ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #19751    
Old October 4th, 2011 (5:07 PM).
metapod23's Avatar
metapod23 metapod23 is offline
Hardened Trainer
     
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Timid
    Posts: 673
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by EdensElite View Post
    I thought so . So if i want a pokemon to level up by 10 levels or gain 10 HP, i need ASM, is there no way to script it at all?
    I believe JPAN'S Hacked Engine has a feature that allows you to create items that use scripts. However, you would then need to be able to script the change in the Pokemon's level or HP. You might be able to do it using writebytetooffset and the data info from here:

    http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Pokémon_data_structure_in_Generation_III

    But I haven't tried it myself.
    __________________

    Relevant Advertising!

      #19752    
    Old October 4th, 2011 (5:28 PM).
    Jarred0809's Avatar
    Jarred0809 Jarred0809 is offline
    The Eternal Lurker
       
      Join Date: Jul 2011
      Location: Near Chicago
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Quiet
      Posts: 197
      Is there a ROMhack that replaces Unova's Pokemon with the originals?

      For example:
      Woobat becomes Zubat
      Patrat becomes Rattata
      Purrloin becomes Meowth
        #19753    
      Old October 4th, 2011 (5:57 PM).
      cazzler's Avatar
      cazzler cazzler is offline
      Feraligatr FtW!
         
        Join Date: Dec 2008
        Location: Silver Mountain
        Age: 22
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Brave
        Posts: 504
        Sorry if this has been answered somewhere, I'm new to hacking, I'm using AdvanceMap to change the wild Pokemon in Emerald, but everytime I seem to do it and click on a different route to edit, it asks me if I want to save the wild Pokemon data, to which I click yes... When I return to it though, its default again...

        My question is, why it does that and how do I change the wild Pokemon without it returning to its default setting?
          #19754    
        Old October 4th, 2011 (6:41 PM).
        Skara's Avatar
        Skara Skara is offline
        THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
           
          Join Date: Dec 2008
          Location: Manchester, England
          Age: 22
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Timid
          Posts: 350
          Is there any way I can make it so Professor Juniper gives you the National Dex rather than the Unova PokeDex?
          __________________
          I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
            #19755    
          Old October 4th, 2011 (7:15 PM).
          Missingyep Missingyep is offline
             
            Join Date: Jul 2010
            Posts: 275
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by cazzler View Post
            Sorry if this has been answered somewhere, I'm new to hacking, I'm using AdvanceMap to change the wild Pokemon in Emerald, but everytime I seem to do it and click on a different route to edit, it asks me if I want to save the wild Pokemon data, to which I click yes... When I return to it though, its default again...

            My question is, why it does that and how do I change the wild Pokemon without it returning to its default setting?
            AMap 1.95's a bit screwy... If you change more than one species at a time, the changes are lost.

            Set all the levels first. Save the map. Change to a different map. Change back. Change one wild species. Save. Go to another map. Go back. Repeat until they're all how you want.

            And never, under any circumstances, should you delete a Wild Pokemon list. Doing so may corrupt the data beyond repair. Just change the "encounter ratio" to 0.
              #19756    
            Old October 5th, 2011 (12:43 PM).
            Skara's Avatar
            Skara Skara is offline
            THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
               
              Join Date: Dec 2008
              Location: Manchester, England
              Age: 22
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Timid
              Posts: 350
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Jarred0809 View Post
              Is there a ROMhack that replaces Unova's Pokemon with the originals?

              For example:
              Woobat becomes Zubat
              Patrat becomes Rattata
              Purrloin becomes Meowth
              1. Not every Unova Pokemon is a remake of an old Pokemon.
              2. No, because the old Pokemon are still in Black/White XD

              Although... if you want a Rom Hack WITH the "originals" as well as Unova's Pokemon, you could always play Volt White.
              __________________
              I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
                #19757    
              Old October 5th, 2011 (2:24 PM).
              south69_dallas south69_dallas is offline
                 
                Join Date: Feb 2010
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 30
                where is a good starting point for a nube? like ive played some hacks but have never done any coding or anything close to editing making my own hack but now i want to. So i know a little advance map and ive edited the starters but is there a tutorial that goes over everything? alot of the tutorials kinda seem like for ppl that have some exp vs none...like i dnt have photoshop so i cant change the title screen? and how to add scripts to sign posts etc etc sorry for the long post...and thanks ahead for any replys.
                  #19758    
                Old October 5th, 2011 (3:19 PM).
                Skara's Avatar
                Skara Skara is offline
                THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2008
                  Location: Manchester, England
                  Age: 22
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Timid
                  Posts: 350
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by south69_dallas View Post
                  where is a good starting point for a nube? like ive played some hacks but have never done any coding or anything close to editing making my own hack but now i want to. So I know a little advance map and ive edited the starters but is there a tutorial that goes over everything? alot of the tutorials kinda seem like for ppl that have some exp vs none...like i dnt have photoshop so i cant change the title screen? and how to add scripts to sign posts etc etc sorry for the long post...and thanks ahead for any replys.
                  Search in the 'Tutorials' section.
                  __________________
                  I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
                    #19759    
                  Old October 5th, 2011 (3:36 PM).
                  chrunch chrunch is offline
                  • Gold Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2009
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 1,349
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by south69_dallas View Post
                  where is a good starting point for a nube? like ive played some hacks but have never done any coding or anything close to editing making my own hack but now i want to. So i know a little advance map and ive edited the starters but is there a tutorial that goes over everything? alot of the tutorials kinda seem like for ppl that have some exp vs none...like i dnt have photoshop so i cant change the title screen? and how to add scripts to sign posts etc etc sorry for the long post...and thanks ahead for any replys.
                  If you want to learn how to script, I learnt it using thisvideo tutorial, although it's for Pokescript, not XSE, so that might not be what you want.
                  __________________
                    #19760    
                  Old October 5th, 2011 (10:05 PM).
                  Thrasher24's Avatar
                  Thrasher24 Thrasher24 is offline
                  ~Legendary Master~
                     
                    Join Date: Mar 2011
                    Location: Outside of Pallet Town, Kanto
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Adamant
                    Posts: 55
                    can some 1 plz get me the full Script for nat dex in emerald. i did EVERYTHING ppl said and it hasnt worked. som1 plz help? thnx.
                    __________________
                    My 6 PkMn:
                    Fly! Char! Master!
                    Fossil! Pichu! Mew2
                      #19761    
                    Old October 6th, 2011 (12:01 AM).
                    cazzler's Avatar
                    cazzler cazzler is offline
                    Feraligatr FtW!
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2008
                      Location: Silver Mountain
                      Age: 22
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Brave
                      Posts: 504
                      @DavidJCobb: Yeah I realized, I'm now using Advance Map 1.92...

                      I have another question, regarding replacing existing 3rd gen sprites in Emerald with D/P ones. I've been using this Tutorial and on ''Stage 2'' Step 2, it says my sprite isn't indexed, I've followed the whole tutorial. I'm using Windows 7 and I've read that this method won't work with Windows 7 and I'm wondering if its true? or if there is an alternative?
                        #19762    
                      Old October 6th, 2011 (1:11 AM).
                      Missingyep Missingyep is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2010
                        Posts: 275
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by cazzler View Post
                        @DavidJCobb: Yeah I realized, I'm now using Advance Map 1.92...

                        I have another question, regarding replacing existing 3rd gen sprites in Emerald with D/P ones. I've been using this Tutorial and on ''Stage 2'' Step 2, it says my sprite isn't indexed, I've followed the whole tutorial. I'm using Windows 7 and I've read that this method won't work with Windows 7 and I'm wondering if its true? or if there is an alternative?
                        If you use GIMP, you can find instructions on creating a precisely-indexed image here.
                          #19763    
                        Old October 8th, 2011 (6:10 AM).
                        Oxnite's Avatar
                        Oxnite Oxnite is offline
                        aka Arbok
                           
                          Join Date: Aug 2005
                          Nature: Relaxed
                          Posts: 305
                          I have a small question.

                          In Pokémon Fire Red and Pokémon Leaf Green, does each Unown form have its own palette? Or do Unown forms share a common palette (which could be the case because only their form changes)?

                          Thanks a lot.
                          __________________
                            #19764    
                          Old October 8th, 2011 (6:40 AM).
                          link12552's Avatar
                          link12552 link12552 is offline
                          to measure how far we wonder
                             
                            Join Date: Dec 2007
                            Location: The blue one
                            Age: 21
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Calm
                            Posts: 203
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Oxnite View Post
                            I have a small question.

                            In Pokémon Fire Red and Pokémon Leaf Green, does each Unown form have its own palette? Or do Unown forms share a common palette (which could be the case because only their form changes)?

                            Thanks a lot.
                            All the unknown use the same palette by default, but they each contain their own unique pointer in the palette table so they can be individually changed.
                            In Firered BPRE, the pointers for the normal palette start at 0x237954, and the shiny palette pointers start at 0x238714.
                            Most tools for editing Pokemon sprites will take this into account.
                            __________________
                              #19765    
                            Old October 8th, 2011 (6:55 AM).
                            Oxnite's Avatar
                            Oxnite Oxnite is offline
                            aka Arbok
                               
                              Join Date: Aug 2005
                              Nature: Relaxed
                              Posts: 305
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by link12552 View Post
                              All the unknown use the same palette by default, but they each contain their own unique pointer in the palette table so they can be individually changed.
                              In Firered BPRE, the pointers for the normal palette start at 0x237954, and the shiny palette pointers start at 0x238714.
                              Most tools for editing Pokemon sprites will take this into account.
                              Whoa, that was quick! Thank you very much, I was hoping for this answer!

                              I guess the Unown Forms cannot have different moves, stats etc., can they?
                              __________________
                                #19766    
                              Old October 8th, 2011 (10:51 AM).
                              dudedude1 dudedude1 is offline
                              .
                                 
                                Join Date: Feb 2011
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 141
                                I have a couple of questions

                                1. I was trying to add all r/s tiles to fire red by exporting the picture, blocks, and palettes but when I insert the tiles are either funny colored or all messed up. How can I fix this?

                                2. Has it already been achieved to increase the number of tiles in he world map in fire red from 256 to 1024 or 2048?

                                Thanks.
                                  #19767    
                                Old October 8th, 2011 (11:32 AM).
                                ShaHar ShaHar is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Oct 2011
                                  Location: Belgium
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 7
                                  Hi, okay to be honest, i'm kinda new at this stuff,
                                  and i don't want to sound like i know everything you know,
                                  i just have some spare time nowadays and wanted to try something new.

                                  i recently started with hacking a ROM just to learn a couple things about it,
                                  but you know when you want to test something, you always have to start over before you even can test the thing you want to test.

                                  so now i just want to know (even if it's just a link to another thread),
                                  - if you can skip, edit or remove the introduction screen of pokemon LG/FR??
                                  - how to start at a map you recently added,
                                  - how to already have at least 1 pokemon in the beginning of the game,


                                  al these are just to test the things i want to edit, like (for example) add a new trainer, i want to see if the trainer reacts like how i want it, and for that i don't need the whole introduction screen!!!

                                  if somebody please could help me out for this i would appreciate your time.

                                  Greetz ShaHar
                                    #19768    
                                  Old October 8th, 2011 (5:43 PM).
                                  Rainbow's Avatar
                                  Rainbow Rainbow is online now
                                  my friends are completely insane
                                  • Moderator
                                  • Platinum Tier
                                  • GTGet-Together Event Management
                                  • PokéCommunity Daily
                                  • Discord Moderoid
                                  • Developer
                                   
                                  Join Date: May 2010
                                  Location: The Medium
                                  Age: 18
                                  Gender: Female
                                  Nature: Quirky
                                  Posts: 5,393
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by ShaHar View Post
                                  Hi, okay to be honest, i'm kinda new at this stuff,
                                  and i don't want to sound like i know everything you know,
                                  i just have some spare time nowadays and wanted to try something new.

                                  i recently started with hacking a ROM just to learn a couple things about it,
                                  but you know when you want to test something, you always have to start over before you even can test the thing you want to test.

                                  so now i just want to know (even if it's just a link to another thread),
                                  - if you can skip, edit or remove the introduction screen of pokemon LG/FR??
                                  - how to start at a map you recently added,
                                  - how to already have at least 1 pokemon in the beginning of the game,


                                  al these are just to test the things i want to edit, like (for example) add a new trainer, i want to see if the trainer reacts like how i want it, and for that i don't need the whole introduction screen!!!

                                  if somebody please could help me out for this i would appreciate your time.

                                  Greetz ShaHar
                                  You don't have to restart every time. If you're using VisualBoyAdvance, you can use Shift-F1 to make a savestate file, which effectively saves your game. Just press F1 again to load it.
                                  To change the map you start at, you can use Starter Map Chooser Advance (SMCA).
                                  For the last one, it can be done rather easily with a level script.
                                  __________________

                                  jakejanedirkroxy
                                  i hope my relUctance has not compromised oUr friendship.
                                    #19769    
                                  Old October 8th, 2011 (8:53 PM).
                                  PKMN Trainer Alison's Avatar
                                  PKMN Trainer Alison PKMN Trainer Alison is offline
                                  I'll follow you into the dark.
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jul 2010
                                    Location: Australia.
                                    Gender: Female
                                    Nature: Gentle
                                    Posts: 56
                                    Does anyone know the pallet offset for the green circle under professor Oak's sprite in FR/LG?
                                    __________________
                                    [CENTER]
                                      #19770    
                                    Old October 8th, 2011 (9:18 PM).
                                    DrFuji's Avatar
                                    DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                                    Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                                    • Crystal Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Sep 2009
                                    Location: Downia-upside
                                    Age: 24
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Jolly
                                    Posts: 1,328
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by PKMN Trainer Alison View Post
                                    Does anyone know the pallet offset for the green circle under professor Oak's sprite in FR/LG?
                                    You can find the oval's pallet at 0x4629D0.
                                    __________________
                                      #19771    
                                    Old October 8th, 2011 (9:22 PM).
                                    PKMN Trainer Alison's Avatar
                                    PKMN Trainer Alison PKMN Trainer Alison is offline
                                    I'll follow you into the dark.
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jul 2010
                                      Location: Australia.
                                      Gender: Female
                                      Nature: Gentle
                                      Posts: 56
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
                                      You can find the oval's pallet at 0x4629D0.
                                      Thank you so much. I really needed this!
                                      __________________
                                      [CENTER]
                                        #19772    
                                      Old October 9th, 2011 (2:54 AM).
                                      ShaHar ShaHar is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Oct 2011
                                        Location: Belgium
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 7
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by HackDeoxys View Post
                                        You don't have to restart every time. If you're using VisualBoyAdvance, you can use Shift-F1 to make a savestate file, which effectively saves your game. Just press F1 again to load it.
                                        To change the map you start at, you can use Starter Map Chooser Advance (SMCA).
                                        For the last one, it can be done rather easily with a level script.

                                        though i appreciate your reply, still there are some problems with this,
                                        first of all, if i restart from a savestate file, the things i changed aren't in the game, i really have to restart from the beginning all the time.
                                        so it would be really great if i could skip that introduction screen somehow (with Prof Oak)...
                                        ok, that SMCA was really helpfull, thanks for that man
                                        hmm, if i knew how to do it, i already had done that,
                                        but the level scripting is somewhat out of my league here xp

                                        Greetz
                                          #19773    
                                        Old October 9th, 2011 (3:05 AM).
                                        Darthatron's Avatar
                                        Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                                        巨大なトロール。
                                        • Silver Tier
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jan 2006
                                        Location: Melbourne, Australia
                                        Age: 25
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Modest
                                        Posts: 1,152
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by ShaHar View Post
                                        though i appreciate your reply, still there are some problems with this,
                                        first of all, if i restart from a savestate file, the things i changed aren't in the game, i really have to restart from the beginning all the time.
                                        so it would be really great if i could skip that introduction screen somehow (with Prof Oak)...
                                        ok, that SMCA was really helpfull, thanks for that man
                                        hmm, if i knew how to do it, i already had done that,
                                        but the level scripting is somewhat out of my league here xp

                                        Greetz
                                        The savestate problem is simple. You can't be on the map you edited. It needs to be reloaded before the changes will show up. Hope that helped.
                                        __________________
                                        あなた は しきしゃ です
                                        わたし は ばか です
                                          #19774    
                                        Old October 9th, 2011 (3:19 PM).
                                        kyou_kun's Avatar
                                        kyou_kun kyou_kun is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Aug 2010
                                          Posts: 7
                                          How can you change the items listed in the pokemart for Diamond?
                                            #19775    
                                          Old October 10th, 2011 (8:42 AM).
                                          EdensElite's Avatar
                                          EdensElite EdensElite is offline
                                          No0b, but getting there.
                                             
                                            Join Date: Jun 2011
                                            Location: UK
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Bold
                                            Posts: 190
                                            I'm using map connections and using a different tileset 2 on the second map. However it doesn't load the different tileset when I go into the next map, it keeps the original so It looks all messed up, how do I fix this?
                                            __________________

                                            ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

                                            That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
                                            Closed Thread
                                            Quick Reply

                                            Sponsored Links
                                            Thread Tools

                                            Posting Rules
                                            You may not post new threads
                                            You may not post replies
                                            You may not post attachments
                                            You may not edit your posts

                                            BB code is On
                                            Smilies are On
                                            [IMG] code is On
                                            HTML code is Off

                                            Forum Jump


                                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:33 PM.