The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #22226    
Old July 25th, 2012 (1:08 PM).
Xealeos Xealeos is offline
     
    Join Date: Jul 2012
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 16
    Hey, I've got a question!

    In Fire Red, I'm doing some simple hacking by keeping most of the rom intact, aside from the messages and sprites and such. So I'm wondering where the script for the opening with Professor Oak is stored and where you can adjust the suggested names for you and your rival.

    And another question: Before I knew about how the rom handles space, I made a message too long and it messed things up. So now the sequence with Oak, you and your Rival has a few wrong lines running through it. Nothing I probably won't be able to solve by getting into the script and editing the messages, but I can't seem to find the right script. So if anyone could tell me where the script for this is stored, that would be great! Just to be clear: It's the scene right before you're allowed to pick a Pokémon. And for that matter, picking the Pokémon itself has a messed up message in it too, so where is that stored?

    Thanks in advance!

    Relevant Advertising!

      #22227    
    Old July 25th, 2012 (2:35 PM).
    FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
    FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
    What is out there?
       
      Join Date: Jun 2012
      Location: United States
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Adamant
      Posts: 766
      Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Xealeos View Post
      Hey, I've got a question!

      In Fire Red, I'm doing some simple hacking by keeping most of the rom intact, aside from the messages and sprites and such. So I'm wondering where the script for the opening with Professor Oak is stored and where you can adjust the suggested names for you and your rival.

      And another question: Before I knew about how the rom handles space, I made a message too long and it messed things up. So now the sequence with Oak, you and your Rival has a few wrong lines running through it. Nothing I probably won't be able to solve by getting into the script and editing the messages, but I can't seem to find the right script. So if anyone could tell me where the script for this is stored, that would be great! Just to be clear: It's the scene right before you're allowed to pick a Pokémon. And for that matter, picking the Pokémon itself has a messed up message in it too, so where is that stored?

      Thanks in advance!
      You don't really have to search for it. You can just double click on the sprite (assuming you linked a script editor to the Advance Map program) to edit it and compile it to a new offset.
      __________________

      Current Live Update: Build 3.0 RC 2.73 No more Flag Errors!
      Always periodically make backup saves!
        #22228    
      Old July 25th, 2012 (2:46 PM).
      Xealeos Xealeos is offline
         
        Join Date: Jul 2012
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 16
        Well that's the thing. The script is on neither Oak, the rival, the Pokéballs or even the the script that stops you from walking into the grass when you leave Pallet Town and guides you into the lab. And it's not like I'm reading past it, because I copied the scripts linked to those events and replaced them with the scripts of an unhacked Fire Red. So yeah... Where is it?
          #22229    
        Old July 25th, 2012 (3:03 PM).
        FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
        FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
        What is out there?
           
          Join Date: Jun 2012
          Location: United States
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 766
          Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Xealeos View Post
          Well that's the thing. The script is on neither Oak, the rival, the Pokéballs or even the the script that stops you from walking into the grass when you leave Pallet Town and guides you into the lab. And it's not like I'm reading past it, because I copied the scripts linked to those events and replaced them with the scripts of an unhacked Fire Red. So yeah... Where is it?
          Oh okay, sorry I misread. I remember when I first edited the Oak scene. Did you try Oak behind the Pokeballs in the lab? He had a very long script. It should definitely be there.
          __________________

          Current Live Update: Build 3.0 RC 2.73 No more Flag Errors!
          Always periodically make backup saves!
            #22230    
          Old July 25th, 2012 (3:54 PM).
          Xealeos Xealeos is offline
             
            Join Date: Jul 2012
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 16
            Not that I can see. I can see the script for when you return and get your Pokédex and a few things that he says when you normally talk to him. But nothing from the scene where you get your first Pokémon.
              #22231    
            Old July 25th, 2012 (4:41 PM).
            Spherical Ice's Avatar
            Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
            • Moderator
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: Nov 2007
            Location: Bristol, UK
            Age: 19
            Posts: 5,094
            It's a level script in Oak's Lab.
              #22232    
            Old July 25th, 2012 (5:22 PM).
            FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
            FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
            What is out there?
               
              Join Date: Jun 2012
              Location: United States
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 766
              Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
              Is it possible for me to use the "Wall Region Map Script on the walls," for the Town Map? My Town Map does not like my second region at all and everytime I enter my second region. The town map displays the northern section really glitchy. However, when I view my second region through the Wall map (in houses) it displays my second region perfectly. I have tried 6 times on a clean rom and I can confirm that the Town map absolutely does not like my second region at all. o_0
              __________________

              Current Live Update: Build 3.0 RC 2.73 No more Flag Errors!
              Always periodically make backup saves!
                #22233    
              Old July 25th, 2012 (5:34 PM). Edited July 25th, 2012 by Xealeos.
              Xealeos Xealeos is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2012
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 16
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                It's a level script in Oak's Lab.
                Might be a stupid question, but where can I find a level script? I've found something under Header called a Map Script, but that doesn't hold it either.

                Woops, never mind! I found it! It was the 3rd Map Script that I needed. Thanks!
                  #22234    
                Old July 25th, 2012 (5:54 PM). Edited July 26th, 2012 by Renegade.
                Renegade's Avatar
                Renegade Renegade is offline
                Time for real life...
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2011
                  Location: United States
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Careful
                  Posts: 998
                  I'm having a problem with Sappy 2006...

                  When I try to open it I get this error message:

                  Spoiler:
                  Runtime error 339:

                  Component vbalCbEx6.ocx or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid


                  I looked around on Google for this OCX file and I could not find it anywhere... Could someone help please?

                  (I'm running Windows 7)

                  EDIT: Nevermind, I've found a download.
                    #22235    
                  Old July 25th, 2012 (6:58 PM).
                  DarkerSou1 DarkerSou1 is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2012
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 4
                    Hello! I searched for a while and cannot find out something. I'm making a Firered hack, and was wondering, how do you switch overworld sprites, for example, I want to make Brendan the Sprite in Firered, but I don't know how? Also would this work for fishing/biking animations as well? Thanks in advance.
                      #22236    
                    Old July 25th, 2012 (7:12 PM).
                    MissDigitalis's Avatar
                    MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2011
                      Gender: Female
                      Posts: 115
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by DarkerSou1 View Post
                      Hello! I searched for a while and cannot find out something. I'm making a Firered hack, and was wondering, how do you switch overworld sprites, for example, I want to make Brendan the Sprite in Firered, but I don't know how? Also would this work for fishing/biking animations as well? Thanks in advance.
                      You would need to use the Nameless Sprite Editor. (NSE)




                      I have a question also. Does anyone know how to replace the professor's sprite?
                      __________________

                        #22237    
                      Old July 25th, 2012 (7:29 PM).
                      redriders180's Avatar
                      redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                      Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2010
                        Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Quirky
                        Posts: 540
                        Send a message via AIM to redriders180
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by FrozenInfernoZX View Post
                        Is it possible for me to use the "Wall Region Map Script on the walls," for the Town Map? My Town Map does not like my second region at all and everytime I enter my second region. The town map displays the northern section really glitchy. However, when I view my second region through the Wall map (in houses) it displays my second region perfectly. I have tried 6 times on a clean rom and I can confirm that the Town map absolutely does not like my second region at all. o_0
                        I have some good news...there is a way.

                        The easiest method is to change the Field usage value of the Map to the ASM that controls the World Map. Special 0xFB displays the World Map, so the ASM that does what you want is at 0x080CA7ED. So, all you need to do is set the Field Usage of the World map to 80CA7ED, which can be done in an item editor.

                        I just tested it out, and it works flawlessly.
                        __________________


                        I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                          #22238    
                        Old July 25th, 2012 (7:36 PM).
                        SK3's Avatar
                        SK3 SK3 is offline
                        Pokemon Hacking Company™ CEO
                           
                          Join Date: Apr 2011
                          Location: Johto
                          Age: 22
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Quirky
                          Posts: 276
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
                          I'm having a problem with Sappy 2006...

                          When I try to open it I get this error message:

                          Spoiler:
                          Runtime error 339:

                          Component vbalCbEx6.ocx or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid


                          I looked around on Google for this OCX file and I could not find it anywhere... Could someone help please?

                          (I'm running Windows 7)
                          Try downloading sappy2006mod15
                          __________________

                          Pokemon
                          Daydream White version


                          Want to help out? Just PM or VM me!

                            #22239    
                          Old July 25th, 2012 (9:14 PM).
                          FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
                          FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
                          What is out there?
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2012
                            Location: United States
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Adamant
                            Posts: 766
                            Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
                            I have some good news...there is a way.

                            The easiest method is to change the Field usage value of the Map to the ASM that controls the World Map. Special 0xFB displays the World Map, so the ASM that does what you want is at 0x080CA7ED. So, all you need to do is set the Field Usage of the World map to 80CA7ED, which can be done in an item editor.

                            I just tested it out, and it works flawlessly.
                            Thanks! It works perfectly!
                            __________________

                            Current Live Update: Build 3.0 RC 2.73 No more Flag Errors!
                            Always periodically make backup saves!
                              #22240    
                            Old July 26th, 2012 (6:45 AM).
                            Blue's Avatar
                            Blue Blue is offline
                            • Moderator
                            • Platinum Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Jan 2008
                            Location: United Kingdom
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 19,052
                            Having trouble with music again, I've created my own Custom Leaders and when battling them it plays the Leader theme no problem but when I try and create rematches for the exsisting Leaders in FR so Brock, Misty, Sabrina etc it just plays the normal trainer tune. I don't know whether I've altered something with the settings but it's like this Music: 1 Unknown: 1 (That's the same for the Custom Leaders) then the Trainer Class is Leader and the Money Rate is 10 but for others it's 25, I don't know what's going wrong really.
                            __________________
                              #22241    
                            Old July 26th, 2012 (6:58 AM).
                            MissDigitalis's Avatar
                            MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Dec 2011
                              Gender: Female
                              Posts: 115
                              If someone could walk me through replacing the professor's sprite I would really appreciate it.
                              __________________

                                #22242    
                              Old July 26th, 2012 (7:21 AM).
                              Xealeos Xealeos is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2012
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 16
                                Quick question! Where can you change the suggested names for the player and the rival?
                                  #22243    
                                Old July 26th, 2012 (7:29 AM).
                                redriders180's Avatar
                                redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                                Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jun 2010
                                  Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Quirky
                                  Posts: 540
                                  Send a message via AIM to redriders180
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Xealeos View Post
                                  Quick question! Where can you change the suggested names for the player and the rival?
                                  Easiest way is to use A-Text, or a hex editor. Just search for each of the possible names, and modify it as necessary.
                                  __________________


                                  I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                                    #22244    
                                  Old July 26th, 2012 (7:54 AM).
                                  DarkerSou1 DarkerSou1 is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Feb 2012
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 4
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by MissDigitalis View Post
                                    If someone could walk me through replacing the professor's sprite I would really appreciate it.
                                    Ah, but how would I do this exactly? I already have NSE, I just didn't see a way to change the sprites around.
                                      #22245    
                                    Old July 26th, 2012 (10:00 AM).
                                    MissDigitalis's Avatar
                                    MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Dec 2011
                                      Gender: Female
                                      Posts: 115
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by DarkerSou1 View Post
                                      Ah, but how would I do this exactly? I already have NSE, I just didn't see a way to change the sprites around.
                                      If you have NSE you have to go in and change the sprites by loading them in from photoshop or by changing each one pixel by pixel. Sorry I'm not good at explaining this.
                                      __________________

                                        #22246    
                                      Old July 26th, 2012 (10:52 AM).
                                      leogrecchi leogrecchi is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Oct 2010
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 64
                                        It might have been answered before, but I can't check 900 pages or so to check so easily.


                                        What is the offset for the beginning script (Oak presentation, where you name yourself and the rival) in Fire Red (BPRE01)
                                        I know the text offsets (it starts @ 0x1C5C78), but not where the script that calls this text starts. Anyone?
                                          #22247    
                                        Old July 26th, 2012 (11:23 AM).
                                        wierddude22's Avatar
                                        wierddude22 wierddude22 is offline
                                        New hacker
                                           
                                          Join Date: Aug 2011
                                          Location: My house
                                          Age: 20
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Jolly
                                          Posts: 24
                                          Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to wierddude22
                                          Okay, Guys is it possible to change what the player character looks like halfway through the game?
                                            #22248    
                                          Old July 26th, 2012 (11:51 AM).
                                          DarkerSou1 DarkerSou1 is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Feb 2012
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 4
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by MissDigitalis View Post
                                            If you have NSE you have to go in and change the sprites by loading them in from photoshop or by changing each one pixel by pixel. Sorry I'm not good at explaining this.
                                            Alright, thanks a bunch.

                                            Does anybody know the tileset for caves in Advance Map? I go to make a new map and have to choose two tilesets, and I'm making a new cave.
                                              #22249    
                                            Old July 26th, 2012 (1:01 PM).
                                            MissDigitalis's Avatar
                                            MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Dec 2011
                                              Gender: Female
                                              Posts: 115
                                              I'm trying to get rid of the section at the beginning of the game that tells you that you're going on a journey and I'm also planning on getting rid of some places in my pokedex because I only want 150 places. Can someone help with this?
                                              __________________

                                                #22250    
                                              Old July 26th, 2012 (2:43 PM).
                                              Renegade's Avatar
                                              Renegade Renegade is offline
                                              Time for real life...
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Nov 2011
                                                Location: United States
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Nature: Careful
                                                Posts: 998
                                                I have another question. How would I go about inserting new music into Pokemon trainer battles? While the player is battling someone, I want custom music to be playing. Help please?
                                                Closed Thread
                                                Quick Reply

                                                Sponsored Links
                                                Thread Tools

                                                Posting Rules
                                                You may not post new threads
                                                You may not post replies
                                                You may not post attachments
                                                You may not edit your posts

                                                BB code is On
                                                Smilies are On
                                                [IMG] code is On
                                                HTML code is Off

                                                Forum Jump


                                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 8:16 PM.