ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #19251    
Old August 6th, 2011 (10:31 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quirky
    Posts: 540
    I've had so much trouble with this...its confounding me.

    I just want to know how to make a tile start a wild pokemon battle, like tall grass. I'm making a swamp, and want some of the swamp tiles to have wild pokemon in it. I've tried changing the tile to grass animation, and it didnt work, and to tall grass animation, again without working. Since I'm editing Viridian forest, i put the grass i want to start a wild battle on the same spot as another grass tile was, but again, nothing. I dont know what to do. How can i make this tile work??!?!?!?

    Relevant Advertising!

      #19252    
    Old August 6th, 2011 (11:30 PM).
    Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
    Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
    Memento Mori
    • Gold Tier
     
    Join Date: Jul 2008
    Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
    Age: 25
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Calm
    Posts: 14,497
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by drpepper111 View Post
    I attempted to learn scripting yesterday and it didn't work out.

    Can anybody elaborate on this some more?

    I tried to use Advance Script (if that is the appropriate program).
    Follow Destiny Demon's advice for the National Dex script =)
    And if you don't know much about scripting I'd suggest you to read diegoisawesome's scripting tutorial =)
    __________________
    ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

    Anime List | PSN Trophy List
      #19253    
    Old August 7th, 2011 (12:37 AM).
    Posiden's Avatar
    Posiden Posiden is offline
       
      Join Date: Jul 2011
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 65
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Posiden View Post
      I've inserted a bitmap sprite in the place of Torchic on Ruby, and it works fine when you battle against it but when you use it in battle (i.e. see its backsprite) or see it in the pokedex, the game freezes or restarts just before you would see the sprite. I used nameless sprite editor to insert the image. Does anyone know what the problem could be?
      I posted this about 5 pages back and nobody answered me, and I still can't work out the problem. Any help would be appreciated.
        #19254    
      Old August 7th, 2011 (7:09 AM).
      Quilava's Master's Avatar
      Quilava's Master Quilava's Master is offline
      Shattered Dreams '13
         
        Join Date: Jul 2007
        Nature: Adamant
        Posts: 694
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
        I've had so much trouble with this...its confounding me.

        I just want to know how to make a tile start a wild pokemon battle, like tall grass. I'm making a swamp, and want some of the swamp tiles to have wild pokemon in it. I've tried changing the tile to grass animation, and it didnt work, and to tall grass animation, again without working. Since I'm editing Viridian forest, i put the grass i want to start a wild battle on the same spot as another grass tile was, but again, nothing. I dont know what to do. How can i make this tile work??!?!?!?
        Open the block editor in A-Map [just click the purple puzzle piece] and go the particular swamp tile. Change the behavior byte to [xx] [02] and change the background byte to [yy][01].

        *xx & yy are different depending on what you want your tile to do.
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Posiden View Post
        I posted this about 5 pages back and nobody answered me, and I still can't work out the problem. Any help would be appreciated.
        Maybe you should try reinserting the sprite cause something has obviously gone wrong with it. In fact I've never heard of such an error.
        __________________
        The return of Pokemon Shattered Dreams! Click the screenshot to visit the thread, you know you want to.
          #19255    
        Old August 7th, 2011 (7:12 AM).
        Kevin's Avatar
        Kevin Kevin is offline
        kevin del rey
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Jul 2010
        Location: Virginia
        Age: 18
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 2,689
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
        I've had so much trouble with this...its confounding me.

        I just want to know how to make a tile start a wild pokemon battle, like tall grass. I'm making a swamp, and want some of the swamp tiles to have wild pokemon in it. I've tried changing the tile to grass animation, and it didnt work, and to tall grass animation, again without working. Since I'm editing Viridian forest, i put the grass i want to start a wild battle on the same spot as another grass tile was, but again, nothing. I dont know what to do. How can i make this tile work??!?!?!?
        Looking at the general tall grass tile does it look like this?

        __________________
          #19256    
        Old August 7th, 2011 (12:20 PM).
        hinkage's Avatar
        hinkage hinkage is offline
        Everyone currently in an argument with this member: I really suggest you stop.
        • Gold Tier
         
        Join Date: Aug 2010
        Age: 22
        Posts: 378
        Is there any way to initiate a step counter with a script box?
        __________________
        (ღ˘⌣˘ღ)
          #19257    
        Old August 7th, 2011 (12:44 PM).
        Fortunado Fortunado is offline
        Prof. Hemlock is busy now...
           
          Join Date: Jul 2011
          Age: 22
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Lax
          Posts: 30
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by hinkage View Post
          Is there any way to initiate a step counter with a script box?
          Well, you've got the Safari special, 0x2C (if I'm not mistaken), but you can also set your own duration (once again, if I'm not mistaken) with JPan's FireRed Hack.
            #19258    
          Old August 7th, 2011 (12:54 PM).
          Simmy93's Avatar
          Simmy93 Simmy93 is offline
          Aspiring Emulator
             
            Join Date: Aug 2011
            Location: Co. Down, Northern Ireland
            Age: 24
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Sassy
            Posts: 104
            Not sure if this is the place to seek help with this issue but it's holding me back from starting my hack. I've followed the fantastic map editing tutorial on this forum but no matter how many times I try I always end up with this result.

            Spoiler:


            Can anyone assist? Or point me in the direction where someone could? Thank you so, so much. I've been killing myself over this, it really is the only thing holding me back.

            Danke!
            -Simmy
            __________________
            Challenges!


            Team:

            Pokemon Platinum
              #19259    
            Old August 7th, 2011 (3:36 PM).
            Gamer2020's Avatar
            Gamer2020 Gamer2020 is offline
            Accept no Imitations!
               
              Join Date: Jun 2008
              Location: Distant Land
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Bold
              Posts: 903
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Simmy93 View Post
              Not sure if this is the place to seek help with this issue but it's holding me back from starting my hack. I've followed the fantastic map editing tutorial on this forum but no matter how many times I try I always end up with this result.

              Spoiler:


              Can anyone assist? Or point me in the direction where someone could? Thank you so, so much. I've been killing myself over this, it really is the only thing holding me back.

              Danke!
              -Simmy
              You probably used the wrong palette in the tile map editor. If you did use the right one then you probably have to edit the palette.
              __________________

                #19260    
              Old August 7th, 2011 (4:53 PM).
              HACKERXIDE's Avatar
              HACKERXIDE HACKERXIDE is offline
                 
                Join Date: Mar 2010
                Location: Pallet Town
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Calm
                Posts: 20
                I've been through alot of tough problems and I'd like to think I'm a good scripter, but I'm running into probally the most simple problem.

                I can't seem to get wild pokemon to appear in my new map!

                Its a Cave by the way, and putting actual grass in it would mess up the look of the cave, but I went to other caves in the game to figure it out and they are set up a Grass, so thats what I did in the wild pokemon header view.

                I chose the grass option, then set the Encounter Ratio, and filled out the Pokemon data (all the way!)

                But to no avail I get no Pokemon action.

                Anyone know what to do?
                __________________
                  #19261    
                Old August 8th, 2011 (6:50 AM).
                SkieTheKitsune's Avatar
                SkieTheKitsune SkieTheKitsune is offline
                Please call me FoxMan.
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2009
                  Location: The World of Dreams
                  Age: 26
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Jolly
                  Posts: 86
                  I've got a question. I'm starting a hack of FireRed and I've edited the 50 TMs (and 1 HM) to use different moves, using Item Editor and Move Editor respectively. I edited the description of those moves to match that of the actual move itself, and while that did work for the items, the move descriptions from the original TMs started using the new move descriptions. When I changed the descriptions back to the original, the TM description reverted back to its original description! How do I fix this so I can keep using the original move descriptions while keeping the new moves?
                  __________________
                  Come check out my YT Page, if you'd like. In the middle of an Emerald Wingull Solo Run! Check it out.


                  Mah Pokes.
                    #19262    
                  Old August 8th, 2011 (2:06 PM).
                  hinkage's Avatar
                  hinkage hinkage is offline
                  Everyone currently in an argument with this member: I really suggest you stop.
                  • Gold Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Aug 2010
                  Age: 22
                  Posts: 378
                  I spent some time searching Emerald for the battle menu text like

                  "Wild ____ appeared!"

                  for example, and couldn't find it. I don't think anyone has the offset, are Emerald's hex values different from R/S/FR/LG? (I tried both.)
                  __________________
                  (ღ˘⌣˘ღ)
                    #19263    
                  Old August 8th, 2011 (2:29 PM).
                  Fortunado Fortunado is offline
                  Prof. Hemlock is busy now...
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2011
                    Age: 22
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Lax
                    Posts: 30
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by HACKERXIDE View Post
                    I've been through alot of tough problems and I'd like to think I'm a good scripter, but I'm running into probally the most simple problem.

                    I can't seem to get wild pokemon to appear in my new map!

                    Its a Cave by the way, and putting actual grass in it would mess up the look of the cave, but I went to other caves in the game to figure it out and they are set up a Grass, so thats what I did in the wild pokemon header view.

                    I chose the grass option, then set the Encounter Ratio, and filled out the Pokemon data (all the way!)

                    But to no avail I get no Pokemon action.

                    Anyone know what to do?
                    Have you tried to change the area type to Cave? I don't know if that would help, but it seems to work when I do it.
                      #19264    
                    Old August 8th, 2011 (5:00 PM).
                    Nijix Nijix is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Aug 2011
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 2
                      Any way of using D/P/Pt overworlds (Dawn, Lucas, Barry, etc.) in Fire Red?

                      Trying to replace the girl/heroine to Dawn.
                        #19265    
                      Old August 8th, 2011 (5:46 PM).
                      Kevin's Avatar
                      Kevin Kevin is offline
                      kevin del rey
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jul 2010
                      Location: Virginia
                      Age: 18
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 2,689
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Nijix View Post
                      Any way of using D/P/Pt overworlds (Dawn, Lucas, Barry, etc.) in Fire Red?

                      Trying to replace the girl/heroine to Dawn.
                      Use NSE. It can edit overworlds. As for overworlds... Try and look at the Spriter's Resource for them.
                      __________________
                        #19266    
                      Old August 8th, 2011 (7:01 PM).
                      cheshirecat's Avatar
                      cheshirecat cheshirecat is offline
                      A Tad Insane
                         
                        Join Date: Aug 2011
                        Location: Edge of Sanity
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Quirky
                        Posts: 4
                        Hey everyone, two quick questions about some problems I'm having.

                        1. I've created some caves and the warps are working fine except when the character warps in he is facing down when he should be facing up (or the direction you entered). Any way to fix this?

                        2. All my warps work except for the cave exit (the lit door you use to exit a cave). It has the warp in front of the actual door as well as one on it. You cannot walk on the door itself but you have a C permission tile where the warp is. Right now the character walks where the warp should be but it is not warping to the new map. Any ideas?

                        Thanks in advance for any help!
                        __________________
                        Madness takes it's toll, please have exact change.

                        Regards,
                        Cheshire Cat
                          #19267    
                        Old August 8th, 2011 (8:06 PM).
                        DrFuji's Avatar
                        DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                        Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                        • Crystal Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Sep 2009
                        Location: Downia-upside
                        Age: 24
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Jolly
                        Posts: 1,328
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by cheshirecat View Post
                        Hey everyone, two quick questions about some problems I'm having.

                        1. I've created some caves and the warps are working fine except when the character warps in he is facing down when he should be facing up (or the direction you entered). Any way to fix this?

                        2. All my warps work except for the cave exit (the lit door you use to exit a cave). It has the warp in front of the actual door as well as one on it. You cannot walk on the door itself but you have a C permission tile where the warp is. Right now the character walks where the warp should be but it is not warping to the new map. Any ideas?

                        Thanks in advance for any help!
                        There is a second 'generic cave floor' tile in each of the various cave tilesets which has different attributes to the regular cave floor tiles. It has a behaviour byte of 0x65 which makes an downwards arrow appear when you step on it, allows you to use warps and correctly faces the player's OW upwards when entering the cave.

                        It is generally at the top of the cave tileset and will solve all of your problems :)
                        __________________
                          #19268    
                        Old August 8th, 2011 (11:58 PM).
                        Gamer2020's Avatar
                        Gamer2020 Gamer2020 is offline
                        Accept no Imitations!
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2008
                          Location: Distant Land
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Bold
                          Posts: 903
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by hinkage View Post
                          I spent some time searching Emerald for the battle menu text like

                          "Wild ____ appeared!"

                          for example, and couldn't find it. I don't think anyone has the offset, are Emerald's hex values different from R/S/FR/LG? (I tried both.)
                          0x005CBB47 It's around that offset. Look there.
                          __________________

                            #19269    
                          Old August 9th, 2011 (4:10 AM).
                          Beechlgz Beechlgz is offline
                             
                            Join Date: May 2010
                            Posts: 521
                            Question about tile animations on its way:

                            I was experimenting a little with tiles on Fire Red and I figured I wanted a sand dune tile that the player could walk through and encounter ground and desert pokemon. So I decided to use the rarely-used sea tiles that you only really see at the Sevii Islands and changed their colour to a sandy colour. I changed the behaviour bytes to the same as those found on regular sand, 21 and 00, with 21 signifying footprints.

                            I also changed the background byte to 00 and 01, with 01 signifying grass encounters but without the grass animation.

                            When I run the ROM it is still water animation, still blue with moving waves instead of the static golden waves I had hoped for.

                            Is it possible to remove the water animation or will I need to find another way to put sand dune tiles on the ROM?
                            __________________
                            I'm currently working on a large-scale and long-term pokemon forum RPG. If you would like to help or be notified when it's ready, please drop me a PM or a visitor message. All are welcome.
                            Features under construction:
                            * A working PvP battle system using stats and levels. * Activities and NPCs. * Journeys and catching wild pokemon. * Gym badge collection. * Alignments and classes. * Teams good and bad. * Much more...
                              #19270    
                            Old August 9th, 2011 (4:48 AM).
                            Quickster's Avatar
                            Quickster Quickster is offline
                            Dream or Drop?
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2007
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Quiet
                              Posts: 351
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Beechlgz View Post
                              Question about tile animations on its way:

                              I was experimenting a little with tiles on Fire Red and I figured I wanted a sand dune tile that the player could walk through and encounter ground and desert pokemon. So I decided to use the rarely-used sea tiles that you only really see at the Sevii Islands and changed their colour to a sandy colour. I changed the behaviour bytes to the same as those found on regular sand, 21 and 00, with 21 signifying footprints.

                              I also changed the background byte to 00 and 01, with 01 signifying grass encounters but without the grass animation.

                              When I run the ROM it is still water animation, still blue with moving waves instead of the static golden waves I had hoped for.

                              Is it possible to remove the water animation or will I need to find another way to put sand dune tiles on the ROM?
                              I think you might be able to remove it with an animation editor, which I forget where I seen it. Or you can manually move the tile on the actual tileset to another position because thats wherer the animation is set to be. Not the block editor but the tileset.
                              __________________
                              I laugh looking at this.

                              But sometimes I want to come back to it...

                                #19271    
                              Old August 9th, 2011 (7:21 AM).
                              refep's Avatar
                              refep refep is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2011
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Bold
                                Posts: 62
                                When ever I try to insert a pokemon into pokepic
                                BOOM



                                HELP ME!!!
                                  #19272    
                                Old August 9th, 2011 (7:29 AM).
                                Kevin's Avatar
                                Kevin Kevin is offline
                                kevin del rey
                                • Silver Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2010
                                Location: Virginia
                                Age: 18
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 2,689
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by refep View Post
                                When ever I try to insert a pokemon into pokepic
                                BOOM



                                HELP ME!!!
                                Try and use Advanced Sprite Editor by Wichu. There's directions on how to use it so it may be easier for you to insert Pokemon.
                                __________________
                                  #19273    
                                Old August 9th, 2011 (11:28 AM).
                                Cheesewig's Avatar
                                Cheesewig Cheesewig is offline
                                Hi!
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jul 2011
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Relaxed
                                  Posts: 54
                                  How do I edit the Intro text in Pokémon Gold
                                  __________________
                                  My name is Aochider I was called . Dr. PET was loved and esteemed by us all!
                                    #19274    
                                  Old August 9th, 2011 (11:41 AM).
                                  Nijix Nijix is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Aug 2011
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 2
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Destiny Demon View Post
                                    Use. It can edit overworlds. As for overworlds... Try and look at the for them.
                                    The problem is that D/P/Pt OWs are bigger than GBA OWs. Can't import OWs exceeding 16x32. Resizing sprites blurs the pixels.
                                      #19275    
                                    Old August 9th, 2011 (11:46 AM).
                                    ~Anbuja's Avatar
                                    ~Anbuja ~Anbuja is offline
                                    Let's Keep It Simple
                                       
                                      Join Date: Oct 2010
                                      Location: In Snorlax Stomach
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Lonely
                                      Posts: 321
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Anbuja's_BlooDY View Post
                                      Does anyone know how to export all sprites in a rom at once??
                                      like every pokemon sprite ive inserted in my hack i want to export them now...but im to lazy to export them one by one so is it able with NSE or another tool to export the pokemon sprites all at once?
                                      reposting mah post...............
                                      __________________
                                      Closed Thread

                                      Quick Reply

                                      Join the conversation!

                                      Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                      Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                      Sponsored Links
                                      Thread Tools

                                      Posting Rules
                                      You may not post new threads
                                      You may not post replies
                                      You may not post attachments
                                      You may not edit your posts

                                      BB code is On
                                      Smilies are On
                                      [IMG] code is On
                                      HTML code is Off

                                      Forum Jump


                                      All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:52 AM.