ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #20951    
Old April 9th, 2012 (10:13 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Age: 19
Posts: 5,223
The only thing I can think of is movement permissions; does the blue couch have the movement permission 10 assigned to it? If so, change it to C. That's the only thing I can think of. :/
__________________

A Pokemon that is discriminated!
Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.

Relevant Advertising!

  #20952    
Old April 9th, 2012 (11:05 AM).
droomph's Avatar
droomph droomph is offline
weeb
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: nowhere spectacular
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,291
Hi Everyone!

Regarding saving...does the entire 256k+32k of data get "saved" when you save? If not, what gets saved, and how would I expand that area?
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #20953    
Old April 9th, 2012 (11:21 AM).
Mana's Avatar
Mana Mana is offline
  • Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Gender: Female
Posts: 10,014
Can anyone give examples of use of Scripting to call Day/Night events using Zodiacdagreat's Day/Night System?

Like... how do you use variables/offsets to call the system and compare the time? Is it possible to make it so that flags reset at certain times of day or anything?

Just trying to weigh up it's use in a hack .
  #20954    
Old April 9th, 2012 (11:49 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quirky
    Posts: 540
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
    The only thing I can think of is movement permissions; does the blue couch have the movement permission 10 assigned to it? If so, change it to C. That's the only thing I can think of. :/
    I think you mean the other way around. Movement permission 10 makes the Hero not covered by anything, while movement permission C is just normal.
    __________________


    I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


      #20955    
    Old April 9th, 2012 (2:30 PM).
    Rumille's Avatar
    Rumille Rumille is offline
       
      Join Date: Feb 2012
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 72
      Yup, had to do with the movement permissions. No clue why, but it worked, so I'm not complaining! Thanks a lot, both of you.
        #20956    
      Old April 9th, 2012 (3:36 PM).
      redriders180's Avatar
      redriders180 redriders180 is offline
      Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
         
        Join Date: Jun 2010
        Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Quirky
        Posts: 540
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by droomph View Post
        Hi Everyone!

        Regarding saving...does the entire 256k+32k of data get "saved" when you save? If not, what gets saved, and how would I expand that area?
        In one of the early pages of the Quick Research and Development, someone figured out how to expand it, and also to use the space for variables. It might be of use to you.
        __________________


        I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


          #20957    
        Old April 9th, 2012 (6:12 PM).
        Noririn's Avatar
        Noririn Noririn is offline
           
          Join Date: Apr 2010
          Posts: 15
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
          Wichu's sprite editor will help you alot. You can export all the sprites from one game to another.
          I've been using APSE as well, it can mass import but will only let me export one sprite at a time. But I suppose that method would still be faster than going through the unLZ-GBA process all over again.
            #20958    
          Old April 9th, 2012 (7:53 PM).
          redriders180's Avatar
          redriders180 redriders180 is offline
          Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
             
            Join Date: Jun 2010
            Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Quirky
            Posts: 540
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Noririn View Post
            I've been using APSE as well, it can mass import but will only let me export one sprite at a time. But I suppose that method would still be faster than going through the unLZ-GBA process all over again.
            Huh, I'm sorry. I dunno for sure, but someone out there somewhere has probably compiled a big folder of all the sprites somewhere, if you wanna google around for it.
            __________________


            I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


              #20959    
            Old April 9th, 2012 (9:59 PM). Edited April 10th, 2012 by Noririn.
            Noririn's Avatar
            Noririn Noririn is offline
               
              Join Date: Apr 2010
              Posts: 15
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
              Huh, I'm sorry. I dunno for sure, but someone out there somewhere has probably compiled a big folder of all the sprites somewhere, if you wanna google around for it.
              The sprites I'm using aren't from any of the games, so no luck there. I have them in folders but for the APSE mass importer to recognize them all frames of each pokemon have to be in one image. So basically it has to be exported by the APSE method before it can be imported that way. Not sure why there isn't a mass export option if the mass import option requires that they all be exported by the same tool. :\

              --Update--

              I went ahead and exported them all manually with APSE, it went a lot faster than I expected but I'm currently getting the dreaded overflow error anytime I try to write to rom. But I should be good once I get that sorted out. And I believe I found the source of my text graphic error. Thanks for the help.
                #20960    
              Old April 10th, 2012 (6:00 AM).
              pikachuFan50's Avatar
              pikachuFan50 pikachuFan50 is offline
                 
                Join Date: May 2010
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 32
                here.in the video i'm writing a script.but can someone say what am i doing wrong?.plz help.remove the spaces

                http: // youtu.be/rrsxUgbZG H w
                  #20961    
                Old April 10th, 2012 (6:17 AM).
                redriders180's Avatar
                redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2010
                  Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Quirky
                  Posts: 540
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by pikachuFan50 View Post
                  here.in the video i'm writing a script.but can someone say what am i doing wrong?.plz help.remove the spaces

                  http: // youtu.be/rrsxUgbZG H w
                  It's your script offset...It's 0x18D2F018, which doesn't exist in the rom. The newer Advance Map supports 8 digit offsets, so when you highlighted the whole space, and copied in a 6 digit offset, it copied the six characters, and then the first two characters again to make 8. Try making it 0x0018D2F0
                  __________________


                  I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                    #20962    
                  Old April 10th, 2012 (6:45 AM).
                  pikachuFan50's Avatar
                  pikachuFan50 pikachuFan50 is offline
                     
                    Join Date: May 2010
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 32
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
                    It's your script offset...It's 0x18D2F018, which doesn't exist in the rom. The newer Advance Map supports 8 digit offsets, so when you highlighted the whole space, and copied in a 6 digit offset, it copied the six characters, and then the first two characters again to make 8. Try making it 0x0018D2F0
                    i will thx.and does the offset has to be hexadecimal or decimal?
                      #20963    
                    Old April 10th, 2012 (6:46 AM).
                    redriders180's Avatar
                    redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                    Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2010
                      Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Quirky
                      Posts: 540
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by pikachuFan50 View Post
                      i will thx.and does the offset has to be hexadecimal or decimal?
                      Hexadecimal. I have to fill the rest of this message with nonsense to get over the 25 character limit, so apologies for that
                      __________________


                      I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                        #20964    
                      Old April 10th, 2012 (7:38 AM). Edited April 10th, 2012 by DaleH771.
                      DaleH771's Avatar
                      DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
                      I know who you are.
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2011
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 126
                        Right, Ive searched everywhere and I can not find an XSE download that actually works? Most are con methods to get me to download something else and arent actually real, and all the ones on here are broken. I just need to script ONE Gym Leader before I can release the Beta of my game damn it.... thanks

                        If its easier however, a Gym Leader script that works with PokeScript will be fine instead thanks!

                        Right, Ive searched everywhere and I can not find an XSE download that actually works? Most are con methods to get me to download something else and arent actually real, and all the ones on here are broken. I just need to script ONE Gym Leader before I can release the Beta of my game damn it.... thanks

                        If its easier however, a Gym Leader script that works with PokeScript will be fine instead thanks!
                          #20965    
                        Old April 10th, 2012 (8:18 AM).
                        pikachuFan50's Avatar
                        pikachuFan50 pikachuFan50 is offline
                           
                          Join Date: May 2010
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 32
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
                          Hexadecimal. I have to fill the rest of this message with nonsense to get over the 25 character limit, so apologies for that
                          ok thx
                          .but i kinda dont know what do i have to put in advance map so plz explain me the whole process after i write the script
                            #20966    
                          Old April 10th, 2012 (10:14 AM).
                          AyakaChan's Avatar
                          AyakaChan AyakaChan is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2011
                            Gender: Female
                            Posts: 27
                            Hi again, I hope you don't forget my last question it's really important, I know have another problem T____T;;

                            In the game there is a cave, and I want to make more maps to make the cave big but when I try to add a map it is added "PALLET TOWN"
                            Why is this happening? D:
                            __________________
                              #20967    
                            Old April 10th, 2012 (10:25 AM).
                            redriders180's Avatar
                            redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                            Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                               
                              Join Date: Jun 2010
                              Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Quirky
                              Posts: 540
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by AyakaChan View Post
                              Hi again, I hope you don't forget my last question it's really important, I know have another problem T____T;;

                              In the game there is a cave, and I want to make more maps to make the cave big but when I try to add a map it is added "PALLET TOWN"
                              Why is this happening? D:
                              The map has to have a name, so it gives the first one in index, which is Pallet Town. Change it by going to the "Header" tab, clicking the dropdown that says "Pallet Town", and selecting another name. It won't show up as the official name immediately, but hitting F5 will show the change.

                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by pikachuFan50 View Post
                              ok thx
                              .but i kinda dont know what do i have to put in advance map so plz explain me the whole process after i write the script
                              You had the process correct. When inserting the script, just highlight the last six zeroes and paste over it, instead of highlighting all eight.

                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by DaleH771 View Post
                              Right, Ive searched everywhere and I can not find an XSE download that actually works? Most are con methods to get me to download something else and arent actually real, and all the ones on here are broken. I just need to script ONE Gym Leader before I can release the Beta of my game damn it.... thanks

                              If its easier however, a Gym Leader script that works with PokeScript will be fine instead thanks!

                              Right, Ive searched everywhere and I can not find an XSE download that actually works? Most are con methods to get me to download something else and arent actually real, and all the ones on here are broken. I just need to script ONE Gym Leader before I can release the Beta of my game damn it.... thanks

                              If its easier however, a Gym Leader script that works with PokeScript will be fine instead thanks!
                              Most of the links around here are probably dying, since Megaupload closed down, and other sites are starting to limit downloading. Anyway, but here is a copy of XSE for you. Courtesy of the great Hackmew!
                              __________________


                              I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                                #20968    
                              Old April 10th, 2012 (12:18 PM).
                              Rumille's Avatar
                              Rumille Rumille is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Feb 2012
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 72
                                Is there a way to change the starting position at the beginning of the game? So you start in a certain map.
                                  #20969    
                                Old April 10th, 2012 (12:53 PM).
                                droomph's Avatar
                                droomph droomph is offline
                                weeb
                                • Crystal Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Sep 2011
                                Location: nowhere spectacular
                                Age: 20
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Impish
                                Posts: 4,291
                                Search up "SMCA", and if you're using RSE also search up "Truck Remover".
                                __________________
                                did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
                                o i forgot 5
                                uraqt


                                  #20970    
                                Old April 10th, 2012 (2:09 PM).
                                Rumille's Avatar
                                Rumille Rumille is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Feb 2012
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 72
                                  The problem with SMCA is that I can't seem to set an 'Y'-position. Only the X. What's up with that?
                                    #20971    
                                  Old April 10th, 2012 (2:58 PM).
                                  sonic1's Avatar
                                  sonic1 sonic1 is offline
                                  ASM is my life now...
                                     
                                    Join Date: May 2008
                                    Location: Portugal
                                    Age: 22
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Timid
                                    Posts: 79
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Rumille View Post
                                    The problem with SMCA is that I can't seem to set an 'Y'-position. Only the X. What's up with that?
                                    Code:
                                    080549F8 @ =============== S U B R O U T I N E =======================================
                                    080549F8
                                    080549F8
                                    080549F8 sub_080549F8:                           @ CODE XREF: new_game+CAp
                                    080549F8
                                    080549F8 var_8           = -8
                                    080549F8
                                    080549F8                 PUSH    {LR}
                                    080549FA                 SUB     SP, SP, #4
                                    080549FC                 MOVS    R2, #1
                                    080549FE                 NEGS    R2, R2
                                    08054A00                 MOVS    R0, #6
                                    08054A02                 STR     R0, [SP,#8+var_8]
                                    08054A04                 MOVS    R0, #4
                                    08054A06                 MOVS    R1, #1
                                    08054A08                 MOVS    R3, #6
                                    08054A0A                 BL      sub_0805538C
                                    08054A0E                 BL      load_warp_map
                                    08054A12                 ADD     SP, SP, #4
                                    08054A14                 POP     {R0}
                                    08054A16                 BX      R0
                                    08054A16 @ End of function sub_080549F8
                                    Thing is that the coordinate Y is stored in stack.

                                    To customize the Y coordinate, go to offset 0x054A00 in an hex editor and change the 06 to what you want to be the Y coordinate.

                                    ~Sonic1
                                    __________________
                                    This signature has been disabled.
                                    over 350px high
                                    Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                                    You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                                    Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                                      #20972    
                                    Old April 11th, 2012 (7:32 AM).
                                    pikachuFan50's Avatar
                                    pikachuFan50 pikachuFan50 is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: May 2010
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 32
                                      still doesn't work h t t p: //youtu.be/rId6cQkv6tY
                                        #20973    
                                      Old April 11th, 2012 (7:45 AM).
                                      Mana's Avatar
                                      Mana Mana is offline
                                      • Platinum Tier
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jan 2009
                                      Location: UK
                                      Gender: Female
                                      Posts: 10,014
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by pikachuFan50 View Post
                                      still doesn't work h t t p: //youtu.be/rId6cQkv6tY
                                      There's nothing wrong with your script, so I can only imagine it's your dynamic.

                                      Always use dynamic 0x800000 (or some people use 0x740000 but the first is easier to remember). Free space finder is redundant, and what you're overwriting may not actually be free space.

                                      If that doesn't work, try decompiling the script (from A-Map) and see if it's the same as the original.
                                        #20974    
                                      Old April 11th, 2012 (8:42 AM).
                                      pikachuFan50's Avatar
                                      pikachuFan50 pikachuFan50 is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: May 2010
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 32
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by SwiftSign View Post
                                        There's nothing wrong with your script, so I can only imagine it's your dynamic.

                                        Always use dynamic 0x800000 (or some people use 0x740000 but the first is easier to remember). Free space finder is redundant, and what you're overwriting may not actually be free space.

                                        If that doesn't work, try decompiling the script (from A-Map) and see if it's the same as the original.
                                        whatcha mean by decompiling.and if i always use 0x800000 how am i gonna write the other scripts i mean they have to have diferent offsets.right?
                                          #20975    
                                        Old April 11th, 2012 (8:49 AM).
                                        redriders180's Avatar
                                        redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                                        Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jun 2010
                                          Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Quirky
                                          Posts: 540
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by pikachuFan50 View Post
                                          whatcha mean by decompiling.and if i always use 0x800000 how am i gonna write the other scripts i mean they have to have diferent offsets.right?
                                          #dynamic 0x800000 means that XSE will calculate how many bytes you need, search for the free space, and insert it where it will fit. It starts searching at 0x800000, and keeps searching until it finds enough free space, and then puts the script there. Basically, just always put #dynamic 0x800000 at the top, then begin writing the script.

                                          PS: You're compiling a script in a very roundabout fashion. All you need to do is write the script, and hit the button with two gears. (when you mouseover, it says compile). And you don't need to save the script either.

                                          Decompiling is when you open the script from Advance Map, i.e. double clicking the event and opening up its event in XSE.
                                          __________________


                                          I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                                          Closed Thread

                                          Quick Reply

                                          Join the conversation!

                                          Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                          Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:56 PM.