ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Draconius GO
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21076    
Old April 18th, 2012 (5:58 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quirky
    Posts: 540
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Chaos0 View Post
    I checked it, and my map script offset is $0023B177. So I guess that's the problem. Should I change the last 7 to a 0,4,8, or C?
    Thanks in advance.

    Chaos Control!! *warps away*

    *warps back* EDIT: All the other offsets are ending in the good numbers. And when I tried changing the last # to a 0, it gave my an error message that said: Value $14146314 is not a pointer!

    Chaos Control!! *warps away*
    Just changing it to a number wont work, you have to repoint everything that starts at that offset to another offset that ends with a good value.
    __________________


    I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.



    Relevant Advertising!

      #21077    
    Old April 18th, 2012 (8:38 PM).
    Light_of_Aether Light_of_Aether is offline
       
      Join Date: Jan 2012
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 6
      While doing some research into rom hacking for my own Fire Red rom hack, I've had several questions.

      Is it possible to edit the EVs and IVs for starter pokemon? Likewise, is it possible to edit the EVs and IVs of the gym leaders’/Elite Four’s/Rival’s pokemon? If it is possible, where are the EVs and IVs for individual Pokemon stored in the ROM (i.e. what are the offsets for EVs and IVs)?

      If I give a trainer more than their original number of pokemon, how do I make sure that there is enough space in the offset? If there isn’t enough space, can I store the same trainer in a new offset?

      Is it possible to create a new trainer (or modify an existing one) and fully customize their party (EVs, IVs, attacks, held items, etc.) through scripting alone?

      Is it possible to create new flags? If so, how would you go about doing so?

      How many existing flags are there and which ones are used by the game?

      Thanks!
        #21078    
      Old April 19th, 2012 (6:56 AM).
      redriders180's Avatar
      redriders180 redriders180 is offline
      Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
         
        Join Date: Jun 2010
        Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Quirky
        Posts: 540
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Light_of_Aether View Post
        While doing some research into rom hacking for my own Fire Red rom hack, I've had several questions.

        Is it possible to edit the EVs and IVs for starter pokemon? Likewise, is it possible to edit the EVs and IVs of the gym leaders’/Elite Four’s/Rival’s pokemon? If it is possible, where are the EVs and IVs for individual Pokemon stored in the ROM (i.e. what are the offsets for EVs and IVs)?

        If I give a trainer more than their original number of pokemon, how do I make sure that there is enough space in the offset? If there isn’t enough space, can I store the same trainer in a new offset?

        Is it possible to create a new trainer (or modify an existing one) and fully customize their party (EVs, IVs, attacks, held items, etc.) through scripting alone?

        Is it possible to create new flags? If so, how would you go about doing so?

        How many existing flags are there and which ones are used by the game?

        Thanks!
        1. EVs and IVs of Pokemon in your party are protected with an algorithm; personality value mod 24, and then reorders them based on one of 24 configurations. To decrypt, you'll need ASM, or JPANs hack engine.
        2. EVs and IVs of trainers pokemon are stored the same way as ones in your party. Thus, you'll need ASM for those, since JPANs hack engine only does party pokemon currently
        3. A-trainer will notify you if you need to repoint. Do so by clicking the "repoint" button, and either typing in the suggested offset, or one you pick.
        4. Not through scripting alone. Even using writebytetooffset wouldn't work, since trainerbattle overwrites everything.
        5. It's possible to create new variables, with some ASM involved. Look on the second or third page of the Quick Research and Development thread.
        6. Check here
        __________________


        I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


          #21079    
        Old April 19th, 2012 (7:13 AM). Edited April 19th, 2012 by Light_of_Aether.
        Light_of_Aether Light_of_Aether is offline
           
          Join Date: Jan 2012
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 6
          Thank you for your prompt and helpful reply! I kinda figured editing the EVs and IVs wouldn't be easy, but I didn't think I would have to use assembly.
            #21080    
          Old April 19th, 2012 (10:58 AM).
          redriders180's Avatar
          redriders180 redriders180 is offline
          Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
             
            Join Date: Jun 2010
            Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Quirky
            Posts: 540
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Light_of_Aether View Post
            Thank you for your prompt and helpful reply! I kinda figured editing the EVs and IVs wouldn't be easy, but I didn't think I would have to use assembly.
            I forgot to mention two things. The first is, bulbapedia has a helpful article about Data structures of Pokemon in the party (and opposing trainers) here. Everything mentioned in that article, except the "Data" section, is at a static address, meaning you can use writebytetooffset to edit it. But EVs and IVs are not included in said list.

            Secondly, I read that the AI value in A-trainer either controls IVs, I believe. I don't know the formula, except FF means all 31 IVs.
            __________________


            I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


              #21081    
            Old April 19th, 2012 (10:08 PM).
            Moltres Rider Moltres Rider is offline
            Banned
               
              Join Date: Feb 2011
              Location: With My Wife, Reshiram!
              Age: 32
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Modest
              Posts: 993
              can someone tell me how to replace the battle music in Pokémon Black & White with silence??? so I only hear the sound effects of the attacks and stuff in Pokémon...
                #21082    
              Old April 20th, 2012 (12:56 PM).
              Dark Breloom's Avatar
              Dark Breloom Dark Breloom is offline
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2012
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 7
                Something really weird happened. I was testing some scripts in a ROM, going back and forth between VBA and A-Map. When I tried to open the ROM with A-Map, this message appeared:

                ERROR: (EUnknownRomType) AdvanceMapError(12): Unknown Rom Type! This Rom cannot be edited with Advanced Map.

                And I tried VBA:

                Unsupported ARM mode 00

                Also, if I load the rom, get the message, and then load a save file, I get:

                Cannot load save file for POKEMON EMERBPEE.

                Any ideas on why this is happening?
                  #21083    
                Old April 20th, 2012 (1:54 PM).
                machomuu's Avatar
                machomuu machomuu is online now
                • Crystal Tier
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2008
                Location: Americalanavania
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Relaxed
                Posts: 10,317
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Dark Breloom View Post
                Something really weird happened. I was testing some scripts in a ROM, going back and forth between VBA and A-Map. When I tried to open the ROM with A-Map, this message appeared:

                ERROR: (EUnknownRomType) AdvanceMapError(12): Unknown Rom Type! This Rom cannot be edited with Advanced Map.

                And I tried VBA:

                Unsupported ARM mode 00

                Also, if I load the rom, get the message, and then load a save file, I get:

                Cannot load save file for POKEMON EMERBPEE.

                Any ideas on why this is happening?
                Sounds like a bad rom to me, look for another one and try again.
                __________________
                Paired to and madly in love with a literal Symphony of legs.


                I also watch anime sometimes. Just a little.
                  #21084    
                Old April 20th, 2012 (4:00 PM).
                redriders180's Avatar
                redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2010
                  Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Quirky
                  Posts: 540
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Dark Breloom View Post
                  Something really weird happened. I was testing some scripts in a ROM, going back and forth between VBA and A-Map. When I tried to open the ROM with A-Map, this message appeared:

                  ERROR: (EUnknownRomType) AdvanceMapError(12): Unknown Rom Type! This Rom cannot be edited with Advanced Map.

                  And I tried VBA:

                  Unsupported ARM mode 00

                  Also, if I load the rom, get the message, and then load a save file, I get:

                  Cannot load save file for POKEMON EMERBPEE.

                  Any ideas on why this is happening?
                  If you want to get complicated, try opening up a plain old Emerald Rom and your rom in a hex editor, and compare the first couple hundred bytes. The first 192 bytes are part of the ROMs header, so it's most likely a problem with that area of the ROM. If you want, just select the 192 bytes from the clean rom, and substitute it over the bad one, and hit save.

                  PS. 192 is in decimal, not hex.
                  __________________


                  I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                    #21085    
                  Old April 20th, 2012 (11:08 PM).
                  Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                  Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                  Memento Mori
                  • Gold Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2008
                  Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                  Age: 25
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Calm
                  Posts: 14,508
                  And if you don't want to get complicated use RHEA
                  __________________
                  ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                  Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                    #21086    
                  Old April 20th, 2012 (11:41 PM). Edited April 21st, 2012 by shahariko5.
                  shahariko5 shahariko5 is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Apr 2012
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 9
                    How I edit the first map of the game ( example of emerald : the van map) ?
                    -----
                    another question, I saw an video for XSE toturial , in the end i have to take the offest and put it in the script offest positon.
                    i'm save and I look for checking the script and its diffrent.
                      #21087    
                    Old April 21st, 2012 (5:36 AM).
                    Mickey` Mickey` is offline
                       
                      Join Date: May 2011
                      Posts: 86
                      Hello,

                      When I add an OW to my ROM (Fire Red), I can't add new frames, an error message appears...

                      And, how I may add new pallets for my OW ?

                      I use Pokemon Rouge Feu (Because I'm French), so the available patches here don't work on my ROM... :s
                        #21088    
                      Old April 21st, 2012 (5:45 AM).
                      DrFuji's Avatar
                      DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                      Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                      • Crystal Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Sep 2009
                      Location: Downia-upside
                      Age: 24
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Jolly
                      Posts: 1,328
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Mickey` View Post
                      Hello,

                      When I add an OW to my ROM (Fire Red), I can't add new frames, an error message appears...

                      And, how I may add new pallets for my OW ?

                      I use Pokemon Rouge Feu (Because I'm French), so the available patches here don't work on my ROM... :s
                      What tool are you using and what does the error message say?

                      JPAN's FR Engine gives you the ability to expand the OW palette table, so you're going to have to use that if you wish to have more palettes to chose from. Since you've said that you can't patch your ROM I'm afraid there's no way you can add new palettes at this point in time.
                      __________________
                        #21089    
                      Old April 21st, 2012 (5:55 AM).
                      Mickey` Mickey` is offline
                         
                        Join Date: May 2011
                        Posts: 86
                        I use Hex Editor to add my new OW, and the error message says something such as 'Run Time Error - Type mismatch' (I don't remember exactly, I deleted the ROM --')

                        The patche works on an English version, so I can't use it... :/
                          #21090    
                        Old April 21st, 2012 (8:52 AM).
                        redriders180's Avatar
                        redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                        Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2010
                          Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Quirky
                          Posts: 540
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Mickey` View Post
                          I use Hex Editor to add my new OW, and the error message says something such as 'Run Time Error - Type mismatch' (I don't remember exactly, I deleted the ROM --')

                          The patche works on an English version, so I can't use it... :/
                          Generally, when you have two programs open with the same rom, you'll get an error message. Did you have another program open at the same time? I.E Advance Map, XSE, Overworld Editor, etc?

                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by shahariko5 View Post
                          How I edit the first map of the game ( example of emerald : the van map) ?
                          -----
                          another question, I saw an video for XSE toturial , in the end i have to take the offest and put it in the script offest positon.
                          i'm save and I look for checking the script and its diffrent.
                          The van map can be edited like any other map. It's map (25.40) in A-map (called "Inside of Truck").
                          It's okay if the offsets are different. It's the exact same process. Just make sure it's something above 0x750000 or so, or else you might overwrite stuff.
                          __________________


                          I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                            #21091    
                          Old April 21st, 2012 (10:57 AM).
                          shahariko5 shahariko5 is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Apr 2012
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 9
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
                            Generally, when you have two programs open with the same rom, you'll get an error message. Did you have another program open at the same time? I.E Advance Map, XSE, Overworld Editor, etc?



                            The van map can be edited like any other map. It's map (25.40) in A-map (called "Inside of Truck").
                            It's okay if the offsets are different. It's the exact same process. Just make sure it's something above 0x750000 or so, or else you might overwrite stuff.
                            I mean whitch script do that after you chhose your name . the game know to send you for the van and no ohter map.
                              #21092    
                            Old April 21st, 2012 (2:23 PM).
                            Cykness Cykness is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Apr 2012
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 3
                              Hi. I don't know if this is the right place to ask this but I made a cave map, and whenever I enter it, the character is facing backwards to the entrance and I can't get out from where I came in. I also can't warp through any entrance or exit inside the cave. Ladders work though.
                                #21093    
                              Old April 21st, 2012 (2:27 PM).
                              machomuu's Avatar
                              machomuu machomuu is online now
                              • Crystal Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Apr 2008
                              Location: Americalanavania
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Relaxed
                              Posts: 10,317
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Cykness View Post
                              Hi. I don't know if this is the right place to ask this but I made a cave map, and whenever I enter it, the character is facing backwards to the entrance and I can't get out from where I came in. I also can't warp through any entrance or exit inside the cave. Ladders work though.
                              Did you add a warp to the cave map as well? If so, are you sure you have the correct coordinates?
                              __________________
                              Paired to and madly in love with a literal Symphony of legs.


                              I also watch anime sometimes. Just a little.
                                #21094    
                              Old April 21st, 2012 (2:34 PM). Edited April 21st, 2012 by Cykness.
                              Cykness Cykness is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Apr 2012
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 3
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by machomuu View Post
                                Did you add a warp to the cave map as well? If so, are you sure you have the correct coordinates?
                                Yes, of course. I also made absolutely sure I set the right settings for the map/bank and the warp. no in both the entrance and the exit.

                                I just can't get it to get out of the cave.
                                  #21095    
                                Old April 21st, 2012 (2:54 PM).
                                DrFuji's Avatar
                                DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                                Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                                • Crystal Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Sep 2009
                                Location: Downia-upside
                                Age: 24
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Jolly
                                Posts: 1,328
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Cykness View Post
                                Hi. I don't know if this is the right place to ask this but I made a cave map, and whenever I enter it, the character is facing backwards to the entrance and I can't get out from where I came in. I also can't warp through any entrance or exit inside the cave. Ladders work though.
                                It sounds like you're using the wrong tiles for your warp. In the games there are two types of tiles within caves - A 'regular' ground tile and a warping tiles which displays a downwards arrow, lets you warp and reorients you if you warp onto it. If you look at an unchanged Mt Moon tileset in FR you can see the first tile is a regular ground tile, while at the end of the row there is a second identical looking tile (which has a behaviour byte that does everything I described earlier) - Place this tile in front of the downwards entrances and you should be good to go.

                                As for the side entrances, the tiles directly next to them will perform the same task except suited for their direction.
                                __________________
                                  #21096    
                                Old April 21st, 2012 (3:03 PM).
                                redriders180's Avatar
                                redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                                Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jun 2010
                                  Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Quirky
                                  Posts: 540
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by shahariko5 View Post
                                  I mean whitch script do that after you chhose your name . the game know to send you for the van and no ohter map.
                                  I guess now is best time to say that about 75% of the game is NOT CONTROLLED BY A SCRIPT. Scripts are pretty much only for speaking with OWs, activating script tiles, signposts, and a few other things, like eggs hatching and whatnot. It's ASM that controls where you start. Use Start Map Chooser Advance to pick the starting location. Use truck remover to get rid of the vibrating truck effect.
                                  __________________


                                  I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                                    #21097    
                                  Old April 21st, 2012 (3:04 PM).
                                  Cykness Cykness is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Apr 2012
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 3
                                    That solved it! Thanks, man.
                                      #21098    
                                    Old April 21st, 2012 (4:25 PM).
                                    SamusTheHedgehog SamusTheHedgehog is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Apr 2012
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 1
                                      how do i apply a hack to a game?
                                        #21099    
                                      Old April 21st, 2012 (4:29 PM).
                                      hinkage's Avatar
                                      hinkage hinkage is offline
                                      Everyone currently in an argument with this member: I really suggest you stop.
                                      • Gold Tier
                                       
                                      Join Date: Aug 2010
                                      Age: 22
                                      Posts: 378
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by SamusTheHedgehog View Post
                                      how do i apply a hack to a game?
                                      You need a clean ROM of the appropriate game, and Lunar IPS, found here: www.google.com ;D
                                      __________________
                                      (ღ˘⌣˘ღ)
                                        #21100    
                                      Old April 22nd, 2012 (5:23 AM).
                                      shahariko5 shahariko5 is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Apr 2012
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 9
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
                                        I guess now is best time to say that about 75% of the game is NOT CONTROLLED BY A SCRIPT. Scripts are pretty much only for speaking with OWs, activating script tiles, signposts, and a few other things, like eggs hatching and whatnot. It's ASM that controls where you start. Use Start Map Chooser Advance to pick the starting location. Use truck remover to get rid of the vibrating truck effect.
                                        please can you give me link for that?
                                        the one that i find don't work
                                        Closed Thread

                                        Quick Reply

                                        Join the conversation!

                                        Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                        Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                        Sponsored Links
                                        Thread Tools

                                        Posting Rules
                                        You may not post new threads
                                        You may not post replies
                                        You may not post attachments
                                        You may not edit your posts

                                        BB code is On
                                        Smilies are On
                                        [IMG] code is On
                                        HTML code is Off

                                        Forum Jump


                                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:43 AM.