ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #19901    
Old November 7th, 2011 (12:43 AM).
Magius's Avatar
Magius Magius is offline
     
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Age: 29
    Posts: 76
    How do I repoint text? I want to try to translate some text in the Geman Ruby Debug ROM.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #19902    
    Old November 7th, 2011 (1:29 AM).
    Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
    Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
    Memento Mori
    • Gold Tier
     
    Join Date: Jul 2008
    Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
    Age: 25
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Calm
    Posts: 14,497
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Krika View Post
    Is it possible to hack the abilities Guts, Marvel Scale, and Intimidate such that they will affect Special stats as well as physical (Guts/Marvel Scale boosting both Physical and Special Attack/Defense, Intimidate lowering Special Attack as well as Attack)?
    The only thing you can do is to change effects of abilities to different effects that are already in ROM.
    I don't think you can exactly hack abilities to make them do different effects then those that are already implemented.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Kaith View Post
    Is anyone having trouble with advance trainer? The one by Hackmew. I've been using PET and have been getting really annoyed with it so I tried advance trainer. However, whenever I extract it from the .zip folder, it gets deleted right away.
    Help?
    Make an exception in your anti-virus software or disable it for the time being.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Magius View Post
    How do I repoint text? I want to try to translate some text in the Geman Ruby Debug ROM.
    Debug ROM does not work with A-Text or XSE?
    __________________
    ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

    Anime List | PSN Trophy List
      #19903    
    Old November 7th, 2011 (1:44 AM).
    chrunch chrunch is offline
    • Gold Tier
     
    Join Date: Oct 2009
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 1,349
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by pikachu15396 View Post
    I looked for ROM Resizer in it. no such thing.

    When you open your ROM, you should be able to select ROM Resizer.
    __________________
      #19904    
    Old November 7th, 2011 (10:11 AM).
    EdensElite's Avatar
    EdensElite EdensElite is offline
    No0b, but getting there.
       
      Join Date: Jun 2011
      Location: UK
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Bold
      Posts: 190
      Hey two questions.

      You know when you click start, and theres that blue thing at the bottom of the screen. It got gargled so I need to repoint a new one. Where can I find it? (Preferably in UnLZ but offset is fine.)

      You know how crys and cleverly attached to pokepics? Well it gets annoying when you do this.

      Spoiler:


      Is there any way of detaching cries from pokepics, but only for certain slots?
      __________________

      ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

      That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
        #19905    
      Old November 7th, 2011 (1:21 PM).
      Missingyep Missingyep is offline
         
        Join Date: Jul 2010
        Posts: 275
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by EdensElite View Post
        Is there any way of detaching cries from pokepics, but only for certain slots?
        If you can find a program that can alter Pokemon cries, then you can change the dummy Pokemon slots' cries to silent 0-length ones.

        Alternatively, if you're using JPAN's engine in that FireRed hack, you can read the instructions for his "Show uncompressed picture" feature.
          #19906    
        Old November 7th, 2011 (2:20 PM).
        Epitaph93's Avatar
        Epitaph93 Epitaph93 is offline
        Intermediate Digidestined
           
          Join Date: Oct 2011
          Location: Texas
          Age: 24
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Calm
          Posts: 119
          Back again lol. I can't seem to find any information on how to change the menu text(by menu I mean "Pokedex, Pokemon, bag, etc.) Is it an image or text? And if so where can I find it in Fire Red?
          __________________
          I'm Epitaph and I plan on releasing the first full-fledged Digimon hack of Pokemon Fire Red. We're getting close to the first release so come check it out in the Progressing hacks, and see how you can help us with the project.
            #19907    
          Old November 7th, 2011 (7:03 PM).
          Missingyep Missingyep is offline
             
            Join Date: Jul 2010
            Posts: 275
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Epitaph93 View Post
            Back again lol. I can't seem to find any information on how to change the menu text(by menu I mean "Pokedex, Pokemon, bag, etc.) Is it an image or text? And if so where can I find it in Fire Red?
            It is text.

            I don't know where it is in FireRed. The easiest way to find it, I think, would be to do a search through the ROM for "SAVE", using a hex editor. Find that, and write down the offset. Then, search for a pointer to that offset. This is assuming that the pointers for each menu option are stored near each other in a table (which would be optimal scenario, as you could then easily repoint the menu texts as needed).

            (As opposed to just searching for "POKeMON" or "POKeDEX", which would give you countless false matches.)
              #19908    
            Old November 7th, 2011 (7:49 PM). Edited November 7th, 2011 by pikachu15396.
            pikachu15396 pikachu15396 is offline
            Flygon Seeker
               
              Join Date: Aug 2011
              Location: Porter Ranch, CA
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Timid
              Posts: 5
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by chrunch View Post
              When you open your ROM, you should be able to select ROM Resizer.
              I guess i don't have that version. or, i'm stupid - i open my rom (i think) and nothing pops up that says "Rom Resizer" it just stops at "Free Space Finder"

              Quote:
              Originally Posted by pikachu15396 View Post
              I guess i don't have that version. or, i'm stupid - i open my rom (i think) and nothing pops up that says "Rom Resizer" it just stops at "Free Space Finder"
              ugh, forget it. i didn't want to play that hack anyways..
                #19909    
              Old November 8th, 2011 (8:56 AM). Edited November 8th, 2011 by pidizz.
              pidizz's Avatar
              pidizz pidizz is offline
              ludicolo Will defeat anything!
                 
                Join Date: Feb 2011
                Location: Leksand, Sweden
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Relaxed
                Posts: 6
                Seriously guys, i need help with my title screen.
                I'm hacking ruby and first when i import my final product to unzl gba it says image not indexed then i index it and it gets messed up in game, i've been trying for days and i need help, please ?

                OK so this is what i wanted (in black n white):

                titlescreen.png

                And this is what i got in game:

                titlescreeningame.PNG
                And as you can see i didn't want any bubbles to show but theres small black dots floating, and i wanted the outlines on the sprite to glow like it does on groudon..
                And the palletes are wrong too
                Would appreciate some help here
                Thanks.
                  #19910    
                Old November 8th, 2011 (1:36 PM).
                ~Anbuja's Avatar
                ~Anbuja ~Anbuja is offline
                Let's Keep It Simple
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2010
                  Location: In Snorlax Stomach
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Lonely
                  Posts: 321
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by pidizz View Post
                  Seriously guys, i need help with my title screen.
                  I'm hacking ruby and first when i import my final product to unzl gba it says image not indexed then i index it and it gets messed up in game, i've been trying for days and i need help, please ?

                  OK so this is what i wanted (in black n white):

                  Attachment 62504

                  And this is what i got in game:

                  Attachment 62505
                  And as you can see i didn't want any bubbles to show but theres small black dots floating, and i wanted the outlines on the sprite to glow like it does on groudon..
                  And the palletes are wrong too
                  Would appreciate some help here
                  Thanks.
                  I don't know if i can really help here you because i never hacked a ruby TS but imma try :3
                  First off as much info you gave it seems to me that you didn't import a new raw file means you just inserted the new picture.
                  And you didn't use APE to hack the pallete
                  Also i would suguest using a tutorial if you aren't using one like this one:
                  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5qEygDQfBiE
                  And you should look up a tutorial how to index a picture right because it seems to me like you made somehting there wrong too
                  use this one for example
                  http://www.metacafe.com/watch/4279900/how_to_index_and_insert_a_sprite_into_pkmn_fire_red_rom/
                  hope i was able to help you a little bit...or hope i showed you the road of how to do it xDD
                  __________________
                    #19911    
                  Old November 8th, 2011 (2:15 PM). Edited November 8th, 2011 by Epitaph93.
                  Epitaph93's Avatar
                  Epitaph93 Epitaph93 is offline
                  Intermediate Digidestined
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2011
                    Location: Texas
                    Age: 24
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Calm
                    Posts: 119
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by DavidJCobb View Post
                    It is text.

                    I don't know where it is in FireRed. The easiest way to find it, I think, would be to do a search through the ROM for "SAVE", using a hex editor. Find that, and write down the offset. Then, search for a pointer to that offset. This is assuming that the pointers for each menu option are stored near each other in a table (which would be optimal scenario, as you could then easily repoint the menu texts as needed).

                    (As opposed to just searching for "POKeMON" or "POKeDEX", which would give you countless false matches.)
                    Okay I found it using your method, and like you said they were all grouped together around 416180. The only problem is that I can't find "Pokemon" anywhere in this area. Any idea where it might be? I'll keep manually searching.

                    EDIT: Never mind lol. I found it a little ways up. I was searching all over the place then finally started searching close to the text lol. Thanks for your help.
                    __________________
                    I'm Epitaph and I plan on releasing the first full-fledged Digimon hack of Pokemon Fire Red. We're getting close to the first release so come check it out in the Progressing hacks, and see how you can help us with the project.
                      #19912    
                    Old November 9th, 2011 (12:48 PM).
                    pidizz's Avatar
                    pidizz pidizz is offline
                    ludicolo Will defeat anything!
                       
                      Join Date: Feb 2011
                      Location: Leksand, Sweden
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Relaxed
                      Posts: 6
                      Thanks anbujas_bloody for the help, even though it didn't work i really appreciate it.
                      Maybe i should stick to fire red since i've made my titlescreen on it.
                      But anyway thanks again for the help and tutorials !
                        #19913    
                      Old November 9th, 2011 (3:42 PM).
                      jojo1250's Avatar
                      jojo1250 jojo1250 is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2010
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Quiet
                        Posts: 26
                        hi im here again, with yet another sprite inserting question. im inserting sprites with advance pokemon sprite editor and after i resize and fix a "bigger" sprite and try to insert it, then the sprite gets all screwed up and only certain parts of the sprite show up.
                        how do i fix this? and how did it happen so it doesnt happen agian?
                        thnks!
                          #19914    
                        Old November 9th, 2011 (6:56 PM).
                        kkj1116 kkj1116 is offline
                           
                          Join Date: May 2011
                          Posts: 33
                          Okay, so I'm super OCD and in my Ruby game, I play my Elite Four with a special Pokemon order so that it registers in the Hall of Fame with the exact same order on all of my tries.

                          I stopped playing on my emulator for a couple of months and came back - and I beat Steven with two Pokemon switched.

                          Can anyone point me to the RAM offset where I could switch the two Pokemon in my 8th Hall of Fame? Or better yet, is anyone willing to do it themselves (saving the pain of explaining to me what to do)?

                          Thanks if you can help :-) !
                            #19915    
                          Old November 9th, 2011 (7:53 PM). Edited November 9th, 2011 by Jay the penguin.
                          Jay the penguin's Avatar
                          Jay the penguin Jay the penguin is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Oct 2011
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 31
                            How do you hack the title screen.. I did search aroud and try it but I still can't get it right

                            Okay back again... I cant seem to find out how to give the hero the national pokedex.. Does anyone know how?
                            __________________


                            My Hack!
                            Visit the thread!
                              #19916    
                            Old November 10th, 2011 (7:17 AM). Edited November 10th, 2011 by Rasenshurikenbum.
                            Rasenshurikenbum's Avatar
                            Rasenshurikenbum Rasenshurikenbum is offline
                            ASM is very cool!
                               
                              Join Date: Apr 2011
                              Location: Poland
                              Age: 21
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Relaxed
                              Posts: 70
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by jojo1250 View Post
                              hi im here again, with yet another sprite inserting question. im inserting sprites with advance pokemon sprite editor and after i resize and fix a "bigger" sprite and try to insert it, then the sprite gets all screwed up and only certain parts of the sprite show up.
                              how do i fix this? and how did it happen so it doesnt happen agian?
                              thnks!
                              Could you make a screenshot and upload it on imageshack?
                              Of course make the link censored cause you don't have 15 post yet...

                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Jay the penguin View Post
                              How do you hack the title screen.. I did search aroud and try it but I still can't get it right

                              Okay back again... I cant seem to find out how to give the hero the national pokedex.. Does anyone know how?

                              1. Title screen... ruby, fire red? PLEASE always write the version
                              2. You have to write a script (the best would be in XSE cause you can simultaneously compile it). If you don't know how to do it then find kind of "HUGE XSE TUTORIAL". There's everything you need to write the script (with national pokedex special command too)
                                #19917    
                              Old November 10th, 2011 (9:40 AM).
                              Ivee's Avatar
                              Ivee Ivee is offline
                              Ask me about Trailblazer :3
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2009
                                Gender: Female
                                Nature: Naive
                                Posts: 65
                                This is going to sound super noobish but...
                                I'm using Advance Text, and didn't see the Gym sign for Vermilion. I also can't open its script through Advance Map. How to I search for it in PKSV, since that seems to be the only thing I can do?
                                  #19918    
                                Old November 10th, 2011 (11:27 AM).
                                Rasenshurikenbum's Avatar
                                Rasenshurikenbum Rasenshurikenbum is offline
                                ASM is very cool!
                                   
                                  Join Date: Apr 2011
                                  Location: Poland
                                  Age: 21
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Relaxed
                                  Posts: 70
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Ivee View Post
                                  This is going to sound super noobish but...
                                  I'm using Advance Text, and didn't see the Gym sign for Vermilion. I also can't open its script through Advance Map. How to I search for it in PKSV, since that seems to be the only thing I can do?
                                  Try to find it in hex editor, like Thingy32. Of course you need table with characters. You can make your own in program called TaBuLar (character set here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=189143 in attached files below). Then open Thingy32 and TWICE open the table (tbl) file. Then press s for search and write your text you want to edit. If it doesn't work try to do it in another hex editor like Hex Workshop.
                                    #19919    
                                  Old November 10th, 2011 (12:45 PM). Edited November 10th, 2011 by jojo1250.
                                  jojo1250's Avatar
                                  jojo1250 jojo1250 is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Dec 2010
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Quiet
                                    Posts: 26
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Rasenshurikenbum View Post
                                    Could you make a screenshot and upload it on imageshack?
                                    Of course make the link censored cause you don't have 15 post yet...
                                    I will post an image the next post i make, im at 14 posts at the moment
                                      #19920    
                                    Old November 10th, 2011 (1:18 PM).
                                    Missingyep Missingyep is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jul 2010
                                      Posts: 275
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Ivee View Post
                                      This is going to sound super noobish but...
                                      I'm using Advance Text, and didn't see the Gym sign for Vermilion. I also can't open its script through Advance Map. How to I search for it in PKSV, since that seems to be the only thing I can do?
                                      Use AdvanceMap to find the Signpost Event for the Gym sign, and then copy down its offset. Use PKSV or XSE to decompile the script at that offset. Inside the script, there should be another offset pointing to the location of the text.
                                        #19921    
                                      Old November 10th, 2011 (3:11 PM).
                                      dribs357 dribs357 is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2011
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 1
                                        is any tools for hacking the dialogue in any mystery dungeon game? I know of the starter hack and that weird one by grovyle91 but is there anything else?
                                          #19922    
                                        Old November 11th, 2011 (4:20 AM).
                                        jojo1250's Avatar
                                        jojo1250 jojo1250 is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Dec 2010
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Quiet
                                          Posts: 26
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Rasenshurikenbum View Post
                                          Could you make a screenshot and upload it on imageshack?
                                          Of course make the link censored cause you don't have 15 post yet...
                                          heres the image bare in mind its a test doodle, not the actual sprite.
                                          http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/404/76339053.png/
                                            #19923    
                                          Old November 11th, 2011 (9:12 AM).
                                          Epitaph93's Avatar
                                          Epitaph93 Epitaph93 is offline
                                          Intermediate Digidestined
                                             
                                            Join Date: Oct 2011
                                            Location: Texas
                                            Age: 24
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Calm
                                            Posts: 119
                                            I'm looking for some sort of fusion script. I was looking around on the site for some sort of custom script, but never found anything. Then I started looking for a hack that instilled a fusion system. I have yet to find one that's even in beta, as it seems most of them were abandoned over a year ago. Can anyone point me in the right direction? If I don't get this script then my DIGIMON don't get to DNA Digivolve
                                            __________________
                                            I'm Epitaph and I plan on releasing the first full-fledged Digimon hack of Pokemon Fire Red. We're getting close to the first release so come check it out in the Progressing hacks, and see how you can help us with the project.
                                              #19924    
                                            Old November 11th, 2011 (5:15 PM).
                                            Jay the penguin's Avatar
                                            Jay the penguin Jay the penguin is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Oct 2011
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Posts: 31
                                              How could you allow the hero to run inside?
                                              could you explain on it and how to do it
                                              __________________


                                              My Hack!
                                              Visit the thread!
                                                #19925    
                                              Old November 11th, 2011 (5:39 PM).
                                              hinkage's Avatar
                                              hinkage hinkage is offline
                                              Everyone currently in an argument with this member: I really suggest you stop.
                                              • Gold Tier
                                               
                                              Join Date: Aug 2010
                                              Age: 22
                                              Posts: 378
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by Jay the penguin View Post
                                              How could you allow the hero to run inside?
                                              could you explain on it and how to do it
                                              If you are using FR/LG, change the "Show name on entering" to 02

                                              If you are using R/S/E, change the "Show name on entering" to 0F, and change the Type to Secret Base.
                                              __________________
                                              (ღ˘⌣˘ღ)
                                              Closed Thread

                                              Quick Reply

                                              Join the conversation!

                                              Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                              Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                              Sponsored Links
                                              Thread Tools

                                              Posting Rules
                                              You may not post new threads
                                              You may not post replies
                                              You may not post attachments
                                              You may not edit your posts

                                              BB code is On
                                              Smilies are On
                                              [IMG] code is On
                                              HTML code is Off

                                              Forum Jump


                                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:06 PM.