ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #18276    
Old April 19th, 2011 (1:38 PM).
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
Yours truly
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 1,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zepp710 View Post
is there any way to put the physical and special type system that exists in gen IV into gen III games? If so then that would be really cool.
You should check out this thread. It's been done but apparently there are some bugs.
__________________

Brother of Vrai

Relevant Advertising!

  #18277    
Old April 19th, 2011 (2:13 PM).
Konekodemon's Avatar
Konekodemon Konekodemon is offline
The Master of Pokemon Breeding
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NC
Age: 32
Gender: Female
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,953
On Advanced Map when I placed Oak in a different spot on FireRed I can't get him to walk up to my character anymore.
__________________

Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile.php?id=231549&ref=61528
Get a Free PS3, this is no joke: http://www.YourPS34free.com/index.php?ref=5580831
  #18278    
Old April 19th, 2011 (4:24 PM).
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster Quickster is offline
Dream or Drop?
     
    Join Date: Oct 2007
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quiet
    Posts: 351
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Konekodemon View Post
    On Advanced Map when I placed Oak in a different spot on FireRed I can't get him to walk up to my character anymore.
    Sounds like all you did was move the sprite? If so, your going to have to either edit the script tile that activates his movements and add more movement commands to match the needed steps or create a new script. The reason for this is hat the script specifies that Oaks sprite is set to move a set amount of movements and not just to get to the player.
    __________________
    I laugh looking at this.

    But sometimes I want to come back to it...

      #18279    
    Old April 19th, 2011 (4:28 PM).
    Konekodemon's Avatar
    Konekodemon Konekodemon is offline
    The Master of Pokemon Breeding
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Mar 2007
    Location: NC
    Age: 32
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Gentle
    Posts: 1,953
    How do I edit scripts?.......
    __________________

    Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
    Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile.php?id=231549&ref=61528
    Get a Free PS3, this is no joke: http://www.YourPS34free.com/index.php?ref=5580831
      #18280    
    Old April 19th, 2011 (7:04 PM).
    deoxys121's Avatar
    deoxys121 deoxys121 is offline
    White Kyurem Cometh
    • Gold Tier
     
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: Flat Rock, MI, United States
    Age: 25
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Calm
    Posts: 1,260
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Konekodemon View Post
    How do I edit scripts?.......
    First, download PKSV here, it's the script editor I use. Then, set up AdvanceMap to use PKSV as the script editor. To do this, go to Settings > Choose Script Editor, then navigate to pksvui.exe. For more information on editing specific aspects of scripts, go to the Script Help Thread here. Note that script editing can be complicated and confusing; take your learning of scripts little by little.
    __________________
      #18281    
    Old April 19th, 2011 (7:09 PM).
    adamb241's Avatar
    adamb241 adamb241 is offline
    Pokémon Raging Fury
       
      Join Date: Jan 2008
      Location: New York
      Age: 24
      Nature: Brave
      Posts: 660
      Sorry if this has already been asked but I wasn't sure what exactly to search, anyways...

      How do I remove/change the script that sends the player back to his mother after all of his Pokemon die. (This only occurs before reaching the first pokemon center.)
      __________________

      \-Pokémon Raging Fury-/
      +A new project from Dark Steel Productions+
        #18282    
      Old April 19th, 2011 (7:32 PM).
      deoxys121's Avatar
      deoxys121 deoxys121 is offline
      White Kyurem Cometh
      • Gold Tier
       
      Join Date: Dec 2010
      Location: Flat Rock, MI, United States
      Age: 25
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Calm
      Posts: 1,260
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Konekodemon View Post
      Now I'm having trouble figuring out how to get the warps to go to a certain map. Also I don't know how to add my own text to the sign posts either.
      Adding your own text is part of scripting.

      For the warps, you will see the information of the selected warp in the right pane. It shows which map number it goes to, which warp on that map it goes to (they start at 0), and which map bank that map is contained in. You can see the map's map bank and map number listed next to the map name in the left pane like this (map bank, map number). This image explains information of a warp in Littleroot Town that goes to the player's house.

      __________________
        #18283    
      Old April 20th, 2011 (10:08 AM).
      Joshuablevins Joshuablevins is offline
         
        Join Date: Jul 2010
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 69
        does anybody have the offsets of all of the textboxes in fire red for unlz and a place i can find dppt textboxes?
          #18284    
        Old April 20th, 2011 (11:14 AM).
        gameguru's Avatar
        gameguru gameguru is offline
           
          Join Date: Nov 2009
          Location: Your Mind
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Careful
          Posts: 43
          I am having issues putting new sprites in Pokemon Fire Red.
          I have followed the tutorials about Indexing the sprites then inserting them with UNLZ-GBA. When I use Advance trainer, the sprite shows up fine, but when I verse the trainer in game, the screen goes black. I can still hear the music though.
          Any ideas on what i'm doing wrong?
            #18285    
          Old April 20th, 2011 (12:38 PM). Edited April 20th, 2011 by deoxys121.
          deoxys121's Avatar
          deoxys121 deoxys121 is offline
          White Kyurem Cometh
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: Dec 2010
          Location: Flat Rock, MI, United States
          Age: 25
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Calm
          Posts: 1,260
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by gameguru View Post
          I am having issues putting new sprites in Pokemon Fire Red.
          I have followed the tutorials about Indexing the sprites then inserting them with UNLZ-GBA. When I use Advance trainer, the sprite shows up fine, but when I verse the trainer in game, the screen goes black. I can still hear the music though.
          Any ideas on what i'm doing wrong?
          Most likely is that the sprites were written to an offset without enough free space. Use Free Space Finder to find an offset that has enough space. When you import the sprite, first make sure the auto-abort box is checked. It will say "compressed size is ___" which is too big. First, convert it to decimal (PKSV and a certain version of FSF can do this). Then search that decimal number in FSF. After this, copy the offset and paste it into "image offset" in UnLZ. Make SURE "Automatically fix pointers" is checked. It won't display in UnLZ, but it will show in the ROM, A-Trainer, etc. Hope that works out for you!

          ______________________________________________________________________________________________
          ______________________________________________________________________________________________

          In my Ruby hack, I replaced Shedinja with Eelektross. I removed the Wonder Guard ability, but Eelektross now only has 1 HP like Shedinja. Is there any way to remove this so Eelektross gets HP like any other Pokemon? This is shown in the screenshot below.

          __________________
            #18286    
          Old April 20th, 2011 (1:19 PM).
          Quilava's Master's Avatar
          Quilava's Master Quilava's Master is offline
          Shattered Dreams '13
             
            Join Date: Jul 2007
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 694
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by deoxys121 View Post
            Most likely is that the sprites were written to an offset without enough free space. Use Free Space Finder to find an offset that has enough space. When you import the sprite, first make sure the auto-abort box is checked. It will say "compressed size is ___" which is too big. First, convert it to decimal (PKSV and a certain version of FSF can do this). Then search that decimal number in FSF. After this, copy the offset and paste it into "image offset" in UnLZ. Make SURE "Automatically fix pointers" is checked. It won't display in UnLZ, but it will show in the ROM, A-Trainer, etc. Hope that works out for you!

            ______________________________________________________________________________________________
            ______________________________________________________________________________________________

            In my Ruby hack, I replaced Shedinja with Eelektross. I removed the Wonder Guard ability, but Eelektross now only has 1 HP like Shedinja. Is there any way to remove this so Eelektross gets HP like any other Pokemon? This is shown in the screenshot below.

            Have you edited it's base stats?
            __________________
            The return of Pokemon Shattered Dreams! Click the screenshot to visit the thread, you know you want to.
              #18287    
            Old April 20th, 2011 (1:21 PM). Edited April 20th, 2011 by deoxys121.
            deoxys121's Avatar
            deoxys121 deoxys121 is offline
            White Kyurem Cometh
            • Gold Tier
             
            Join Date: Dec 2010
            Location: Flat Rock, MI, United States
            Age: 25
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Calm
            Posts: 1,260
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Quilava's Master View Post
            Have you edited it's base stats?
            Yes, I made the base stats identical to the ones listed on Eelektross's Bulbapedia page. Here's its YAPE entry:
            __________________
              #18288    
            Old April 20th, 2011 (1:33 PM).
            Darthatron's Avatar
            Darthatron Darthatron is offline
            巨大なトロール。
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: Jan 2006
            Location: Melbourne, Australia
            Age: 25
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Modest
            Posts: 1,152
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by deoxys121 View Post
            Yes, I made the base stats identical to the ones listed on Eelektross's Bulbapedia page. Here's its YAPE entry:
            I imagine there is some check at the level up routine to see if it's Shedinja or not, making it not gain HP (or setting it to 1). This requires ASM.
            __________________
            あなた は しきしゃ です
            わたし は ばか です
              #18289    
            Old April 20th, 2011 (9:55 PM).
            baladamy's Avatar
            baladamy baladamy is offline
            Maybe One day I'll Be a Mod...
               
              Join Date: Jan 2011
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 67
              1. does anyone know where or how to get a b/w tileset for firered?? and by that, i mean i can insert it through AM without doing anything else?

              2. i found this tileset that looks AWESOME and i want to put it on my hack. I tried through AM and it didnt work. How do u "convert" the tileset for use in AM??

              (answr #2 first if u find an "unconverted b/w tileset)
              __________________
              I have nothing to say, so i say nothing.
                #18290    
              Old April 20th, 2011 (10:40 PM).
              Plumpyfoof's Avatar
              Plumpyfoof Plumpyfoof is offline
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2011
                Location: Melbourne, Australia
                Age: 23
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Sassy
                Posts: 916
                So hi,

                Yeah i'm new to the site and i wasn't exactly sure where i could ask this so feel free to move it to somewhere more appropriate.

                So down to business, I'm currently attempting to make a LG hack and it's all gone quite smoothly thanks to multiple tutorials and whatever else from this site until one thing happened.. A glitch.

                Only occasionally whenever i defeat a wild pokemon or trainer and the battle ends, the screen returns to the 'overworld' as usual except my player character is stuck there and when i try to make him move i gain control of a different trainer that was located somewhere else on the screen and can move him around in a 3x3 square.

                It shouldn't be anything wrong with my scripts because it happens when i battle trainers already in the game.

                Does anyone know how to fix this?
                The only way i can think of is by removing that script completely from the map.

                tl;dr___
                After defeating a trainer in my LG hack i can't move my hero character but instead i have limited control of a completely unrelated trainer in the area, help?
                  #18291    
                Old April 21st, 2011 (1:04 AM).
                Chiar's Avatar
                Chiar Chiar is offline
                • Silver Tier
                 
                Join Date: Feb 2011
                Posts: 327
                Just a simple question.
                What's the offset of the Pokedex giving script (Birch's) in Emerald? I want to convert it to national, but I can't find that stupid offset! xD
                  #18292    
                Old April 21st, 2011 (5:31 AM).
                Meta Paradox Meta Paradox is offline
                Researching FireRed...
                   
                  Join Date: Apr 2011
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Serious
                  Posts: 56
                  Okay. First of all, I'm sorry if I have to ask these questions of which the answers are quite obvious to most of you. Second, I'm sorry if I posted this thread in the ROM Hacking forums; this is what I've found to be of most connection to my questions [Anyway, I'm pretty sure if this is in the wrong forums it'll be moved]. Finally, I'm sorry for having to bother you for all of this fuss.

                  Now, I just wanted to ask some questions for my hack of FireRed (BPRE). Please answer these if you can; I'll appreciate the help with much gratitude.

                  First, is there a font editor or patch for FireRed? I want DPt/HGSS fonts for my hacks and edits, if possible.

                  Next, how to I import 4th Gen map tiles onto FireRed [using Advance Map 1.92 or 1.95 Beta, preferably.]? It's for that 3D attribute and I see that many hacks have adapted 4th Gen tiles instead of the same ol' FRLG graphics.

                  Third, I wanna know how to make roaming Pokémon events.

                  Lastly, how do I make day-night and season-exclusive Pokémon using prime-dialga's DNS tool? A-Map 1.95 doesn't make things different for me (also with the seasonal palletes in the map).

                  Thanks everyone, hope I get help.
                  __________________
                  Meta Paradox On The Web:
                  http://metaparadox.webs.com/
                    #18293    
                  Old April 21st, 2011 (8:06 AM).
                  -PARADOX-'s Avatar
                  -PARADOX- -PARADOX- is offline
                  Overworld Spriter :)
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2010
                    Location: Northern. Ireland.
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Relaxed
                    Posts: 74
                    Does anyone know how to fix this overworld problem i have.
                    It was working fine to begin with but when i inserted the female character overworlds into the rom. Both the male and female Hero overworlds went like this:

                    Please do not use anything from the screen uploaded, everything was redone and edited into 16 colour palettes by me, so no one can use them!
                    Attached Images
                    File Type: png bad.PNG‎ (11.6 KB, 188 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                      #18294    
                    Old April 21st, 2011 (8:13 AM).
                    ~Anbuja's Avatar
                    ~Anbuja ~Anbuja is offline
                    Let's Keep It Simple
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2010
                      Location: In Snorlax Stomach
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Lonely
                      Posts: 321
                      well another simple quesion....do someone know which are the offset of the battleboxes in fr the boxes that contain the lv hp and such in game i need them so i can hack em
                      __________________
                        #18295    
                      Old April 21st, 2011 (8:30 AM). Edited April 21st, 2011 by deoxys121.
                      deoxys121's Avatar
                      deoxys121 deoxys121 is offline
                      White Kyurem Cometh
                      • Gold Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2010
                      Location: Flat Rock, MI, United States
                      Age: 25
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Calm
                      Posts: 1,260
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Chiar View Post
                      Just a simple question.
                      What's the offset of the Pokedex giving script (Birch's) in Emerald? I want to convert it to national, but I can't find that stupid offset! xD
                      This script works in Ruby to give a National Dex, but I'm not sure about Emerald. You can give it a try, though. Set it to a person event.

                      Code:
                      #org 0xoffset
                      lock
                      faceplayer
                      checkflag 0x8000
                      writebytetooffset 0x2 0x2026B00
                      writebytetooffset 0x3 0x2026B01
                      writebytetooffset 0xDA 0x2024EBE
                      writebytetooffset 0x67 0x2026A5A
                      clearflag 0x8000
                      release
                      end
                      __________________
                        #18296    
                      Old April 21st, 2011 (5:46 PM).
                      Zepp710's Avatar
                      Zepp710 Zepp710 is offline
                      Fearaligatr
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2010
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 9
                        I looked at the post saying how to run XSE and Advance Map on mac but it didn't work for me. Any suggestions? I am a programmer and i want to learn how to script and do stuff like that so i can't wait to start on my very own hack. if someone could help me out that would be great. and also does anyone know if there is a way to make all pokemon available in a game? like in gold/silver/crystal mareep isn't available in crystal is there a way to say change that? also is there a way to add the 4th gen physical and special typing into 3rd gen games?
                          #18297    
                        Old April 21st, 2011 (6:14 PM). Edited April 21st, 2011 by colcolstyles.
                        colcolstyles's Avatar
                        colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
                        Yours truly
                        • Crystal Tier
                         
                        Join Date: May 2008
                        Location: The Bay Area
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Lonely
                        Posts: 1,584
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Chiar View Post
                        Just a simple question.
                        What's the offset of the Pokedex giving script (Birch's) in Emerald? I want to convert it to national, but I can't find that stupid offset! xD
                        It's part of the level script in Birch's Lab which is at the address '0x1F9E67'. It's one of those hidden level scripts so if you don't know how the map script data is stored, it's very difficult to locate. Just decompile the script at that address and look for the line "setflag 0x861". That enables the PokéDex in the Menu.


                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Plumpyfoof View Post
                        So hi,

                        Yeah i'm new to the site and i wasn't exactly sure where i could ask this so feel free to move it to somewhere more appropriate.

                        So down to business, I'm currently attempting to make a LG hack and it's all gone quite smoothly thanks to multiple tutorials and whatever else from this site until one thing happened.. A glitch.

                        Only occasionally whenever i defeat a wild pokemon or trainer and the battle ends, the screen returns to the 'overworld' as usual except my player character is stuck there and when i try to make him move i gain control of a different trainer that was located somewhere else on the screen and can move him around in a 3x3 square.

                        It shouldn't be anything wrong with my scripts because it happens when i battle trainers already in the game.

                        Does anyone know how to fix this?
                        The only way i can think of is by removing that script completely from the map.

                        tl;dr___
                        After defeating a trainer in my LG hack i can't move my hero character but instead i have limited control of a completely unrelated trainer in the area, help?
                        That's most likely because you set the behavior for that sprite to "Look Down". Change it to "No Movement" and it should fix the glitch.
                        __________________

                        Brother of Vrai
                          #18298    
                        Old April 21st, 2011 (11:34 PM).
                        ..Beyond's Avatar
                        ..Beyond ..Beyond is offline
                        Cut your losses.
                           
                          Join Date: Apr 2008
                          Age: 25
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Quiet
                          Posts: 124
                          I've been thinking about trying to get a netbook in order to make use of some PC-oriented programs that my Mac isn't compatible with, such as just about every hacking tool I've come across. However, I don't know what system requirements I should be looking for. Does anyone have any recommendations for things like RAM and hard drive space in relation to the best hacking programs? For instance, does a certain program work better under certain circumstances (in terms of hardware/processors/what have you)?

                          Also, I've been having trouble with patching. Is there a way to obtain a ROM that has already been patched with a completed hack? The one I was working with was Flora Sky.

                          Thanks for your help.
                          __________________
                          3DS: 0130-1895-5521

                          + + ?
                            #18299    
                          Old April 22nd, 2011 (1:07 AM).
                          Darthatron's Avatar
                          Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                          巨大なトロール。
                          • Silver Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Jan 2006
                          Location: Melbourne, Australia
                          Age: 25
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Modest
                          Posts: 1,152
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by ..Beyond View Post
                          I've been thinking about trying to get a netbook in order to make use of some PC-oriented programs that my Mac isn't compatible with, such as just about every hacking tool I've come across. However, I don't know what system requirements I should be looking for. Does anyone have any recommendations for things like RAM and hard drive space in relation to the best hacking programs? For instance, does a certain program work better under certain circumstances (in terms of hardware/processors/what have you)?

                          Also, I've been having trouble with patching. Is there a way to obtain a ROM that has already been patched with a completed hack? The one I was working with was Flora Sky.

                          Thanks for your help.
                          For ROM Hacking programs, I suggest using Windows XP, anything over 1GB of RAM will be plenty, and a 320GB Hard drive will be WAY more than you need.

                          ROM Hacking apps don't need very heavy system requirements. But if you want to emulate DS games, you'll need a better system.
                          __________________
                          あなた は しきしゃ です
                          わたし は ばか です
                            #18300    
                          Old April 22nd, 2011 (2:51 AM).
                          -PARADOX-'s Avatar
                          -PARADOX- -PARADOX- is offline
                          Overworld Spriter :)
                             
                            Join Date: Sep 2010
                            Location: Northern. Ireland.
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 74
                            Ok no-one seemed to answer me the last time, so here it goes attempt number 2 at trying to get help with my problem!!!!
                            In the following screenshot you will see that the players overworld has got lines running through it! Csn someone please tell me how to fix this....

                            Oh btw it got the lines when i inserted the female players overworlds and she too also has the same problem.

                            P.S Nothing in the screen is to be used for anyone elses hack or whatecer....
                            Closed Thread
                            Quick Reply

                            Sponsored Links
                            Thread Tools

                            Posting Rules
                            You may not post new threads
                            You may not post replies
                            You may not post attachments
                            You may not edit your posts

                            BB code is On
                            Smilies are On
                            [IMG] code is On
                            HTML code is Off

                            Forum Jump


                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:12 PM.