ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #18426    
Old May 3rd, 2011 (3:18 PM).
Janj's Avatar
Janj Janj is offline
     
    Join Date: Apr 2011
    Posts: 29
    There are a lot of questions I want to ask. Note that this is all in Leaf
    1. Can you apply a FireRed patch to a LeafGreen ROM?
    2. How do you change the gym leader and rival's Pokémon? Or is it possible to create it in C#?
    3. Is it possible to remove the battle with your rival at the start?
    4. I want the game to make Pikachu stay out of it's Poké Ball if it's in the party, you are the original trainer, and Professor Oak gave it to you. Is it possible for the game to check these flags, and if all true, make Pikachu walk behind you?

    Thank you for your help in advance!
    Sorry about all the questions... maybe Swampert could help with the coding part in #2...?

    Relevant Advertising!

      #18427    
    Old May 3rd, 2011 (4:42 PM).
    DrFuji's Avatar
    DrFuji DrFuji is offline
    Heiki Hecchara‌‌
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Sep 2009
    Location: Downia-upside
    Age: 24
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Jolly
    Posts: 1,328
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Janj View Post
    There are a lot of questions I want to ask. Note that this is all in Leaf
    1. Can you apply a FireRed patch to a LeafGreen ROM?
    2. How do you change the gym leader and rival's Pokémon? Or is it possible to create it in C#?
    3. Is it possible to remove the battle with your rival at the start?
    4. I want the game to make Pikachu stay out of it's Poké Ball if it's in the party, you are the original trainer, and Professor Oak gave it to you. Is it possible for the game to check these flags, and if all true, make Pikachu walk behind you?

    Thank you for your help in advance!
    1) No, you have to apply the patches to the ROM which they were speciffically designed for.

    2) Assuming that you're using a 3rd Gen ROM, Hackmew's A-Trainer is the best tool for changing a trainer's Pokemon.

    3.) Yes, that can be accomplished through scripting. Have a look at the avaliable tools in the Toolbox and any tutorials associated with them. I'd suggest using XSE as it is a very comprehensive tool.

    4.) There is no way to do that without using ASM (Assembly), but you can check out this thread if you want.
    __________________
      #18428    
    Old May 3rd, 2011 (7:51 PM).
    deoxys121's Avatar
    deoxys121 deoxys121 is offline
    White Kyurem Cometh
    • Gold Tier
     
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: Flat Rock, MI, United States
    Age: 26
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Calm
    Posts: 1,260
    How do you change which cry is used by the Pokemon that Prof. Birch sends out in the introduction of Ruby? I can change the image and the palette, but not the cry.
    __________________
      #18429    
    Old May 3rd, 2011 (8:37 PM).
    Shadowbane92 Shadowbane92 is offline
       
      Join Date: Apr 2011
      Location: Branxton, Australia
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Lax
      Posts: 30
      Ok, thanks for answering my questions. However, I have a few more... Is it possible to change/remove the choices oak/bich/whoever offers you in the intro. i.e forcing a certain name or gender to be selected? Also, how would I go about inserting a "movie" like the legendary battle in emerald? Oh, and can someone point me towards a tutorial or instructions on how to add additional regions in Fire Red?
      __________________

      "Stranger, go tell the Spartans
      That we lie here
      True, even to the death
      To our Spartan way of life."
      J Rufus Fears' translation of the Epitaph of Simonides

      My Challenges:

      -- Blue -8/8, 5/5- -- Crystal -6/16, 0/5- -- Ruby - 0/8, 0/5 - --
      --Platinum -0/8, 0/5- -- Black - 0/8, 0/5- --

      Ultimate Solo Challenge: Houndoom
      Fire Red -- Liquid Crystal -- Emerald -- Diamond -- Black
      Ultimate Monotype Challenge: Dragon Type
      Fire Red -- Liquid Crystal -- Sapphire -- Platinum -- Black
      Trio-Species Challenge: Glaceon, Empoleon and Garchomp
      Diamond
      The Favorite Challenge V.2:
      Black

      The Nuzlocke Challenge:
      Ruby

      Completed Challenges:
      Leaf Green Solo Challenge - Tiburon (Walrein)
        #18430    
      Old May 3rd, 2011 (9:39 PM).
      Darthatron's Avatar
      Darthatron Darthatron is offline
      巨大なトロール。
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Jan 2006
      Location: Melbourne, Australia
      Age: 26
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Modest
      Posts: 1,152
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Shadowbane92 View Post
      Ok, thanks for answering my questions. However, I have a few more... Is it possible to change/remove the choices oak/bich/whoever offers you in the intro. i.e forcing a certain name or gender to be selected? Also, how would I go about inserting a "movie" like the legendary battle in emerald? Oh, and can someone point me towards a tutorial or instructions on how to add additional regions in Fire Red?
      Every single thing you asked requires the use of ASM, which is the most advanced form of ROM Hacking. I suggest looking in to some ASM tutorials in you wish to accomplish those goals.
      __________________
      あなた は しきしゃ です
      わたし は ばか です
        #18431    
      Old May 3rd, 2011 (11:30 PM).
      Shadowbane92 Shadowbane92 is offline
         
        Join Date: Apr 2011
        Location: Branxton, Australia
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Lax
        Posts: 30
        Oh. I was hoping no-one would mention ASM...
        Well, thanks. And now for round three: Is it possible to create new moves/add gen IV and V moves to Fire Red?
        __________________

        "Stranger, go tell the Spartans
        That we lie here
        True, even to the death
        To our Spartan way of life."
        J Rufus Fears' translation of the Epitaph of Simonides

        My Challenges:

        -- Blue -8/8, 5/5- -- Crystal -6/16, 0/5- -- Ruby - 0/8, 0/5 - --
        --Platinum -0/8, 0/5- -- Black - 0/8, 0/5- --

        Ultimate Solo Challenge: Houndoom
        Fire Red -- Liquid Crystal -- Emerald -- Diamond -- Black
        Ultimate Monotype Challenge: Dragon Type
        Fire Red -- Liquid Crystal -- Sapphire -- Platinum -- Black
        Trio-Species Challenge: Glaceon, Empoleon and Garchomp
        Diamond
        The Favorite Challenge V.2:
        Black

        The Nuzlocke Challenge:
        Ruby

        Completed Challenges:
        Leaf Green Solo Challenge - Tiburon (Walrein)
          #18432    
        Old May 3rd, 2011 (11:36 PM).
        Crimson Stardust's Avatar
        Crimson Stardust Crimson Stardust is offline
        Anime Addiction
           
          Join Date: Mar 2009
          Location: It is for me to noe and all of you to find out
          Age: 24
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 1,300
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Shadowbane92 View Post
          Oh. I was hoping no-one would mention ASM...
          Well, thanks. And now for round three: Is it possible to create new moves/add gen IV and V moves to Fire Red?
          What i know is that you could edit the attack available to how or what you want..
          But adding new one i am not sure..xD
          __________________



            #18433    
          Old May 4th, 2011 (12:00 AM).
          Darthatron's Avatar
          Darthatron Darthatron is offline
          巨大なトロール。
          • Silver Tier
           
          Join Date: Jan 2006
          Location: Melbourne, Australia
          Age: 26
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 1,152
          Possible, but it's never been done as it requires lots of research. :\
          __________________
          あなた は しきしゃ です
          わたし は ばか です
            #18434    
          Old May 4th, 2011 (5:28 AM). Edited May 4th, 2011 by Shadowbane92.
          Shadowbane92 Shadowbane92 is offline
             
            Join Date: Apr 2011
            Location: Branxton, Australia
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Lax
            Posts: 30
            Ok. How does one go about editing an attack?

            EDIT: Whoops, never mind. I found your Attack Editor Pro, Darthatron.

            Thanks heaps, guys. This should keep me busy for a while.
            __________________

            "Stranger, go tell the Spartans
            That we lie here
            True, even to the death
            To our Spartan way of life."
            J Rufus Fears' translation of the Epitaph of Simonides

            My Challenges:

            -- Blue -8/8, 5/5- -- Crystal -6/16, 0/5- -- Ruby - 0/8, 0/5 - --
            --Platinum -0/8, 0/5- -- Black - 0/8, 0/5- --

            Ultimate Solo Challenge: Houndoom
            Fire Red -- Liquid Crystal -- Emerald -- Diamond -- Black
            Ultimate Monotype Challenge: Dragon Type
            Fire Red -- Liquid Crystal -- Sapphire -- Platinum -- Black
            Trio-Species Challenge: Glaceon, Empoleon and Garchomp
            Diamond
            The Favorite Challenge V.2:
            Black

            The Nuzlocke Challenge:
            Ruby

            Completed Challenges:
            Leaf Green Solo Challenge - Tiburon (Walrein)
              #18435    
            Old May 4th, 2011 (6:02 AM).
            metapod23's Avatar
            metapod23 metapod23 is offline
            Hardened Trainer
               
              Join Date: Mar 2009
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Timid
              Posts: 673
              This may be a stupid question, but is there a way (a certain program or something) to view an assembly routine/code? Like to translate the hex version into the assembly instruction version (the same way XSE translates the hex version of a script to a readable language)?
              __________________
                #18436    
              Old May 4th, 2011 (6:14 AM). Edited May 4th, 2011 by Darthatron.
              Darthatron's Avatar
              Darthatron Darthatron is offline
              巨大なトロール。
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Jan 2006
              Location: Melbourne, Australia
              Age: 26
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Modest
              Posts: 1,152
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by metapod23 View Post
              This may be a stupid question, but is there a way (a certain program or something) to view an assembly routine/code? Like to translate the hex version into the assembly instruction version (the same way XSE translates the hex version of a script to a readable language)?
              IDA pro can do that. But you're better off using an emulator in debug mode.

              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Shadowbane92 View Post
              Ok. How does one go about editing an attack?

              EDIT: Whoops, never mind. I found your Attack Editor Pro, Darthatron.

              Thanks heaps, guys. This should keep me busy for a while.
              Now I'm answering questions without posting. I'm amazing!!
              __________________
              あなた は しきしゃ です
              わたし は ばか です
                #18437    
              Old May 4th, 2011 (8:28 AM).
              metapod23's Avatar
              metapod23 metapod23 is offline
              Hardened Trainer
                 
                Join Date: Mar 2009
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Timid
                Posts: 673
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
                IDA pro can do that. But you're better off using an emulator in debug mode.
                Is there a way to just put in the offset of an assembled routine and view it in asm language, like you would do with a script in XSE? Or to take hex data and convert it to asm language?
                __________________
                  #18438    
                Old May 4th, 2011 (12:09 PM).
                colcolstyles's Avatar
                colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
                Yours truly
                • Crystal Tier
                 
                Join Date: May 2008
                Location: The Bay Area
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Lonely
                Posts: 1,590
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by metapod23 View Post
                Is there a way to just put in the offset of an assembled routine and view it in asm language, like you would do with a script in XSE? Or to take hex data and convert it to asm language?
                You can do that in VBA with "Tools > Disassembler" or in VBA-SDL-H with the statement "dt ADDRESS" (or "da" if you're disassembling ARM routines).
                __________________

                Brother of Vrai
                  #18439    
                Old May 4th, 2011 (12:31 PM).
                Cao Pi's Avatar
                Cao Pi Cao Pi is offline
                   
                  Join Date: May 2011
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 6
                  ok So someone already answered my question of which was the best rom to hack but now my question is which pokemon game(rom) is the easiest and most user friendly to hack? I am a complete beginner and I don't know anything about this stuff so my question is which one would you recommend to me? Please don't say that they all have their ups and downs or something like that. If that is the honest answer then if you could please tell me which one in particular you would recommend just based off personal experience when you were a beginner that would be great.(hope that made sense)
                  __________________
                  The Dark Prince of Wei.
                    #18440    
                  Old May 4th, 2011 (1:09 PM).
                  deoxys121's Avatar
                  deoxys121 deoxys121 is offline
                  White Kyurem Cometh
                  • Gold Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2010
                  Location: Flat Rock, MI, United States
                  Age: 26
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Calm
                  Posts: 1,260
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Cao Pi View Post
                  ok So someone already answered my question of which was the best rom to hack but now my question is which pokemon game(rom) is the easiest and most user friendly to hack? I am a complete beginner and I don't know anything about this stuff so my question is which one would you recommend to me? Please don't say that they all have their ups and downs or something like that. If that is the honest answer then if you could please tell me which one in particular you would recommend just based off personal experience when you were a beginner that would be great.(hope that made sense)
                  Well, I'm hacking Pokemon Ruby right now, and it's easier for me than FireRed has been. Then again, it's just what I'm used to. But, I can recommend it from personal experience. Note that since you're just a beginner you should take some time to hack experimentally so you can learn the ropes of hacking. I was at your position over a year ago, and I'm just now doing my first major hack.
                  __________________
                    #18441    
                  Old May 4th, 2011 (4:54 PM).
                  Swellow rules Swellow rules is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2007
                    Location: Calgary, AB
                    Posts: 23
                    Question: What does the palette offset for the pokemon on the titlescreen (Charizard) change to if you repoint (right word?) the image?
                      #18442    
                    Old May 4th, 2011 (5:14 PM).
                    guitarmaster's Avatar
                    guitarmaster guitarmaster is offline
                       
                      Join Date: May 2011
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 2
                      Is there a faster way to block editor buildings and houses, etc? Instead of editing one block at a time because I can never seem to find the right block when I try to edit it.
                        #18443    
                      Old May 4th, 2011 (5:18 PM).
                      Janj's Avatar
                      Janj Janj is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Apr 2011
                        Posts: 29
                        With my ROM, I use the create new map or whatever that takes the characteristics of the old map. In one map, it's supposed to be where there are no "L R help" signs. However in the other map, the sign is there! In the first map, it says "Don't disturb MOM!" In the other, it just copies off the other one. If I do the second map then the first map, it still doesn't work!

                        EDIT: Also, this is affecting the second line of the TV script (both maps). It's supposed to say it's 11:00, but it changes to the don't disturb mom line.
                          #18444    
                        Old May 4th, 2011 (6:31 PM).
                        neosiotype neosiotype is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2009
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 8
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by guitarmaster View Post
                          Is there a faster way to block editor buildings and houses, etc? Instead of editing one block at a time because I can never seem to find the right block when I try to edit it.
                          What was it? The grosser tool or something? With advance map I think you can hold ctrl, right click and drag to select many blocks at once. You should put on the grid so you'll know where to drop it (houses, tree's, ect.)
                          ---------------
                          As for my two questions:

                          1) I've been using Advance text with my hack mainly because it's really fast to edit what the character's say. However sometimes when I test my hack I find some phrases are in places they are not suppose to be or a character may say something with a lot of weird symbols. I go back into advance text and find this stuff has mysteriously cropped up.

                          2) I put down some puddles in my forest and changed the weather where the clouds pass over the puddles. However when I test this out I'm finding the clouds are also passing under the top tree tiles.
                            #18445    
                          Old May 4th, 2011 (8:18 PM).
                          deoxys121's Avatar
                          deoxys121 deoxys121 is offline
                          White Kyurem Cometh
                          • Gold Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Dec 2010
                          Location: Flat Rock, MI, United States
                          Age: 26
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Calm
                          Posts: 1,260
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Swellow rules View Post
                          Question: What does the palette offset for the pokemon on the titlescreen (Charizard) change to if you repoint (right word?) the image?
                          Whenever you repoint JUST the image, it will still use the same palette. You will have to either repoint the palette to the one you want to use or edit the existing one. In other words, if you put a new image in and repointed the game to it, the palette is still at the same offset.
                          __________________
                            #18446    
                          Old May 5th, 2011 (4:02 AM).
                          userBlue userBlue is offline
                             
                            Join Date: May 2011
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 1
                            Hi guys, I´ve a simple question to ask:

                            Is it possible to edit a ROM solely by adding content? If I wanted to take fire red, and just add events after e4, like gyms, etc... only modifying small details like trainer card, to fit the extra badges, and stuff.. could it be done?
                              #18447    
                            Old May 5th, 2011 (4:14 AM).
                            Binary's Avatar
                            Binary Binary is offline
                            え?
                               
                              Join Date: Aug 2007
                              Age: 23
                              Posts: 3,994
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by userBlue View Post
                              Hi guys, I´ve a simple question to ask:

                              Is it possible to edit a ROM solely by adding content? If I wanted to take fire red, and just add events after e4, like gyms, etc... only modifying small details like trainer card, to fit the extra badges, and stuff.. could it be done?
                              Yes, I would say it is. Even while making ROM hacks, we're adding content to the ROM, which wasn't previously in the ROM. With sufficient knowledge, you'll be able to accomplish it.
                              __________________
                                #18448    
                              Old May 5th, 2011 (5:55 AM).
                              Swellow rules Swellow rules is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2007
                                Location: Calgary, AB
                                Posts: 23
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by deoxys121 View Post
                                Whenever you repoint JUST the image, it will still use the same palette. You will have to either repoint the palette to the one you want to use or edit the existing one. In other words, if you put a new image in and repointed the game to it, the palette is still at the same offset.
                                Are you sure, I repointed a sprite but even when I change the palette it still uses this blue and yellow palette.

                                http: //i710.photobucket.com/albums/ww103/dominicshill/yo.png
                                  #18449    
                                Old May 5th, 2011 (7:09 AM).
                                MattyBoyIs's Avatar
                                MattyBoyIs MattyBoyIs is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Feb 2010
                                  Posts: 25
                                  hey there, i had a quick question i wanted to ask. i have been messing around with hacks and scripts for a while now and i can neva seem to get the hang of indexing new sprites from diamond/pearl and so on. i also cant seem to import new tiles either. so my question is, is there a hacked rom that has these things in them? credits will be given if published here or anywhere else. or is there any links to tutorial videos and tile files? I really want to start creating my own hack but i dont want to use basic tiles and want to have D/P/Plt pokemon/sprites.

                                  Anyone got anything?

                                  (ps. i have searched the forum for such and answer and came up with nothing. big forum and hard to find things, sorry if its already been answered)
                                    #18450    
                                  Old May 5th, 2011 (7:15 AM).
                                  moudinho's Avatar
                                  moudinho moudinho is offline
                                  Moudinho Of All Trades
                                     
                                    Join Date: Apr 2011
                                    Location: Singapore
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Careful
                                    Posts: 27
                                    Alright, a simple question.Is it possible to put in more than 386 pokemon into your hack?As far as i know its not possible to add pokemons,as ive tried,but,does anyone know if its possible,how to increase without replacing any existing pokemon?

                                    PS:ITS A SHAME TO REMOVE ANY!!!!!LOL
                                    Closed Thread

                                    Quick Reply

                                    Join the conversation!

                                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                    Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                    Sponsored Links
                                    Thread Tools

                                    Posting Rules
                                    You may not post new threads
                                    You may not post replies
                                    You may not post attachments
                                    You may not edit your posts

                                    BB code is On
                                    Smilies are On
                                    [IMG] code is On
                                    HTML code is Off

                                    Forum Jump


                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 8:04 AM.