ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #19676    
Old September 24th, 2011 (10:13 PM).
Thrasher24's Avatar
Thrasher24 Thrasher24 is offline
~Legendary Master~
     
    Join Date: Mar 2011
    Location: Outside of Pallet Town, Kanto
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Adamant
    Posts: 55

    RE: NATDEX WORKS

    Nvm, it worked once but now it doesnt. I open XSE and the script offset, and it has the nat dex info but i still only get the old dex. How do i fix this?


    Relevant Advertising!

      #19677    
    Old September 24th, 2011 (11:33 PM).
    Missingyep Missingyep is offline
       
      Join Date: Jul 2010
      Posts: 275

      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Thrasher24 View Post
      RE: NATDEX WORKS

      Nvm, it worked once but now it doesnt. I open XSE and the script offset, and it has the nat dex info but i still only get the old dex. How do i fix this?

      Uh... Could you perhaps post the script (in a spoiler tag, please) for us to look at, so we can see if there are errors in it? And which game are you working with? FireRed, right?

        #19678    
      Old September 25th, 2011 (5:53 AM).
      PunkRock PunkRock is offline
         
        Join Date: Sep 2011
        Posts: 5

        Hey I have a question is it possible to replace a pokemons moves? Like for example I want to change quick attack to " Roar of time " Is it possible to import it like importing a new sprite?

          #19679    
        Old September 25th, 2011 (8:03 AM).
        Rainbow's Avatar
        Rainbow Rainbow is offline

        my friends are completely insane

        • Moderator
        • Platinum Tier
        • GTGet-Together Event Management
        • PokéCommunity Daily
        • Discord Moderoid
        • Developer
         
        Join Date: May 2010
        Location: The Medium
        Age: 18
        Gender: Female
        Nature: Quirky
        Posts: 5,410

        Quote:
        Originally Posted by PunkRock View Post
        Hey I have a question is it possible to replace a pokemons moves? Like for example I want to change quick attack to " Roar of time " Is it possible to import it like importing a new sprite?
        No, don't get rid of quick attack, do you want a bunch of Rattata that know Roar of Time?

        The move animations can be edited in uNLZ, the effects and stats, in A-Tack. I'm not sure how to change the name of the moves themselves, but I know there is a way.

        __________________


        jakejanedirkroxy
        i hope my relUctance has not compromised oUr friendship.

          #19680    
        Old September 25th, 2011 (10:12 AM).
        EdensElite's Avatar
        EdensElite EdensElite is offline
        No0b, but getting there.
           
          Join Date: Jun 2011
          Location: UK
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Bold
          Posts: 190

          Does anybody know the flag for recieving a pokemon

          __________________


          ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

          That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.

            #19681    
          Old September 25th, 2011 (10:21 AM).
          Rainbow's Avatar
          Rainbow Rainbow is offline

          my friends are completely insane

          • Moderator
          • Platinum Tier
          • GTGet-Together Event Management
          • PokéCommunity Daily
          • Discord Moderoid
          • Developer
           
          Join Date: May 2010
          Location: The Medium
          Age: 18
          Gender: Female
          Nature: Quirky
          Posts: 5,410

          Quote:
          Originally Posted by EdensElite View Post
          Does anybody know the flag for recieving a pokemon
          There's no flag, it's a givepokemon script. Flags are for stuff like Pokedex, Running Shoes, etc.

          __________________


          jakejanedirkroxy
          i hope my relUctance has not compromised oUr friendship.

            #19682    
          Old September 25th, 2011 (11:07 AM).
          PunkRock PunkRock is offline
             
            Join Date: Sep 2011
            Posts: 5

            Quote:
            Originally Posted by HackDeoxys View Post
            No, don't get rid of quick attack, do you want a bunch of Rattata that know Roar of Time?

            The move animations can be edited in uNLZ, the effects and stats, in A-Tack. I'm not sure how to change the name of the moves themselves, but I know there is a way.

            Haha nah i wasn't it was just an example, and do you mind linking me to " A-tack ". Much appreciated man.

              #19683    
            Old September 25th, 2011 (11:42 AM).
            Truality Truality is offline
            Left for good
               
              Join Date: Aug 2011
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 1,007

              Quote:
              Originally Posted by EdensElite View Post
              Does anybody know the flag for recieving a pokemon

              Quote:
              Originally Posted by HackDeoxys View Post
              There's no flag, it's a givepokemon script. Flags are for stuff like Pokedex, Running Shoes, etc.
              He probably meant the flag that enables the pokemon menu. You can't get ahold of your pokemon if you don't enable it. It's the flag 0x820.

              __________________

              This is my December . . .

                #19684    
              Old September 25th, 2011 (12:32 PM).
              Rainbow's Avatar
              Rainbow Rainbow is offline

              my friends are completely insane

              • Moderator
              • Platinum Tier
              • GTGet-Together Event Management
              • PokéCommunity Daily
              • Discord Moderoid
              • Developer
               
              Join Date: May 2010
              Location: The Medium
              Age: 18
              Gender: Female
              Nature: Quirky
              Posts: 5,410

              Quote:
              Originally Posted by PunkRock View Post
              Haha nah i wasn't it was just an example, and do you mind linking me to " A-tack ". Much appreciated man.
              Sorry, you're not allowed to post links to other forums, but you can look for it on Whack A Hack.

              __________________


              jakejanedirkroxy
              i hope my relUctance has not compromised oUr friendship.

                #19685    
              Old September 25th, 2011 (1:09 PM).
              EdensElite's Avatar
              EdensElite EdensElite is offline
              No0b, but getting there.
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2011
                Location: UK
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Bold
                Posts: 190

                Sorry, I wasn't clear enough, what I meant was, the flag that checks you have a pokemon, for the starters etc.

                Also, What the easiest way of replacing a pokemon's cry?

                __________________


                ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

                That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.

                  #19686    
                Old September 25th, 2011 (2:01 PM).
                ThundahCakes ThundahCakes is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Sep 2011
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 1

                  I can't be bothered to go through 788 pages of ROM hacking, so can someone please tell me (or give me a program/tutorial) how to put sprites from a Gen. IV/V 'mon into a Gen. III game?

                    #19687    
                  Old September 25th, 2011 (3:45 PM).
                  PunkRock PunkRock is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2011
                    Posts: 5

                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by ThundahCakes View Post
                    I can't be bothered to go through 788 pages of ROM hacking, so can someone please tell me (or give me a program/tutorial) how to put sprites from a Gen. IV/V 'mon into a Gen. III game?

                    At least check the forum before asking a question... if your looking for a tutorial its kind of obvious that it would be in the TUTORIAL Section...

                      #19688    
                    Old September 25th, 2011 (3:50 PM). Edited September 25th, 2011 by Missingyep.
                    Missingyep Missingyep is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Jul 2010
                      Posts: 275

                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by EdensElite View Post
                      Sorry, I wasn't clear enough, what I meant was, the flag that checks you have a pokemon, for the starters etc.
                      Flags don't check for anything, but they can be set or unset by other things that check things.

                      If you're referring to the "Pokemon" option in the Start Menu, though, then you would need to set flag 0x828 in FireRed. You can find other flags listed in XSE's "std.rbh" (which maps numerical values to textual names, so that you don't need to memorize so much).

                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by ThundahCakes View Post
                      I can't be bothered to go through 788 pages of ROM hacking,
                      You don't need to.

                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by ThundahCakes View Post
                      so can someone please tell me (or give me a program/tutorial) how to put sprites from a Gen. IV/V 'mon into a Gen. III game?
                      Download any one of several Pokemon-editing programs from the "Toolbox" section. Find the Gen IV sprites you want to insert. Scale them down to 64x64px in an image editor -- and don't use resampling or anti-aliasing. Insert into the ROM using a program from the Toolbox.

                      If you have palette issues, make sure that the front and back sprites use the exact same sixteen colors. (In Gen IV, the two are allowed to have different palettes. The same is not true for Gen III.)

                        #19689    
                      Old September 25th, 2011 (6:57 PM).
                      Nitrus015 Nitrus015 is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Sep 2011
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 4

                        Anybody got opcodes for the givepokemon command? (0x79)
                        Turns out changing the Pokemon level is simple enough, but it's just that number and nothing else.

                        Adding experience will bug the game out, at numerous factors, because multiple things need to be calculated.
                        So I thought: If we have the opcodes to the givepokemon command, we could create another custom routine which would enter the level as a word instead of byte, and make it do the level and other necessary calculations on it's own.

                        Even opcodes on applying Rare Candy would be nice too (we could strip it and make it loop for the necessary number of levels for it to be applied, without all the eyecandy stuff, like the funfare's or animations, just simple leveling up for about 50 times ).

                          #19690    
                        Old September 25th, 2011 (7:16 PM).
                        Missingyep Missingyep is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2010
                          Posts: 275

                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Nitrus015 View Post
                          Anybody got opcodes for the givepokemon command? (0x79)
                          Turns out changing the Pokemon level is simple enough, but it's just that number and nothing else.
                          You're heading in the right direction.

                          Check the FireRed script command reference in my signature. In its appendix is a brief section on how to find the pointer to any script command's ASM. Find it, and then follow it, and bam! There's your ASM.

                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Nitrus015 View Post
                          So I thought: If we have the opcodes to the givepokemon command, we could create another custom routine which would enter the level as a word instead of byte, and make it do the level and other necessary calculations on it's own.
                          Precisely.

                          You may find this information useful when trying to understand the givepokemon ASM:

                          The ASM routine at 0x080698F8 extracts a halfword argument from the script currently being read, and stores it in r0.

                          The ASM routine at 0x0806E568 will check if the value in r0 is a reference to a variable (above 0x3FFF, basically). If so, it extracts that value and stores it in r0. Otherwise, r0 is untouched.

                          Game Freak uses the above two as follows:

                          call 0x080698F8
                          lsl r0, r0, #0x10
                          lsr r0, r0, #0x10 // this and above line force to halfword. redundant, but hey.
                          call 0x0806E568
                          // And now r0 equals the specified word-or-variable argument.

                          0x0806E6D0 grabs the value of a variable or flag referred to by r0.

                          And finally, a tip: don't edit givepokemon itself, as that will break compatibility with XSE. Instead, create a copy to be called using "callasm". You will not be able to read in arguments from the script itself, but you could have it work any number of different ways. (For example, have it check the values of pre-specified variables that you would set just prior to the "callasm"; or have it load the values of the four script banks, if you wish to pass in dword arguments...)

                          EDIT: Oh, one more thing. Givepokemon actually sets certain script variables and possibly flags depending on where the Pokemon ends up. It sets 0x4037 (IIRC) to the PC box a Pokemon is sent to (if the party is full), and it sets LASTRESULT to 0x0 if the Pokemon was stored to the party, 0x1 if to the PC, and 0x2 if both the party and the PC are full (no Pokemon given).

                            #19691    
                          Old September 25th, 2011 (11:07 PM).
                          Nitrus015 Nitrus015 is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Sep 2011
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 4

                            Thank you again for all the helpful info. I'm not that efficient with ASM yet, but I'm getting there..

                            Quote:
                            And finally, a tip: don't edit givepokemon itself, as that will break compatibility with XSE.
                            Yes, of course, it may mess things up where it's actually used in the game too, not just in scripting... Like when OAK gives you the starter...

                            I was thinking of making an exact same function, cloning it if you will, and call that in XSE, or PKSV.

                              #19692    
                            Old September 25th, 2011 (11:49 PM).
                            Riksem Riksem is offline
                               
                              Join Date: May 2007
                              Nature: Adamant
                              Posts: 3

                              My rom patches give me a blank screen ive moved it to flash 128k also its this paych to firered do i need to name it something different? this is the name
                              Shattered Dreams Alpha.rar i go to lunarips press create choose Pokemon - Fire Red.GBA and then select Shattered Dreams Alpha.rar it creates it then i go to apply and select it to the firered save and i get a white screen what do i do?
                              ww.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=249368

                                #19693    
                              Old September 26th, 2011 (1:30 AM).
                              Darthatron's Avatar
                              Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                              巨大なトロール。
                              • Silver Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Jan 2006
                              Location: Melbourne, Australia
                              Age: 25
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Modest
                              Posts: 1,152

                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Riksem View Post
                              My rom patches give me a blank screen ive moved it to flash 128k also its this paych to firered do i need to name it something different? this is the name
                              Shattered Dreams Alpha.rar i go to lunarips press create choose Pokemon - Fire Red.GBA and then select Shattered Dreams Alpha.rar it creates it then i go to apply and select it to the firered save and i get a white screen what do i do?
                              ww.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=249368

                              You need to un-rar it. There should be a .IPS file inside the .RAR file.

                              http://www.rarlab.com/download.htm

                              __________________

                              あなた は しきしゃ です
                              わたし は ばか です

                                #19694    
                              Old September 26th, 2011 (1:59 AM).
                              Riksem Riksem is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: May 2007
                                Nature: Adamant
                                Posts: 3

                                thank you so much dude ive been stuck on this new pc and all so i dont have many programs downloaded thx again :)

                                  #19695    
                                Old September 26th, 2011 (5:50 AM).
                                lestralen lestralen is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jul 2009
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 1

                                  I'm running gameboy games like blue red and yellow on my ds but i hate how slow you play and can't be bother with overclocking my ds or finding a speed up app is there a way to increase the speed of the rom?

                                    #19696    
                                  Old September 26th, 2011 (10:02 AM).
                                  Thrasher24's Avatar
                                  Thrasher24 Thrasher24 is offline
                                  ~Legendary Master~
                                     
                                    Join Date: Mar 2011
                                    Location: Outside of Pallet Town, Kanto
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Adamant
                                    Posts: 55

                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by DavidJCobb View Post
                                    Uh... Could you perhaps post the script (in a spoiler tag, please) for us to look at, so we can see if there are errors in it? And which game are you working with? FireRed, right?

                                    Emerald. It worked the first time i did it, than it just stopped.

                                    Spoiler:
                                    #org 0x1FA25A
                                    lock
                                    faceplayer
                                    compare 0x40D3 0x5
                                    if 0x1 goto 0x81FA28A
                                    compare 0x40D3 0x2
                                    if 0x1 goto 0x81FA294
                                    special 0x1F3
                                    if 0x0 goto 0x81FA29E
                                    special 0x1F3
                                    if 0x0 goto 0x81FA2D2
                                    goto 0x81FA29E

                                      #19697    
                                    Old September 26th, 2011 (7:02 PM).
                                    chrunch chrunch is offline
                                    • Gold Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Oct 2009
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 1,349

                                    Does anyone know where I can get some DPP city tiles for GBA? I'm too lazy to do it myself

                                    __________________

                                      #19698    
                                    Old September 26th, 2011 (11:53 PM).
                                    Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                                    Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                                    Memento Mori
                                    • Gold Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jul 2008
                                    Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                                    Age: 25
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Calm
                                    Posts: 14,494

                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by EdensElite View Post
                                    Sorry, I wasn't clear enough, what I meant was, the flag that checks you have a pokemon, for the starters etc.

                                    Also, What the easiest way of replacing a pokemon's cry?

                                    I suppose you want command "checkpokemon".

                                    __________________

                                    ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                                    Anime List | PSN Trophy List

                                      #19699    
                                    Old September 27th, 2011 (12:13 AM).
                                    Missingyep Missingyep is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jul 2010
                                      Posts: 275

                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Thrasher24 View Post
                                      Emerald. It worked the first time i did it, than it just stopped.

                                      Spoiler:
                                      #org 0x1FA25A
                                      lock
                                      faceplayer
                                      compare 0x40D3 0x5
                                      if 0x1 goto 0x81FA28A
                                      compare 0x40D3 0x2
                                      if 0x1 goto 0x81FA294
                                      special 0x1F3
                                      if 0x0 goto 0x81FA29E
                                      special 0x1F3
                                      if 0x0 goto 0x81FA2D2
                                      goto 0x81FA29E
                                      1. Try this.

                                      Spoiler:
                                      Code:
                                      #dynamic 0x800000

                                      #org @start lock faceplayer special 0x1F3 releaseall end

                                      2. Learn scripting. If you want to do a basic hack, then yeah, you can get by with the help of others... But if you want to make anything advanced, or truly different, then you'll need to know how to do things on your own. If you have to wait on people to help you for every little script, your hack'll never get done. :\

                                        #19700    
                                      Old September 27th, 2011 (12:42 AM).
                                      sawen's Avatar
                                      sawen sawen is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Sep 2011
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 2

                                        I am making my own hack but have a huge problem with it, it works fine, i have edited the maps, the sprites, the text (marts, pokémons, starters, gymleaders and much much more) ... when im testing the game, playing it on my emulator, it works fine! But through half of the game, at route 8 when entering a house and then going back to route 8 the game suddenly becomes black and you can't see a thing! Anyone want to help me out? explaining what to do ? or maybe fix it for me (i'll send romfile and save file )...

                                        Closed Thread
                                        Quick Reply

                                        Sponsored Links
                                        Thread Tools

                                        Posting Rules
                                        You may not post new threads
                                        You may not post replies
                                        You may not post attachments
                                        You may not edit your posts

                                        BB code is On
                                        Smilies are On
                                        [IMG] code is On
                                        HTML code is Off

                                        Forum Jump


                                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:58 AM.