ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #18601    
Old May 24th, 2011 (12:02 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
  • Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 14,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcrobert View Post
All of the trainers that I've added to my hack of Emerald use random items when their pokemon get status ailments. So far I've seen them use Metal Coat, Light Ball, Black Belt, Everstone, and Soul Dew. The message is always "[item] cured [ailment]" even though they have no actual in-battle effect.

I created them with A-trainer but double-checked with a hex editor and can't find the problem. Help?
Maybe Emerald isn't on good terms with A-Trainer?
I've seen lots of options that Emerald might not be compatible with some tools...
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

Anime List | PSN Trophy List

Relevant Advertising!

  #18602    
Old May 24th, 2011 (12:21 PM).
POKEMONMASTER260 POKEMONMASTER260 is offline
     
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Posts: 139
    Where are the unLZ #s for item images in Ruby? Apparently RS isn't compatible with the Item Image Editor...
      #18603    
    Old May 24th, 2011 (5:04 PM).
    Conan Edogawa's Avatar
    Conan Edogawa Conan Edogawa is offline
    One Truth Prevails
       
      Join Date: Jan 2009
      Location: Massachusetts
      Nature: Relaxed
      Posts: 1,061
      Does anyone know if there is a more efficient way of ripping tiles from a GBC rom than using VBA? IF someone could help me by giving a quick description or anything it owuld be greatly appreciated.
      __________________
        #18604    
      Old May 25th, 2011 (4:33 AM).
      EarthQuake EarthQuake is offline
         
        Join Date: May 2011
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 2
        hi,i'm new to the pokecommunity.....forum, fistly sorry for my english isn't as good as yours.... 2ndly... I'm trying to make a hacked ruby version and i don't know.... how to change the old pokemon names to give names to the new pokemons that i've added into rom.... thanx for your patience and your answers
          #18605    
        Old May 25th, 2011 (5:27 AM).
        Rasenshurikenbum's Avatar
        Rasenshurikenbum Rasenshurikenbum is offline
        ASM is very cool!
           
          Join Date: Apr 2011
          Location: Poland
          Age: 21
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 70
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by POKEMONMASTER260 View Post
          Where are the unLZ #s for item images in Ruby? Apparently RS isn't compatible with the Item Image Editor...
          RS games do not have item images... they're in emerald, firered and leafgreen only...
            #18606    
          Old May 25th, 2011 (8:05 AM).
          EarthQuake EarthQuake is offline
             
            Join Date: May 2011
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 2
            hi.....i'm new to pokecommunity.... i'm trying to hack GBA roms.... like Leafgreen and ruby... but.... i've made ....a few changes like new pokemons...additions in maps etc..... with a variety of tools i found... but.... i don't know how to change previous pokemon name...to a new one.... for my new sprite..... any suggestions of programs that can change names of pokemons in-battle or in-pokedex or... both? ..... GBA roms only thanx in advance
              #18607    
            Old May 25th, 2011 (11:11 AM).
            Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
            Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
            Memento Mori
            • Gold Tier
             
            Join Date: Jul 2008
            Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
            Age: 24
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Calm
            Posts: 14,466
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by EarthQuake View Post
            hi.....i'm new to pokecommunity.... i'm trying to hack GBA roms.... like Leafgreen and ruby... but.... i've made ....a few changes like new pokemons...additions in maps etc..... with a variety of tools i found... but.... i don't know how to change previous pokemon name...to a new one.... for my new sprite..... any suggestions of programs that can change names of pokemons in-battle or in-pokedex or... both? ..... GBA roms only thanx in advance
            From what I've decrypted (xD) I suppose you want to change e.g. Bulbasaur to Greenland. Well there's nothing easier :D
            Download and use YAPE 0.9. You can download it from thread here.
            __________________
            ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

            Anime List | PSN Trophy List
              #18608    
            Old May 25th, 2011 (11:14 AM).
            0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
            0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
            Im comin' home...
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: Jan 2008
            Location: Superjail Penitentiary
            Age: 24
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Gentle
            Posts: 1,812
            I dunno how "simple" this would be, but I'm looking to decompile special commands, to ASM.
            I know it's been done before by JPAN and others, but I'd like to know how as well, so I can learn from it, I've been trying to pick up ASM, and I think it would help.

            Any ideas, methods?
            __________________
            >Boot Jailbot
            >Pass *****
            .
            .
            Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
            Greetings Warden
            of Superjail Penitentiary
            Awaiting user input...

            >Display User_Info
            ╠══User Info══╣
            Username:
            0m3GA ARS3NAL
            Age: 18
            Sex: Male ♂
            Race: Caucasian
            Quote:
            "What is this
            I don't even..."

            M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
            ╠══End of File══╣
            Awaiting user input...

            >
              #18609    
            Old May 25th, 2011 (11:22 AM).
            colcolstyles's Avatar
            colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
            Yours truly
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: May 2008
            Location: The Bay Area
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Lonely
            Posts: 1,584
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
            I dunno how "simple" this would be, but I'm looking to decompile special commands, to ASM.
            I know it's been done before by JPAN and others, but I'd like to know how as well, so I can learn from it, I've been trying to pick up ASM, and I think it would help.

            Any ideas, methods?
            Using a debugger, put a breakpoint on a script with a 'special' command and then follow the routines until you find the address of the 'special' table. It should be pretty apparent when you see it.
            __________________

            Brother of Vrai
              #18610    
            Old May 25th, 2011 (11:29 AM).
            0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
            0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
            Im comin' home...
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: Jan 2008
            Location: Superjail Penitentiary
            Age: 24
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Gentle
            Posts: 1,812
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
            Using a debugger, put a breakpoint on a script with a 'special' command and then follow the routines until you find the address of the 'special' table. It should be pretty apparent when you see it.
            I'm not too awesome with debuggers... I've got no$gba debug mode, but where would I put that breakpoint? Where in the RAM is the currently executing script held? It's these kind of questions that leave me kinda blank...
            __________________
            >Boot Jailbot
            >Pass *****
            .
            .
            Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
            Greetings Warden
            of Superjail Penitentiary
            Awaiting user input...

            >Display User_Info
            ╠══User Info══╣
            Username:
            0m3GA ARS3NAL
            Age: 18
            Sex: Male ♂
            Race: Caucasian
            Quote:
            "What is this
            I don't even..."

            M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
            ╠══End of File══╣
            Awaiting user input...

            >
              #18611    
            Old May 25th, 2011 (12:55 PM).
            colcolstyles's Avatar
            colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
            Yours truly
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: May 2008
            Location: The Bay Area
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Lonely
            Posts: 1,584
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
            I'm not too awesome with debuggers... I've got no$gba debug mode, but where would I put that breakpoint? Where in the RAM is the currently executing script held? It's these kind of questions that leave me kinda blank...
            Here are the special tables:
            Code:
            Fire Red:	15fd60
            Emerald:	1dba64
            Ruby:		14b194
            __________________

            Brother of Vrai
              #18612    
            Old May 25th, 2011 (12:56 PM).
            glitchyred21's Avatar
            glitchyred21 glitchyred21 is offline
            Wants a Hug- And Your Soul
               
              Join Date: May 2011
              Location: A bootleg copy of Pokemon Red
              Posts: 3
              Hello.
              I am trying to make a Pokemon GlitchyRed hack (y'know, the creepypasta) and am having a few problems. It may be important to note I am using a mac and opening all my stuff with Winebottler.

              1. When I create a custom event, the Open Script button is completely grayed out and I can't edit the event.
              2. When I open unLZ-gba and put my ROM into it, it always looks weird and glitchy. See the attachment for a screenshot.

              How can I fix these problems?
              Attached Images
              File Type: jpg Weird unLZ-gba.jpg‎ (48.1 KB, 17 views) (Save to Dropbox)
              __________________

              Pokemon GlitchyRed Version- Coming Soon
              When I figure out how to use AdvanceMap!
                #18613    
              Old May 25th, 2011 (2:43 PM).
              Alomar's Avatar
              Alomar Alomar is offline
              Follow me on Twitter @Daubs
                 
                Join Date: May 2011
                Location: Green Bay, Wisconsin
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Lax
                Posts: 58
                OK. So I am getting quite aggravated with Emerald. Countless times when I compile my scripts, then test them, they work fine of course, until the end it nearly everytime does this annoying glitch and says "Trainer Registered in the PokeNav!" or plays Battle Frontier music, and then the game freezes. what the hell is this caused by...? It's not my flags im using, or vars, I've tried countless different ones and still no luck? it seems to be just on level scripts majorly, but also occurs after applymovements too.

                I'm deeply frustrated with this. DEEPLY
                  #18614    
                Old May 25th, 2011 (3:01 PM).
                Quilava's Master's Avatar
                Quilava's Master Quilava's Master is offline
                Shattered Dreams '13
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2007
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 694
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by glitchyred21 View Post
                  Hello.
                  I am trying to make a Pokemon GlitchyRed hack (y'know, the creepypasta) and am having a few problems. It may be important to note I am using a mac and opening all my stuff with Winebottler.

                  1. When I create a custom event, the Open Script button is completely grayed out and I can't edit the event.
                  2. When I open unLZ-gba and put my ROM into it, it always looks weird and glitchy. See the attachment for a screenshot.

                  How can I fix these problems?
                  I don't understand your first question. Care to clarify? For the second question that's not a glitch. unLZ-gba opens the images in the game you have to search for the particular one you want.
                  __________________
                  The return of Pokemon Shattered Dreams! Click the screenshot to visit the thread, you know you want to.
                    #18615    
                  Old May 25th, 2011 (4:31 PM).
                  glitchyred21's Avatar
                  glitchyred21 glitchyred21 is offline
                  Wants a Hug- And Your Soul
                     
                    Join Date: May 2011
                    Location: A bootleg copy of Pokemon Red
                    Posts: 3
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Quilava's Master View Post
                    I don't understand your first question. Care to clarify? For the second question that's not a glitch. unLZ-gba opens the images in the game you have to search for the particular one you want.
                    Let's say I want to warp to the top of Mt. Ember from Victory Road (I accidentally deleted all the events on this map, so I need to make a new one). I set the amount of warps I need, click create events, and the warp appears. When I select said warp, I cannot open the script. AdvanceMap will not let me select the option.
                    And what do you mean by "unLZ-gba opens the images in the game"? Can you clarify, please?
                    __________________

                    Pokemon GlitchyRed Version- Coming Soon
                    When I figure out how to use AdvanceMap!
                      #18616    
                    Old May 25th, 2011 (6:19 PM).
                    ChimeraReiax ChimeraReiax is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Feb 2011
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 23
                      Okay, something that's been bugging me for a while is modulation in music. This bugs me because when you listen to music in Black and White, the instruments sound very amazing because they have modulation modifications (no pun intended). However, if you export the MIDI files from VGMTrans, the modulation won't be kept because VGMTrans doesn't work with modulation. Even if you play a song in VGMTrans, like the rare wild pokemon battle, it'll have the organ play without the shifting pitch we hear in the game.

                      Now, apparently some people know how to do this, but won't tell. One is the infamous utuber6061, who posted a video recently, which was a hybrid mix of the RSE wild battle music and the BW Rare wild battle music.



                      But here's the thing: when he imported it originally into the game, it sounded like this (go to 2:03):



                      As you can tell, the difference is quite noticeable, and usually preferable with the modulation.

                      Now my question is, does anyone know how to "emulate" the DS modulation settings in a music/sound player? If we can do this, then DS music editing can be greatly improved, because doing so will let musicians hear what their final product will sound like without trial-and-erroring in a hex editor.
                        #18617    
                      Old May 25th, 2011 (7:39 PM).
                      0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                      0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                      Im comin' home...
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2008
                      Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                      Age: 24
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Gentle
                      Posts: 1,812
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
                      Here are the special tables:
                      Code:
                      Fire Red:	15fd60
                      Emerald:	1dba64
                      Ruby:		14b194
                      That's no help to me, I mean it is, but I want to know how to find everything myself, I just have no idea how to do so...
                      __________________
                      >Boot Jailbot
                      >Pass *****
                      .
                      .
                      Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                      Greetings Warden
                      of Superjail Penitentiary
                      Awaiting user input...

                      >Display User_Info
                      ╠══User Info══╣
                      Username:
                      0m3GA ARS3NAL
                      Age: 18
                      Sex: Male ♂
                      Race: Caucasian
                      Quote:
                      "What is this
                      I don't even..."

                      M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                      ╠══End of File══╣
                      Awaiting user input...

                      >
                        #18618    
                      Old May 25th, 2011 (7:44 PM).
                      colcolstyles's Avatar
                      colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
                      Yours truly
                      • Crystal Tier
                       
                      Join Date: May 2008
                      Location: The Bay Area
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Lonely
                      Posts: 1,584
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
                      That's no help to me, I mean it is, but I want to know how to find everything myself, I just have no idea how to do so...
                      1. Take the number of the special you want to disassemble and multiply it by four
                      2. Add that number to one of the addresses provided in that table
                      3. Go to the newly-offset address in a hex editor and write down the address there
                      3. Disassemble the routine at that address (the one you wrote down) in VBA's Disassembler or in VBA-SDL-H with 'dt ADDRESS'
                      __________________

                      Brother of Vrai
                        #18619    
                      Old May 25th, 2011 (8:14 PM).
                      0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                      0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                      Im comin' home...
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2008
                      Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                      Age: 24
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Gentle
                      Posts: 1,812
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
                      1. Take the number of the special you want to disassemble and multiply it by four
                      2. Add that number to one of the addresses provided in that table
                      3. Go to the newly-offset address in a hex editor and write down the address there
                      3. Disassemble the routine at that address (the one you wrote down) in VBA's Disassembler or in VBA-SDL-H with 'dt ADDRESS'
                      I mean finding the table itself.
                      I don't mean to be a bother, I'm just trying to learn this.
                      __________________
                      >Boot Jailbot
                      >Pass *****
                      .
                      .
                      Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                      Greetings Warden
                      of Superjail Penitentiary
                      Awaiting user input...

                      >Display User_Info
                      ╠══User Info══╣
                      Username:
                      0m3GA ARS3NAL
                      Age: 18
                      Sex: Male ♂
                      Race: Caucasian
                      Quote:
                      "What is this
                      I don't even..."

                      M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                      ╠══End of File══╣
                      Awaiting user input...

                      >
                        #18620    
                      Old May 25th, 2011 (8:21 PM).
                      Alomar's Avatar
                      Alomar Alomar is offline
                      Follow me on Twitter @Daubs
                         
                        Join Date: May 2011
                        Location: Green Bay, Wisconsin
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Lax
                        Posts: 58
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Alomar View Post
                        OK. So I am getting quite aggravated with Emerald. Countless times when I compile my scripts, then test them, they work fine of course, until the end it nearly everytime does this annoying glitch and says "Trainer Registered in the PokeNav!" or plays Battle Frontier music, and then the game freezes. what the hell is this caused by...? It's not my flags im using, or vars, I've tried countless different ones and still no luck? it seems to be just on level scripts majorly, but also occurs after applymovements too.

                        I'm deeply frustrated with this. DEEPLY
                        I really need some help here so I can continue scripting lol, so any would be much appreciated.
                          #18621    
                        Old May 25th, 2011 (10:34 PM).
                        Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                        Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                        Memento Mori
                        • Gold Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2008
                        Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                        Age: 24
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Calm
                        Posts: 14,466
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by glitchyred21 View Post
                        And what do you mean by "unLZ-gba opens the images in the game"? Can you clarify, please?
                        It means that picture you've shown us is not glitchy at all xD
                        You must move to over 600 number to be able to see "normal" picture such as pokemon sprites =)
                        __________________
                        ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                        Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                          #18622    
                        Old May 26th, 2011 (5:39 AM). Edited May 26th, 2011 by Rasenshurikenbum.
                        Rasenshurikenbum's Avatar
                        Rasenshurikenbum Rasenshurikenbum is offline
                        ASM is very cool!
                           
                          Join Date: Apr 2011
                          Location: Poland
                          Age: 21
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Relaxed
                          Posts: 70
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by EarthQuake View Post
                          hi.....i'm new to pokecommunity.... i'm trying to hack GBA roms.... like Leafgreen and ruby... but.... i've made ....a few changes like new pokemons...additions in maps etc..... with a variety of tools i found... but.... i don't know how to change previous pokemon name...to a new one.... for my new sprite..... any suggestions of programs that can change names of pokemons in-battle or in-pokedex or... both? ..... GBA roms only thanx in advance
                          Use YAPE (Yet Another Pokemon Editor)

                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by ChimeraReiax View Post
                          Okay, something that's been bugging me for a while is modulation in music. (...) If we can do this, then DS music editing can be greatly improved, because doing so will let musicians hear what their final product will sound like without trial-and-erroring in a hex editor.
                          Just go to that site:
                          h t t p : / / w w w . g a m e s e n t r y x . n e t / s h o w t h r e a d . p h p ? t = 1 2 2 & p a g e = 1 (remove spaces cause I have only 8 posts...)
                            #18623    
                          Old May 26th, 2011 (8:25 AM).
                          Binary's Avatar
                          Binary Binary is offline
                          え?
                             
                            Join Date: Aug 2007
                            Age: 22
                            Posts: 3,993
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Conan Edogawa View Post
                            Does anyone know if there is a more efficient way of ripping tiles from a GBC rom than using VBA? IF someone could help me by giving a quick description or anything it owuld be greatly appreciated.
                            Try using a 1st gen map editor like PokeMap, or a 2nd gen map editor like Gold Map (depending on the game you want to rip the tiles from). I've never tried it myself, but I think it would be much more easier and efficient than ripping tiles using VBA.
                            __________________
                              #18624    
                            Old May 26th, 2011 (8:51 AM).
                            Conan Edogawa's Avatar
                            Conan Edogawa Conan Edogawa is offline
                            One Truth Prevails
                               
                              Join Date: Jan 2009
                              Location: Massachusetts
                              Nature: Relaxed
                              Posts: 1,061
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Binary View Post

                              Try using a 1st gen map editor like PokeMap, or a 2nd gen map editor like Gold Map (depending on the game you want to rip the tiles from). I've never tried it myself, but I think it would be much more easier and efficient than ripping tiles using VBA.
                              I'm actually trying to rip them from a game other than pokemon, so I'm not sure those programs would work. Is there a program that can dump the graphics in a readable format, similar to something like Tahaxan?
                              __________________
                                #18625    
                              Old May 26th, 2011 (12:19 PM).
                              Swellow rules Swellow rules is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2007
                                Location: Calgary, AB
                                Posts: 23
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by glitchyred21 View Post
                                Let's say I want to warp to the top of Mt. Ember from Victory Road (I accidentally deleted all the events on this map, so I need to make a new one). I set the amount of warps I need, click create events, and the warp appears. When I select said warp, I cannot open the script. AdvanceMap will not let me select the option.
                                Warps don't use scripts. Just adjust the things that say "To warp no.", "Map bank" and "Map" to select the map you want to warp to.
                                Closed Thread
                                Quick Reply

                                Sponsored Links
                                Thread Tools

                                Posting Rules
                                You may not post new threads
                                You may not post replies
                                You may not post attachments
                                You may not edit your posts

                                BB code is On
                                Smilies are On
                                [IMG] code is On
                                HTML code is Off

                                Forum Jump


                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:19 AM.