ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #18626    
Old May 26th, 2011 (1:45 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conan Edogawa View Post
I'm actually trying to rip them from a game other than pokemon, so I'm not sure those programs would work. Is there a program that can dump the graphics in a readable format, similar to something like Tahaxan?
Well the graphics wont be in a READABLE format, but you can rip images that aren't compressed directly from just about any ROM with Tile Molester.
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>

Relevant Advertising!

  #18627    
Old May 26th, 2011 (3:49 PM).
glitchyred21's Avatar
glitchyred21 glitchyred21 is offline
Wants a Hug- And Your Soul
     
    Join Date: May 2011
    Location: A bootleg copy of Pokemon Red
    Posts: 3
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post
    It means that picture you've shown us is not glitchy at all xD
    You must move to over 600 number to be able to see "normal" picture such as pokemon sprites =)
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Swellow rules View Post
    Warps don't use scripts. Just adjust the things that say "To warp no.", "Map bank" and "Map" to select the map you want to warp to.
    Thanks for the help, Ash493 and Swellow rules!
    __________________

    Pokemon GlitchyRed Version- Coming Soon
    When I figure out how to use AdvanceMap!
      #18628    
    Old May 26th, 2011 (9:06 PM).
    darkprince909 darkprince909 is offline
       
      Join Date: May 2008
      Gender:
      Posts: 79
      so, im trying to have two different grass patches in my hack of fire red, one normal (green) and the other snowy (white, of course). i was able to use APE to change the animation's palette to the one my tiles use, and i used a HEX editor to unlock the tall grass animation for the snowy grass. however, i have no idea how to work tile molester, and i cant seem to follow any of the tutorials ive found. i just need to change the tall grass animation tiles to the new snowy ones. could someone explain how to do it for someone who's never used tile molester? also, will it be possible for the two grass patches to have two seperate palettes, or at least be colored how i need them without messing any other tiles up? if so, awesome! if not, ill be sad

      thanks in advance for the help

      (btw, is it ironic that i can work a hex editor but not tile molester?)
        #18629    
      Old May 27th, 2011 (3:24 AM).
      MysteriousAmnesiacGirl's Avatar
      MysteriousAmnesiacGirl MysteriousAmnesiacGirl is offline
         
        Join Date: May 2011
        Posts: 1
        I'm planning to do a hack for Pokemon Gold, but the mechanics I'm asking about hacking are in all pokemon games. I'm wondering if it would be a possible to;

        A) Make the game reset on Blacking/Whiting Out (preferably after the message).

        B) Make the Daycare Centre be able to take many unneeded pokemon from the player, but not store them in memory, so they can't retrieved later.
          #18630    
        Old May 27th, 2011 (10:19 AM).
        Blue Pokémon Special's Avatar
        Blue Pokémon Special Blue Pokémon Special is offline
           
          Join Date: May 2011
          Posts: 2
          Hello!
          How do I change Sprites character of Pokémon Red/Blue?

          Please answer the question.
            #18631    
          Old May 27th, 2011 (11:11 AM).
          colcolstyles's Avatar
          colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
          Yours truly
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: May 2008
          Location: The Bay Area
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Lonely
          Posts: 1,584
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
          I mean finding the table itself.
          I don't mean to be a bother, I'm just trying to learn this.
          That's not a simple question. That's worthy of an entire tutorial, really.
          __________________

          Brother of Vrai
            #18632    
          Old May 27th, 2011 (11:24 AM).
          Sawakita's Avatar
          Sawakita Sawakita is offline
          Not Invented Here
             
            Join Date: May 2010
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 180
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by MysteriousAmnesiacGirl View Post
            I'm planning to do a hack for Pokemon Gold, but the mechanics I'm asking about hacking are in all pokemon games. I'm wondering if it would be a possible to;

            A) Make the game reset on Blacking/Whiting Out (preferably after the message).

            B) Make the Daycare Centre be able to take many unneeded pokemon from the player, but not store them in memory, so they can't retrieved later.
            First of all, can you program in Assembly (z80)?
            A) you need to find the routine that runs when you white out and make it jump to the starting routine (sorry, I don't know where it is located). You could also simulate a "Select+Start+A+B" button pressing.

            B)if a scripting command for it doesn't exist (you can read the scripting compendium here), you can recycle the "release pokemon" routine, used in the pokecenter's computer menu. Is that what you originally meant?

            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Blue Pokémon Special View Post
            Hello!
            How do I change Sprites character of Pokémon Red/Blue?

            Please answer the question.
            Already asked and answered before (click me! or click me!).
            __________________



            | 1st Gen Hacking: Useful Links | A good example of REAL ROM Hacking |
              #18633    
            Old May 27th, 2011 (6:44 PM).
            BloodPact BloodPact is offline
               
              Join Date: Jan 2011
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 7
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post

              Download COMCTL32.OCX through Google. Put it on the same folder where your tools are, or put it in the system32/system folder.

              Ok, Ive tried but it still isint working. Would someone mind PMing me to give me personal help. i really need this to show what I can really do, otherwise all i'll be able to do is maps, and i'm pretty sure thats not much, as good as I may be at it.
                #18634    
              Old May 28th, 2011 (9:56 AM).
              Darthatron's Avatar
              Darthatron Darthatron is offline
              巨大なトロール。
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Jan 2006
              Location: Melbourne, Australia
              Age: 25
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Modest
              Posts: 1,152
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by BloodPact View Post
              [/COLOR][/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
              Ok, Ive tried but it still isint working. Would someone mind PMing me to give me personal help. i really need this to show what I can really do, otherwise all i'll be able to do is maps, and i'm pretty sure thats not much, as good as I may be at it.
              Try putting the file mentioned in the same folder as the program that's causing the issue.
              __________________
              あなた は しきしゃ です
              わたし は ばか です
                #18635    
              Old May 28th, 2011 (11:52 AM).
              BloodPact BloodPact is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2011
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 7
                What do I do if when I try out entering a cave i edited, the screen goes to black nothingness after displaying the name and picture of the entrance in LG. (You know, like if you entered Diglett's Cave)
                  #18636    
                Old May 28th, 2011 (3:22 PM).
                Roxie Mika's Avatar
                Roxie Mika Roxie Mika is offline
                「Happy maker!」
                   
                  Join Date: May 2005
                  Location: Bronx, NY
                  Age: 25
                  Gender: Female
                  Nature: Naughty
                  Posts: 188
                  (wow, it's really been a while since I last posted...)

                  Anyway. I've been wanting for a little while now to replace some songs in a Black/White ROM with songs from HG/SS, or Platinum... I'm not so naïve as to think that it's as simple as copy-pasting SDATs (the songs won't have the same internal names or any of that, so it's no good), so does anyone know how I'd go about bringing those songs over into B/W?
                  __________________
                    #18637    
                  Old May 28th, 2011 (5:28 PM).
                  POKEMONMASTER260 POKEMONMASTER260 is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2009
                    Posts: 139
                    Okay, another, "I'm missing something basic," question, albeit not as much as the item image thing!

                    So, the offset for items in Ruby is 0x083C5564 according to Bulbapedia. The problem is, according to HxD, the last offset in the game is 0x01001000...

                    (No, I'm not looking to do something as big as adding item images in Ruby... I'm just doing something different regarding items...)
                      #18638    
                    Old May 28th, 2011 (10:36 PM).
                    Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                    Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                    Memento Mori
                    • Gold Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2008
                    Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                    Age: 24
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Calm
                    Posts: 14,479
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by POKEMONMASTER260 View Post
                    Okay, another, "I'm missing something basic," question, albeit not as much as the item image thing!

                    So, the offset for items in Ruby is 0x083C5564 according to Bulbapedia. The problem is, according to HxD, the last offset in the game is 0x01001000...
                    Yes, that offset is right But if you write offsets that way you just add 08 at the start so if you're searching for clear offset, then it's 3C5564
                    __________________
                    ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                    Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                      #18639    
                    Old May 29th, 2011 (3:20 AM).
                    FloatingClouds's Avatar
                    FloatingClouds FloatingClouds is offline
                    Champion CSSer
                       
                      Join Date: Apr 2010
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Quirky
                      Posts: 75
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Sawakita View Post

                      First of all, can you program in Assembly (z80)?
                      A) you need to find the routine that runs when you white out and make it jump to the starting routine (sorry, I don't know where it is located). You could also simulate a "Select+Start+A+B" button pressing.

                      B)if a scripting command for it doesn't exist (you can read the scripting compendium here), you can recycle the "release pokemon" routine, used in the pokecenter's computer menu. Is that what you originally meant?


                      Already asked and answered before (click me! or click me!).
                      Hey, do you have a scripting compendium for Pokemon Fire Red?
                      Also I need help with PKSV, I have never used a scripting program before and want to learn, this has a script generator built in so it's perfect for starters. Anyway, I'm really confused, when I write a script it's what I want, but then I am consfused and may need to learn this to ever script for pokemon hacks but when where and how does the script take place after I compile/ add to the rom? Because I want to script some things at the start like getting your pokemon a different way like having to achieve something before I can get it.. Anyway, if you could whip up a tiny tutorial, that would be great, or even just giving me linkies
                      Thanks, FloatingClouds
                      __________________

                      Credit3DS PoKéMoN deviantART



                        #18640    
                      Old May 29th, 2011 (5:18 AM).
                      Sawakita's Avatar
                      Sawakita Sawakita is offline
                      Not Invented Here
                         
                        Join Date: May 2010
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 180
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by FloatingClouds View Post
                        Hey, do you have a scripting compendium for Pokemon Fire Red?
                        Also I need help with PKSV, I have never used a scripting program before and want to learn, this has a script generator built in so it's perfect for starters. Anyway, I'm really confused, when I write a script it's what I want, but then I am consfused and may need to learn this to ever script for pokemon hacks but when where and how does the script take place after I compile/ add to the rom? Because I want to script some things at the start like getting your pokemon a different way like having to achieve something before I can get it.. Anyway, if you could whip up a tiny tutorial, that would be great, or even just giving me linkies :)
                        Thanks, FloatingClouds
                        I've frequently read around that XSE is more handy than Pokescipt. Anyway, regardless of which program you're going to use, you should check XSE: if you open it and press F1, it will list (all?) the scripting commands (actual hex value and given label) along with a short description of what they do. The .zip file also contains a comprehensive guide for beginners. You could also read here (although I think it's a little bit incomplete).
                        __________________



                        | 1st Gen Hacking: Useful Links | A good example of REAL ROM Hacking |
                          #18641    
                        Old May 29th, 2011 (6:21 AM).
                        DarkRedXIII's Avatar
                        DarkRedXIII DarkRedXIII is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Aug 2009
                          Location: Lake Tahoe, California.
                          Age: 26
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Mild
                          Posts: 14
                          So the starter pokemon editor only allows to change 3 pokemon, but I was wondering if there was a way to make it more then 3 available? Like 5, or 10 w/e. I saw a script that made an NPC give you the pokemon instead of picking them from a pokeball, this would be fine if you could allow for multiple pokemon. I'm just starting off and I googled and looked around quite a bit, most was about just changing the three starter's, not adding more.
                            #18642    
                          Old May 29th, 2011 (7:13 AM).
                          POKEMONMASTER260 POKEMONMASTER260 is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2009
                            Posts: 139
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post
                            Yes, that offset is right But if you write offsets that way you just add 08 at the start so if you're searching for clear offset, then it's 3C5564
                            Well, I got 003C5560 as the thing closest to it... (Not to be rude.)
                              #18643    
                            Old May 29th, 2011 (10:01 AM).
                            Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                            Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                            Memento Mori
                            • Gold Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2008
                            Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                            Age: 24
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Calm
                            Posts: 14,479
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by DarkRedXIII View Post
                            So the starter pokemon editor only allows to change 3 pokemon, but I was wondering if there was a way to make it more then 3 available? Like 5, or 10 w/e. I saw a script that made an NPC give you the pokemon instead of picking them from a pokeball, this would be fine if you could allow for multiple pokemon. I'm just starting off and I googled and looked around quite a bit, most was about just changing the three starter's, not adding more.
                            Of course it is possible =)
                            You can do it through scripting =)
                            You just remove the giving starter script and make a new one =)
                            __________________
                            ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                            Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                              #18644    
                            Old May 29th, 2011 (10:32 AM).
                            DarkRedXIII's Avatar
                            DarkRedXIII DarkRedXIII is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Aug 2009
                              Location: Lake Tahoe, California.
                              Age: 26
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Mild
                              Posts: 14
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post
                              Of course it is possible =)
                              You can do it through scripting =)
                              You just remove the giving starter script and make a new one =)

                              *scratches my head* I guess I get to start learning... X_X. Thanks.

                              The starting editors should totally give you the ability to choose more. XD
                                #18645    
                              Old May 29th, 2011 (12:08 PM).
                              MayanMan2012's Avatar
                              MayanMan2012 MayanMan2012 is offline
                              Pokemon Dawn/Dusk: Coming Soon
                                 
                                Join Date: Jan 2011
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 38
                                How do you edit the little pikachu icon in the top-right corner of the intro in firered? Or is it just a series of numbers found in UNLZ-GBA?

                                Thanks in advanced
                                ~MayanMan
                                __________________
                                Why don't people ever actually have signatures in their signatures?
                                  #18646    
                                Old May 29th, 2011 (12:15 PM).
                                kkj1116 kkj1116 is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: May 2011
                                  Posts: 33
                                  Has anyone found a fix for AGIXP? I've tried the English version, the German original, and they both give me the System Error thing. I've also tried downloading VBRuntime, the packages from the German website, additional files zip uploaded on Skeetendo, I've also tried putting the files in where my AGIXP exe was located. I've tried downloading a bunch of Registry Cleanup programs (some of which just scanned and tried to make me buy them)..

                                  PLEASE. I Need this program working.
                                    #18647    
                                  Old May 29th, 2011 (12:44 PM).
                                  El Diabeetus's Avatar
                                  El Diabeetus El Diabeetus is offline
                                  Amateur Voice Actor / ROM Editor ('Hacker')
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jul 2006
                                    Age: 24
                                    Nature: Lonely
                                    Posts: 1,068
                                    Does anyone know where the offset to edit what Pokémon Wally uses when catching Ralts (Emerald)? I wanna change the Zigzagoon Norman gives him to a Pidgey or something like that. I'm using the event as a base point, but it's being used for something entirely different.
                                    __________________
                                    Hacks I'm currently working on (at a super slow pace):

                                    Chinpokomon Big/Small (would leave the titles, but apparently exceeded sig limit)

                                    Check my Japanese inspired Logo edits for Gens 1-7!:
                                    http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=9137003
                                      #18648    
                                    Old May 29th, 2011 (3:14 PM).
                                    DarkRedXIII's Avatar
                                    DarkRedXIII DarkRedXIII is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Aug 2009
                                      Location: Lake Tahoe, California.
                                      Age: 26
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Mild
                                      Posts: 14
                                      Does Fire Red have an over-the-land type bridges instead of just over water? Which Tileset is it in? I tried 5 for Route 12, but those bridges we're over water and look awkward. I can't seem to find over the land bridges and since I can't figure out how to add new tile set's It would be my only way. I could create a "land bridge" but It would and does look awkward on my map.
                                        #18649    
                                      Old May 29th, 2011 (7:12 PM).
                                      Fenn's Avatar
                                      Fenn Fenn is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: May 2011
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 1
                                        Hello PC!

                                        I just started hacking a few days ago, and I've run into a few things that I don't know how to take care of. Thanks to the many different topics on this board, I was able to find answers, however, there are a few things I need a bit of help with.

                                        I'm hacking Gold right now, and I noticed something with the ROM file: It's shot up to 128 MB! How can I re-compress this back to the original 2 MB?

                                        And for a technical question:

                                        The Maps of Cherrygrove City and Route 30 become offset somehow when I enter Route 30. I haven't messed with the Map Connections at all; just a bit on text in Cherrygrove Mart and some events in Route 30. I've made sure that the player cannot see any of the map border they couldn't see in the original, so whats going on? I'll provide additional details if needed.

                                        Is it alright for me to break up the link to the screen shot of the offset?
                                          #18650    
                                        Old May 30th, 2011 (2:10 AM).
                                        darkprince909 darkprince909 is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: May 2008
                                          Gender:
                                          Posts: 79
                                          alright, easy question. is there a limit to how many different kinds of blocks with animations you can place within one particular map in fire red? i have several different blocks with a river animation (similar to the river on route 10 in BW) but the waterfalls i had placed disappear when i go there in-game. theyre still there in advancemap, so this is the only thing i can think of why it would happen, but id like if someone could confirm it for me
                                          Closed Thread
                                          Quick Reply

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:57 PM.