Strikes Back
                                        • Crystal Tier
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jun 2006
                                        Posts: 1,314
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Deviation View Post

                                        Anyway, you tried the image BEFORE the pallette? No, the Pallette needs to be 2 lines above the Image, NOT the image before the pallette, so instead of 0800000 (sprite) and 0800010 (palette), it should go: 0800000 (pallette HEX) and 0800010 (Sprite HEX).
                                        Well, why repointing the palette at all?
                                        __________________
                                          #13449    
                                        Old February 10th, 2010 (11:37 AM).
                                        Muffin™'s Avatar
                                        Muffin™ Muffin™ is offline
                                        Knows your age
                                           
                                          Join Date: Dec 2009
                                          Location: sucking balls
                                          Age: 7
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Calm
                                          Posts: 429
                                          I've got a question. Does anyone know how to hide all of the sprites? (Besides the player, of course!) Because I'm making a hack and there's 8 people I want to hide, and only 3 disappear.
                                          __________________
                                          >>>/v/
                                            #13450    
                                          Old February 10th, 2010 (11:41 AM).
                                          HackMew's Avatar
                                          HackMew HackMew is offline
                                          Mewtwo Strikes Back
                                          • Crystal Tier
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jun 2006
                                          Posts: 1,314
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Septile View Post
                                          I've got a question. Does anyone know how to hide all of the sprites? (Besides the player, of course!) Because I'm making a hack and there's 8 people I want to hide, and only 3 disappear.
                                          Do you need to hide them just temporarily?
                                          __________________
                                          Closed Thread

                                          Quick Reply

                                          Join the conversation!

                                          Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                          Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:04 PM.