ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #19401    
Old August 22nd, 2011 (3:34 AM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Heiki Hecchara‌‌
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poster View Post
Two quick questions because I don't have the time to search for now:

  1. How do we change the Weedle and the Old man's battle sprite in the learning-how-to-catch event?
  2. I have TRIED but I can't make the "é" work on XSE. It always shows as a regular "e".

I'm dumb, I know. I also haven't scripted for ages.
The Old man's back sprite can be changed easily through NSE (The older versions have it automatically in their bookmarks. I'm not entirely sure about version 2.0 or beyond). If you are using JPAN's hacked engine he has edited the routine to allow you to change the Pokemon that the Old man tries to catch through a special. If you aren't using the engine then you're going to need to use ASM :P

You can use '\h1A' as a substitute for 'é'. It uses the raw HEX value for the letter so it should definitely be correct when you try scripting with it.
__________________

Relevant Advertising!

  #19402    
Old August 22nd, 2011 (3:40 AM).
Missingyep Missingyep is offline
     
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Posts: 275
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by UnForgiven* View Post
    I THINK SOMEONE HAD PASSED THIS please help me
    You shouldn't be editing the ANSI at all. You need to edit the raw hex -- working with bytes, not text.
      #19403    
    Old August 22nd, 2011 (6:05 AM).
    ExitWound's Avatar
    ExitWound ExitWound is offline
    Boggle
       
      Join Date: Aug 2007
      Age: 26
      Posts: 79
      I'm still unsure how to change the battle music of certain trainers (like rivals). I'm not talking about intro music, I'm talking about the music that plays when you actually battle them. Can anybody please help? =[
      __________________

      +====================Supports====================+


      +====================Supports====================+
        #19404    
      Old August 22nd, 2011 (6:49 AM).
      Resultz's Avatar
      Resultz Resultz is offline
      All- round Poke-Whizz
         
        Join Date: Aug 2009
        Location: Yorkshire, England
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 583
        How do I change the Professor Oak introduction on FireRed, so that it's just talking, with no picture, as well as changing what is said? thanks
        __________________
        MY HACK:
        LOOKING FOR HELP MAKING POKEMON HYACINTH:
        APPLY IN THE THREAD!;
        MANY POSITIONS AVAILABLE!

          #19405    
        Old August 22nd, 2011 (6:56 AM).
        Poster's Avatar
        Poster Poster is offline
        Will pixel art for pizza
           
          Join Date: Dec 2010
          Location: Somewhere in between
          Posts: 193
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
          The Old man's back sprite can be changed easily through NSE (The older versions have it automatically in their bookmarks. I'm not entirely sure about version 2.0 or beyond). If you are using JPAN's hacked engine he has edited the routine to allow you to change the Pokemon that the Old man tries to catch through a special. If you aren't using the engine then you're going to need to use ASM

          You can use '\h1A' as a substitute for 'é'. It uses the raw HEX value for the letter so it should definitely be correct when you try scripting with it.
          Bunch of thanks Derry! You saved me a lot of time.
          __________________
          • Outdated
            #19406    
          Old August 22nd, 2011 (2:40 PM).
          SonicBlazePlatinum's Avatar
          SonicBlazePlatinum SonicBlazePlatinum is offline
          /)^3^(\
          • Silver Tier
           
          Join Date: Oct 2007
          Location: Cloudsdale, Equestria
          Age: 22
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 1,041
          How do I decapitalize Pokemon names without an IPS Patch for them? Also how do I decapitalize Items and Moves? I would also like to know how to find that rijon dot com thing that appears in Rijon Adventures and Azure Horizons before the intro that can be patched to Fire Red and Emerald so people don't buy my ROM Hack since it was meant to be played for free.
          __________________
          Also known as SentryBronyPlatinum or Shadowbolt Pegasus.
            #19407    
          Old August 22nd, 2011 (3:04 PM).
          DuoRyan's Avatar
          DuoRyan DuoRyan is offline
          Hack'in as usual, it seem.
             
            Join Date: Nov 2009
            Location: Somewhere.
            Age: 20
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Calm
            Posts: 336
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by ExitWound View Post
            I'm still unsure how to change the battle music of certain trainers (like rivals). I'm not talking about intro music, I'm talking about the music that plays when you actually battle them. Can anybody please help? =[
            Their was a ASM routine for that, go to google and look for mastermind X two music event.
            __________________
            Pokemon Treasure.
            Progress: Planning.
              #19408    
            Old August 22nd, 2011 (4:04 PM).
            DrFuji's Avatar
            DrFuji DrFuji is offline
            Heiki Hecchara‌‌
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Sep 2009
            Location: Downia-upside
            Age: 24
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Jolly
            Posts: 1,328
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Resultz View Post
            How do I change the Professor Oak introduction on FireRed, so that it's just talking, with no picture, as well as changing what is said? thanks
            You could edit the professor's sprite so that it is only composed of the pallet's transparent colour. Unfortunately you will still have a random Pokeball appear out of nowhere, along with a Nidoran Female and all of their associated noises. The only way to completely edit the opening is to use ASM, since it is not structured like a normal script.

            However, you can can change what the professor says. A-Text has the opening speech in it's bookmarks so you can easily edit what is being said. In addition, you could use a HEX Editor and table file if you want to.

            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Poster View Post
            Bunch of thanks Derry! You saved me a lot of time.
            No problem, brah :3

            Quote:
            Originally Posted by SonicBlazePlatinum View Post
            How do I decapitalize Pokemon names without an IPS Patch for them? Also how do I decapitalize Items and Moves? I would also like to know how to find that rijon dot com thing that appears in Rijon Adventures and Azure Horizons before the intro that can be patched to Fire Red and Emerald so people don't buy my ROM Hack since it was meant to be played for free.
            Lot of tools support the renaming of names, moves and items. For Pokemon names use silver314's YAPE, for items use thethethethe's GBA Item Editor and to change move names use Darthatron's Attack Editor Pro. These are just examples, but there many other tools that can help you out. Don't forget that HEX editing is also a viable option.

            Here is the patch for the warning screen.
            __________________
              #19409    
            Old August 22nd, 2011 (8:00 PM).
            ZxC Mirai's Avatar
            ZxC Mirai ZxC Mirai is offline
            Huh?
               
              Join Date: Jun 2011
              Location: Pampanga Philippines
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Timid
              Posts: 267
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by DavidJCobb View Post
              You shouldn't be editing the ANSI at all. You need to edit the raw hex -- working with bytes, not text.
              Thanks but what Number should i change to 00 so that i can use any HM withou badge?

              124620-16 ANSI-01 08
              12462C-12 ANSI-01 28 12 D0 06 48 01 21 FB F7
              __________________
              This signature has been disabled.
              Too tall
              Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

              You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

              Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                #19410    
              Old August 23rd, 2011 (2:31 AM). Edited August 23rd, 2011 by revallsay.
              revallsay revallsay is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2011
                Gender: Female
                Posts: 24
                Ok, i play Pokemon Mythic Legends but I cannot deposit pkmn to the PC, i caught Zubat but i don't want it in my party, so i wanted to deposit it and when i turn the PC, click on deposit the black screen appears and i can do nothing. i tried to download another emulator but cannot load the game. I don't want to start again, because if the problem shows again I wasted my time. I would post this in orginal thread but it's locked.

                i've downloaded this file:
                Pokemon Mythic Legends V3.1.ips
                  #19411    
                Old August 23rd, 2011 (7:55 AM).
                jabberjabber8's Avatar
                jabberjabber8 jabberjabber8 is offline
                ../\..
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2011
                  Location: England
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Rash
                  Posts: 213
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by revallsay View Post
                  Ok, i play Pokemon Mythic Legends but I cannot deposit pkmn to the PC, i caught Zubat but i don't want it in my party, so i wanted to deposit it and when i turn the PC, click on deposit the black screen appears and i can do nothing. i tried to download another emulator but cannot load the game. I don't want to start again, because if the problem shows again I wasted my time. I would post this in orginal thread but it's locked.

                  i've downloaded this file:
                  Pokemon Mythic Legends V3.1.ips
                  Never played the game so I can not tell you for sure but that does not sound like the emulator is the problem your rom is most likely broke.


                  ....................................................

                  Now my problem:
                  When I try to insert tiles the end result is just a green blob...
                  assuming I am doing something wrong:
                  Spoiler:

                  Save tile set 1 >>> open it in paint >>> replace flower in set 1 with the one I want to insert >>> save set 1 >>> load tile set 1 >>> click save >>> instead of flowers appearing in the set i get a green blob, I have tried inserting loads of different tiles with the same end result every time.


                  Thanks in advance.
                  __________________


                  Rumble rock is back, expect a BETA soon.
                    #19412    
                  Old August 23rd, 2011 (10:19 AM).
                  Quickster's Avatar
                  Quickster Quickster is offline
                  Dream or Drop?
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2007
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Quiet
                    Posts: 351
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by jabberjabber8 View Post
                    Now my problem:
                    When I try to insert tiles the end result is just a green blob...
                    assuming I am doing something wrong:
                    Spoiler:

                    Save tile set 1 >>> open it in paint >>> replace flower in set 1 with the one I want to insert >>> save set 1 >>> load tile set 1 >>> click save >>> instead of flowers appearing in the set i get a green blob, I have tried inserting loads of different tiles with the same end result every time.


                    Thanks in advance.

                    Hmm, do the new tiles you insert match the palletes of the tileset when you insert?
                    And when you insert the flowers are they over the ol ones? Because Im not sure if this could affect anything, but the tiles at that space are set to do the flower animation.
                    __________________
                    I laugh looking at this.

                    But sometimes I want to come back to it...

                      #19413    
                    Old August 23rd, 2011 (11:10 AM).
                    jabberjabber8's Avatar
                    jabberjabber8 jabberjabber8 is offline
                    ../\..
                       
                      Join Date: Mar 2011
                      Location: England
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Rash
                      Posts: 213
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Quickster View Post
                      Hmm, do the new tiles you insert match the palletes of the tileset when you insert?
                      I think they do but I am not 100% sure.

                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Quickster View Post
                      And when you insert the flowers are they over the ol ones? Because Im not sure if this could affect anything, but the tiles at that space are set to do the flower animation.
                      yeah I put them over the old ones.
                      __________________


                      Rumble rock is back, expect a BETA soon.
                        #19414    
                      Old August 23rd, 2011 (11:46 AM).
                      dudedude1 dudedude1 is offline
                      .
                         
                        Join Date: Feb 2011
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 141
                        1. Is there a program that allows you to increase the number of OWs in FireRed without doing any Hex Editing?

                        2. I've already used up all ? Pokemon (Between Treecko and Celebi) but there are still a lot more D/P, B/W and Fake Pokemon I want to add. Is there a way to increase the number of pokemon you can put in the game?

                        3. Is it possible to upload you a pallete to Overworld Editor Rebirth editon without replacing an old one (Example: Create a useable Pallete 2 in OWE RE)?
                          #19415    
                        Old August 23rd, 2011 (12:13 PM).
                        ~Anbuja's Avatar
                        ~Anbuja ~Anbuja is offline
                        Let's Keep It Simple
                           
                          Join Date: Oct 2010
                          Location: In Snorlax Stomach
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Lonely
                          Posts: 321
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by dudedude1 View Post
                          1. Is there a program that allows you to increase the number of OWs in FireRed without doing any Hex Editing?

                          2. I've already used up all ? Pokemon (Between Treecko and Celebi) but there are still a lot more D/P, B/W and Fake Pokemon I want to add. Is there a way to increase the number of pokemon you can put in the game?

                          3. Is it possible to upload you a pallete to Overworld Editor Rebirth editon without replacing an old one (Example: Create a useable Pallete 2 in OWE RE)?
                          Without HEX editing u won't be able to get anything of this...
                          go to the tutorial section there is an tut
                          and @ jaberjaber: go download LU-HO's animation editor and edit it with it there is a new tutorial made by narutoactor which shows u how to change it
                          __________________
                            #19416    
                          Old August 23rd, 2011 (1:47 PM).
                          Eurashal's Avatar
                          Eurashal Eurashal is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2011
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 5
                            I want to edit the dialogue of a trainer in Emerald (Encounter dialogue, loss dialogue and post-battle dialogue), but I'm not exactly sure how to do that.

                            Also, related to the above question, it's possible to give a character more or less text boxes of dialogue right?
                              #19417    
                            Old August 24th, 2011 (6:24 AM).
                            Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                            Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                            Memento Mori
                            • Gold Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2008
                            Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                            Age: 25
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Calm
                            Posts: 14,504
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Eurashal View Post
                            I want to edit the dialogue of a trainer in Emerald (Encounter dialogue, loss dialogue and post-battle dialogue), but I'm not exactly sure how to do that.

                            Also, related to the above question, it's possible to give a character more or less text boxes of dialogue right?
                            Scripting with XSE is the thing you need =)
                            __________________
                            ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                            Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                              #19418    
                            Old August 24th, 2011 (6:57 AM).
                            CrazyShooter's Avatar
                            CrazyShooter CrazyShooter is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Apr 2011
                              Location: Tartarus; come visit me some time! :)
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 58
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by jabberjabber8 View Post
                              I think they do but I am not 100% sure.

                              yeah I put them over the old ones.
                              If they appear as a green blob then the colours of the flower don't match the pallete.

                              You need to re-colour anything you want to insert using the colours of the pallete. When I do this I export the tileset as you did and open it in paint, then I expand the canvas in paint by clicking and dragging the square in the middle side that expands it to the right, I zoom it to the max, I paste what I want to insert and move it to the empty space I just made on the right, then I click on the Color Picker (or eyedrop tool), left click on any colour on the picture I want to recolour, then find a colour on the rest of the tileset that looks similar to the one I left-clicked, right click it, select the eraser tool, then right click and go over the hole picture so that ever pixel of that colour is recoloured. Now repeat this until you have recoloured the whole flower. Then select the flower (make sure you select a 16 by 16 pixel square, it tells you the size of your selection on the bar below the canvas), paste it over the old flower or into a blank space if you don't want to replace the old flower, save it, and load it into advancemap. It should now look correct and not be a green blob.

                              Also, bear in mind that if you replace the old flower tile, the old flower tile has animation (so several still pictures playing one after another - the flower moves during game-play, if you haven't noticed). This procedure only changes one still picture which is the one you see in AdvanceMap. So when you play, you will see your flower as it is, and then the other pictures of the animation will play and you will see the other pictures of the old flower. You have to change this with Lu-Ho's animation editor apparently (according to Anbuja's_BlooDY, I have no idea).
                              __________________


                              BLASPHEMY!
                                #19419    
                              Old August 24th, 2011 (2:29 PM).
                              Skara's Avatar
                              Skara Skara is offline
                              THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
                                 
                                Join Date: Dec 2008
                                Location: Manchester, England
                                Age: 22
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Timid
                                Posts: 350
                                If I import a 5th Gen Overworld sprite directly into the rom using OWE, will it work?
                                __________________
                                I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
                                  #19420    
                                Old August 24th, 2011 (3:13 PM).
                                Kevin's Avatar
                                Kevin Kevin is offline
                                kevin del rey
                                • Silver Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2010
                                Location: Virginia
                                Age: 19
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 2,689
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Skara View Post
                                If I import a 5th Gen Overworld sprite directly into the rom using OWE, will it work?
                                It depends on the size of the overworld. It might cause an error if you try to, though. But you can try and use Nameless Sprite Editor and resize the overworld.
                                __________________
                                  #19421    
                                Old August 24th, 2011 (3:49 PM).
                                Skara's Avatar
                                Skara Skara is offline
                                THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2008
                                  Location: Manchester, England
                                  Age: 22
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Timid
                                  Posts: 350
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Destiny Demon View Post
                                  It depends on the size of the overworld. It might cause an error if you try to, though. But you can try and use Nameless Sprite Editor and resize the overworld.
                                  Cheers. I'm trying to look for somewhere I can put the genie Pokemon OW sprites.
                                  __________________
                                  I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
                                    #19422    
                                  Old August 24th, 2011 (11:43 PM).
                                  apkriez apkriez is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Aug 2011
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 5
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by locolol View Post
                                    Hi everybody How do i change the six pokemon my rival uses in the final battle @ pokemon blue/red? There's a tool available to edit gym leaders/elite four,but nothing about editing your rival..
                                    Im not sure but you MAY be able to use P.E.T.
                                      #19423    
                                    Old August 25th, 2011 (1:35 AM).
                                    Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                                    Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                                    Memento Mori
                                    • Gold Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jul 2008
                                    Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                                    Age: 25
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Calm
                                    Posts: 14,504
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by apkriez View Post
                                    Im not sure but you MAY be able to use P.E.T.
                                    I don't think PET works with other then GBA ROMs.
                                    Not to mention it's buggy...
                                    __________________
                                    ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                                    Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                                      #19424    
                                    Old August 25th, 2011 (3:49 AM).
                                    Darthatron's Avatar
                                    Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                                    巨大なトロール。
                                    • Silver Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jan 2006
                                    Location: Melbourne, Australia
                                    Age: 26
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Modest
                                    Posts: 1,152
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by apkriez View Post
                                    Im not sure but you MAY be able to use P.E.T.
                                    Nah, PET only works with 3rd Gen games.

                                    This is a Gym/Elite 4 editor for Gen 1, though: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=132926
                                    __________________
                                    あなた は しきしゃ です
                                    わたし は ばか です
                                      #19425    
                                    Old August 25th, 2011 (5:31 AM).
                                    dudedude1 dudedude1 is offline
                                    .
                                       
                                      Join Date: Feb 2011
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 141
                                      Sorry To ask so many questions

                                      1. How do you create new field moves (Surf, Cut, Whirlpool, etc.)?

                                      2. How can you make it that Pokemon exceed level 100?
                                      Closed Thread

                                      Quick Reply

                                      Join the conversation!

                                      Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                      Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                      Sponsored Links
                                      Thread Tools

                                      Posting Rules
                                      You may not post new threads
                                      You may not post replies
                                      You may not post attachments
                                      You may not edit your posts

                                      BB code is On
                                      Smilies are On
                                      [IMG] code is On
                                      HTML code is Off

                                      Forum Jump


                                      All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:33 PM.