The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21101    
Old April 21st, 2012 (5:45 AM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Heiki Hecchara‌‌
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey` View Post
Hello,

When I add an OW to my ROM (Fire Red), I can't add new frames, an error message appears...

And, how I may add new pallets for my OW ?

I use Pokemon Rouge Feu (Because I'm French), so the available patches here don't work on my ROM... :s
What tool are you using and what does the error message say?

JPAN's FR Engine gives you the ability to expand the OW palette table, so you're going to have to use that if you wish to have more palettes to chose from. Since you've said that you can't patch your ROM I'm afraid there's no way you can add new palettes at this point in time.
__________________

Relevant Advertising!

  #21102    
Old April 21st, 2012 (5:55 AM).
Mickey` Mickey` is offline
     
    Join Date: May 2011
    Posts: 82
    I use Hex Editor to add my new OW, and the error message says something such as 'Run Time Error - Type mismatch' (I don't remember exactly, I deleted the ROM --')

    The patche works on an English version, so I can't use it... :/
      #21103    
    Old April 21st, 2012 (8:52 AM).
    redriders180's Avatar
    redriders180 redriders180 is offline
    Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
       
      Join Date: Jun 2010
      Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Quirky
      Posts: 540
      Send a message via AIM to redriders180
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Mickey` View Post
      I use Hex Editor to add my new OW, and the error message says something such as 'Run Time Error - Type mismatch' (I don't remember exactly, I deleted the ROM --')

      The patche works on an English version, so I can't use it... :/
      Generally, when you have two programs open with the same rom, you'll get an error message. Did you have another program open at the same time? I.E Advance Map, XSE, Overworld Editor, etc?

      Quote:
      Originally Posted by shahariko5 View Post
      How I edit the first map of the game ( example of emerald : the van map) ?
      -----
      another question, I saw an video for XSE toturial , in the end i have to take the offest and put it in the script offest positon.
      i'm save and I look for checking the script and its diffrent.
      The van map can be edited like any other map. It's map (25.40) in A-map (called "Inside of Truck").
      It's okay if the offsets are different. It's the exact same process. Just make sure it's something above 0x750000 or so, or else you might overwrite stuff.
      __________________


      I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


        #21104    
      Old April 21st, 2012 (10:57 AM).
      shahariko5 shahariko5 is offline
         
        Join Date: Apr 2012
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 9
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
        Generally, when you have two programs open with the same rom, you'll get an error message. Did you have another program open at the same time? I.E Advance Map, XSE, Overworld Editor, etc?



        The van map can be edited like any other map. It's map (25.40) in A-map (called "Inside of Truck").
        It's okay if the offsets are different. It's the exact same process. Just make sure it's something above 0x750000 or so, or else you might overwrite stuff.
        I mean whitch script do that after you chhose your name . the game know to send you for the van and no ohter map.
          #21105    
        Old April 21st, 2012 (2:23 PM).
        Cykness Cykness is offline
           
          Join Date: Apr 2012
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 3
          Hi. I don't know if this is the right place to ask this but I made a cave map, and whenever I enter it, the character is facing backwards to the entrance and I can't get out from where I came in. I also can't warp through any entrance or exit inside the cave. Ladders work though.
            #21106    
          Old April 21st, 2012 (2:27 PM).
          machomuu's Avatar
          machomuu machomuu is offline
          • Crystal Tier
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Apr 2008
          Location: Americalanavania
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 10,225
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Cykness View Post
          Hi. I don't know if this is the right place to ask this but I made a cave map, and whenever I enter it, the character is facing backwards to the entrance and I can't get out from where I came in. I also can't warp through any entrance or exit inside the cave. Ladders work though.
          Did you add a warp to the cave map as well? If so, are you sure you have the correct coordinates?
          __________________
          Paired to and madly in love with a literal Symphony of legs.
          Collab de
          Los Video JUEGOS

          I also watch anime sometimes. Just a little.
            #21107    
          Old April 21st, 2012 (2:34 PM). Edited April 21st, 2012 by Cykness.
          Cykness Cykness is offline
             
            Join Date: Apr 2012
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 3
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by machomuu View Post
            Did you add a warp to the cave map as well? If so, are you sure you have the correct coordinates?
            Yes, of course. I also made absolutely sure I set the right settings for the map/bank and the warp. no in both the entrance and the exit.

            I just can't get it to get out of the cave.
              #21108    
            Old April 21st, 2012 (2:54 PM).
            DrFuji's Avatar
            DrFuji DrFuji is offline
            Heiki Hecchara‌‌
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Sep 2009
            Location: Downia-upside
            Age: 24
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Jolly
            Posts: 1,326
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Cykness View Post
            Hi. I don't know if this is the right place to ask this but I made a cave map, and whenever I enter it, the character is facing backwards to the entrance and I can't get out from where I came in. I also can't warp through any entrance or exit inside the cave. Ladders work though.
            It sounds like you're using the wrong tiles for your warp. In the games there are two types of tiles within caves - A 'regular' ground tile and a warping tiles which displays a downwards arrow, lets you warp and reorients you if you warp onto it. If you look at an unchanged Mt Moon tileset in FR you can see the first tile is a regular ground tile, while at the end of the row there is a second identical looking tile (which has a behaviour byte that does everything I described earlier) - Place this tile in front of the downwards entrances and you should be good to go.

            As for the side entrances, the tiles directly next to them will perform the same task except suited for their direction.
            __________________
              #21109    
            Old April 21st, 2012 (3:03 PM).
            redriders180's Avatar
            redriders180 redriders180 is offline
            Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
               
              Join Date: Jun 2010
              Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Quirky
              Posts: 540
              Send a message via AIM to redriders180
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by shahariko5 View Post
              I mean whitch script do that after you chhose your name . the game know to send you for the van and no ohter map.
              I guess now is best time to say that about 75% of the game is NOT CONTROLLED BY A SCRIPT. Scripts are pretty much only for speaking with OWs, activating script tiles, signposts, and a few other things, like eggs hatching and whatnot. It's ASM that controls where you start. Use Start Map Chooser Advance to pick the starting location. Use truck remover to get rid of the vibrating truck effect.
              __________________


              I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                #21110    
              Old April 21st, 2012 (3:04 PM).
              Cykness Cykness is offline
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2012
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 3
                That solved it! Thanks, man.
                  #21111    
                Old April 21st, 2012 (4:25 PM).
                SamusTheHedgehog SamusTheHedgehog is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Apr 2012
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 1
                  how do i apply a hack to a game?
                    #21112    
                  Old April 21st, 2012 (4:29 PM).
                  hinkage's Avatar
                  hinkage hinkage is offline
                  Everyone currently in an argument with this member: I really suggest you stop.
                  • Gold Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Aug 2010
                  Age: 21
                  Posts: 378
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by SamusTheHedgehog View Post
                  how do i apply a hack to a game?
                  You need a clean ROM of the appropriate game, and Lunar IPS, found here: www.google.com ;D
                  __________________
                  (ღ˘⌣˘ღ)
                    #21113    
                  Old April 22nd, 2012 (5:23 AM).
                  shahariko5 shahariko5 is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Apr 2012
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 9
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
                    I guess now is best time to say that about 75% of the game is NOT CONTROLLED BY A SCRIPT. Scripts are pretty much only for speaking with OWs, activating script tiles, signposts, and a few other things, like eggs hatching and whatnot. It's ASM that controls where you start. Use Start Map Chooser Advance to pick the starting location. Use truck remover to get rid of the vibrating truck effect.
                    please can you give me link for that?
                    the one that i find don't work
                      #21114    
                    Old April 22nd, 2012 (6:40 AM).
                    Mickey` Mickey` is offline
                       
                      Join Date: May 2011
                      Posts: 82
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
                      Generally, when you have two programs open with the same rom, you'll get an error message. Did you have another program open at the same time? I.E Advance Map, XSE, Overworld Editor, etc?
                      No, it isn't the problem :s

                      Ah, here is the error message :
                      Attached Images
                      File Type: png 120422044902780890.png‎ (56.2 KB, 13 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                        #21115    
                      Old April 22nd, 2012 (6:59 AM).
                      redriders180's Avatar
                      redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                      Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2010
                        Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Quirky
                        Posts: 540
                        Send a message via AIM to redriders180
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Mickey` View Post
                        No, it isn't the problem :s

                        Ah, here is the error message :
                        I'm not sure what's causing it to do that, assuming you used the correct structure and everything when you hex-added it. If I were you, I'd try the classic NSE to edit it; But don't use it like you would Overworld Editor; input the offset manually. If it gives you an error again, then it's a problem with your hex. Otherwise, it should work.
                        __________________


                        I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                          #21116    
                        Old April 22nd, 2012 (7:14 AM).
                        Mickey` Mickey` is offline
                           
                          Join Date: May 2011
                          Posts: 82
                          I will try... Thanks for your help !

                          ----------------

                          Hem, another question (I know I'm not clever xD)

                          I follow the tut' by thethethethe to change the style of the textboxs, but I can't delete the white of the textbox, How I can make this ? :/

                          (Sorry for the language, I'm French and I'm young :s)
                          Attached Images
                          File Type: png 120422044810200010.png‎ (3.7 KB, 12 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                            #21117    
                          Old April 22nd, 2012 (11:18 AM).
                          Chaos Rush's Avatar
                          Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
                          im sexy and i know it
                             
                            Join Date: May 2007
                            Location: Taylor Swift
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Adamant
                            Posts: 1,296
                            Does anyone have any documentation of the order of the cry table in any of the GBA games? It's all normal from Bulbasaur to Celebi, but then the order gets really weird from there.
                            __________________

                            My projects:
                            Untitled Pokémon fangame (pictured above) | Final Fantasy II NES retranslation | Mother 1/EarthBound Beginnings Color Restoration for GBA
                            Non-Pokémon hacks I support:
                            Sonic Classic Heroes
                            Sonic 3 Complete
                              #21118    
                            Old April 22nd, 2012 (2:26 PM).
                            destinedjagold's Avatar
                            destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                            Oh Hai Thar~
                            • Silver Tier
                             
                            Join Date: May 2007
                            Location: Philippines
                            Age: 26
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Careful
                            Posts: 8,507
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Chaos Rush View Post
                            Does anyone have any documentation of the order of the cry table in any of the GBA games? It's all normal from Bulbasaur to Celebi, but then the order gets really weird from there.
                            You can use a Hex Editor, and the tools PokeCry and YAPE.
                            With YAPE, search for the POKéMON you wish to view.


                            Then, open your ROM with a Hex Editor.
                            And then, with PokéCry...

                            1. Go to the Table Offset...
                            2. Search/Find the Sample Offset (reverse it).
                            __________________


                            FC: 0061-1111-6462
                            TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                              #21119    
                            Old April 23rd, 2012 (5:45 AM).
                            Noririn's Avatar
                            Noririn Noririn is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Apr 2010
                              Posts: 15
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Mickey` View Post
                              And, how I may add new pallets for my OW ?

                              I use Pokemon Rouge Feu (Because I'm French), so the available patches here don't work on my ROM... :s
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
                              JPAN's FR Engine gives you the ability to expand the OW palette table, so you're going to have to use that if you wish to have more palettes to chose from. Since you've said that you can't patch your ROM I'm afraid there's no way you can add new palettes at this point in time.
                              It can be easily done without JPAN's engine.

                              Spoiler:
                              Look for a 144 byte table of data that follows the same structure as the following your rom:
                              (from BPRE at 0x3A5158)
                              28 D8 36 08 03 11 00 00 48 D8 36 08 04 11 00 00
                              68 D8 36 08 05 11 00 00 88 D8 36 08 06 11 00 00
                              A8 D8 36 08 07 11 00 00 C8 D8 36 08 08 11 00 00
                              E8 D8 36 08 09 11 00 00 08 D9 36 08 0A 11 00 00
                              68 B9 35 08 00 11 00 00 68 E9 35 08 01 11 00 00
                              88 E9 35 08 02 11 00 00 08 80 39 08 0B 11 00 00
                              28 80 39 08 0C 11 00 00 40 4E 8E 08 10 11 00 00
                              82 4E 8E 08 11 11 00 00 A8 4E 39 08 13 11 00 00
                              E8 5A 39 08 15 11 00 00 C8 52 39 08 14 11 00 00

                              Copy the table, find some free space and paste it there, add 0000FF1100 to the end. Search for pointers to the original table and repoint the first 3 you find from the start of the rom to the new table's location. Then just follow the same process to add new OW palettes as you would with JPAN's engine.
                                #21120    
                              Old April 23rd, 2012 (9:18 AM).
                              Mickey` Mickey` is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: May 2011
                                Posts: 82
                                Great, but just a little question, what represents this table ?
                                  #21121    
                                Old April 23rd, 2012 (10:40 AM). Edited April 23rd, 2012 by redriders180.
                                redriders180's Avatar
                                redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                                Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jun 2010
                                  Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Quirky
                                  Posts: 540
                                  Send a message via AIM to redriders180
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Mickey` View Post
                                  No, it isn't the problem :s

                                  Ah, here is the error message :
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Mickey` View Post
                                  Great, but just a little question, what represents this table ?
                                  The table is a list of all the OW palettes in game. It's laid out like so:

                                  XX XX XX XX YY 11 00 00. XX XX XX XX is the offset of the palettes, reversed, and YY is the pallete number. I might also be doing it wrong, but typing in any of those custom pallete numbers into NSE or Overworld Editor will result in an error message...You'll have to add it via hex editor.

                                  PS ALWAYS end the table with 00 00 00 00 FF 11 00 00. That signifies the end of the table.
                                  __________________


                                  I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                                    #21122    
                                  Old April 23rd, 2012 (10:50 AM).
                                  Mickey` Mickey` is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: May 2011
                                    Posts: 82
                                    Ok, thanks a lot ! I'm going to try it...
                                      #21123    
                                    Old April 23rd, 2012 (1:31 PM).
                                    Chaos Rush's Avatar
                                    Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
                                    im sexy and i know it
                                       
                                      Join Date: May 2007
                                      Location: Taylor Swift
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Adamant
                                      Posts: 1,296
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post


                                      You can use a Hex Editor, and the tools PokeCry and YAPE.
                                      With YAPE, search for the POKéMON you wish to view.


                                      Then, open your ROM with a Hex Editor.
                                      And then, with PokéCry...

                                      1. Go to the Table Offset...
                                      2. Search/Find the Sample Offset (reverse it).
                                      Sorry, that doesn't help at all. Obviously, I've already looked into it with a hex editor (its the first thing I do), and apparently no one else noticed that the order is scrambled after Celebi. Because of how YAPE and PokeCry reads the tables (except the PokeCry mod that someone posted here), all the offsets listed for Pokemon higher than Celebi are completely incorrect.

                                      Jambo51 recently told me that there is a second cry table in the rom that determines what each Pokemon's cry is, starting from index number 252 (the number after Celebi). This is most likely because index number's 252-276 are glitch Pokemon, so the game disabled cries for those index numbers (they're all Unown cries). Does anyone know where the second cry table is in Ruby, or at least what format the second table is in?
                                      __________________

                                      My projects:
                                      Untitled Pokémon fangame (pictured above) | Final Fantasy II NES retranslation | Mother 1/EarthBound Beginnings Color Restoration for GBA
                                      Non-Pokémon hacks I support:
                                      Sonic Classic Heroes
                                      Sonic 3 Complete
                                        #21124    
                                      Old April 24th, 2012 (11:37 AM).
                                      Mickey` Mickey` is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: May 2011
                                        Posts: 82
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Noririn View Post
                                        It can be easily done without JPAN's engine.

                                        Spoiler:
                                        Look for a 144 byte table of data that follows the same structure as the following your rom:
                                        (from BPRE at 0x3A5158)
                                        28 D8 36 08 03 11 00 00 48 D8 36 08 04 11 00 00
                                        68 D8 36 08 05 11 00 00 88 D8 36 08 06 11 00 00
                                        A8 D8 36 08 07 11 00 00 C8 D8 36 08 08 11 00 00
                                        E8 D8 36 08 09 11 00 00 08 D9 36 08 0A 11 00 00
                                        68 B9 35 08 00 11 00 00 68 E9 35 08 01 11 00 00
                                        88 E9 35 08 02 11 00 00 08 80 39 08 0B 11 00 00
                                        28 80 39 08 0C 11 00 00 40 4E 8E 08 10 11 00 00
                                        82 4E 8E 08 11 11 00 00 A8 4E 39 08 13 11 00 00
                                        E8 5A 39 08 15 11 00 00 C8 52 39 08 14 11 00 00

                                        Copy the table, find some free space and paste it there, add 0000FF1100 to the end. Search for pointers to the original table and repoint the first 3 you find from the start of the rom to the new table's location. Then just follow the same process to add new OW palettes as you would with JPAN's engine.
                                        I have a last problem...

                                        I copy/paste the table to a new offset ($B40000), and at the end I add this :

                                        00 00 B3 08 20 11 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF 11 00 00

                                        $B30000 is the offset where I put my new palette.

                                        So, in my sprite, after "FFFF", I put the pallet number, "20", but in game, a black screen apears. It apears when I use a new pallet.

                                        What's the problem ?
                                          #21125    
                                        Old April 24th, 2012 (5:40 PM).
                                        redriders180's Avatar
                                        redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                                        Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jun 2010
                                          Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Quirky
                                          Posts: 540
                                          Send a message via AIM to redriders180
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
                                          The table is a list of all the OW palettes in game. It's laid out like so:

                                          XX XX XX XX YY 11 00 00. XX XX XX XX is the offset of the palettes, reversed, and YY is the pallete number. I might also be doing it wrong, but typing in any of those custom pallete numbers into NSE or Overworld Editor will result in an error message...You'll have to add it via hex editor.

                                          PS ALWAYS end the table with 00 00 00 00 FF 11 00 00. That signifies the end of the table.
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Mickey` View Post
                                          I have a last problem...

                                          I copy/paste the table to a new offset ($B40000), and at the end I add this :

                                          00 00 B3 08 20 11 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF 11 00 00

                                          $B30000 is the offset where I put my new palette.

                                          So, in my sprite, after "FFFF", I put the pallet number, "20", but in game, a black screen apears. It apears when I use a new pallet.

                                          What's the problem ?
                                          I'm assuming you repointed the palette table...if you did, then I don't know. Check in Overworld Editor or the like to make sure the palette works.
                                          __________________


                                          I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                                          Closed Thread
                                          Quick Reply

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:15 AM.