ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #15926    
Old August 19th, 2010 (7:08 AM).
DuoRyan's Avatar
DuoRyan DuoRyan is offline
Hack'in as usual, it seem.
     
    Join Date: Nov 2009
    Location: Somewhere.
    Age: 20
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Calm
    Posts: 336
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Quilava's Master View Post
    How would i flawlessly edit the door animations in R/S/E to allow for smaller doors, the same size as Fire Red?
    I suggest using the door manager by zodiac.
    This tool allow you to edit the door palette and the animation itself.
    __________________
    Pokemon Treasure.
    Progress: Planning.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #15927    
    Old August 19th, 2010 (7:52 AM).
    Surmonter's Avatar
    Surmonter Surmonter is offline
    Hear No Evil
       
      Join Date: Aug 2010
      Location: Not Okazaki, Japan
      Age: 24
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Quirky
      Posts: 1,103
      Is there a mapping tool for R/S/E/FR/LG that randomizes the Pokemon on the route (or is there a way to do it in Advanced Map?)

      Kind of like on Crystal Map you can view the Pokemon, put it the level range you want, then hit the Randomize button and it will put random Pokemon on the route in your level range. Any Pokemon from Bulbasaur to Celebi.
      __________________
      Are you gay?
      Are you bisexual?
      Are you transgendered?
      Are you an ally?

      Are you looking for a friend?
      Maybe some advice?
      Or maybe just a place to feel normal?

      Go to EmptyClosets.

      Starstruck★ :Pair
      Shinies :Important Links
        #15928    
      Old August 19th, 2010 (8:55 AM).
      Andrut's Avatar
      Andrut Andrut is offline
      Collecting dust since 1898
         
        Join Date: Dec 2009
        Location: Warsaw, Poland
        Age: 19
        Posts: 286
        Quote:
        Is there a mapping tool for R/S/E/FR/LG that randomizes the Pokemon on the route (or is there a way to do it in Advanced Map?)Kind of like on Crystal Map you can view the Pokemon, put it the level range you want, then hit the Randomize button and it will put random Pokemon on the route in your level range. Any Pokemon from Bulbasaur to Celebi.
        I think there's no way to do that.
        Can i change the palette of the world map? I mean,changing the city colors and etc.
        __________________
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by anonymous
        Florges
        It's a forest guardian that pities how bad a type Grass is, so it gets moves to help out Grass-types, but is smart enough not to be Grass-type itself. The appearance is simply mimicry to hide from humans.
          #15929    
        Old August 19th, 2010 (9:40 AM).
        colcolstyles's Avatar
        colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
        Yours truly
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: May 2008
        Location: The Bay Area
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Lonely
        Posts: 1,584
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Quilava's Master View Post
        How would i flawlessly edit the door animations in R/S/E to allow for smaller doors, the same size as Fire Red?
        Flawlessly? Well, you'd have to hack the routine which copies over the tiles so that it only copied over the lower half of the animation image. But that's probably not necessary. You can just make the top four tiles the same as whatever block is usually above the door for each frame in the animation. That way, the blocks will technically be animated but 1) every frame will be the same image so it won't seem like an animation; and 2) the image will be the same as it was before the player entered the door so they won't notice any change at all.

        Quote:
        Originally Posted by xoax View Post
        Can i change the palette of the world map? I mean,changing the city colors and etc.
        Sure you can. Any palette can be changed. You just have to find the palette.
        __________________

        Brother of Vrai
          #15930    
        Old August 19th, 2010 (9:46 AM).
        Diegoisawesome's Avatar
        Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
        Oh god the bees
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Dec 2007
        Location: :noitacoL
        Age: 20
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Naive
        Posts: 1,032
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
        Flawlessly? Well, you'd have to hack the routine which copies over the tiles so that it only copied over the lower half of the animation image. But that's probably not necessary. You can just make the top four tiles the same as whatever block is usually above the door for each frame in the animation. That way, the blocks will technically be animated but 1) every frame will be the same image so it won't seem like an animation; and 2) the image will be the same as it was before the player entered the door so they won't notice any change at all.
        That's a good way to do it, but it sure wastes a lot of doors...
        Too bad some awesome ASM hacker couldn't copy over the routine from FR.
        __________________


        My other resources:
        My Website
        diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
        diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
        The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
        Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
        GBA Intro Manager
        The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
          #15931    
        Old August 19th, 2010 (9:57 AM).
        colcolstyles's Avatar
        colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
        Yours truly
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: May 2008
        Location: The Bay Area
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Lonely
        Posts: 1,584
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by diegoisawesome View Post
        That's a good way to do it, but it sure wastes a lot of doors...
        Too bad some awesome ASM hacker couldn't copy over the routine from FR.
        It doesn't "waste" any doors. All you're doing is creating the illusion that there is no animation for the block above the actual door. The tiles are being overwritten with a new frame; it's just that the new frame is the exact same image that was there before. No extra space is used. In fact, the exact same amount of space is used. If space really is a problem (well, I'd recommend ROM expansion before this), then yeah, hacking the routine would allow for twice as many door animations. Though you'd have to do more extensive hacking just to allow for more door animations in the first place.
        __________________

        Brother of Vrai
          #15932    
        Old August 19th, 2010 (10:01 AM).
        Diegoisawesome's Avatar
        Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
        Oh god the bees
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Dec 2007
        Location: :noitacoL
        Age: 20
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Naive
        Posts: 1,032
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
        It doesn't "waste" any doors. All you're doing is creating the illusion that there is no animation for the block above the actual door. The tiles are being overwritten with a new frame; it's just that the new frame is the exact same image that was there before. No extra space is used. In fact, the exact same amount of space is used. If space really is a problem (well, I'd recommend ROM expansion before this), then yeah, hacking the routine would allow for twice as many door animations. Though you'd have to do more extensive hacking just to allow for more door animations in the first place.
        Erm... Two things wrong there...
        I said it wastes doors because, to make a door for, say, a FR house with a blue roof, and then, you want to use the same door for another house, the blue roof will appear out of nowhere when the animation plays.
        So then you have to make ANOTHER door for that roof. And so on...

        Also, extensive hacking for more animations is NOT needed as Zodiac's door manager supports door repointing.
        __________________


        My other resources:
        My Website
        diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
        diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
        The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
        Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
        GBA Intro Manager
        The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
          #15933    
        Old August 19th, 2010 (11:03 AM).
        Surmonter's Avatar
        Surmonter Surmonter is offline
        Hear No Evil
           
          Join Date: Aug 2010
          Location: Not Okazaki, Japan
          Age: 24
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Quirky
          Posts: 1,103
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by xoax View Post
          I think there's no way to do that.
          Can i change the palette of the world map? I mean,changing the city colors and etc.
          ..of course there is. All they need to do is make a program that will select the Pokemon at random, and select the level at random. And as I said, there is already one for G/S/C so why not FR?
          __________________
          Are you gay?
          Are you bisexual?
          Are you transgendered?
          Are you an ally?

          Are you looking for a friend?
          Maybe some advice?
          Or maybe just a place to feel normal?

          Go to EmptyClosets.

          Starstruck★ :Pair
          Shinies :Important Links
            #15934    
          Old August 19th, 2010 (11:08 AM).
          colcolstyles's Avatar
          colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
          Yours truly
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: May 2008
          Location: The Bay Area
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Lonely
          Posts: 1,584
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Surmonter View Post
          ..of course there is. All they need to do is make a program that will select the Pokemon at random, and select the level at random. And as I said, there is already one for G/S/C so why not FR?
          Necessity is the mother of invention. Obviously, nobody felt that it was necessary or even useful so it hasn't been done. As I said the last time you posted this question, you can just use random.org if it's really a priority for you.
          __________________

          Brother of Vrai
            #15935    
          Old August 19th, 2010 (7:18 PM).
          Aisu K.'s Avatar
          Aisu K. Aisu K. is offline
          SHOWMEYAMOVES
             
            Join Date: Oct 2004
            Location: Home
            Age: 26
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 1,145
            Quick question. In FireRed, how would I go about changing the battle terrain of a certain tile. Like, let's say I want to change a grass tile to sand. How would I make it so that when I enter a battle, I'll see a sandy battlefield instead of grass?
            __________________

              #15936    
            Old August 20th, 2010 (1:52 AM).
            Andrut's Avatar
            Andrut Andrut is offline
            Collecting dust since 1898
               
              Join Date: Dec 2009
              Location: Warsaw, Poland
              Age: 19
              Posts: 286
              How can i change music(Just swap the ones in the ROM) in a BPRE Fire Red Rom? The older Sappy doesn't allow either BPRE or BPEE,and the newer just doesn't work.
              __________________
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by anonymous
              Florges
              It's a forest guardian that pities how bad a type Grass is, so it gets moves to help out Grass-types, but is smart enough not to be Grass-type itself. The appearance is simply mimicry to hide from humans.
                #15937    
              Old August 20th, 2010 (4:09 AM).
              Impo's Avatar
              Impo Impo is offline
              Playhouse Pokemon
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Feb 2010
              Location: Earth
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 2,455
              do i need to get different tiles to make a house appear
              two story?
              i cant do it
              it's really annoying
              __________________
                #15938    
              Old August 20th, 2010 (8:19 AM).
              Surmonter's Avatar
              Surmonter Surmonter is offline
              Hear No Evil
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2010
                Location: Not Okazaki, Japan
                Age: 24
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Quirky
                Posts: 1,103
                Is there a movement permission in Advanced Map 1.92 that allows me to walk behind a waterfall but still use it?
                __________________
                Are you gay?
                Are you bisexual?
                Are you transgendered?
                Are you an ally?

                Are you looking for a friend?
                Maybe some advice?
                Or maybe just a place to feel normal?

                Go to EmptyClosets.

                Starstruck★ :Pair
                Shinies :Important Links
                  #15939    
                Old August 20th, 2010 (10:44 AM).
                Hookarm's Avatar
                Hookarm Hookarm is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Aug 2010
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 2
                  1. What is the recommended program for Pokemon Ruby Map Editing?
                  2. What is the recommended program for Pokemon Ruby Text Editing?
                  3. What is the recommended program for Pokemon Ruby Sprite Editor?
                  __________________
                  <-All For One And ONE FOR ALL!->
                    #15940    
                  Old August 20th, 2010 (11:07 AM).
                  Surmonter's Avatar
                  Surmonter Surmonter is offline
                  Hear No Evil
                     
                    Join Date: Aug 2010
                    Location: Not Okazaki, Japan
                    Age: 24
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Quirky
                    Posts: 1,103
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Hookarm View Post
                    1. What is the recommended program for Pokemon Ruby Map Editing?
                    2. What is the recommended program for Pokemon Ruby Text Editing?
                    3. What is the recommended program for Pokemon Ruby Sprite Editor?
                    1. Advanced Map
                    2. Advanced Text (But I suggest making your own using XSE
                    3. Overworld Sprite Editor/Hacked unLZ GBA both are in the same thread as XSE.
                    __________________
                    Are you gay?
                    Are you bisexual?
                    Are you transgendered?
                    Are you an ally?

                    Are you looking for a friend?
                    Maybe some advice?
                    Or maybe just a place to feel normal?

                    Go to EmptyClosets.

                    Starstruck★ :Pair
                    Shinies :Important Links
                      #15941    
                    Old August 20th, 2010 (11:14 AM).
                    Kevin's Avatar
                    Kevin Kevin is offline
                    kevin del rey
                    • Silver Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2010
                    Location: Virginia
                    Age: 18
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 2,689
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Hookarm View Post
                    1. What is the recommended program for Pokemon Ruby Map Editing?
                    2. What is the recommended program for Pokemon Ruby Text Editing?
                    3. What is the recommended program for Pokemon Ruby Sprite Editor?
                    1) Advance Map by LU-HO
                    2) Text editing is bad. I suggest eXtreme Script Editor. Learn by a tutorial. Because Advance Text repoints to non-free data.
                    3) Hacked unlz-GBA for sprites. But I suggest Advance Sprite Editor for Pokemon sprites. And Nameless Sprite Editor for overworlds.
                    __________________
                      #15942    
                    Old August 20th, 2010 (11:25 AM).
                    altariaking's Avatar
                    altariaking altariaking is offline
                    Needs NO VMs...
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2009
                      Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
                      Age: 42
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Naive
                      Posts: 1,098
                      Ok, this is really starting to annoy me, but whenever I edit the HP box, the game freezes upon entrance into battle. How would I fix this?
                      __________________
                      http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=253113
                        #15943    
                      Old August 20th, 2010 (12:09 PM).
                      Chaos Rush's Avatar
                      Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
                      im sexy and i know it
                         
                        Join Date: May 2007
                        Location: Taylor Swift
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Adamant
                        Posts: 1,296
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by altariaking View Post
                        Ok, this is really starting to annoy me, but whenever I edit the HP box, the game freezes upon entrance into battle. How would I fix this?
                        If you repointed the graphics, you have to repoint it to an offset that ends with 0, 4, 8, and I think C.
                        __________________

                        My projects:
                        Untitled Pokémon fangame (pictured above) | Final Fantasy II NES retranslation | Mother 1/EarthBound Beginnings Color Restoration for GBA
                        Non-Pokémon hacks I support:
                        Sonic Classic Heroes
                        Sonic 3 Complete
                          #15944    
                        Old August 20th, 2010 (5:41 PM).
                        Heart's Soul's Avatar
                        Heart's Soul Heart's Soul is offline
                        Hey, look, I was gone.
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2007
                          Age: 21
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 2,534
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Hookarm View Post
                          1. What is the recommended program for Pokemon Ruby Map Editing?
                          2. What is the recommended program for Pokemon Ruby Text Editing?
                          3. What is the recommended program for Pokemon Ruby Sprite Editor?
                          1. HEX Workshop
                          2. HEX Workshop
                          3. HEX Workshop

                          You learn best this way.
                          __________________
                          "No calendar today. Oh, that's a shame. What day is it today? It is no day. The calendar does not exist anymore. Today does not exist." - Professional Idiot
                            #15945    
                          Old August 20th, 2010 (9:01 PM).
                          colcolstyles's Avatar
                          colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
                          Yours truly
                          • Crystal Tier
                           
                          Join Date: May 2008
                          Location: The Bay Area
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Lonely
                          Posts: 1,584
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Heart's Soul View Post
                          1. HEX Workshop
                          2. HEX Workshop
                          3. HEX Workshop

                          You learn best this way.
                          C'mon, man. I understand the point that you're trying to make but please be rational. You can't expect a total newbie to be able to edit compressed data with a hex editor. Realistically, the list should go something like this:

                          1. AdvanceMap
                          2. XSE for script text / hex editor with table file support for everything else
                          3. Tile Molester Alternate for uncompressed graphics / unLZ for compressed graphics

                          Just telling someone who most likely has no previous knowledge of ROM hacking to use a hex editor for everything is a bad idea. Even the most advanced hackers still tools, albeit more non-game-specific ones. Newbies should start out using tools and then, once they feel more comfortable, branch out into the uncharted waters of hex editors.
                          __________________

                          Brother of Vrai
                            #15946    
                          Old August 21st, 2010 (9:31 AM).
                          Gold_7_1_9 Gold_7_1_9 is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Sep 2009
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 2
                            Hi,
                            I want to know how to insert a new pokemon in the Pokedex?
                            I used YAPE to change the "?" and put a new Pokemon "Lucario", but the Pokedex part is unavailable to edit.
                            How can i add this Pokemon to the pokedex.
                            I found the Dex Data Offset but i don't know how to add Lucario on it.
                            Please, help me if you can. Thank you.
                              #15947    
                            Old August 21st, 2010 (9:33 AM).
                            Gamer2020's Avatar
                            Gamer2020 Gamer2020 is offline
                            Accept no Imitations!
                               
                              Join Date: Jun 2008
                              Location: Distant Land
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Bold
                              Posts: 901
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Gold_7_1_9 View Post
                              Hi,
                              I want to know how to insert a new pokemon in the Pokedex?
                              I used YAPE to change the "?" and put a new Pokemon "Lucario", but the Pokedex part is unavailable to edit.
                              How can i add this Pokemon to the pokedex.
                              I found the Dex Data Offset but i don't know how to add Lucario on it.
                              Please, help me if you can. Thank you.
                              You need to expand the Pokedex entries which you won't be able to do properly without ASM
                              __________________

                                #15948    
                              Old August 21st, 2010 (4:30 PM). Edited August 21st, 2010 by mrjimi16.
                              mrjimi16 mrjimi16 is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Aug 2010
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 73
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Impo View Post
                                do i need to get different tiles to make a house appear
                                two story?
                                Do you mean have the top tile of the building hide part of the player? If that is what you mean and you have Advance Map v1.92 you can do that in the block editor. It has two layers that it combines to make one tile, the top layer goes over the player. If you want the entire tile to cover the player while still using two layers, there is a behavior byte that says "block on top of hero" or something like that.
                                  #15949    
                                Old August 21st, 2010 (5:37 PM).
                                Starayo Starayo is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Aug 2010
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 2
                                  My friend is a fan of the "moemon" rom hacks, namely the emerald version one, and since I used to hack pokémon roms as a kid I said I'd have a look. Moemon is just the regular game with some sprite changes (and one text change which I have already fixed). The problem is, it's missing a few pokémon, such as Gardevoir, Voltorb, etc. I have managed to get my hands on a copy of the Japanese IPS patch and patched a Japanese rom, as I know they're complete.

                                  What method can I extract a sprite from a Japanese emerald rom (front and back)? I used advanced sprite editor on another one but that only has ini files for english roms. Also, is there anything special I need to do since the emerald sprites are animated?
                                    #15950    
                                  Old August 21st, 2010 (6:30 PM).
                                  Diegoisawesome's Avatar
                                  Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
                                  Oh god the bees
                                  • Silver Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2007
                                  Location: :noitacoL
                                  Age: 20
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Naive
                                  Posts: 1,032
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Starayo View Post
                                  My friend is a fan of the "moemon" rom hacks, namely the emerald version one, and since I used to hack pokémon roms as a kid I said I'd have a look. Moemon is just the regular game with some sprite changes (and one text change which I have already fixed). The problem is, it's missing a few pokémon, such as Gardevoir, Voltorb, etc. I have managed to get my hands on a copy of the Japanese IPS patch and patched a Japanese rom, as I know they're complete.

                                  What method can I extract a sprite from a Japanese emerald rom (front and back)? I used advanced sprite editor on another one but that only has ini files for english roms. Also, is there anything special I need to do since the emerald sprites are animated?
                                  Actually, just use a program called UnLZ-GBA.
                                  __________________


                                  My other resources:
                                  My Website
                                  diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
                                  diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
                                  The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
                                  Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
                                  GBA Intro Manager
                                  The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
                                  Closed Thread
                                  Quick Reply

                                  Sponsored Links
                                  Thread Tools

                                  Posting Rules
                                  You may not post new threads
                                  You may not post replies
                                  You may not post attachments
                                  You may not edit your posts

                                  BB code is On
                                  Smilies are On
                                  [IMG] code is On
                                  HTML code is Off

                                  Forum Jump


                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 8:12 AM.