The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #22101    
Old July 18th, 2012 (1:15 AM).
Darkrai Lv.1000's Avatar
Darkrai Lv.1000 Darkrai Lv.1000 is offline
Has a tendency to figure things out
     
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Location: On an island with Hakaze
    Age: 22
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quirky
    Posts: 671
    Send a message via AIM to Darkrai Lv.1000
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
    It seems that the table of names are at 0x1F832D, while the data is at 0x1FB12C
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Ark_Silvanos View Post
    for future reference, check a tool's ini... it usually has relevant offsets there (use pge's, its got all the main offsets)
    I looked in the ini, and found those exact offsets for the attack table and attack names array (with the exception of the names array, which is actually 0x1F8320. I'm sure it was a typo though. xD )

    Thank you both! :D Next I'm going to figure out the other offsets the tutorial mentions and try to find those in Ruby.
    __________________

    Relevant Advertising!

      #22102    
    Old July 18th, 2012 (4:10 AM).
    Daikoru's Avatar
    Daikoru Daikoru is offline
       
      Join Date: Jan 2012
      Posts: 76
      It appears I've been forgotten already? I'm still waiting for an answer.

      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Daikoru View Post
      Hello.

      I'm trying to create a new move, using the Attack Editor with Pokemon Game Editor. I replaced a move that I do not intend to use on any of my Fakemons: Volt Tackle. Everything seems to work as intended, except for two things:

      -The description always stays the one for Volt Tackle. Even thought I press Save, just switching moves and going back to it changes the description back.
      -The move animation also stays the Volt Tackle one, despite trying to repoint to the Leaf Blade animation. The Animation Pointer keeps the Leaf Blade value thought...

      Any idea what's wrong? Should I download a new program to modify those?

      Thanks in advance for the answer.
        #22103    
      Old July 18th, 2012 (8:34 AM).
      Ark_Silvanos's Avatar
      Ark_Silvanos Ark_Silvanos is offline
         
        Join Date: Jan 2009
        Location: Texas
        Age: 25
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 150
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Daikoru View Post
        It appears I've been forgotten already? I'm still waiting for an answer.
        Check it in a hex editor. Maybe the program didn't save it? change the pointers manually and check if it works... or try a different move editor...
        __________________


          #22104    
        Old July 18th, 2012 (8:55 AM).
        Daikoru's Avatar
        Daikoru Daikoru is offline
           
          Join Date: Jan 2012
          Posts: 76
          Well, the only other move editors I know of don't even have the description and animation... Guess I'll go learn how to use an Hex Editor.
            #22105    
          Old July 18th, 2012 (10:09 AM).
          Blue's Avatar
          Blue Blue is offline
          • Moderator
          • Platinum Tier
           
          Join Date: Jan 2008
          Location: United Kingdom
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 19,041
          Just got a minor question.. when using A-Trainer with creating new trainers, I wanted the music to be the FRLG Gym Leader music but whenever I set it as what I think is right (Music 0, Unknown 7) it just plays the normal trainer music, is there any way I can fix this?
          __________________
            #22106    
          Old July 18th, 2012 (10:19 AM). Edited July 18th, 2012 by Renegade.
          Renegade's Avatar
          Renegade Renegade is offline
          Time for real life...
             
            Join Date: Nov 2011
            Location: United States
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Careful
            Posts: 998
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Suicune™ View Post
            Just got a minor question.. when using A-Trainer with creating new trainers, I wanted the music to be the FRLG Gym Leader music but whenever I set it as what I think is right (Music 0, Unknown 7) it just plays the normal trainer music, is there any way I can fix this?
            Try intro music 1 and unknown 7.
              #22107    
            Old July 18th, 2012 (10:25 AM).
            Blue's Avatar
            Blue Blue is offline
            • Moderator
            • Platinum Tier
             
            Join Date: Jan 2008
            Location: United Kingdom
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 19,041
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
            Try intro music 1 and unknown 7.
            I've tried both 0 & 1 but neither of them work, it works fine in Emerald just not Fire Red.
            __________________
              #22108    
            Old July 18th, 2012 (11:11 AM).
            redriders180's Avatar
            redriders180 redriders180 is offline
            Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
               
              Join Date: Jun 2010
              Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Quirky
              Posts: 540
              Send a message via AIM to redriders180
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Suicune™ View Post


              I've tried both 0 & 1 but neither of them work, it works fine in Emerald just not Fire Red.
              I believe music in FRLG is dependent on the Trainer Class, and not by music number and stuff. Meaning, without ASM, only trainers with the Trainer Class "Gym Leader" (or is it just "Leader"...I don't remember, but you get the idea) will play that theme. Same with Champion music and everything else.
              __________________


              I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                #22109    
              Old July 18th, 2012 (11:45 AM).
              FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
              FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
              What is out there?
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2012
                Location: United States
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Adamant
                Posts: 766
                Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
                Does anyone know how to remove the Kanto region dex from the pokedex menu? I am planning to create my own custom pokedex with around 350 Pokemon from Gen 1 - 5.
                  #22110    
                Old July 18th, 2012 (12:03 PM).
                Ark_Silvanos's Avatar
                Ark_Silvanos Ark_Silvanos is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2009
                  Location: Texas
                  Age: 25
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 150
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by FrozenInfernoZX View Post
                  Does anyone know how to remove the Kanto region dex from the pokedex menu? I am planning to create my own custom pokedex with around 350 Pokemon from Gen 1 - 5.
                  Fire Red Pokedex Hacking

                  ^Instead of removing it, wouldn't it be easier to just use the Kanto Dex? I was trying to do the same thing in my in-planning hack, so i increased the limiters and used the 'evo-doesn't-need-national-dex' patch thing. leveling evolutions work, but stone evolutions don't (atleast for me they didn't you could try and see if it works for you). I've msged Jambo bout it, cuz he seems the most knowledgeable about dex hacking and i'm waiting to see if he can help me out.

                  Still... this method works... mostly .
                  __________________


                    #22111    
                  Old July 18th, 2012 (12:14 PM).
                  SacredMurathJohn's Avatar
                  SacredMurathJohn SacredMurathJohn is offline
                  ROM Hacking
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2012
                    Location: Turkey
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Hasty
                    Posts: 41
                    Hey folks,
                    anyone knows where the POKéMON EVOLUTION SCREEN script pointer is in Firered FIREBPRE?
                      #22112    
                    Old July 18th, 2012 (1:25 PM).
                    FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
                    FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
                    What is out there?
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2012
                      Location: United States
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 766
                      Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Ark_Silvanos View Post
                      Fire Red Pokedex Hacking

                      ^Instead of removing it, wouldn't it be easier to just use the Kanto Dex? I was trying to do the same thing in my in-planning hack, so i increased the limiters and used the 'evo-doesn't-need-national-dex' patch thing. leveling evolutions work, but stone evolutions don't (atleast for me they didn't you could try and see if it works for you). I've msged Jambo bout it, cuz he seems the most knowledgeable about dex hacking and i'm waiting to see if he can help me out.

                      Still... this method works... mostly .
                      Cool! So I just change the 97 in hex to something else at the offset 0x10352C? And the Kanto dex will have, lets say 253 regional Pokemon. Also, how would I change the name of Kanto to my region? Thanks!
                        #22113    
                      Old July 18th, 2012 (2:15 PM).
                      Renegade's Avatar
                      Renegade Renegade is offline
                      Time for real life...
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2011
                        Location: United States
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Careful
                        Posts: 998
                        This question is kind of hard to explain...

                        Pokemon Fire Red

                        There is a warp tile and a cave entrance that goes into a mountain. I got that warp working. It warps you into a cave. But then if you try to step out of the cave, the warp doesn't activate and it's just like you are stepping into a wall. The tile I'm using for the warp that doesn't work (if this matters) is the one that is a cave exit that has light shining through it. It is in Tileset 15. (The Mt. Moon tileset) I think this may have something to do with the Unknown value? Help please?
                          #22114    
                        Old July 18th, 2012 (2:21 PM).
                        Ferox Ferox is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2012
                          Gender: Female
                          Posts: 19
                          Crystal, I had the same problem and this is how I fixed it...

                          Find the tile that you want to place the warp on
                          go to 'Block editor' (Purple jigsaw piece in advance map)
                          Select the tile
                          On the right is a menu called 'Behaviour byte'.
                          Set the Behaviour Byte to 'Use warp' #61

                          That's how I got it working in mine.
                            #22115    
                          Old July 18th, 2012 (2:49 PM).
                          Blue's Avatar
                          Blue Blue is offline
                          • Moderator
                          • Platinum Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Jan 2008
                          Location: United Kingdom
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Relaxed
                          Posts: 19,041
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
                          I believe music in FRLG is dependent on the Trainer Class, and not by music number and stuff. Meaning, without ASM, only trainers with the Trainer Class "Gym Leader" (or is it just "Leader"...I don't remember, but you get the idea) will play that theme. Same with Champion music and everything else.
                          I know, I've set it as Leader and everything else is according to what it should be but it just seems to play the default music still, maybe it's just an error but I'm sure people have done it before.
                          __________________
                            #22116    
                          Old July 18th, 2012 (3:12 PM).
                          Renegade's Avatar
                          Renegade Renegade is offline
                          Time for real life...
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2011
                            Location: United States
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Careful
                            Posts: 998
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Ferox View Post
                            Crystal, I had the same problem and this is how I fixed it...

                            Find the tile that you want to place the warp on
                            go to 'Block editor' (Purple jigsaw piece in advance map)
                            Select the tile
                            On the right is a menu called 'Behaviour byte'.
                            Set the Behaviour Byte to 'Use warp' #61

                            That's how I got it working in mine.
                            Ah, I figured it out. There are several different floor tiles that look the exact same. But the behavior of some of them is different. There is one floor tile that warps you if you step down. But without your information, I wouldn't have figured it out, so thanks!
                              #22117    
                            Old July 18th, 2012 (6:40 PM).
                            mewmasterify's Avatar
                            mewmasterify mewmasterify is offline
                            Actual Mew
                               
                              Join Date: Apr 2011
                              Location: Faraway Island
                              Age: 17
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Quiet
                              Posts: 71
                              How do i make a frame for trainer sprites so that i can animate them?
                              __________________
                                #22118    
                              Old July 18th, 2012 (8:45 PM). Edited July 18th, 2012 by Ark_Silvanos.
                              Ark_Silvanos's Avatar
                              Ark_Silvanos Ark_Silvanos is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jan 2009
                                Location: Texas
                                Age: 25
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 150
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by FrozenInfernoZX View Post
                                Cool! So I just change the 97 in hex to something else at the offset 0x10352C? And the Kanto dex will have, lets say 253 regional Pokemon. Also, how would I change the name of Kanto to my region? Thanks!
                                I dont think you need to... It only shows up as 'Pokedex' if you dont have the national dex.

                                edit: ya... change the 96 & 97 to whatever number you want, then change the bytes that restrict evolutions.


                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by mewmasterify View Post
                                How do i make a frame for trainer sprites so that i can animate them?
                                I think it works the same way as making animated pokemon. ie inserting them as 128x64 images.
                                __________________


                                  #22119    
                                Old July 18th, 2012 (9:03 PM).
                                Renegade's Avatar
                                Renegade Renegade is offline
                                Time for real life...
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2011
                                  Location: United States
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Careful
                                  Posts: 998
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Suicune™ View Post


                                  I know, I've set it as Leader and everything else is according to what it should be but it just seems to play the default music still, maybe it's just an error but I'm sure people have done it before.
                                  Just to make sure, try intro music 6 and unknown 7. That plays a gym leader song for me.
                                    #22120    
                                  Old July 18th, 2012 (9:19 PM).
                                  FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
                                  FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
                                  What is out there?
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jun 2012
                                    Location: United States
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Adamant
                                    Posts: 766
                                    Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Ark_Silvanos View Post
                                    I dont think you need to... It only shows up as 'Pokedex' if you dont have the national dex.

                                    edit: ya... change the 96 & 97 to whatever number you want, then change the bytes that restrict evolutions.
                                    The only little problem I have now is that the Pokemon between 150 and 253 do not count as added Pokemon (Meaning how much Pokemon you have) However, it does show as "caught" and "seen," but the counter thing in the dex doesn't count them.
                                      #22121    
                                    Old July 19th, 2012 (3:13 AM).
                                    mewmasterify's Avatar
                                    mewmasterify mewmasterify is offline
                                    Actual Mew
                                       
                                      Join Date: Apr 2011
                                      Location: Faraway Island
                                      Age: 17
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Quiet
                                      Posts: 71
                                      is it Possible to for the Pokemon to like animate forever like for example in Pokemon Black and White are animating there Pokemon for upto 11 frames and then it Goes through those Frames again.
                                      __________________
                                        #22122    
                                      Old July 19th, 2012 (3:43 AM).
                                      Ark_Silvanos's Avatar
                                      Ark_Silvanos Ark_Silvanos is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jan 2009
                                        Location: Texas
                                        Age: 25
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 150
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by FrozenInfernoZX View Post
                                        The only little problem I have now is that the Pokemon between 150 and 253 do not count as added Pokemon (Meaning how much Pokemon you have) However, it does show as "caught" and "seen," but the counter thing in the dex doesn't count them.
                                        ah yeah... i didn't think of that... hmmm.... ah well... gotta try to find a fix sometime, but i honestly dont have a clue how it works

                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by mewmasterify View Post
                                        is it Possible to for the Pokemon to like animate forever like for example in Pokemon Black and White are animating there Pokemon for upto 11 frames and then it Goes through those Frames again.
                                        no its not.
                                        __________________


                                          #22123    
                                        Old July 19th, 2012 (2:55 PM). Edited July 19th, 2012 by FrozenInfernoZX.
                                        FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
                                        FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
                                        What is out there?
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jun 2012
                                          Location: United States
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Adamant
                                          Posts: 766
                                          Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
                                          Ughhh, I don't think I'm going to edit the Pokedex order anymore. It's a looooooooong and tedious task, not including having to edit the footprints and the description of each assigned number since the description, etc is tied to the number. Ohh, and the habitats for the Pokemon. I think I'll just have to go the National Dex route.

                                          Or is there a faster way to do this?
                                            #22124    
                                          Old July 20th, 2012 (1:46 AM).
                                          vasilis vasilis is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Nov 2009
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 80
                                            hi ,i would like to know how i can change the starting pokemon in soul silver
                                            __________________
                                            <a href=http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=158324><img src=http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/1667/fanbarl.png border=0 alt= /></a>
                                              #22125    
                                            Old July 20th, 2012 (5:00 AM).
                                            Ark_Silvanos's Avatar
                                            Ark_Silvanos Ark_Silvanos is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Jan 2009
                                              Location: Texas
                                              Age: 25
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Posts: 150
                                              okay... so i was thinking about the problem about evolution stones not working when using Jambo's 'no need of national dex' fix, and i also realized that in the thread he said he couldn't find any other checks (skipped reading that part b4 for some reason ) so that got me thinking, what if the evolution stones actually checked for the national dex when they were used and not a limiter on the entries? xcept i'm not able to figure this out

                                              Now getting the stone evo's to work isn't an absoulte must, but i thought it would be nice for a proper regional dex, so if any1's got any info on this, please let me know.

                                              Oh and suppose the player recieves the national dex, where is the byte that gets set? like where in the memory is the flag?
                                              __________________


                                              Closed Thread
                                              Quick Reply

                                              Sponsored Links
                                              Thread Tools

                                              Posting Rules
                                              You may not post new threads
                                              You may not post replies
                                              You may not post attachments
                                              You may not edit your posts

                                              BB code is On
                                              Smilies are On
                                              [IMG] code is On
                                              HTML code is Off

                                              Forum Jump


                                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:39 AM.