ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #16801    
Old November 26th, 2010 (5:46 AM).
konman719's Avatar
konman719 konman719 is offline
Hacker
     
    Join Date: Sep 2010
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 32
    does anyone know where i can find an INI for leaf green for the advanced pokemon sprite editor? ive searched all over and tried making it myself but cant

    Relevant Advertising!

      #16802    
    Old November 26th, 2010 (12:00 PM). Edited November 26th, 2010 by Equin.
    Equin's Avatar
    Equin Equin is offline
    Got it memorized?
       
      Join Date: Nov 2010
      Posts: 55
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Teh Blazer View Post
      Is there a way to implement the Physical/Special split in Firered?
      I don't personally know how, but there is a whole discussion about the specific matter in the Research and Development subforum. Sorry, but I can't post links yet, but I guess it's pretty obvious if you look into it.

      EDIT: I now can. Here's the thread.
      __________________
      Signature? I have none.
        #16803    
      Old November 26th, 2010 (12:13 PM).
      esperance's Avatar
      esperance esperance is offline
      • Platinum Tier
       
      Join Date: Mar 2010
      Location: Ohio
      Age: 20
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Relaxed
      Posts: 3,818
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Teh Blazer View Post
      Is there a way to implement the Physical/Special split in Firered?
      Most definitely, and there is information on it in the Research & Developement Section.
      __________________

      A Pokemon that is discriminated!
      Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
        #16804    
      Old November 26th, 2010 (2:33 PM).
      chrunch chrunch is offline
      • Gold Tier
       
      Join Date: Oct 2009
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 1,349
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by TheQuagsireFactor View Post
      Close, but no cigar. What I'm looking for is definitely similar to the example you presented "when Norman is telling you you need more badges". Let's take it one step before, when you first start talking to Norman, and then Wally barges in. What I'm trying to control is him actually walking in, not when he starts talking. Him taking steps, can I edit that?
      yes. that's a simple part of scripting. :3
      __________________
        #16805    
      Old November 26th, 2010 (3:38 PM).
      Teh Blazer's Avatar
      Teh Blazer Teh Blazer is offline
      Divider of Zero
         
        Join Date: Feb 2009
        Location: 'MERICA
        Age: 21
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Relaxed
        Posts: 768
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Equin View Post
        I don't personally know how, but there is a whole discussion about the specific matter in the Research and Development subforum. Sorry, but I can't post links yet, but I guess it's pretty obvious if you look into it.

        EDIT: I now can. Here's the thread.
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by agentgeo View Post
        Most definitely, and there is information on it in the Research & Developement Section.
        Why thank you guys. With that under my belt, I can kick this much more butt! (About 3 inch more butt)
        __________________
        Being a hero is overrated anyways
          #16806    
        Old November 26th, 2010 (8:02 PM).
        Tannecho51's Avatar
        Tannecho51 Tannecho51 is offline
        Pokemon Lion's Eye
           
          Join Date: Oct 2010
          Location: Illinois
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Hardy
          Posts: 11
          How does the naming special work in Ruby, if you're trying to give a pokemon to a party that doesn't have any? Also, for some reason, when I use multiple showpokepic's, the first one has a messed up palette but the ones after it show up just fine.
            #16807    
          Old November 26th, 2010 (9:43 PM).
          NintendoBoyDX NintendoBoyDX is offline
             
            Join Date: Jul 2010
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 94
            Is it possible to write a script that continues after you lose a battle in Pokemon Ruby? Something like trainerbattle 9 that continues after you win, but instead continues if you lose?
              #16808    
            Old November 27th, 2010 (8:02 AM). Edited November 27th, 2010 by konman719.
            konman719's Avatar
            konman719 konman719 is offline
            Hacker
               
              Join Date: Sep 2010
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 32
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by NintendoBoyDX View Post
              Is it possible to write a script that continues after you lose a battle in Pokemon Ruby? Something like trainerbattle 9 that continues after you win, but instead continues if you lose?
              yes this is possible using trainerbattle 9 actually
              you start the script normally with the lock, facplayer stuff then you get to the next step

              trainerbattle 0x09 0x01 $win $lose
              $ win 1 = "Put down whatever the trainer will say if he/she loses"
              $ lose 1 = "Put down whatever the trainer will say if he/she wins"

              then continue the script normally as you would in any other battle

              (note: these commands may be different whether your using XSE or just making a script in notepad)

              does anyone know where i can find an INI for leaf green for the advanced pokemon sprite editor? ive searched all over and tried making it myself but cant

              does anyone know where i can find an INI for leaf green for the advanced pokemon sprite editor? ive searched all over and tried making it myself but cant

              does anyone know where i can find an INI for leaf green for the advanced pokemon sprite editor? ive searched all over and tried making it myself but cant
                #16809    
              Old November 27th, 2010 (8:31 AM).
              Diegoisawesome's Avatar
              Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
              Oh god the bees
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Dec 2007
              Location: :noitacoL
              Age: 20
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Naive
              Posts: 1,032
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by konman719 View Post
              yes this is possible using trainerbattle 9 actually
              you start the script normally with the lock, facplayer stuff then you get to the next step

              trainerbattle 0x09 0x01 $win $lose
              $ win 1 = "Put down whatever the trainer will say if he/she loses"
              $ lose 1 = "Put down whatever the trainer will say if he/she wins"

              then continue the script normally as you would in any other battle

              (note: these commands may be different whether your using XSE or just making a script in notepad)

              does anyone know where i can find an INI for leaf green for the advanced pokemon sprite editor? ive searched all over and tried making it myself but cant

              does anyone know where i can find an INI for leaf green for the advanced pokemon sprite editor? ive searched all over and tried making it myself but cant

              does anyone know where i can find an INI for leaf green for the advanced pokemon sprite editor? ive searched all over and tried making it myself but cant
              Sorry, but this is not true. You can't have a trainerbattle 0x9 because it simply won't work right.
              __________________


              My other resources:
              My Website
              diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
              diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
              The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
              Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
              GBA Intro Manager
              The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
                #16810    
              Old November 27th, 2010 (9:09 AM).
              AyameHikaru's Avatar
              AyameHikaru AyameHikaru is offline
              Beauty Queen
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2010
                Gender: Female
                Nature: Impish
                Posts: 141
                Not entirely certain if this counts as a 'simple' question or not... but here goes. I am in the middle of a hack, but I've reached a bit of a stumbling block when it comes to the music. Quite frankly, I haven't a clue where to begin. What I'm HOPING to do is take sound bytes from a DS game unrelated to Pokemon and somehow convert them so that they can be played on the GBA. However, here are my questions:

                1. How do you rip sound from a DS game? I've tried using NDSSNDEXT and I couldn't get it to work.

                2. Will I need to convert files before I place them in the GBA rom?

                3. If 2 is yes, how?

                4. Once they're converted, what's the best tool for inserting the sound files?

                (By the way, when I say I want to replace sound, I'd like to replace Pokemon cries, attack sounds, and route/town/battle music.)
                  #16811    
                Old November 27th, 2010 (9:22 AM).
                Antennian Antennian is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2010
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 4
                  I need help with YAPE. I made a fakemon and its supposed to evolve into another fakemon, but it just stops. Can you help?
                    #16812    
                  Old November 27th, 2010 (9:27 AM).
                  Kevin's Avatar
                  Kevin Kevin is offline
                  kevin del rey
                  • Silver Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2010
                  Location: Virginia
                  Age: 18
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 2,689
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Antennian View Post
                  I need help with YAPE. I made a fakemon and its supposed to evolve into another fakemon, but it just stops. Can you help?
                  Can you be more specific? Did you add the evolution to your Fakemon using YAPE? And if you tested to see if it works did it freeze? Be a bit more specific so we can help. :X
                  __________________
                    #16813    
                  Old November 27th, 2010 (12:15 PM).
                  Equin's Avatar
                  Equin Equin is offline
                  Got it memorized?
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2010
                    Posts: 55
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Antennian View Post
                    I need help with YAPE. I made a fakemon and its supposed to evolve into another fakemon, but it just stops. Can you help?
                    He needn't be any more specific. I guess after some searching, the answer is simple. You just made your fake pokemon out of a slot from the pokemon that are available after you get the National Pokedex, in the original ROM.

                    From what I've seen, it seems that until you receive the National Pokedex, pokemon entitled to it will not evolve, but stop. I assume that this was created to prevent trading abuses or something...anyway, to make the specific fake pokemon evolve correctly, either base it off a pokemon from the original pokedex entry list or have the National pokedex activated via script ingame.
                    __________________
                    Signature? I have none.
                      #16814    
                    Old November 27th, 2010 (12:34 PM). Edited November 28th, 2010 by altariaking.
                    altariaking's Avatar
                    altariaking altariaking is offline
                    Needs NO VMs...
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2009
                      Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
                      Age: 42
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Naive
                      Posts: 1,098
                      Just wondering, how exactly does Spinda work? You know how it's pattern changes? Yeah, I need to know how exactly that works, as I'm replacing it with a Pokemon that has a similar ability.

                      Just bumping this for the new page...
                      __________________
                      http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=253113
                        #16815    
                      Old November 27th, 2010 (12:44 PM).
                      Blaziquaza's Avatar
                      Blaziquaza Blaziquaza is offline
                      ...
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2009
                        Location: Whyalla, Australia
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Jolly
                        Posts: 781
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by altariaking View Post
                        Just wondering, how exactly does Spinda work? You know how it's pattern changes? Yeah, I need to know how exactly that works, as I'm replacing it with a Pokemon that has a similar ability.
                        It randomly generates the spots depending on certain things such as Trainer ID. There's more information on Bulbapedia.
                        __________________
                        Everything you say to me pushes one step closer to the edge



                        And I'm about to break
                        I need a little room to breathe...

                        Steam IGN: Hybrid Theory
                          #16816    
                        Old November 27th, 2010 (12:52 PM).
                        altariaking's Avatar
                        altariaking altariaking is offline
                        Needs NO VMs...
                           
                          Join Date: Dec 2009
                          Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
                          Age: 42
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Naive
                          Posts: 1,098
                          I know...I mean how it works as in; How does it work? How would I edit it correctly? How does it change the sprites? Where are the sprites stored? I don't want to run into a giant cow that turns out to be a Panda with spots, or a giant cow with spots from spinda all over the place.
                          __________________
                          http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=253113
                            #16817    
                          Old November 27th, 2010 (1:09 PM).
                          Antennian Antennian is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2010
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 4
                            Thankyou! You were a great help!
                              #16818    
                            Old November 27th, 2010 (1:14 PM).
                            Teh Blazer's Avatar
                            Teh Blazer Teh Blazer is offline
                            Divider of Zero
                               
                              Join Date: Feb 2009
                              Location: 'MERICA
                              Age: 21
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Relaxed
                              Posts: 768
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by altariaking View Post
                              I know...I mean how it works as in; How does it work? How would I edit it correctly? How does it change the sprites? Where are the sprites stored? I don't want to run into a giant cow that turns out to be a Panda with spots, or a giant cow with spots from spinda all over the place.
                              I think the color the Spinda has (a.k.a. the tan-ish body and everything that color) will get the random spots and such. I THINK.
                              __________________
                              Being a hero is overrated anyways
                                #16819    
                              Old November 27th, 2010 (1:49 PM).
                              TheQuagsireFactor's Avatar
                              TheQuagsireFactor TheQuagsireFactor is offline
                              TheQuagsMaster5000
                                 
                                Join Date: Nov 2010
                                Location: Long Island
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Quirky
                                Posts: 3
                                Soooo this is probably a ridiculously simple question, but then again, to say I'm a beginner at hacking/editing is a gross understatement.

                                Anyway, when I import my Ruby ROM into A-Text, it only displays the scripts until route 101. This includes;

                                The title menu
                                Continue menu
                                Options menu
                                Text speed option
                                Battle style option
                                Battle scene option
                                Sound option
                                Frame option
                                Internal battery notice
                                Prof. Birch's intro
                                In truck
                                Outside truck
                                Inside House
                                Littleroot Signs
                                Littleroot People
                                Littleroot House
                                Route 101


                                All towns, routes, and other areas after that do not appear. I know that if I wanted to search every single other dialogue I could, but I don't think there is a single person on God's green earth who would have the time to do that, including me. I've played the game passed route 101, and it works, but still the problem persists. Any ideas?
                                __________________


                                I LIKE QUAGSIRE!
                                  #16820    
                                Old November 27th, 2010 (3:52 PM).
                                Colez Colez is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2010
                                  Gender: Female
                                  Posts: 12
                                  and yet another question..

                                  Say, you wanted to remake the game completely. You'd have to rescript it, right?
                                    #16821    
                                  Old November 27th, 2010 (4:07 PM).
                                  Equin's Avatar
                                  Equin Equin is offline
                                  Got it memorized?
                                     
                                    Join Date: Nov 2010
                                    Posts: 55
                                    interes
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Antennian View Post
                                    Thankyou! You were a great help!
                                    No problem, if I really helped, I feel the same way.
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by TheQuagsireFactor View Post
                                    Soooo this is probably a ridiculously simple question [...]
                                    Tried using a different Ruby ROM?

                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Colez View Post
                                    and yet another question..

                                    Say, you wanted to remake the game completely. You'd have to rescript it, right?
                                    Define 'remake'. If by that you mean 'start from scratch' then yes, that would include rescripting everything. But completely remaking a game isn't exactly fit for ROM Hacking, right? I mean, so far no one has done it. Alternatively, Game Development might be closer to your desire, as you technically don't have a ROM to mod and "remake". (although there might be some set configurations you have to follow)

                                    Anyhow, if this also interests you, rescripting everything would mean that you must free a lot of taken space first, and I also would like to know how that can happen.
                                    __________________
                                    Signature? I have none.
                                      #16822    
                                    Old November 27th, 2010 (4:22 PM).
                                    NintendoBoyDX NintendoBoyDX is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jul 2010
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 94
                                      Problem I'm having with trainerbattle 0x09 in fire red is that it won't continue after a loss. I know it should though because the one in the oak tutorial does. Is there anything I should know about this? I'm using poket script btw.
                                        #16823    
                                      Old November 27th, 2010 (5:04 PM).
                                      Colez Colez is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2010
                                        Gender: Female
                                        Posts: 12
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Equin View Post
                                        interes
                                        No problem, if I really helped, I feel the same way.

                                        Tried using a different Ruby ROM?


                                        Define 'remake'. If by that you mean 'start from scratch' then yes, that would include rescripting everything. But completely remaking a game isn't exactly fit for ROM Hacking, right? I mean, so far no one has done it. Alternatively, might be closer to your desire, as you technically don't have a ROM to mod and "remake". (although there might be some set configurations you have to follow)

                                        Anyhow, if this also interests you, rescripting everything would mean that you must free a lot of taken space first, and

                                        Well bad phrasing on my part. Probably, so yeah.. sorry. ;;
                                          #16824    
                                        Old November 27th, 2010 (5:21 PM).
                                        colcolstyles's Avatar
                                        colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
                                        Yours truly
                                        • Crystal Tier
                                         
                                        Join Date: May 2008
                                        Location: The Bay Area
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Lonely
                                        Posts: 1,584
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by TheQuagsireFactor View Post
                                        All towns, routes, and other areas after that do not appear. I know that if I wanted to search every single other dialogue I could, but I don't think there is a single person on God's green earth who would have the time to do that, including me. I've played the game passed route 101, and it works, but still the problem persists. Any ideas?
                                        The problem is not in your ROM; it's in the INI for Advance Text. That program may not have support for every single string of text in the game. If you want to edit a string that isn't shown in Advance Text, you'll have to either use the search feature, edit the script with your preferred script editor, or use a hex editor with a table file.
                                        __________________

                                        Brother of Vrai
                                          #16825    
                                        Old November 27th, 2010 (5:26 PM).
                                        altariaking's Avatar
                                        altariaking altariaking is offline
                                        Needs NO VMs...
                                           
                                          Join Date: Dec 2009
                                          Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
                                          Age: 42
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Naive
                                          Posts: 1,098
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Teh Blazer View Post
                                          I think the color the Spinda has (a.k.a. the tan-ish body and everything that color) will get the random spots and such. I THINK.
                                          Yeah but that would mean it could go anywhere, and then it could go over places where I don't want it to go, or out the lines. So I think it's more of a place where all the spinda are stored to be edited.
                                          __________________
                                          http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=253113
                                          Closed Thread
                                          Quick Reply

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:47 AM.