ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #14926    
Old June 10th, 2010 (4:40 AM).
hack1's Avatar
hack1 hack1 is offline
Dragon Green
     
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 141
    On my hack, when I enter to Route 1, everything works. But after wild battle game blacks out. What's wrong?

    Relevant Advertising!

      #14927    
    Old June 10th, 2010 (5:13 AM).
    Darthatron's Avatar
    Darthatron Darthatron is offline
    巨大なトロール。
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Jan 2006
    Location: Melbourne, Australia
    Age: 25
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Modest
    Posts: 1,152
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by hack1 View Post
    On my hack, when I enter to Route 1, everything works. But after wild battle game blacks out. What's wrong?
    You may have accidentally overwritten some important bytes that control battles, probably the wild pokemon data in the map - you can fix this in AMap. But, it may be the engine, which means you need to go to backup, or start again.
    __________________
    あなた は しきしゃ です
    わたし は ばか です
      #14928    
    Old June 10th, 2010 (10:22 AM).
    psychicboy's Avatar
    psychicboy psychicboy is offline
    Hacking is all that matters...
       
      Join Date: Aug 2009
      Location: Twilight Town
      Age: 23
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Hasty
      Posts: 538
      Alright, how can I find out how much free space is still in the ROM?

      And does expanding your rom to 32Mb essentially double your space available?
      __________________
      Soon to be Hacking legend...
      ~Psy







      Wanna play my hack? Check it out here!

      My sig was "too big brah", so I shortened it.
        #14929    
      Old June 10th, 2010 (11:07 AM). Edited June 10th, 2010 by sonlen.
      sonlen sonlen is offline
      Hacking Noob
         
        Join Date: Nov 2009
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 66
        Does anyone know if the title screen palette is used for anything besides the title screen so that if I replaced the whole thing it would not mess anything else up?

        Quote:
        Originally Posted by psychicboy View Post
        Alright, how can I find out how much free space is still in the ROM?

        And does expanding your rom to 32Mb essentially double your space available?
        You can use a hex editor and look for all the FF and 00 bytes, or use FSF, I beleive it is in the tools section. As for expanding the rom I'm not quite sure, I did it once but I had to delete it because I messed up the rom, and havn't tried it since, but it seems like it just adds more space for more things to add on to it.
        __________________
        Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
          #14930    
        Old June 10th, 2010 (12:53 PM).
        Chimchar 9's Avatar
        Chimchar 9 Chimchar 9 is offline
        (:
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Jan 2008
        Location: England, London
        Age: 23
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Calm
        Posts: 1,618
        Does anyone know the introduction's backround palette offset for firered?
        Thanks!
        __________________
        Pokemon Green Diamond
        Status: cancelled
          #14931    
        Old June 10th, 2010 (1:09 PM). Edited June 10th, 2010 by colcolstyles.
        colcolstyles's Avatar
        colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
        Yours truly
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: May 2008
        Location: The Bay Area
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Lonely
        Posts: 1,584
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Chimchar 9 View Post
        Does anyone know the introduction's backround palette offset for firered?
        Thanks! :)
        After a quick search, I found it at 0x460568.
        __________________

        Brother of Vrai
          #14932    
        Old June 10th, 2010 (1:19 PM).
        .Paradox .Paradox is offline
        Hack Completion: ~5%...LOL
           
          Join Date: Jun 2010
          Age: 21
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 16
          Well I've fixed my own problem, but I couldn't tell anyone last night because my modem has this stupid timer thing so I can't go online after 11:00.

          New problem though XD How do I get Oak to NOT appear in my map when you try to leave and he stops you? I've tried hidesprite 0x02 (his ID. I'm sure because the applymovements work for that ID) but I can't make it work. I've tried a level script to hide his sprite but it doesn't work and Idk what to do.
            #14933    
          Old June 10th, 2010 (3:09 PM).
          Nosophoros's Avatar
          Nosophoros Nosophoros is offline
          I'm eating your cake
             
            Join Date: Jun 2010
            Location: Amerika
            Age: 23
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 44
            When saving an imported zorua backsprite pokepic says, "image is too big, would you like to expand rom?"
            Well, if I say yes it just disapears when I "revisit" the pokemon. If I say no it simply doesn't load.

            However, the one time it did work without this message, when I battled with him his sprite moved up and down (exposing his erased bottom-half).

            Do I need to replace a different pokemon or resize the backsprite (it's already small)?
            __________________
            90% of teens today would die if Myspace had a system failure and was completely destroyed...If you are one of the 10% that would be laughing, put this in your signature.




            DBZ Signature by x Necromorph x
              #14934    
            Old June 10th, 2010 (4:00 PM). Edited June 10th, 2010 by sonlen.
            sonlen sonlen is offline
            Hacking Noob
               
              Join Date: Nov 2009
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 66
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Nosophoros View Post
              When saving an imported zorua backsprite pokepic says, "image is too big, would you like to expand rom?"
              Well, if I say yes it just disapears when I "revisit" the pokemon. If I say no it simply doesn't load.

              However, the one time it did work without this message, when I battled with him his sprite moved up and down (exposing his erased bottom-half).

              Do I need to replace a different pokemon or resize the backsprite (it's already small)?
              Use Advanced Sprite Position Editor
              http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=196143
              That thread has it and 2 others you might find especially useful too.

              Quote:
              Originally Posted by .Paradox View Post
              Well I've fixed my own problem, but I couldn't tell anyone last night because my modem has this stupid timer thing so I can't go online after 11:00.

              New problem though XD How do I get Oak to NOT appear in my map when you try to leave and he stops you? I've tried hidesprite 0x02 (his ID. I'm sure because the applymovements work for that ID) but I can't make it work. I've tried a level script to hide his sprite but it doesn't work and Idk what to do.
              Do you need Oak on that map at all? If you just want him gone then remove him and the scripts that make him stop you.
              __________________
              Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
                #14935    
              Old June 10th, 2010 (5:25 PM).
              .Paradox .Paradox is offline
              Hack Completion: ~5%...LOL
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2010
                Age: 21
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 16
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by sonlen View Post

                Do you need Oak on that map at all? If you just want him gone then remove him and the scripts that make him stop you.
                No I need him there. Let me rephrase my question.

                I need him to be invisible before he stops me to take me to his lab, because I can see him before I leave. Then I need him to be gone after I get my Pokemon. I can do the last part, but I can't the first part
                  #14936    
                Old June 10th, 2010 (5:27 PM).
                sonlen sonlen is offline
                Hacking Noob
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2009
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 66
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by .Paradox View Post

                  No I need him there. Let me rephrase my question.

                  I need him to be invisible before he stops me to take me to his lab, because I can see him before I leave. Then I need him to be gone after I get my Pokemon. I can do the last part, but I can't the first part
                  I beleive there are hidesprite and showsprite commands, that's all I can think of.
                  __________________
                  Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
                    #14937    
                  Old June 10th, 2010 (5:34 PM).
                  Incineroar's Avatar
                  Incineroar Incineroar is offline
                  the spirit of the fighter
                  • Moderator
                  • Platinum Tier
                  • Developer
                   
                  Join Date: May 2009
                  Location: Iki Town
                  Age: 22
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Brave
                  Posts: 13,480
                  How would I go about making a scripted battle, like on the teachy TV in FireRed? (For FireRed) I want it so that you aren't in the battle yourself, but the game does a battle:

                  PLAYER used FLAMETHROWER!
                  PLAYER2 used BUBBLE!
                  No move selection here..
                  PLAYER returned CHARIZARD!
                  PLAYER sent out VENUSAUR!
                  and so on and so fourth....
                  __________________
                    #14938    
                  Old June 10th, 2010 (5:38 PM). Edited June 10th, 2010 by sonlen.
                  sonlen sonlen is offline
                  Hacking Noob
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2009
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 66
                    @ .Paradox
                    Spoiler:

                    #dynamic 0x7543B2

                    #org @start
                    hidesprite (oaks map id here)
                    setflag (unused flag here)
                    checkflag 0x828
                    lockall
                    if 0x1 goto @done
                    playsong 0x12E 0x0
                    msgbox @1 0x6
                    showsprite (oaks map id here)
                    setflag (same as last setflag id)
                    applymovement 0x02 @move
                    applymovement 0xFF @move2
                    waitmovement 0x2
                    msgbox @2 0x6
                    applymovement 0x02 @move3
                    applymovement 0xFF @move4
                    waitmovement 0x0
                    setdooropened 0x0A 0x11
                    doorchange
                    applymovement 0x02 @move5
                    applymovement 0xFF @move6
                    waitmovement 0xFF
                    setdoorclosed 0x0A 0x11
                    doorchange
                    warp 0x4 0x3 0xFF 0x06 0x0C
                    waitstate
                    fadesong 0x12C
                    releaseall
                    end

                    #org @done
                    releaseall
                    end

                    #org @move
                    #raw 0x62
                    #raw 0x12
                    #raw 0x12
                    #raw 0x12
                    #raw 0x12
                    #raw 0x12
                    #raw 0x12
                    #raw 0x12
                    #raw 0xFE

                    #org @move2
                    #raw 0x03
                    #raw 0xFE

                    #org @move3
                    #raw 0x13
                    #raw 0x13
                    #raw 0x13
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x12
                    #raw 0x12
                    #raw 0x12
                    #raw 0x01
                    #raw 0xFE

                    #org @move4
                    #raw 0x13
                    #raw 0x13
                    #raw 0x13
                    #raw 0x13
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x10
                    #raw 0x12
                    #raw 0x12
                    #raw 0xFE

                    #org @move5
                    #raw 0x11
                    #raw 0x60
                    #raw 0xFE

                    #org @move6
                    #raw 0x12
                    #raw 0x11
                    #raw 0x60
                    #raw 0xFE

                    #org @1
                    = No, don't go out there!
                    #org @2
                    = You can't go out there\nwithout your own Pokemon.\pWild Pokemon will hurt you.\nCome with me and we'll get you one.

                    I believe this is your script, and I added a couple things, you just need to add the raw values at the top.

                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
                    How would I go about making a scripted battle, like on the teachy TV in FireRed? (For FireRed) I want it so that you aren't in the battle yourself, but the game does a battle:

                    PLAYER used FLAMETHROWER!
                    PLAYER2 used BUBBLE!
                    No move selection here..
                    PLAYER returned CHARIZARD!
                    PLAYER sent out VENUSAUR!
                    and so on and so fourth....
                    I would suggest finding the script for the old man who teaches you to catch pokemon and copying it and modifying it, or even that TV show you talked about.
                    __________________
                    Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
                      #14939    
                    Old June 10th, 2010 (5:47 PM).
                    Incineroar's Avatar
                    Incineroar Incineroar is offline
                    the spirit of the fighter
                    • Moderator
                    • Platinum Tier
                    • Developer
                     
                    Join Date: May 2009
                    Location: Iki Town
                    Age: 22
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Brave
                    Posts: 13,480
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by sonlen View Post
                    I would suggest finding the script for the old man who teaches you to catch pokemon and copying it and modifying it, or even that TV show you talked about.
                    Ok, thanks. Another question: Can I assemble my .s files without using Sappy? It crashes whenever I try to assemble.
                    __________________
                      #14940    
                    Old June 10th, 2010 (5:50 PM).
                    sonlen sonlen is offline
                    Hacking Noob
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2009
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 66
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
                      Ok, thanks. Another question: Can I assemble my .s files without using Sappy? It crashes whenever I try to assemble.
                      I personally have never used Sappy, I want to get a working title screen before I get started with everything else, so hopefully soon I can get a new palette in so I can use my title screen I made part of in photoshop.

                      Does anyone know if it is safe to replace the title screen palette, I just need to know if anything else in the game uses it for anything.
                      __________________
                      Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
                        #14941    
                      Old June 10th, 2010 (6:02 PM).
                      .Paradox .Paradox is offline
                      Hack Completion: ~5%...LOL
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2010
                        Age: 21
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 16
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by sonlen View Post
                        I beleive there are hidesprite and showsprite commands, that's all I can think of.
                        That doesn't work though for me. Well when I tried making it a level script that loads as soon as the map loads. But nothing happens and idk what to do.
                          #14942    
                        Old June 10th, 2010 (6:47 PM).
                        ~Merilyn's Avatar
                        ~Merilyn ~Merilyn is offline
                        Pokemon Misted Amethyst
                           
                          Join Date: Aug 2009
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Lax
                          Posts: 34
                          Does anyone know how to insert the standard Pokemon Firered tree into Pokemon Emerald? I don't want to screw up any other tiles, I just want that tree inserted by overwriting the emerald tree, but the Emerald tree is shorter than the Firered tree, so I can't insert it without screwing up something else. Thanks in advance.
                          __________________
                            #14943    
                          Old June 10th, 2010 (7:24 PM).
                          sonlen sonlen is offline
                          Hacking Noob
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2009
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 66
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by .Paradox View Post

                            That doesn't work though for me. Well when I tried making it a level script that loads as soon as the map loads. But nothing happens and idk what to do.
                            Well I havn't really looked into level scripting, so all I can say is wait for more help or try to add it as a script and on a person script. Anyways Good Luck.
                            __________________
                            Currently working on: Pokemon Moonlight
                              #14944    
                            Old June 10th, 2010 (8:19 PM).
                            Aggron1991's Avatar
                            Aggron1991 Aggron1991 is offline
                               
                              Join Date: May 2010
                              Age: 25
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 42
                              I used A-Trainer to make two new trainers in Fire Red. Everything works fine about them, except for one thing: The items they use either at the beginning of the battle or when their Pokemon's HP is low.

                              One of the trainers, despite the fact that I didn't give him any items to use, uses Black Belt at the beginning of the battle for some reason, which raises his Pokemon's defense, strangely enough.

                              The other trainer has but one item, Full Restore, selected for use, but when his Pokemon's HP is low, he uses Soul Dew (@_@) followed by the caption "Foe FEAROW's SOUL DEW restored health!" even though its HP doesn't change.

                              Does anyone have a clue as to why this might be happening?
                                #14945    
                              Old June 10th, 2010 (10:27 PM). Edited June 10th, 2010 by krillian.
                              krillian's Avatar
                              krillian krillian is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Apr 2010
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 42
                                I don't know if this is a simple question but,

                                does anyone know the when it is morning and nightime in pokemon emeraled

                                @Aggron1991
                                why don't you try starting again, and use a blank trainer

                                @~Merilyn
                                (Not a simple question by the way)
                                Thats easy to do, make sure each titleset firered your hack have the same palltes
                                then copy the firered tree over your hack tree save and it is done just intesect the titleset into your hack, I you would like me to make a toutrial i will do it
                                  #14946    
                                Old June 11th, 2010 (1:30 AM).
                                SonicBlazePlatinum's Avatar
                                SonicBlazePlatinum SonicBlazePlatinum is offline
                                /)^3^(\
                                • Silver Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2007
                                Location: Cloudsdale, Equestria
                                Age: 22
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Relaxed
                                Posts: 1,012
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by SonicBlazePlatinum View Post
                                I ended up deleting the script. I was currently changing the text. It's the sign in Littleroot in Emerald on the brown signpost. How do I get it back?

                                EDIT: I managed to get signpost back but ever word is surrounded by a line now. What do I do to fix it? Here is the picture:
                                http://img32.imageshack.us/i/pokemonemeraldpng2.png/
                                Does anyone know how to fix this glitch? I need help with it!
                                __________________
                                Also known as SentryBronyPlatinum or Shadowbolt Pegasus.
                                  #14947    
                                Old June 11th, 2010 (1:37 AM).
                                Darthatron's Avatar
                                Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                                巨大なトロール。
                                • Silver Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Jan 2006
                                Location: Melbourne, Australia
                                Age: 25
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Modest
                                Posts: 1,152
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by SonicBlazePlatinum View Post
                                Does anyone know how to fix this glitch? I need help with it!
                                It looks like you've messed up the text box tile map. Try importing the original tile map, if this could be the case.
                                __________________
                                あなた は しきしゃ です
                                わたし は ばか です
                                  #14948    
                                Old June 11th, 2010 (5:00 AM).
                                SonicBlazePlatinum's Avatar
                                SonicBlazePlatinum SonicBlazePlatinum is offline
                                /)^3^(\
                                • Silver Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2007
                                Location: Cloudsdale, Equestria
                                Age: 22
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Relaxed
                                Posts: 1,012
                                How do I import the original tile map? Also how do you change the TMs Gym Leaders give you in Emerald/Fire Red? After I fix the text I'm going to change it and make sure not to mess up.
                                __________________
                                Also known as SentryBronyPlatinum or Shadowbolt Pegasus.
                                  #14949    
                                Old June 11th, 2010 (5:30 AM).
                                sky_queen3's Avatar
                                sky_queen3 sky_queen3 is offline
                                Mimikyu is cute :3
                                   
                                  Join Date: Feb 2009
                                  Location: Australia
                                  Age: 27
                                  Gender: Female
                                  Nature: Naive
                                  Posts: 263
                                  Erm, does anyone know who made this tileset? I'd like to use some of it but don't know who to credit.

                                  http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/2213/completejohto4yhk5tj.png

                                  (I wasn't sure where to ask so I asked here.)
                                  __________________
                                  Mimic me, mimic you
                                    #14950    
                                  Old June 11th, 2010 (5:48 AM).
                                  Darthatron's Avatar
                                  Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                                  巨大なトロール。
                                  • Silver Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jan 2006
                                  Location: Melbourne, Australia
                                  Age: 25
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Modest
                                  Posts: 1,152
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by SonicBlazePlatinum View Post
                                  How do I import the original tile map? Also how do you change the TMs Gym Leaders give you in Emerald/Fire Red? After I fix the text I'm going to change it and make sure not to mess up.
                                  Rip the tilemap from a clean rom and then import it into the edited one. You would edit the script in order to change the TM that is given.
                                  __________________
                                  あなた は しきしゃ です
                                  わたし は ばか です
                                  Closed Thread
                                  Quick Reply

                                  Sponsored Links
                                  Thread Tools

                                  Posting Rules
                                  You may not post new threads
                                  You may not post replies
                                  You may not post attachments
                                  You may not edit your posts

                                  BB code is On
                                  Smilies are On
                                  [IMG] code is On
                                  HTML code is Off

                                  Forum Jump


                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:00 AM.