ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #20101    
Old December 15th, 2011 (4:53 PM).
The Fanciful Cerberus The Fanciful Cerberus is offline
     
    Join Date: Dec 2011
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 12
    I'm having problems with my XSE too, actually. Sometimes it just refuses to save my script changes when I try to compile them for advance map. I'll change some stuff and the compile process will happen, but when I open it from am again everything has reverted back. I've tried restarting XSE and Advance Map, but nothing seems to work. It's really frustrating. >.<

    (For anyone who's curious, by the way, I found where your starting location is stored in Fire Red so you can edit it in Hex.)

    Relevant Advertising!

      #20102    
    Old December 15th, 2011 (6:01 PM).
    redriders180's Avatar
    redriders180 redriders180 is offline
    Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
       
      Join Date: Jun 2010
      Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Quirky
      Posts: 540
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by mrpengo88 View Post
      This probably sounds pretty stupid, but is their a way to preview the game without playing it on VBA? Because I don't want to go through the whole game to get to an ending part.
      Typically, I usually put a warp somewhere in the players hometown to go anywhere. I also have a script that gives me all the badges and a couple Pokemon, along with any useful items. But, imo, you should play through the entire game, if only to make sure everything is working as it should.

      Quote:
      Originally Posted by The Fanciful Cerberus View Post
      (For anyone who's curious, by the way, I found where your starting location is stored in Fire Red so you can edit it in Hex.)
      I'd be interested to know where that is, since the SMCA program won't work for my rom for whatever reason.
        #20103    
      Old December 15th, 2011 (7:17 PM).
      The Fanciful Cerberus The Fanciful Cerberus is offline
         
        Join Date: Dec 2011
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 12
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
        I'd be interested to know where that is, since the SMCA program won't work for my rom for whatever reason.
        Spoiler:
        0x54A08 is your starting X coordinate on the map and 0x54A00 is your starting Y coordinate. If you just want to change where on the starting map you pop up, go to those in hex and edit them.

        For example, I use Hex Workshop. I click go-to and type in 54A00 (the Y coordinate). It brings me to 06, which is my current Y coordinate. I want my Y coordinate to be 02 though, so I just type 02 over the 06 and save. Now on a new game I start in that position.

        I'm not sure what the specifics are if you want to change the map too because I didn't need to work that out, but the starting map is at 0x54A04 and the bank of the starting map is at 0x54A06.


        How can I give a Pokemon a unique id that will allow it to be specifically given to someone (even after evolution), but not others of the same type?
          #20104    
        Old December 15th, 2011 (7:46 PM).
        movieguy12 movieguy12 is offline
           
          Join Date: Mar 2006
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 65
          Hello I finally got a snivy sprite,info and a lvl script in pokemon ruby. Now how do I add a icon to snivy in the pokemon party box?! Please and thanks!
            #20105    
          Old December 15th, 2011 (8:08 PM).
          DrFuji's Avatar
          DrFuji DrFuji is offline
          Heiki Hecchara‌‌
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Sep 2009
          Location: Downia-upside
          Age: 24
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Jolly
          Posts: 1,328
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by The Fanciful Cerberus View Post
          How can I give a Pokemon a unique id that will allow it to be specifically given to someone (even after evolution), but not others of the same type?
          Sorry, but I can't really understand your question. If I'm interpreting it correctly, you're asking how can you go about distinguishing a single Pokemon from others of the same species that you could catch in the wild - Is that correct?

          If you're using JPAN's Hacked FR Engine, you could do this by giving the Pokemon you want to differentiate increased contest stats (Cool, Tough, Smart etc.) which are, for all intents and purposes, invisible. These changes will stay with the Pokemon forever regardless of evolution so it should be exactly what you're looking for. When you need to check for that specific Pokemon in a script, you will be able detect the changes and then continue on from there.

          Off the top of my head, I'm not sure how you would be able to differentiate Pokemon in an unmodified engine (other than using ASM to get the job done). Hopefully this helps.

          Quote:
          Originally Posted by movieguy12 View Post
          Hello I finally got a snivy sprite,info and a lvl script in pokemon ruby. Now how do I add a icon to snivy in the pokemon party box?! Please and thanks!
          You can use Wichu's Icon Editor to edit the small pictures of Pokemon that you see in your party/ PC.
          __________________
            #20106    
          Old December 15th, 2011 (8:22 PM).
          movieguy12 movieguy12 is offline
             
            Join Date: Mar 2006
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 65
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
            Sorry, but I can't really understand your question. If I'm interpreting it correctly, you're asking how can you go about distinguishing a single Pokemon from others of the same species that you could catch in the wild - Is that correct?

            If you're using JPAN's Hacked FR Engine, you could do this by giving the Pokemon you want to differentiate increased contest stats (Cool, Tough, Smart etc.) which are, for all intents and purposes, invisible. These changes will stay with the Pokemon forever regardless of evolution so it should be exactly what you're looking for. When you need to check for that specific Pokemon in a script, you will be able detect the changes and then continue on from there.

            Off the top of my head, I'm not sure how you would be able to differentiate Pokemon in an unmodified engine (other than using ASM to get the job done). Hopefully this helps.



            You can use Wichu's Icon Editor to edit the small pictures of Pokemon that you see in your party/ PC.

            Idk if this matters but this not a pokemon I replaced it is one of the 25 free slots...so can I still use that program?
              #20107    
            Old December 15th, 2011 (8:28 PM).
            DrFuji's Avatar
            DrFuji DrFuji is offline
            Heiki Hecchara‌‌
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Sep 2009
            Location: Downia-upside
            Age: 24
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Jolly
            Posts: 1,328
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by movieguy12 View Post
            Idk if this matters but this not a pokemon I replaced it is one of the 25 free slots...so can I still use that program?
            The thread information about the tool says that you can repoint the ???????? icons with it, so it should be okay to use.
            __________________
              #20108    
            Old December 15th, 2011 (8:45 PM). Edited December 15th, 2011 by movieguy12.
            movieguy12 movieguy12 is offline
               
              Join Date: Mar 2006
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 65
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
              The thread information about the tool says that you can repoint the ???????? icons with it, so it should be okay to use.
              awesome, but after looking it over I really don't understand how "add" snivys icon into Any program...
              Idk if I'm suppose to index his icon
              Idk how to load it into a program
              Again I'm not wanting to replace any other icon but wanting to add...


              i dont expect you to answer those just maybe a tutorial.

              thanks so much this is the last thing stoping me from fully enjoying ruby with my snivy :)

              Also jw is there any hacks that allow me to put snivy in pearl or platinum or diamond?
                #20109    
              Old December 15th, 2011 (11:27 PM).
              colcolstyles's Avatar
              colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
              Yours truly
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: May 2008
              Location: The Bay Area
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Lonely
              Posts: 1,590
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by The Fanciful Cerberus View Post
              I'm having problems with my XSE too, actually. Sometimes it just refuses to save my script changes when I try to compile them for advance map. I'll change some stuff and the compile process will happen, but when I open it from am again everything has reverted back. I've tried restarting XSE and Advance Map, but nothing seems to work. It's really frustrating. >.<

              (For anyone who's curious, by the way, I found where your starting location is stored in Fire Red so you can edit it in Hex.)
              I can't say for sure what the problem is but I've heard of AdvanceMap locking up your ROM. Essentially, if you open your ROM in AdvanceMap, then compile a script with XSE, and then make a change in AdvanceMap without re-opening your ROM it may revert to the version before you compiled the script (in essence undoing the script compilation). Again, I don't know if that's what's happening but I've had the problem happen to me with other tools so it's a possibility.
              __________________

              Brother of Vrai
                #20110    
              Old December 16th, 2011 (8:04 AM).
              EdensElite's Avatar
              EdensElite EdensElite is offline
              No0b, but getting there.
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2011
                Location: UK
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Bold
                Posts: 190
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by The Fanciful Cerberus View Post
                Do you know what offset his speech is at?
                It would be attached to his OW in A-Map.
                __________________

                ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

                That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
                  #20111    
                Old December 16th, 2011 (1:35 PM). Edited December 16th, 2011 by The Fanciful Cerberus.
                The Fanciful Cerberus The Fanciful Cerberus is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2011
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 12
                  Is there a way to make an animation play when my Abra overworld Teleports? I can definately think of some really roundabout ways of doing it, but is there a simple command or script I could write that would let me access that animation for a moment?
                    #20112    
                  Old December 16th, 2011 (4:19 PM).
                  romancandle romancandle is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2009
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Adamant
                    Posts: 72
                    Does anyone know how Nature names are stored in FireRed? I wanna rename them in a hack, but I don't know where they are and if they're images or just text somewhere in the ROM.
                      #20113    
                    Old December 16th, 2011 (4:40 PM).
                    DrFuji's Avatar
                    DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                    Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2009
                    Location: Downia-upside
                    Age: 24
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Jolly
                    Posts: 1,328
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by romancandle View Post
                    Does anyone know how Nature names are stored in FireRed? I wanna rename them in a hack, but I don't know where they are and if they're images or just text somewhere in the ROM.
                    They're just regular old text. You can find all of the nature names starting at 0x463DBC. There are also a lot of pointers starting at 0x463E60 which connect to them, if you want to repoint them.
                    __________________
                      #20114    
                    Old December 16th, 2011 (4:46 PM).
                    romancandle romancandle is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2009
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 72
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
                      They're just regular old text. You can find all of the nature names starting at 0x463DBC. There are also a lot of pointers starting at 0x463E60 which connect to them, if you want to repoint them.
                      I think I'm not doing something right, then. If I open 0x463DBC in XSE or PokeText, I get a bunch of setvariable or gibberish respectively. Do I need to open it with an ASM editor?
                        #20115    
                      Old December 16th, 2011 (4:58 PM).
                      DrFuji's Avatar
                      DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                      Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                      • Crystal Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Sep 2009
                      Location: Downia-upside
                      Age: 24
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Jolly
                      Posts: 1,328
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by romancandle View Post
                      I think I'm not doing something right, then. If I open 0x463DBC in XSE or PokeText, I get a bunch of setvariable or gibberish respectively. Do I need to open it with an ASM editor?
                      That's because you're looking at pure HEX, which would be unreadable if you tried to type it into XSE. If you were to write something like msgbox 0x463DBC in XSE, when you decompile the script you would be able to see the first nature name (HARDY) since it is reading the text correctly. An easier thing to do would to use a HEX Editor with a table file since you would be able to read/ do minor editing of all the natures at the same.
                      __________________
                        #20116    
                      Old December 16th, 2011 (5:11 PM).
                      ZxC Mirai's Avatar
                      ZxC Mirai ZxC Mirai is offline
                      Huh?
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2011
                        Location: Pampanga Philippines
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Timid
                        Posts: 267
                        Hello again PC!

                        i have a very little question that bother me...

                        when i increase the blocks in the A-Map

                        does it affects the RAM of the ROM?
                        __________________
                        This signature has been disabled.
                        Too tall
                        Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                        You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                        Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                          #20117    
                        Old December 16th, 2011 (5:26 PM).
                        ArmoredGuns ArmoredGuns is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Jan 2010
                          Posts: 12
                          Is there any tool that allows to change the move list offered by the Move ReLearner?
                            #20118    
                          Old December 16th, 2011 (7:00 PM).
                          romancandle romancandle is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Oct 2009
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Adamant
                            Posts: 72
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by ArmoredGuns View Post
                            Is there any tool that allows to change the move list offered by the Move ReLearner?
                            I think it draws the list straight from the Level Up movepool of that species.


                            I need some troubleshooting help:



                            All I can think of that might've done this was I edited the Icon Pallets, but this is apparently happening in a beta version BEFORE I did those edits.
                              #20119    
                            Old December 17th, 2011 (7:53 AM). Edited December 17th, 2011 by The Fanciful Cerberus.
                            The Fanciful Cerberus The Fanciful Cerberus is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Dec 2011
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 12
                              I want to temporarily change the soundtrack for a few maps in the PALLET TOWN map pool to solely the track used for a thunderstorm, so that you can hear it inside and no other music is playing. Can I accomplish this with playsong in the level script and if so where would I find the track the game uses for a thunderstorm?
                                #20120    
                              Old December 17th, 2011 (11:47 AM).
                              Quickster's Avatar
                              Quickster Quickster is offline
                              Dream or Drop?
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2007
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Quiet
                                Posts: 351
                                Hello, I have a question about this.

                                http://sfc.pokefans.net/lesson.php?id=21

                                If your at least a somewhat experienced hacker, Im sure youve seen this as its been around for a while. I didnt understand it way back when, but I understand ASM more.
                                What confuses me is this "executable with removed ROM header" as it links to a text file with jumbled up letters and symbols. I do not know what to do with this.

                                Also, when binary is referred to. I know it as 0s and 1s. In this instance, is it hex?

                                Thanks to anyone who can help me.
                                __________________
                                I laugh looking at this.

                                But sometimes I want to come back to it...

                                  #20121    
                                Old December 17th, 2011 (12:42 PM).
                                redriders180's Avatar
                                redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                                Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jun 2010
                                  Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Quirky
                                  Posts: 540
                                  I just have a quick question, not even really scripting related. Every hack I see has a little "support" banner, and they all have a similar look. Is there a widespread program out there that lets me make one of these, or a tutorial, and can someone link it to me? Thanks.

                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Quickster View Post
                                  Also, when binary is referred to. I know it as 0s and 1s. In this instance, is it hex?
                                  Binary in this case means a binary file, I believe. A binary file is just a file thats used for programming, as opposed to reading. Whatever you open with it just takes all the hex numbers in the file and translates it to letters as best as it can.
                                    #20122    
                                  Old December 17th, 2011 (1:43 PM).
                                  vizarod's Avatar
                                  vizarod vizarod is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Dec 2011
                                    Posts: 101
                                    Whenever I try to load a rom in advance map, it freezes! then when it unfreezes, it doesn't load the rom and when i try to load it again, the same thing happens. what the heck is going on? please help TT_TT
                                    __________________
                                    Solo quiero soñar
                                      #20123    
                                    Old December 17th, 2011 (1:46 PM).
                                    Absol-ute Vodka Absol-ute Vodka is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Aug 2010
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 1
                                      Hi there, a quick question:
                                      How do I edit/remove the fire from the FR titlescreen?
                                        #20124    
                                      Old December 17th, 2011 (5:59 PM). Edited December 21st, 2011 by droomph.
                                      droomph's Avatar
                                      droomph droomph is offline
                                      weeb
                                      • Crystal Tier
                                       
                                      Join Date: Sep 2011
                                      Location: nowhere spectacular
                                      Age: 20
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Impish
                                      Posts: 4,291
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Quickster View Post
                                      Hello, I have a question about this.

                                      http://sfc.pokefans.net/lesson.php?id=21

                                      If your at least a somewhat experienced hacker, Im sure youve seen this as its been around for a while. I didnt understand it way back when, but I understand ASM more.
                                      What confuses me is this "executable with removed ROM header" as it links to a text file with jumbled up letters and symbols. I do not know what to do with this.

                                      Download it, and copy the contents from a Hex Editor into the actual ROM that you want to insert it to.

                                      What it means by "executable with removed ROM header" means that it doesn't have the header, which means that it won't work on its own anymore, unless you replace the header.

                                      Here is the format of a header (just in case):
                                      Spoiler:

                                      Code:
                                      0x000000 - 0x000003	ARM: "b 0x7F"		(0x3b)
                                      0x000004 - 0x00009F	Nintendo Logo data	(0x9Bb)
                                      0x0000A0 - 0x0000AB	Game name			(0xBb)
                                      0x0000AC - 0x0000AF	Version Code		(0x4b)
                                      0x0000B0 - 0x0000B1	Maker Code			(0x2b)
                                      0x0000B2			0x96 (Fixed Value)
                                      0x0000B3			Main Unit Code 
                                      0x0000B4			Device Type 
                                      0x0000B5 - 0x0000BB	Reserved Area		(0x6b)
                                      0x0000BC			Software version 
                                      0x0000BD			Checksum
                                      0x0000BE - 0x0000BF	Reserved Area		(0x2b)


                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by GreenZ View Post
                                      Is there any way to change font in Emerald? I want to add Polish letters but I can't find them in TLP and unLZ-GBA... Could anyone help?
                                      TileMolester at 2bpp reverse codec. Search at 0x636BA4, that's where the A-Z table starts. I'm pretty sure Polish doesn't use Ä, Ö, or Ü, so that's three you could fit in easily.

                                      also:
                                      Spoiler:
                                      Emerald BPEE: 0x62E994 and 0x636B94
                                      Emerald BPED: 0x63FA38 and 0x647C38
                                      Emerald BPES: 0x630EC8 and 0x6390C8


                                      Hope this helps

                                      EDIT: btw, there are lots of empty slots for characters too. Search at 0x633CE4.
                                      __________________
                                      did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
                                      o i forgot 5
                                      uraqt


                                        #20125    
                                      Old December 17th, 2011 (8:53 PM).
                                      redriders180's Avatar
                                      redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                                      Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jun 2010
                                        Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Quirky
                                        Posts: 540
                                        I'm hoping to delve into ASM soon, but theres one thing holding me back. Every time I attempt to put any ASM in my rom, when I open it in A-map, everything turns this really glitchy purple. Why does this keep happening? I'm using Firered V1.0, with JPANs hack engine on it.

                                        More: usually when I'm doing this, I'm copying in hex from a tutorial using a hex editor. Maybe I'm using the wrong tools to insert the ASM; As I said before, I cant find any list of ASM-related tools
                                        Closed Thread

                                        Quick Reply

                                        Join the conversation!

                                        Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                        Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                        Sponsored Links
                                        Thread Tools

                                        Posting Rules
                                        You may not post new threads
                                        You may not post replies
                                        You may not post attachments
                                        You may not edit your posts

                                        BB code is On
                                        Smilies are On
                                        [IMG] code is On
                                        HTML code is Off

                                        Forum Jump


                                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:29 PM.