ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #14601    
Old May 12th, 2010 (8:21 AM).
Blue4 Blue4 is offline
     
    Join Date: Apr 2010
    Posts: 8
    Is there any easy way to switch pokemon in the rom? For example, switching articuno with marowak so that articuno could use the thick club. I've been jotting down the details of each, then exchanging stats, movesets, and the like in YAPE, but this strikes me as horrible, since I'm planning on completely restructuring the dex.

    Team snag'em's tools don't work for this, as far as I can tell.

    Also, I accidentally screwed up a map beyond repair, and exported/imported a copy of the map from a backup copy of the rom I had lying about, to replace it and hopefully fix everything, but there's a new problem. The map in question is Cerulean, and it's now no longer possible to mount/dismount the bike while in the city. According to Advancemap, the header with the weather/route type/etc is identical to every other town, and the scripts are all exactly what they are in a clean copy of fire red, so I'm a bit baffled as to why you can't bike there.

    Questions are all about Fire Red, by the way.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #14602    
    Old May 12th, 2010 (8:38 AM).
    higame's Avatar
    higame higame is offline
       
      Join Date: Feb 2009
      Location: UNITED STATES
      Gender:
      Nature: Brave
      Posts: 24
      sorry let me rephrase my question,how do i for example put a trainer overworld from daimond into my ruby ,if the sprites to big,and when i resize it to 32x32 it has enough room but after its in it shows up as half body parts in the game help me please this is the pivotal part of my hack>
      __________________
      This signature has been disabled.
      100 pixels too tall.
      Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

      You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

      Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
        #14603    
      Old May 12th, 2010 (10:56 AM).
      PeregrineFig's Avatar
      PeregrineFig PeregrineFig is offline
      Starting Pokémon Obsidian
         
        Join Date: Feb 2010
        Location: Michigan, USA
        Age: 23
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Hardy
        Posts: 202
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by higame View Post
        sorry let me rephrase my question,how do i for example put a trainer overworld from daimond into my ruby ,if the sprites to big,and when i resize it to 32x32 it has enough room but after its in it shows up as half body parts in the game help me please this is the pivotal part of my hack>
        Not to be critical, but sprites shouldn't be the most important part of your entire hack :/

        Make it the same dimensions as an existing sprite to overwrite (I think some legendaries could be big enough) and write it in over those, or do some serious editing and manually make it small enough to be the same size as a normal sprite. Be aware that you might end up having more difficulty fitting all the sprites into the limited number of palettes, though.
        __________________
        Current Projects:
        POKéMON AQUA SAPPHIRE
        POKéMON OBSIDIAN

          #14604    
        Old May 12th, 2010 (11:34 AM).
        altariaking's Avatar
        altariaking altariaking is offline
        Needs NO VMs...
           
          Join Date: Dec 2009
          Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
          Age: 43
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Naive
          Posts: 1,098
          @higame
          16x32 not 32x32

          @colcostyles
          looks tricky, but i'll try it, thanks.

          ok, i inserted a titlescreen logo, background, flames, and pokemon.
          i pallette edited them all with the correct pallettes.
          now, when i open my rom at the titlescreen, everything works fine except the pokemon, which had the exact same pallette as the background.
          i tried pallette editing the background and the same thing happened the other way round.
          sum1 hlp pls.
          __________________
          http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=253113
            #14605    
          Old May 12th, 2010 (1:31 PM).
          Jambo51's Avatar
          Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
          Glory To Arstotzka
             
            Join Date: Jun 2009
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Quiet
            Posts: 732
            Having added extra heaaling spots and flight spots to my rom, I have run into a problem.

            Whenever I white out, the game glitches. The player sprite does the animations that nurse joy is supposed to do. And because the player sprite doesnt have a bow animation, the player ends up running on the spot infinitely.

            I REALLY don't want to start on a fresh rom, and have tried dissassembling the rom just before, during and after the white out, and comparing it with a clean rom. I have been unable to spot any differences between the two. I can only assume I have accidentally overwritten one tiny part of the rom. Someone help me, please!
            __________________
            Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
              #14606    
            Old May 12th, 2010 (4:56 PM).
            Metroid Die Metroid Die is offline
               
              Join Date: Mar 2009
              Posts: 54
              Hey, really nooby question here but anyway...

              When my player leaves his house through the door, I want the script to trigger after he walks on the entrance/exit spot outside the house. However, I have to move and walk back on that square to trigger the script.

              I was told that I should use a level script, however I don't honestly know what that is...

              If someone could help it's be great.
                #14607    
              Old May 12th, 2010 (5:01 PM).
              Incineroar's Avatar
              Incineroar Incineroar is offline
              the spirit of the fighter
              • Moderator
              • Platinum Tier
              • Developer
               
              Join Date: May 2009
              Location: Iki Town
              Age: 22
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Brave
              Posts: 13,555
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Metroid Die View Post
              Hey, really nooby question here but anyway...

              When my player leaves his house through the door, I want the script to trigger after he walks on the entrance/exit spot outside the house. However, I have to move and walk back on that square to trigger the script.

              I was told that I should use a level script, however I don't honestly know what that is...

              If someone could help it's be great.
              Put it like this:
              1. Make your normal script and compile it.
              2. In A-map, there is an option to put in a Map script, do so, and put in the offset that your script is located in.
              3. Test and see if the script works correctly.

              Don't forget to use a setflag command so the level script won't activate every time the player enters the map!
              __________________
                #14608    
              Old May 12th, 2010 (5:51 PM).
              Metroid Die Metroid Die is offline
                 
                Join Date: Mar 2009
                Posts: 54
                Yeah.. Isn't that the same as just putting the offset into the "Script offset" box? My problem is that I have to walk over the tile a second time to trigger it, when instead I should trigger is when I leave out of the door. Thanks for your help anyway.
                  #14609    
                Old May 12th, 2010 (9:16 PM).
                hippiezombie hippiezombie is offline
                   
                  Join Date: May 2010
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 7
                  1) How can i delete all maps from rom and/or start from scratch with advancemap?

                  2) Would it be possible, and if so, how, to get tile sheets from old games such as gold/silver or red/blue to put into my fire red hack? Or is there any way to just hack the pokemon red/blue roms and maps themselves?

                  3)What is a good WORKING talking script that i could use for just a normal press A and talk to character script? I am asking this only because I have used many others, but have not been able to find one that works fully

                  any help is much appreciated
                    #14610    
                  Old May 12th, 2010 (10:01 PM). Edited May 12th, 2010 by Zeffy.
                  Zeffy's Avatar
                  Zeffy Zeffy is offline
                  blink and you're dead
                  • Crystal Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Apr 2009
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 6,440
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Metroid Die View Post
                  Yeah.. Isn't that the same as just putting the offset into the "Script offset" box? My problem is that I have to walk over the tile a second time to trigger it, when instead I should trigger is when I leave out of the door. Thanks for your help anyway.
                  A level script is very different from a trigger script. A level script activates once you enter a map. There a nifty tutorial right here.

                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by hippiezombie View Post
                  1) How can i delete all maps from rom and/or start from scratch with advancemap?

                  2) Would it be possible, and if so, how, to get tile sheets from old games such as gold/silver or red/blue to put into my fire red hack? Or is there any way to just hack the pokemon red/blue roms and maps themselves?

                  3)What is a good WORKING talking script that i could use for just a normal press A and talk to character script? I am asking this only because I have used many others, but have not been able to find one that works fully

                  any help is much appreciated :)
                  1. Uhh, remap? Deleting maps can ruin ROM. Its better to just reuse the map.

                  2. You can import tilesets from old games to Firered via Tile Inserting. There is also a way to hack R/B, search in Google.

                  3.Insert msgbox @x 0x6 in a script; whereas x is the pointer to the message. For example:
                  Code:
                  #dynamic 0x800000
                  #org @start
                  lock
                  faceplayer
                  msgbox @1 0x6
                  release
                  end
                  
                  #org @1
                  = Hi, I'm Zeffy.
                  __________________
                    #14611    
                  Old May 12th, 2010 (10:54 PM).
                  Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
                  Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
                  Sitting by the back window
                     
                    Join Date: Mar 2008
                    Location: Best City OCE
                    Age: 21
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Bold
                    Posts: 5,988
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by hippiezombie View Post
                    3)What is a good WORKING talking script that i could use for just a normal press A and talk to character script? I am asking this only because I have used many others, but have not been able to find one that works fully
                    In XSE:

                    Code:
                    #dynamic 0x720000
                    
                    #org @start
                    message @message 0x2
                    end
                    
                    #org @message
                    = MESSAGE.
                    __________________
                    Brony represent.
                      #14612    
                    Old May 13th, 2010 (12:25 PM). Edited May 13th, 2010 by Metroid Die.
                    Metroid Die Metroid Die is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Mar 2009
                      Posts: 54
                      Yeah, I read the tutorial, it's good and all, but my Advance Map doesn't have the option under the header, nor anywhere, to create a map script. I'm using Advance Map 1.92, I don't know if the version has anything to do with it...

                      I read the tutorial and it says that I need to create a map script using the drop down list under the header tab. I don't have this drop down list... Can anyone help me out with this?
                        #14613    
                      Old May 13th, 2010 (1:25 PM).
                      InMooseWeTrust's Avatar
                      InMooseWeTrust InMooseWeTrust is offline
                      Jack of All Trades
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2007
                        Location: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA
                        Age: 25
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Careful
                        Posts: 814
                        Let's say that I'm hacking a GBA ROM (Final Fantasy IV Advance U, specifically), and I'm looking at data structures of items starting in address 0x0E5A1C. I get a 12 byte list of things: 00 00 50 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 80 04, and then it starts again with the next item all the way down the list. Is there any program I can use that will help me extract all this data and organize it into a nice little text file (separated by commas and line breaks)?
                        __________________
                        Pokémon: Battles of the Past
                        Site Thread
                        Black2 FC: 5072 6059 9635
                          #14614    
                        Old May 13th, 2010 (5:24 PM).
                        0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                        0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                        Im comin' home...
                        • Silver Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Jan 2008
                        Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                        Age: 25
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Gentle
                        Posts: 1,816
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by InMooseWeTrust View Post
                        Let's say that I'm hacking a GBA ROM (Final Fantasy IV Advance U, specifically), and I'm looking at data structures of items starting in address 0x0E5A1C. I get a 12 byte list of things: 00 00 50 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 80 04, and then it starts again with the next item all the way down the list. Is there any program I can use that will help me extract all this data and organize it into a nice little text file (separated by commas and line breaks)?
                        Doubt it, you might wanna look elsewhere though, not many FFIV hacks, or tools on this site... if none at all.
                        Google is your friend
                        __________________
                        >Boot Jailbot
                        >Pass *****
                        .
                        .
                        Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                        Greetings Warden
                        of Superjail Penitentiary
                        Awaiting user input...

                        >Display User_Info
                        ╠══User Info══╣
                        Username:
                        0m3GA ARS3NAL
                        Age: 18
                        Sex: Male ♂
                        Race: Caucasian
                        Quote:
                        "What is this
                        I don't even..."

                        M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                        ╠══End of File══╣
                        Awaiting user input...

                        >
                          #14615    
                        Old May 14th, 2010 (2:09 AM).
                        Konekodemon's Avatar
                        Konekodemon Konekodemon is offline
                        The Master of Pokemon Breeding
                        • Crystal Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Mar 2007
                        Location: NC
                        Age: 33
                        Gender: Female
                        Nature: Gentle
                        Posts: 1,972
                        I can't get hackedex to work. It keeps saying:

                        Run-time error '429':
                        ActiveX component can't create object

                        Then even though the program still comes up it won't let me open up any ROMs.
                        __________________

                        Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
                        Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile.php?id=231549&ref=61528
                        Get a Free PS3, this is no joke: http://www.YourPS34free.com/index.php?ref=5580831
                          #14616    
                        Old May 14th, 2010 (2:51 AM).
                        InMooseWeTrust's Avatar
                        InMooseWeTrust InMooseWeTrust is offline
                        Jack of All Trades
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2007
                          Location: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA
                          Age: 25
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Careful
                          Posts: 814
                          There aren't any. I just need to know how to extract this data, that's all.
                          __________________
                          Pokémon: Battles of the Past
                          Site Thread
                          Black2 FC: 5072 6059 9635
                            #14617    
                          Old May 14th, 2010 (5:56 AM).
                          Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
                          Shiny Quagsire Shiny Quagsire is offline
                          I'm Still Alive, Elsewhere
                             
                            Join Date: May 2009
                            Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
                            Age: 19
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Jolly
                            Posts: 700
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by altariaking View Post
                            @higame
                            16x32 not 32x32

                            @colcostyles
                            looks tricky, but i'll try it, thanks.

                            ok, i inserted a titlescreen logo, background, flames, and pokemon.
                            i pallette edited them all with the correct pallettes.
                            now, when i open my rom at the titlescreen, everything works fine except the pokemon, which had the exact same pallette as the background.
                            i tried pallette editing the background and the same thing happened the other way round.
                            sum1 hlp pls.
                            Make sure you checked the LZ77 compressed box. Then it might work.
                            __________________



                              #14618    
                            Old May 14th, 2010 (11:52 AM).
                            stanemac12 stanemac12 is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2009
                              Posts: 5
                              How can I edit the text in pokemon ruby? Advance text doesn't go past the first route and I can't script to save my life. I have searched for about an hour and haven't found anything helpful on this.
                                #14619    
                              Old May 14th, 2010 (11:58 AM).
                              NarutoActor's Avatar
                              NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
                              The rocks cry out to me
                              • Silver Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Jan 2009
                              Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
                              Age: 23
                              Gender: Female
                              Nature: Bashful
                              Posts: 1,979
                              Take the message convert it into hex, and search for those bytes in a hex editor. But seriously xse is but quicker.
                              __________________
                              ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
                                #14620    
                              Old May 14th, 2010 (6:29 PM).
                              PeregrineFig's Avatar
                              PeregrineFig PeregrineFig is offline
                              Starting Pokémon Obsidian
                                 
                                Join Date: Feb 2010
                                Location: Michigan, USA
                                Age: 23
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Hardy
                                Posts: 202
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by stanemac12 View Post
                                How can I edit the text in pokemon ruby? Advance text doesn't go past the first route and I can't script to save my life. I have searched for about an hour and haven't found anything helpful on this.
                                Read some tutorials and learn to script, it will open a thousand doors in ROM hacking. Once you get the hang of it, editing text will be incredibly easy
                                __________________
                                Current Projects:
                                POKéMON AQUA SAPPHIRE
                                POKéMON OBSIDIAN

                                  #14621    
                                Old May 14th, 2010 (7:02 PM).
                                Metroid Die Metroid Die is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2009
                                  Posts: 54
                                  Hey, just wondering, I was told to use a "Map Script" for an event that I wanted to happen. After reading the tutorial on how to insert a map script, I realized that my Advance Map doesn't have the header option to create a map script. I've looked everywhere on it and I can't find it...

                                  I'm using 1.92,
                                  thanks in advance
                                    #14622    
                                  Old May 14th, 2010 (7:47 PM).
                                  Darthatron's Avatar
                                  Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                                  巨大なトロール。
                                  • Silver Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jan 2006
                                  Location: Melbourne, Australia
                                  Age: 26
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Modest
                                  Posts: 1,152
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Metroid Die View Post
                                  Hey, just wondering, I was told to use a "Map Script" for an event that I wanted to happen. After reading the tutorial on how to insert a map script, I realized that my Advance Map doesn't have the header option to create a map script. I've looked everywhere on it and I can't find it...

                                  I'm using 1.92,
                                  thanks in advance
                                  Try toggling "Professional Header View" in the Settings menu (Crtl + H)?
                                  __________________
                                  あなた は しきしゃ です
                                  わたし は ばか です
                                    #14623    
                                  Old May 15th, 2010 (11:29 AM).
                                  Metroid Die Metroid Die is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Mar 2009
                                    Posts: 54
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
                                    Try toggling "Professional Header View" in the Settings menu (Crtl + H)?
                                    Yeah I tried that, but the option still isn't there
                                      #14624    
                                    Old May 15th, 2010 (11:52 AM).
                                    adhdguitar's Avatar
                                    adhdguitar adhdguitar is offline
                                    Newbie Pokémon Hacker
                                       
                                      Join Date: May 2010
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Adamant
                                      Posts: 210
                                      I can't get A-Trainer to work! I've tried with a clean ROM of both Ruby and FR but I keep getting the following error.

                                      20100509|211134|5.1.2600|0.9.1|DrawTile8|9|modLZ77|Subscript out of range|3

                                      Any ideas on how to make it work?
                                      __________________


                                      Yellow: Complete
                                      Crystal:
                                      Complete
                                      Sapphire: Not Started
                                      Cherrim: Not Started
                                        #14625    
                                      Old May 15th, 2010 (1:56 PM).
                                      ElBurrito's Avatar
                                      ElBurrito ElBurrito is offline
                                      I'm not just any burrito. I am THE burrito.
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jan 2010
                                        Location: Middle of Nowhere, Missouri. 'Murica!.
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Bold
                                        Posts: 518
                                        Is there a way to edit the conest stats of attacks? because if there is then that would make game a lot more fun. im also wandering if there is a way to change the name's of types.
                                        Closed Thread

                                        Quick Reply

                                        Join the conversation!

                                        Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                        Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                        Sponsored Links
                                        Thread Tools

                                        Posting Rules
                                        You may not post new threads
                                        You may not post replies
                                        You may not post attachments
                                        You may not edit your posts

                                        BB code is On
                                        Smilies are On
                                        [IMG] code is On
                                        HTML code is Off

                                        Forum Jump


                                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:48 AM.