ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #22251    
Old July 27th, 2012 (11:48 AM). Edited July 27th, 2012 by Renegade.
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade Renegade is offline
Time for real life...
     
    Join Date: Nov 2011
    Location: United States
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Careful
    Posts: 998
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by raging-inferno-1986 View Post
    Maybe i just missed this, but what script code would be used to make your rival have the starter pokemon with the type advantage over yours?
    Set a different flag for each Pokemon. When the player chooses one, that flag will be set. Then, when it is your rival's turn to choose a Pokemon, do something like this:

    Code:
    #org @start
    checkflag 0x500           '500 = Bulbasaur
    if 0x1 goto @charmander
    checkflag 0x501           '501 = Charmander
    if 0x1 goto @squirtle
    checkflag 0x502           '502 = Squirtle
    if 0x1 goto @bulbasaur
    end
    
    #org @charmander
    (Have rival walk up to Charmander's Pokeball)
    hidesprite 0x(Charmander's Pokeball Person Event Number)
    setflag 0x501
    release
    end
    
    #org @sqirtle
    (Have rival walk up to Squirtle's Pokeball)
    hidesprite 0x(Squirtle's Pokeball Person Event Number)
    setflag 0x502
    release
    end
    
    #org @bulbasaur
    (Have rival walk up to Bulbasaur's Pokeball)
    hidesprite 0x(Bulbasaur's Pokeball Person Event Number)
    setflag 0x500
    release
    end
    I have a question as well. Does anyone know what song number Route 1 is in Sappy?

    Relevant Advertising!

      #22252    
    Old July 27th, 2012 (1:06 PM).
    Ark_Silvanos's Avatar
    Ark_Silvanos Ark_Silvanos is offline
       
      Join Date: Jan 2009
      Location: Texas
      Age: 26
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 150
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by MissDigitalis View Post
      [/url]

      What does this part mean? How do you edit your offset? When I open my hex editor it doesn't allow me to edit the offsets.
      You're not correcting the offset, but rather the pointer to the offset. So just replace the old pointer with the new one


      Quote:
      Originally Posted by merky View Post
      EDIT: After playing around with this for a while, I found out it's not the pokemon causing this, but several moves when I go over them. Swords Dance and Cut are two of the ones that trigger this glitch. Is there an offset for a certain move in this status screen?
      Have you tried checking them in any move editors? there might be a faulty pointer to their description or something. You could also use a hex editor and manually check all the move data and descriptions, too (the main offsets are in PGE's ini). Otherwise use a backup from when it worked, and check to see what you changed... maybe you overwrote some important data...
      __________________


        #22253    
      Old July 27th, 2012 (1:27 PM).
      Xealeos Xealeos is offline
         
        Join Date: Jul 2012
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 16
        Not sure if this is the right place to ask this, but I'll try it anyway.

        So I was going to have a friend test the hack I'm working on, but for some reason his computer won't play the .GBA file. We've tried various things like using different versions of VisualBoy, but that didn't help. It keeps saying 'error opening image'. I tried playing it myself and it works just fine. A different friend tried it too and it works for him as well. This even applies when we're all using the same .GBA file straight from the Dropbox we're using.

        So we're pretty much clueless. Any ideas anyone? Or maybe there's a different place where I should post this?
          #22254    
        Old July 27th, 2012 (1:36 PM). Edited July 27th, 2012 by FrozenInfernoZX.
        FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
        FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
        What is out there?
           
          Join Date: Jun 2012
          Location: United States
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 769
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
          I have a question as well. Does anyone know what song number Route 1 is in Sappy?
          That would be number 291.

          Also, does anybody know how to move maps from one map to the other?
          As such: I edit a map's coordinates to the map I want, but in game, on the world map I appear on the original map with those coordinates.
          __________________

          Current Live Update: Build 3.0 RC 2.73 No more Flag Errors!
          Always periodically make backup saves!
            #22255    
          Old July 27th, 2012 (1:41 PM).
          Xealeos Xealeos is offline
             
            Join Date: Jul 2012
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 16
            Problem with the rom is now fixed, by the way. The problem was that I used an 'é' in the world Pokémon. So when he changed it to a regular 'e', it worked for some reason. No clue how that caused a problem, but it somehow did.
              #22256    
            Old July 27th, 2012 (1:44 PM).
            machomuu's Avatar
            machomuu machomuu is online now
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Apr 2008
            Location: Americalanavania
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 10,309
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Xealeos View Post
            Problem with the rom is now fixed, by the way. The problem was that I used an 'é' in the world Pokémon. So when he changed it to a regular 'e', it worked for some reason. No clue how that caused a problem, but it somehow did.
            It's simply that it has trouble processing special characters.
            __________________
            Paired to and madly in love with a literal Symphony of legs.


            I also watch anime sometimes. Just a little.
              #22257    
            Old July 27th, 2012 (2:18 PM).
            merky merky is offline
               
              Join Date: Jul 2012
              Posts: 3
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Ark_Silvanos View Post
              Have you tried checking them in any move editors? there might be a faulty pointer to their description or something. You could also use a hex editor and manually check all the move data and descriptions, too (the main offsets are in PGE's ini). Otherwise use a backup from when it worked, and check to see what you changed... maybe you overwrote some important data...
              Thank you! I believe I got it working.

              I ended up using the PGE .ini to find the attack description table and just copied pasted some hex from a clean rom to any differences from my hack.
                #22258    
              Old July 27th, 2012 (2:34 PM).
              Blue's Avatar
              Blue Blue is offline
              problematic
              • Moderator
              • Platinum Tier
               
              Join Date: Jan 2008
              Location: United Kingdom
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 20,301
              Anyone know how to work and/or fix music trouble with A-Trainer?
              __________________
                #22259    
              Old July 27th, 2012 (2:35 PM).
              machomuu's Avatar
              machomuu machomuu is online now
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Apr 2008
              Location: Americalanavania
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 10,309
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Suicune™ View Post
              Anyone know how to work and/or fix music trouble with A-Trainer?
              What's the problem you need fixing?
              __________________
              Paired to and madly in love with a literal Symphony of legs.


              I also watch anime sometimes. Just a little.
                #22260    
              Old July 27th, 2012 (2:44 PM).
              Blue's Avatar
              Blue Blue is offline
              problematic
              • Moderator
              • Platinum Tier
               
              Join Date: Jan 2008
              Location: United Kingdom
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 20,301
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by machomuu View Post
              What's the problem you need fixing?
              Basically it's Fire Red, when I set the trainer class as "Leader" it just plays the normal trainer battle theme, I've previously created custom trainers and set the class as leader which worked fine but since making more it just doesn't seem to be playing the right music anymore. I've edited the money rate a couple of times and the unknown and music is 1 & 1 I think but there's something I've changed.
              __________________
                #22261    
              Old July 27th, 2012 (2:48 PM).
              machomuu's Avatar
              machomuu machomuu is online now
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Apr 2008
              Location: Americalanavania
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 10,309
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Suicune™ View Post


              Basically it's Fire Red, when I set the trainer class as "Leader" it just plays the normal trainer battle theme, I've previously created custom trainers and set the class as leader which worked fine but since making more it just doesn't seem to be playing the right music anymore. I've edited the money rate a couple of times and the unknown and music is 1 & 1 I think but there's something I've changed.
              You should check out the script of the trainer, the problem is probably there.
              __________________
              Paired to and madly in love with a literal Symphony of legs.


              I also watch anime sometimes. Just a little.
                #22262    
              Old July 27th, 2012 (3:18 PM).
              Blue's Avatar
              Blue Blue is offline
              problematic
              • Moderator
              • Platinum Tier
               
              Join Date: Jan 2008
              Location: United Kingdom
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 20,301
              This is the script:

              #dynamic 0x800000

              #org @start
              trainerbattle 0x1 0x15 0x0 @intro @defeat @after
              msgbox @msg 0x2
              end

              #org @after
              msgbox @msg2 0x2
              end

              #org @intro
              = Hi! Allow me to introduce myself!\nI'm Norma and I love Normal types.\lI've been a Gym leader for quite\lsome time now so I've gained a\lpretty decent battle technique!\lPrepare yourself, really...

              #org @defeat
              = Losing to a champion is\nrespectable! We tried our best but\lit wasn't enough..

              #org @msg
              = Hehe! Did you enjoy my floor\npuzzle? Did it confuse you? I\linstalled it myself!

              #org @msg2
              = I will remember you [player], you're one\nof those special trainers who\ldon't come along all too often!



              I don't know if something needs to be included to make the music occur i.e specialx176.
              __________________
                #22263    
              Old July 27th, 2012 (3:38 PM).
              machomuu's Avatar
              machomuu machomuu is online now
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Apr 2008
              Location: Americalanavania
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 10,309
              Hm...did you untick the "Trainer" box in A-Map?
              __________________
              Paired to and madly in love with a literal Symphony of legs.


              I also watch anime sometimes. Just a little.
                #22264    
              Old July 27th, 2012 (5:59 PM).
              Jambo51's Avatar
              Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
              Glory To Arstotzka
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2009
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Quiet
                Posts: 732
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Suicune™ View Post
                This is the script:

                #dynamic 0x800000

                #org @start
                trainerbattle 0x1 0x15 0x0 @intro @defeat @after
                msgbox @msg 0x2
                end

                #org @after
                msgbox @msg2 0x2
                end

                #org @intro
                = Hi! Allow me to introduce myself!\nI'm Norma and I love Normal types.\lI've been a Gym leader for quite\lsome time now so I've gained a\lpretty decent battle technique!\lPrepare yourself, really...

                #org @defeat
                = Losing to a champion is\nrespectable! We tried our best but\lit wasn't enough..

                #org @msg
                = Hehe! Did you enjoy my floor\npuzzle? Did it confuse you? I\linstalled it myself!

                #org @msg2
                = I will remember you [player], you're one\nof those special trainers who\ldon't come along all too often!



                I don't know if something needs to be included to make the music occur i.e specialx176.
                The part I bolded in your post is the problem. Trainerbattles of type 0x1 DO NOT have the music and walking up part. If you NEED the script to be executed after you win the battle, change it to type 0x2. It will then do the music and walking up, as well as execute the script after victory.

                Hope this helps.
                __________________
                Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
                  #22265    
                Old July 27th, 2012 (6:01 PM).
                DragoonFL DragoonFL is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2012
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 1
                  Hi, I am looking for a hacking tool that let's me alter pokemon sprites for G/S/C.
                  I want to add a sprite to the game in place of another, anything like that around?
                  I saw a video showing Kirby in the game, and raquayza and stuff. Is it possible,
                  and can I have a link to the tool?
                    #22266    
                  Old July 27th, 2012 (6:06 PM).
                  DrFuji's Avatar
                  DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                  Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                  • Crystal Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Sep 2009
                  Location: Downia-upside
                  Age: 24
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Jolly
                  Posts: 1,328
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Xealeos View Post
                  How do you change the battle music for a single trainer into (for example) the gym leader battle music?
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Suicune™ View Post
                  Basically it's Fire Red, when I set the trainer class as "Leader" it just plays the normal trainer battle theme, I've previously created custom trainers and set the class as leader which worked fine but since making more it just doesn't seem to be playing the right music anymore. I've edited the money rate a couple of times and the unknown and music is 1 & 1 I think but there's something I've changed.
                  If you're both using Fire Red and still having problems then I would suggest using Mastermind_X's event music changer.
                  __________________
                    #22267    
                  Old July 27th, 2012 (8:33 PM).
                  supernova651 supernova651 is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2012
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 5
                    Hello I have a question. can you change how a weather effect looks by using UNLZ for pokemon ruby? example make the snowing effect have more detail such as in diamond and pearl. If this is possible which offset is the weather located on UNLZ?
                      #22268    
                    Old July 28th, 2012 (3:27 AM).
                    Blue's Avatar
                    Blue Blue is offline
                    problematic
                    • Moderator
                    • Platinum Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jan 2008
                    Location: United Kingdom
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Relaxed
                    Posts: 20,301
                    I've made those changes but it still doesn't seem to work... the only thing I want to do is make it so the Gym Leader theme plays in battle, no movement or anything.
                    __________________
                      #22269    
                    Old July 28th, 2012 (9:51 AM).
                    BlueLeafeon's Avatar
                    BlueLeafeon BlueLeafeon is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Jul 2009
                      Gender: Female
                      Posts: 9
                      Can anyone tell me the location of Yellow's sgb frame palette? I've been searching the forums and on google and can't find it. I found Blue's, but when I entered that into the palette editor program it crashed. :/
                        #22270    
                      Old July 28th, 2012 (10:57 AM).
                      Jambo51's Avatar
                      Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
                      Glory To Arstotzka
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2009
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Quiet
                        Posts: 732
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Suicune™ View Post
                        I've made those changes but it still doesn't seem to work... the only thing I want to do is make it so the Gym Leader theme plays in battle, no movement or anything.
                        Oh, I see. I misunderstood what you wanted. The only way in FR to make gym leader music play in a trainerbattle is to have the trainer's class as Leader or Elite Four.

                        See Dr. Fuji's post above. It has a link to a method you can use to temporarily switch the battle music. It's an excellent, if limited, way to achieve the music switching you desire.
                        __________________
                        Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
                          #22271    
                        Old July 28th, 2012 (1:54 PM).
                        Xealeos Xealeos is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2012
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 16
                          I tried importing a custom image in the place of the Rival image in Fire Red using unLZ that is stored on offset 4623EC, but it didn't really work. In fact, what happens is that the image of the player character (Red) shows up and his head explodes. Not really what I was going for.

                          I didn't import this image in the place of the rival, nor did I import the original player image in it's place. This just sort of pops up and I have no clue where the image is that I imported. Any ideas anyone?
                            #22272    
                          Old July 28th, 2012 (1:59 PM).
                          Renegade's Avatar
                          Renegade Renegade is offline
                          Time for real life...
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2011
                            Location: United States
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Careful
                            Posts: 998
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Xealeos View Post
                            I tried importing a custom image in the place of the Rival image in Fire Red using unLZ that is stored on offset 4623EC, but it didn't really work. In fact, what happens is that the image of the player character (Red) shows up and his head explodes. Not really what I was going for.

                            I didn't import this image in the place of the rival, nor did I import the original player image in it's place. This just sort of pops up and I have no clue where the image is that I imported. Any ideas anyone?
                            If you need help replacing sprites in unLZ, I have a video here:

                            http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oGihhXkQOPk
                              #22273    
                            Old July 28th, 2012 (2:06 PM).
                            tajaros's Avatar
                            tajaros tajaros is offline
                            Hi I'm dawg
                               
                              Join Date: Apr 2012
                              Location: Philippines
                              Age: 18
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Timid
                              Posts: 857
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Xealeos View Post
                              I tried importing a custom image in the place of the Rival image in Fire Red using unLZ that is stored on offset 4623EC, but it didn't really work. In fact, what happens is that the image of the player character (Red) shows up and his head explodes. Not really what I was going for.

                              I didn't import this image in the place of the rival, nor did I import the original player image in it's place. This just sort of pops up and I have no clue where the image is that I imported. Any ideas anyone?
                              Here I don't know if it's easy for you but it's easy for me...

                              Herre's a tut to replace Trainer Sprites using NSE 2.x xD
                              http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=285168

                              __________________
                                #22274    
                              Old July 28th, 2012 (2:22 PM).
                              DarkPsychic's Avatar
                              DarkPsychic DarkPsychic is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2012
                                Location: CO
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Timid
                                Posts: 133
                                Hello, I was told to try to ask people on here and maybe I might get an answer I was woundering what kind of program or programs are people like HackMew using to create these tools that mod ROMs. And I was also woundering what scripting language is being used, like C++ or C# ect.. I am wanting to get one of the Visual studio 2010 express packages but not really sure which one to get and don't want to go and learn the whole wrong software.. So If Anyone could help that would be just great
                                  #22275    
                                Old July 28th, 2012 (3:24 PM).
                                Renegade's Avatar
                                Renegade Renegade is offline
                                Time for real life...
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2011
                                  Location: United States
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Careful
                                  Posts: 998
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Suicune™ View Post
                                  With A-Map, how do I get RSE music to play on a FRLG ROM?
                                  You would have to insert the RSE music into the FRLG ROM. (Using Sappy and all of that jazz)
                                  Closed Thread

                                  Quick Reply

                                  Join the conversation!

                                  Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                  Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                  Sponsored Links
                                  Thread Tools

                                  Posting Rules
                                  You may not post new threads
                                  You may not post replies
                                  You may not post attachments
                                  You may not edit your posts

                                  BB code is On
                                  Smilies are On
                                  [IMG] code is On
                                  HTML code is Off

                                  Forum Jump


                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:24 PM.