ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21501    
Old June 8th, 2012 (3:40 PM).
itman itman is offline
Back to ROM hacking. :D
     
    Join Date: May 2007
    Age: 23
    Nature: Adamant
    Posts: 100
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SpadeEdge16 View Post
    Hey, guys, in my hack I'm using FR and I created an evolved form of Smoochum where the female evolves into Jynx and in mine you can catch a male Smoochum that evolves into a completely different male version, but I should have thought this through first because I can't see any way to do this with YAPE, is it possible? o-o
    Since that method of evolution wasn't created until d/p, I'm afraid it can't be done without asm. But what you can do is Add another smoochum Pokemon, and make that evolve into something else. Set one smoochum to 100% male and the other to 100% female. That'll work. :)

    Does anyone know approxamitely how much free space is in Pokemon fire red? Like MB...

    Relevant Advertising!

      #21502    
    Old June 8th, 2012 (4:38 PM). Edited June 8th, 2012 by redriders180.
    redriders180's Avatar
    redriders180 redriders180 is offline
    Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
       
      Join Date: Jun 2010
      Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Quirky
      Posts: 540
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by itman View Post
      Since that method of evolution wasn't created until d/p, I'm afraid it can't be done without asm. But what you can do is Add another smoochum Pokemon, and make that evolve into something else. Set one smoochum to 100% male and the other to 100% female. That'll work.

      Does anyone know approxamitely how much free space is in Pokemon fire red? Like MB...
      I just calculated it, and it's roughly 8.875 MB, if you start at 0x720000 and go on to 0xFFFFFF. There were some FFs above 0x720000, though, so you have a little less than 9MB of free space. (It would be exactly 9 MB if 0x700000 - 0xFFFFFF were free)
      __________________


      I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


        #21503    
      Old June 8th, 2012 (5:45 PM).
      aar2697 aar2697 is offline
         
        Join Date: Jun 2010
        Age: 20
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 37
        When saving data, I've noticed that some program is writing over 00's in the 2A... group; I'm a assuming it's Advance Map because the problems recur after saving. This is a problem because that's where the Viridian City tileset is located (Tileset #2), and most of the behavior bytes and background bytes have 00 bytes. This messes things such as doors and tiles the player should be covering. Is there any way where I can make Advance Map not save in this area?
          #21504    
        Old June 9th, 2012 (2:41 AM).
        Typhlosion Lv 99's Avatar
        Typhlosion Lv 99 Typhlosion Lv 99 is offline
           
          Join Date: May 2012
          Location: Indonesia
          Age: 19
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Bashful
          Posts: 14
          hey everyone,i want to edit Brock's Gym.I want to add tree and grass to the gym.how to do that?
            #21505    
          Old June 9th, 2012 (2:54 AM).
          Rokou Rokou is offline
          » inactive
             
            Join Date: Jun 2012
            Age: 24
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Quiet
            Posts: 24
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by aar2697 View Post
            When saving data, I've noticed that some program is writing over 00's in the 2A... group; I'm a assuming it's Advance Map because the problems recur after saving. This is a problem because that's where the Viridian City tileset is located (Tileset #2), and most of the behavior bytes and background bytes have 00 bytes. This messes things such as doors and tiles the player should be covering. Is there any way where I can make Advance Map not save in this area?
            It searches for FF bytes by default, use the block editor to change the tile behavior.

            Here is a example.
            Spoiler:


            You can also uncheck "Automatically look for offsets" under "Settings" in order to pick your own offsets.
            __________________
              #21506    
            Old June 9th, 2012 (3:38 AM).
            Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
            Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
            Memento Mori
            • Gold Tier
             
            Join Date: Jul 2008
            Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
            Age: 24
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Calm
            Posts: 14,477
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by FearAddict View Post
            Hai all, I got a problem with A-map. When i set pokemon in wild pokemon editor (i put taillows in route 1 and some pidgeys and rattatas) but the only pokemon i encounter are sandslash of high level. Can someone help me? I would really appreciate!

            Thanks in advance all!
            You probably missclicked, check the map again and set it again, also don't forget to save.
            __________________
            ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

            Anime List | PSN Trophy List
              #21507    
            Old June 9th, 2012 (6:55 AM). Edited June 9th, 2012 by LugiaMZ.
            LugiaMZ's Avatar
            LugiaMZ LugiaMZ is offline
               
              Join Date: Dec 2011
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 74
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
              I understand...you're wanting to change what map appears when you open the World Map. I had a similar problem, since my game has multiple regions, and the best way to do it is with a hex editor, I'm afraid. I'll link to a tutorial you'd find useful, but I'll sum up what you can do to avoid using it.

              Which map appears is based on the name (yes, name) of the current route you're on. Anything with an index from 0x58 to 0x8E ("Pallet Town" to "Power Plant") Automatically end up showing Map 1. It's down in the programming that, if the index is less than or equal to 0x8E, display map 1. For the other maps, it uses a list, making Maps 2-4 easier to customize. Tutorial for the above is here, courtesy of Mastermind X
              Mastermind X tutorial those ROM:083F1AA0 is mean 0x3F1AA0? I'm use hexworkshop. If me changed 0x8E ("Power Plant") to Worldmap 3 then if me open worldmap at Power Plant will appear Worldmap 3 on screen?

              PSorry for my bad english...

              Quote:
              Originally Posted by itman View Post
              I think you're talking about connection settings, assuming I understand what you're saying...

              In a-map 1.92 I believe one of the pictures (next to show sprite, etc...) is the connection settings. It's self explanatory from there, you just change where you want the map to connect to.
              I'm not saying connection settings, sorry for my bad english. Thanks for reply.
                #21508    
              Old June 9th, 2012 (7:05 AM). Edited June 9th, 2012 by redriders180.
              redriders180's Avatar
              redriders180 redriders180 is offline
              Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2010
                Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Quirky
                Posts: 540
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by LugiaMZ View Post
                Mastermind X tutorial those ROM:083F1AA0 is mean 0x3F1AA0? I'm use hexworkshop. If me changed 0x8E ("Power Plant") to Worldmap 3 then if me open worldmap at Power Plant will appear Worldmap 3 on screen?

                PSorry for my bad english...
                For the former, yes. the 08 denotes that the values are in the ROM, which is generally the most edited portion of the game itself, and used by all tools and scripts. Other values access different parts of the memory.

                For the latter, also yes.
                __________________


                I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                  #21509    
                Old June 9th, 2012 (9:17 AM).
                StuartCoton's Avatar
                StuartCoton StuartCoton is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2012
                  Location: Tamworth, England
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Careful
                  Posts: 1
                  Hey, I'd just like a little help.
                  I've kinda got the basics of advance map now, I know what everything does-ish.
                  i just need help because when i open the 'settings' menu i don't have the option to 'choose script editor' - does anyone know why/how to fix it?
                    #21510    
                  Old June 9th, 2012 (9:43 AM).
                  0shawott's Avatar
                  0shawott 0shawott is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Mar 2012
                    Posts: 73
                    Hi, does anyone know of a good save editor for Gen III? I'm talking about the .sav battery files, and the reason I want this is because I want to edit my Pokémon's nickname before getting to the Name Rater. I have tried Enciclopedia and managed to edit their names, but when I save the file and load it I get the corrupt save error, and the game uses the backup save instead.
                    Any help would be greatly appreciated, as I have been looking for a save editor for a while and many have dropped support for lower generation games.
                      #21511    
                    Old June 9th, 2012 (9:46 AM).
                    Sauromon222's Avatar
                    Sauromon222 Sauromon222 is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Mar 2011
                      Location: Pennsylvania
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 9
                      As you can already guess I just want a few questions i have had about what is capable of being done to pokemon gba roms

                      1. Pokemon being able to recover from poison before fainting (being put in the games that don't have it like fire red)
                      2. Deleting/Replacing Maps with blank space. (for roms that dont need as many maps as their base)
                      3. Creating Specials
                      4. REALLY using the mystery gift system (is definently a big interenst to rom hackers looking to use it somehow)

                      Before answering, be aware I know these things are the most wanted and unestablished parts of romhacking if possible at all, so do not answer its not possible. I am looking for a general idea where I could start learning how to do any of the above that are possible and if anyone has research done on them id like to learn what you figured out
                      __________________
                        #21512    
                      Old June 9th, 2012 (12:06 PM).
                      Prof. Q Prof. Q is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2012
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 4
                        I have three questions about FireRed. Has anyone figured out how to
                        1. allow the player to use HM moves outside of battle without obtaining badges,
                        2. force all Pokemon to obey the player regardless of which badges they have, and
                        3. disable the stat bonuses that badges give?
                        I'd really appreciate it if someone could answer any of these questions (especially #1).
                          #21513    
                        Old June 9th, 2012 (2:03 PM).
                        SpadeEdge16's Avatar
                        SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
                           
                          Join Date: May 2012
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 154
                          Does anyone know where I can get a hex generator so I can get the hex values for items in FR? I'm making a gym leader and I can't get him to give the right items because I don't have the hex value for it and I'm struggling with finding one. Thank you.
                            #21514    
                          Old June 9th, 2012 (2:09 PM).
                          Rokou Rokou is offline
                          » inactive
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2012
                            Age: 24
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Quiet
                            Posts: 24
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by SpadeEdge16 View Post
                            Does anyone know where I can get a hex generator so I can get the hex values for items in FR? I'm making a gym leader and I can't get him to give the right items because I don't have the hex value for it and I'm struggling with finding one. Thank you.
                            Hex is basic knowledge but well, try this.
                            __________________
                              #21515    
                            Old June 9th, 2012 (7:08 PM). Edited June 9th, 2012 by Sagiri.
                            Sagiri's Avatar
                            Sagiri Sagiri is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Mar 2007
                              Age: 23
                              Posts: 732
                              SpadeEdge16, if you have XSE downloaded, you can search for the file "stditems.rbh" and it has a full list. It's actually a header file, for a shortcut to using them in scripts, but I tend to use it simply as documentation.

                              Okay, so if you saw my post before I edited it, you know that I was asking a question about 'swi #0x6' and it not working. Well, I figured out what was going on - VBA SDL H itself was interfering with it, due to a breakpoint I put there.
                                #21516    
                              Old June 9th, 2012 (9:14 PM).
                              Zoroark173 Zoroark173 is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jun 2012
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 2
                                My question is how to (in Emerald) change how at the beginning, Prof. Birch is talking to you, shows you the Pokemon, asks you for your name, ect. Is there any way to change what he says in there? Because I have his name and the first towns name different.
                                  #21517    
                                Old June 9th, 2012 (9:23 PM).
                                tajaros's Avatar
                                tajaros tajaros is offline
                                Hi I'm dawg
                                   
                                  Join Date: Apr 2012
                                  Location: Philippines
                                  Age: 18
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Timid
                                  Posts: 857
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Zoroark173 View Post
                                  My question is how to (in Emerald) change how at the beginning, Prof. Birch is talking to you, shows you the Pokemon, asks you for your name, ect. Is there any way to change what he says in there? Because I have his name and the first towns name different.
                                  Try using A-text if you want to change the text.....

                                  There's also some tools that can change what pokemon the proffessor will release like A-intro editor.

                                  But I haven't tested it on emerald yet. (Only did it on FireRed.)

                                  Hope this helps. :D
                                  __________________
                                    #21518    
                                  Old June 9th, 2012 (9:43 PM). Edited June 9th, 2012 by Zoroark173.
                                  Zoroark173 Zoroark173 is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jun 2012
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 2
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by tajaros View Post
                                    Try using A-text if you want to change the text.....

                                    There's also some tools that can change what pokemon the proffessor will release like A-intro editor.

                                    But I haven't tested it on emerald yet. (Only did it on FireRed.)

                                    Hope this helps. :D
                                    Thanks, but where can I download this? Can I have a link to it please. Also, did you just change your avatar right after you posted... It was a Zoroark, but now it is an eye.

                                    EDIT: Just found it, and it doesn't work for Emerald.

                                    EDIT 2: Problem was that I needed an Emerald ini, which I found one on the forums. It isn't complete though, but it shall serve its purpose.
                                      #21519    
                                    Old June 10th, 2012 (1:23 AM).
                                    Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
                                    Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
                                    The Faltine
                                       
                                      Join Date: Mar 2008
                                      Location: Slovenia
                                      Age: 21
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 3,572
                                      An idea just struck me. Would it be possible to change FireRed's Pokedex to Ruby's? I know nothing about how it can be done, but would it be possible & practical to do it?
                                      __________________
                                        #21520    
                                      Old June 10th, 2012 (1:29 AM).
                                      destinedjagold's Avatar
                                      destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                                      Oh Hai Thar~
                                      • Silver Tier
                                       
                                      Join Date: May 2007
                                      Location: Philippines
                                      Age: 26
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Careful
                                      Posts: 8,507
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Tropical Sunlight View Post
                                      An idea just struck me. Would it be possible to change FireRed's Pokedex to Ruby's? I know nothing about how it can be done, but would it be possible & practical to do it?
                                      It's possible, but I forgot who can help you with that, but I'm pretty sure Chaos Rush knows the guy who can rearrange the order of the PokéDex.
                                      __________________


                                      FC: 0061-1111-6462
                                      TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                                        #21521    
                                      Old June 10th, 2012 (1:42 AM).
                                      tajaros's Avatar
                                      tajaros tajaros is offline
                                      Hi I'm dawg
                                         
                                        Join Date: Apr 2012
                                        Location: Philippines
                                        Age: 18
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Timid
                                        Posts: 857
                                        @destinejagold

                                        I'm pretty sure it was jambo51 but couldn't you rearrange the pokedex order with a hacking tool?
                                        __________________
                                          #21522    
                                        Old June 10th, 2012 (4:08 AM).
                                        Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
                                        Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
                                        The Faltine
                                           
                                          Join Date: Mar 2008
                                          Location: Slovenia
                                          Age: 21
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 3,572
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post

                                          It's possible, but I forgot who can help you with that, but I'm pretty sure Chaos Rush knows the guy who can rearrange the order of the PokéDex.
                                          I'm sorry, I should've been more specific - I meant the Pokedex layout.
                                          __________________
                                            #21523    
                                          Old June 10th, 2012 (5:21 AM).
                                          KF KF is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Jun 2012
                                            Posts: 14
                                            Hello everyone,

                                            I'm actually on a Fire Red rom hack, and I want my new game to be able to bypass the 510 EVs limit (so every single stat can go up to 255).

                                            Can someone help me with this?

                                            Thank you very much.
                                              #21524    
                                            Old June 10th, 2012 (7:49 AM).
                                            Shmixel Shmixel is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Jun 2012
                                              Gender: Female
                                              Posts: 2
                                              Gah, this has got to be super basic, but how do you edit a script you've already made and compiled? I have XSE linked into A-map but whenever I click 'open script' it comes up looking different (with a lot of '--------------- instead of the #dynamic 0x800D etc.) and even if I write the whole thing out again with the edits I want in and press compile, it says it's compiled a thee bottom but if I then close and reopen the script the same '-------- stuff is back with no edits. I pressed 'decompile' just trying different things but it didn't do anything noticeable.

                                              Thanks for being patient with this n00b.
                                                #21525    
                                              Old June 10th, 2012 (1:08 PM).
                                              Nekla Nekla is offline
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Aug 2009
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Posts: 1
                                                Can someone please tell me how to edit pokemon crystal sprites, i am a newbie, I just want the charizard sprite in crystal replaced by the one from silver since it's much cooler, if someone does it for me il give £10 paypal :D
                                                Closed Thread
                                                Quick Reply

                                                Sponsored Links
                                                Thread Tools

                                                Posting Rules
                                                You may not post new threads
                                                You may not post replies
                                                You may not post attachments
                                                You may not edit your posts

                                                BB code is On
                                                Smilies are On
                                                [IMG] code is On
                                                HTML code is Off

                                                Forum Jump


                                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:36 PM.