ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #19101    
Old July 26th, 2011 (5:37 PM).
xequiaz's Avatar
xequiaz xequiaz is offline
Noopy Infinoopy ;3
     
    Join Date: Jul 2011
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 12
    It appears the no one seem to answer my question, if there is anyone out there who can please tell me..

    Spoiler:

    is there a way to remove the roaming pokemon u see after beating the elite for? (suicune,entei,raikou) if so do tell

    also is there a way to do this:

    Make TELEPORT work like FLY but remove the animation of FLY and use TELEPORT ANIMATION.


    Make FLY change u to a bird Overworld (i can

    Relevant Advertising!

      #19102    
    Old July 26th, 2011 (5:56 PM).
    ZangoMango's Avatar
    ZangoMango ZangoMango is offline
       
      Join Date: Jul 2011
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Impish
      Posts: 42
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by DavidJCobb View Post
      The sprite is a 256-color sprite, which may be why it was hard(er than usual) to find in unLZ. There's a tutorial on editing that sprite; you may find it useful.
      Ah, that makes sense, thanks! And that seems like a great tutorial, however I don't have Photoshop; I tried doing it in Gimp but it gave me errors, so I guess Photoshop is required for this.
        #19103    
      Old July 26th, 2011 (6:03 PM).
      Kevin's Avatar
      Kevin Kevin is offline
      kevin del rey
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Jul 2010
      Location: Virginia
      Age: 18
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 2,689
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Profit View Post
      3. Side-question (not that important), but I'm currently using PET to edit trainers, and I don't really like it. What program do you use to edit trainers? Why is it a good program?
      Most people use Advance Trainer by Hackmew. It's easier to use than PET in my opinion.
      __________________
        #19104    
      Old July 26th, 2011 (10:41 PM).
      Posiden's Avatar
      Posiden Posiden is offline
         
        Join Date: Jul 2011
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 65
        I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this but I on Nameless Sprite Editor I can only seem to acess the Overworld Sprites, but on screenshots etc I have seen pokemon sprites being edited. Does anyone know how I can acess the pokemon sprites?
          #19105    
        Old July 26th, 2011 (10:46 PM).
        Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
        Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
        hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
           
          Join Date: May 2008
          Age: 23
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Bashful
          Posts: 3,487
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Posiden View Post
          I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this but I on Nameless Sprite Editor I can only seem to acess the Overworld Sprites, but on screenshots etc I have seen pokemon sprites being edited. Does anyone know how I can acess the pokemon sprites?
          The creator has released plugins too. Under one of the menus is the option to load one of those plugins to edit other things.
          __________________


          Temmie vibrates intensely.

          awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

          OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

          can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

          RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

            #19106    
          Old July 26th, 2011 (11:30 PM).
          Missingyep Missingyep is offline
             
            Join Date: Jul 2010
            Posts: 275
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Posidon
            I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this but I on Nameless Sprite Editor I can only seem to acess the Overworld Sprites, but on screenshots etc I have seen pokemon sprites being edited. Does anyone know how I can acess the pokemon sprites?
            The creator has released plugins too. Under one of the menus is the option to load one of those plugins to edit other things.
            If you can't get the plug-in to work, then you (Posidon) could try the Advanced Series programs. They work very well for editing Pokemon sprites and their positioning in battles.
              #19107    
            Old July 27th, 2011 (2:05 AM).
            Cheesewig's Avatar
            Cheesewig Cheesewig is offline
            Hi!
               
              Join Date: Jul 2011
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 54
              In Pokemon Gold is there a way to create new maps?
                #19108    
              Old July 27th, 2011 (4:29 AM).
              Posiden's Avatar
              Posiden Posiden is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2011
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 65
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by DavidJCobb View Post
                If you can't get the plug-in to work, then you (Posidon) could try the Advanced Series programs. They work very well for editing Pokemon sprites and their positioning in battles.
                Thanks to you both. Also, I've written a peice of code I want for a person event on advance map and I'm not sure how to include it. Any help would be appreciated.
                  #19109    
                Old July 27th, 2011 (5:22 AM). Edited July 27th, 2011 by Profit.
                Profit's Avatar
                Profit Profit is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2011
                  Gender: Female
                  Posts: 2
                  I tried to download Advance Trainer from your link, but my computer doesn't allow it, as it tells me it's a Trojan...

                  EDIT: Nevermind, read in the tools thread that it's an issue with McAfee.
                  Still waiting for answers on my other two questions, couldn't find it anywhere.
                    #19110    
                  Old July 27th, 2011 (5:29 AM).
                  Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                  Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                  hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                     
                    Join Date: May 2008
                    Age: 23
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Bashful
                    Posts: 3,487
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Profit View Post
                    I tried to download Advance Trainer from your link, but my computer doesn't allow it, as it tells me it's a Trojan...
                    Your antivirus is giving you a false positive. If you use McAfee, find some way to disable it for now, as that apparently gives a load of false positives.
                    __________________


                    Temmie vibrates intensely.

                    awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                    OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                    can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                    RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                      #19111    
                    Old July 27th, 2011 (6:42 AM).
                    leogrecchi leogrecchi is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2010
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 64
                      Hi, it's me again.
                      as for the image in my last post

                      Does anyone know where should I search for the screen arrow data (the red arrow in the pic) in my rom? it's Emerald, BPEE...
                        #19112    
                      Old July 27th, 2011 (8:40 AM).
                      Missingyep Missingyep is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2010
                        Posts: 275
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Posiden View Post
                        Thanks to you both. Also, I've written a peice of code I want for a person event on advance map and I'm not sure how to include it. Any help would be appreciated.
                        Compile it into the ROM using XSE, and write down the offset that XSE used. (It will be in the small window that pops up after compiling.)

                        Go to AdvanceMap and select the person event. On the sidebar, there should be a "Script offset" field. Keep those first three symbols ("$00") and replace the remainder with the offset that XSE gave you. Save the map.
                          #19113    
                        Old July 27th, 2011 (8:42 AM).
                        Forever Alone Forever Alone is offline
                        This account died
                           
                          Join Date: Feb 2011
                          Posts: 17
                          3 questions very simple
                          1) what is the difference if i select search from beginning of rom than to not on FSF
                          2) is there a limit of new offset scripts i can add
                          3) umm... i forgot
                            #19114    
                          Old July 27th, 2011 (10:13 AM).
                          ~Anbuja's Avatar
                          ~Anbuja ~Anbuja is offline
                          Let's Keep It Simple
                             
                            Join Date: Oct 2010
                            Location: In Snorlax Stomach
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Lonely
                            Posts: 321
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Forever Alone View Post
                            3 questions very simple
                            1) what is the difference if i select search from beginning of rom than to not on FSF
                            2) is there a limit of new offset scripts i can add
                            3) umm... i forgot
                            1.if u press search from beginning of rom it might find u free space but maybe it wont find u enough space for that spprites or pic or whatsover u are inserting and might overwrite actuall data.
                            2.as long as u have free space u can inserte everything with 16 olours(i think)
                            3.hopefully all this helped u a bit:)
                            __________________
                              #19115    
                            Old July 27th, 2011 (10:44 AM).
                            Missingyep Missingyep is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Jul 2010
                              Posts: 275
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Forever Alone View Post
                              2) is there a limit of new offset scripts i can add
                              If I'm understanding this post correctly, we can't edit anything past 0x09FFFFFF.
                                #19116    
                              Old July 27th, 2011 (12:59 PM).
                              Dark pokemon's Avatar
                              Dark pokemon Dark pokemon is offline
                              Beginner Hacker
                                 
                                Join Date: Mar 2010
                                Location: Jacksonville
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Calm
                                Posts: 43
                                In a Pokemon Gold hack what should I do first
                                __________________
                                Hacks I support:




                                  #19117    
                                Old July 27th, 2011 (2:43 PM).
                                ZangoMango's Avatar
                                ZangoMango ZangoMango is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jul 2011
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Impish
                                  Posts: 42
                                  Can anyone think of why in my FR/LG hack, events such as Oak stopping you from leaving Pallet w/o a Pokemon or Gary challenging you would make wrong noises? Like the Oak thing, his song wouldnt play (Pallet Town music continued until entering Oak's lab) and, and when Gary challenged me, the poisoned sound effect played.
                                    #19118    
                                  Old July 27th, 2011 (3:28 PM).
                                  Missingyep Missingyep is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jul 2010
                                    Posts: 275
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Dark pokemon View Post
                                    In a Pokemon Gold hack what should I do first
                                    Well, you can start anywhere. A lot of people like to start with the map. Some like to dive into editing Pokemon sprites or Trainer data first. It all depends on where you want to start.
                                      #19119    
                                    Old July 28th, 2011 (8:53 AM).
                                    Cherrysa23 Cherrysa23 is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Apr 2009
                                      Gender:
                                      Posts: 14
                                      Hi!

                                      I'm going to make a pokemon hack of ruby. I have knowledge of ASM and pointers, but there is an important point I never knew... it's how to find a data... for example, if I know where is a pokemon graphics, is there a way to find where is the pointer which points there? can someone tell me how I can find it, or know a tutorial where I can how to do it?

                                      any hints would be appreciated!

                                      thx
                                        #19120    
                                      Old July 28th, 2011 (10:00 AM).
                                      Lyzo's Avatar
                                      Lyzo Lyzo is offline
                                      On vacation
                                         
                                        Join Date: Mar 2007
                                        Location: The Netherlands
                                        Age: 22
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Bold
                                        Posts: 252
                                        I have an ASM related question... I just finished this simple asm tutorial: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=233645

                                        And I have a question after finishing it.... How woulgd I store data from a register back into the RAM. For example, what I'm trying to do is the following:

                                        I want to level up my Pokemon by 2 levels. I do this by taking the pokemon data at the level bit area, and then add that up by 2, and then I want to store that data again... But command prompt won't assemble my asm and gives me an error, stating that I can't store the pokemon data.

                                        Here's the ASM code I'm using:
                                        Spoiler:

                                        There are 2 versions I tried.
                                        Code:
                                        .align 2
                                        .thumb
                                        
                                        main:
                                        		push {r0-r1,lr}
                                        		ldr r0, pokemon_data
                                        		ldrb r0, [r0]
                                        		add r0, #0x2
                                        		ldr r1, var
                                        		strh r0, [r1]
                                        		ldr r0, pokemon_data
                                        		add r0, #0x2
                                        		str r0, pokemon_data
                                        		pop {r0-r1,pc}
                                        
                                        .align 2
                                        
                                        pokemon_data:
                                        		.word 0x02024284 + 0x54
                                        var:
                                        		.word 0x020270B6 + (0x800D * 2)
                                        OR:

                                        Code:
                                        .align 2
                                        .thumb
                                        
                                        main:
                                        		push {r0-r1,lr}
                                        		ldr r0, pokemon_data
                                        		ldrb r0, [r0]
                                        		add r0, #0x2
                                        		ldr r1, var
                                        		strh r0, [r1]
                                        		strh r0, pokemon_data
                                        		pop {r0-r1,pc}
                                        
                                        .align 2
                                        
                                        pokemon_data:
                                        		.word 0x02024284 + 0x54
                                        var:
                                        		.word 0x020270B6 + (0x800D * 2)


                                        Neither work when I try to assemble them.

                                        I guess there is a different method to storing things back to the RAM? Or am I just being stupid?

                                        I'd love some help!
                                        __________________


                                        Thank you The Blueprint !!!
                                          #19121    
                                        Old July 28th, 2011 (10:36 AM).
                                        colcolstyles's Avatar
                                        colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
                                        Yours truly
                                        • Crystal Tier
                                         
                                        Join Date: May 2008
                                        Location: The Bay Area
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Lonely
                                        Posts: 1,584
                                        I don't know if increasing the Level byte without changing the experience is such a good idea but regardless, try this:

                                        Code:
                                        .align 2
                                        .thumb
                                        
                                        main:
                                        		push {r0-r1,lr}
                                        		ldr r0, pokemon_data
                                        		ldrb r1, [r0]
                                        		add r1, #0x2
                                        		strb r1, [r0]
                                        		pop {r0-r1,pc}
                                        
                                        .align 2
                                        
                                        pokemon_data:
                                        		.word 0x02024284 + 0x54
                                        var:
                                        		.word 0x020270B6 + (0x800D * 2)
                                        __________________

                                        Brother of Vrai
                                          #19122    
                                        Old July 28th, 2011 (11:05 AM).
                                        Lyzo's Avatar
                                        Lyzo Lyzo is offline
                                        On vacation
                                           
                                          Join Date: Mar 2007
                                          Location: The Netherlands
                                          Age: 22
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Bold
                                          Posts: 252
                                          Wow thanks, that worked! :D

                                          No it isn't supposed to be functional or useful, I was just trying some things out and trying to learn ASM in the process

                                          So, I'm trying to understand what you did there.

                                          First you load the word at pokemon_data in r0.
                                          Then you do the same for r1, using the address used to load r0.
                                          You add 2 to r1.
                                          You store r1 back to the address of r0.
                                          Then you end it.

                                          Am I getting it right like that?

                                          And if so, could you also do it by only using one register? Like so :
                                          Code:
                                          .align 2
                                          .thumb
                                          
                                          main:
                                          		push {r0-r1,lr}
                                          		ldr r0, pokemon_data
                                          		ldrb r0, [r0]
                                          		add r0, #0x2
                                          		strb r0, [r0]
                                          		pop {r0-r1,pc}
                                          
                                          .align 2
                                          
                                          pokemon_data:
                                          		.word 0x02024284 + 0x54
                                          var:
                                          		.word 0x020270B6 + (0x800D * 2)
                                          Thanks for helping me. I'm really interested in learning this! :D
                                          __________________


                                          Thank you The Blueprint !!!
                                            #19123    
                                          Old July 28th, 2011 (11:08 AM).
                                          colcolstyles's Avatar
                                          colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
                                          Yours truly
                                          • Crystal Tier
                                           
                                          Join Date: May 2008
                                          Location: The Bay Area
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Lonely
                                          Posts: 1,584
                                          You can't use one register because if you load the level byte into r0, then it will overwrite the address that r0 previously contained. You'll have to use a minimum of two registers: one for the address, and one for the level.
                                          __________________

                                          Brother of Vrai
                                            #19124    
                                          Old July 28th, 2011 (11:15 AM).
                                          Lyzo's Avatar
                                          Lyzo Lyzo is offline
                                          On vacation
                                             
                                            Join Date: Mar 2007
                                            Location: The Netherlands
                                            Age: 22
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Bold
                                            Posts: 252
                                            Waaait, so:
                                            Code:
                                            ldr r0, pokemon_data
                                            loads the address of pokemon_data into r0 and not the actual level bit?
                                            __________________


                                            Thank you The Blueprint !!!
                                              #19125    
                                            Old July 28th, 2011 (11:21 AM).
                                            colcolstyles's Avatar
                                            colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
                                            Yours truly
                                            • Crystal Tier
                                             
                                            Join Date: May 2008
                                            Location: The Bay Area
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Lonely
                                            Posts: 1,584
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by Lyzo View Post
                                            Waaait, so:
                                            Code:
                                            ldr r0, pokemon_data
                                            loads the address of pokemon_data into r0 and not the actual level bit?
                                            "ldr r0, pokemon_data" loads some address, in this case 0x020242d8, into r0. "ldrb r1, [r0]" loads the byte that is stored at whatever address is in r0 and puts it in r1. Finally, "strb r1, [r0]" takes the contents of r1 and puts it at whatever address is stored in r0 (which is still the address of the level byte). So, that routine loads a byte from the RAM, modifies it a little, and then puts it back where it got it from, overwriting what used to be there.
                                            __________________

                                            Brother of Vrai
                                            Closed Thread
                                            Quick Reply

                                            Sponsored Links
                                            Thread Tools

                                            Posting Rules
                                            You may not post new threads
                                            You may not post replies
                                            You may not post attachments
                                            You may not edit your posts

                                            BB code is On
                                            Smilies are On
                                            [IMG] code is On
                                            HTML code is Off

                                            Forum Jump


                                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:01 AM.