ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #22801    
Old September 26th, 2012 (1:17 PM). Edited September 26th, 2012 by FireFox.
FireFox's Avatar
FireFox FireFox is offline
Dialga Fangirl
     
    Join Date: Aug 2004
    Location: UK
    Age: 31
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Timid
    Posts: 58
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post
    Using a tool called Sappy (download it and the mod 17.1 version that can be found via Google), open the ROM with the music you were allowed to get, find the song and Export tracks, then open the ROM you want them inserting, find the same song, and Insert tracks. That should work, but just post back on here if it doesn't go smoothly.
    Many thanks Banjora, I'll give that a go.

    Update
    Drat! It looks like these tracks were, quite literally inserted into the ROM as when I play a track in the current list, the regular music played.


    Update 2
    Well I found the track thanks to the hacks Music Room, A-Map and XSE! Sappy Song 297 (Hex: 129 - Trainer Battle). It sounds fine in Sappy (although sped up slightly for some reason) but when I extract the track and import it in to my hack, nothing plays except for the odd Beep and Blop ever 5 - 7 seconds or so. :/

    Another question:
    I'd like this new music track to play when you fight a specific Trainer Class. I assume this will require ASM. Can someone point me in the right direction?
    __________________

    Relevant Advertising!

      #22802    
    Old September 27th, 2012 (6:41 AM).
    Andrut's Avatar
    Andrut Andrut is offline
    Collecting dust since 1898
       
      Join Date: Dec 2009
      Location: Warsaw, Poland
      Age: 19
      Posts: 286
      Is it possible to replace a word in all the text in the game? I would like to change the word "POKéMON" to something else.
      I am asking this question because I know a hack (namely: Touhoumon Emerald by Anjirusensei) where the word POKéMON in all the text of the game was replaced by the word "Puppet". I find it hard to believe the creator has manually replaced every POKéMON word that is in the game, so I thought it could be possible for me to do the same.
        #22803    
      Old September 27th, 2012 (8:36 AM).
      Avonly's Avatar
      Avonly Avonly is offline
         
        Join Date: Sep 2012
        Gender: Female
        Posts: 4
        I am a person, who don't know anything about rom editing.
        I would like to ask you, users, for help.

        What I am interested,
        is a change boy
        Spoiler:
        oi45.tinypic.com/2r6yz2b.jpg
        on a girl sprites.
        Spoiler:
        oi49.tinypic.com/2n1hvn6.jpg

        There are many editing programs, but only Tile Layer Pro and Molester support R/B/Y versions.
        Work in them is too complicated for someone like me, inexperienced.
          #22804    
        Old September 27th, 2012 (10:51 AM).
        miksy91's Avatar
        miksy91 miksy91 is offline
        Dark Energy is back in action! ;)
           
          Join Date: Oct 2008
          Location: A small country in the North
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 1,435
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Avonly View Post
          I am a person, who don't know anything about rom editing.
          I would like to ask you, users, for help.

          What I am interested,
          is a change boy
          Spoiler:
          oi45.tinypic.com/2r6yz2b.jpg
          on a girl sprites.
          Spoiler:
          oi49.tinypic.com/2n1hvn6.jpg

          There are many editing programs, but only Tile Layer Pro and Molester support R/B/Y versions.
          Work in them is too complicated for someone like me, inexperienced.
          First of all, Tile Layer Pro or Tile Molester won't help you a bit in changing "battle sprites" in R/B/Y. Those sprites are compressed meaning there is a code for fitting the image in smaller size than it would be as uncompressed image (type of an image that could be edited easily with Tile Layer Pro for instance).

          There is a tool for inserting the battle sprites of that girl and replacing them with the original boy's sprites however. Go to Skeetendo Inc. (through that link in my signature) and try to find help threads that would suit your needs there. Problems similar to this one have been discussed there already.
          __________________
          My Rom Hack



          Fixing bugs in a ROM hack
          CP of encountered pokemon in GO

          Learn how to hack GB/C games:

          Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
          -The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
            #22805    
          Old September 27th, 2012 (6:58 PM).
          itman itman is offline
          Back to ROM hacking. :D
             
            Join Date: May 2007
            Age: 23
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 100
            In Fire Red, is there a warp that will immediately change your location?
            Like, instead of the screen fading to black and back again. I want it without the fade.
              #22806    
            Old September 27th, 2012 (7:52 PM).
            Renegade's Avatar
            Renegade Renegade is offline
            Time for real life...
               
              Join Date: Nov 2011
              Location: United States
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Careful
              Posts: 998
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by itman View Post
              In Fire Red, is there a warp that will immediately change your location?
              Like, instead of the screen fading to black and back again. I want it without the fade.
              You could use the movesprite command, but that will only work for teleporting the player and/or an npc to another location on the map you are currently on.
                #22807    
              Old September 27th, 2012 (8:51 PM).
              itman itman is offline
              Back to ROM hacking. :D
                 
                Join Date: May 2007
                Age: 23
                Nature: Adamant
                Posts: 100
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
                You could use the movesprite command, but that will only work for teleporting the player and/or an npc to another location on the map you are currently on.
                Hm, that would work actually. I can just expand the map, add another section that is unviewable from the first one, and use movesprite...I didn't even know that command worked on the player (Since hidesprite doesn't really), but thanks!
                  #22808    
                Old September 28th, 2012 (6:06 AM).
                rbedsole's Avatar
                rbedsole rbedsole is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2011
                  Location: Monroeville, AL
                  Age: 28
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Quiet
                  Posts: 19
                  Is there anywhere where I can download pre-made scripts?
                    #22809    
                  Old September 28th, 2012 (9:14 AM).
                  jota_rdk's Avatar
                  jota_rdk jota_rdk is offline
                  Spanish hacker [Javi4315]
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2010
                    Location: Spain
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Timid
                    Posts: 98
                    How can I change the HP Bar in battle?


                    __________________
                    Pokémon Golden Legend // Pokémon Silver Legend


                    My tutorials:

                    __________________
                    My english is very bad, I know. Sorry! xD
                      #22810    
                    Old September 28th, 2012 (9:27 AM).
                    Alignment's Avatar
                    Alignment Alignment is offline
                    Revered with the stars
                       
                      Join Date: Mar 2010
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Lonely
                      Posts: 308
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by rbedsole View Post
                      Is there anywhere where I can download pre-made scripts?
                      Errr... I don't think you can or should for that matter. PKSV has a built in script generator if you want.

                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by jota_rdk View Post
                      How can I change the HP Bar in battle?


                      UNLZ, the same way you did the background.
                        #22811    
                      Old September 28th, 2012 (9:36 AM).
                      itman itman is offline
                      Back to ROM hacking. :D
                         
                        Join Date: May 2007
                        Age: 23
                        Nature: Adamant
                        Posts: 100
                        I'm trying to set more than one level script for a map to activate at separte times. I have done this before, but for some reason it's not working for me now. Both script types are 02, so the standard level script.

                        One uses and sets var 0x5000 to 0x1, and that one activates. Afterwards, it warps you to the same map, and the second level script is supposed to activate, which is set to activate when 5000 is 1. However, this second one won't activate, and I don't know why...
                          #22812    
                        Old September 28th, 2012 (9:57 AM).
                        jota_rdk's Avatar
                        jota_rdk jota_rdk is offline
                        Spanish hacker [Javi4315]
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2010
                          Location: Spain
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Timid
                          Posts: 98
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Alignment View Post
                          Errr... I don't think you can or should for that matter. PKSV has a built in script generator if you want.



                          UNLZ, the same way you did the background.
                          Yeah, But what are the directions?
                          __________________
                          Pokémon Golden Legend // Pokémon Silver Legend


                          My tutorials:

                          __________________
                          My english is very bad, I know. Sorry! xD
                            #22813    
                          Old September 28th, 2012 (10:40 AM).
                          Alignment's Avatar
                          Alignment Alignment is offline
                          Revered with the stars
                             
                            Join Date: Mar 2010
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Lonely
                            Posts: 308
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by jota_rdk View Post
                            Yeah, But what are the directions?
                            You export the image (in black and white) and the .raw
                            Then you edit the image/insert your own into UNLZ
                            Then you change the tilemap to fit your image, often done in NTME
                            Finally you change the palette!
                              #22814    
                            Old September 28th, 2012 (10:54 AM).
                            jota_rdk's Avatar
                            jota_rdk jota_rdk is offline
                            Spanish hacker [Javi4315]
                               
                              Join Date: Jul 2010
                              Location: Spain
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Timid
                              Posts: 98
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Alignment View Post
                              You export the image (in black and white) and the .raw
                              Then you edit the image/insert your own into UNLZ
                              Then you change the tilemap to fit your image, often done in NTME
                              Finally you change the palette!
                              I can't find the palette in APE? Do yo know the direction?
                              __________________
                              Pokémon Golden Legend // Pokémon Silver Legend


                              My tutorials:

                              __________________
                              My english is very bad, I know. Sorry! xD
                                #22815    
                              Old September 28th, 2012 (11:04 AM).
                              Sark Sark is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Mar 2012
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 37
                                I have a really big problem that prevent me from hacking my game. I can't have it fixed X_x
                                Spoiler:



                                I want to change Charmander's sprite to Axew's.


                                I click on "Edit" and import my sprite sheet... (Sorry for the bad quality of this screenshot)


                                And then click on synchronize palette.


                                I click on "Ok"...


                                Then on write to rom, and "Find free space".


                                Okay, the sprite is edited! Probably.

                                I open my rom again, to see if the sprite was correctly inserted...


                                The sprite isn't here, there's just the background color D:

                                Any ideas on how to fix this?
                                  #22816    
                                Old September 28th, 2012 (11:07 AM).
                                Alignment's Avatar
                                Alignment Alignment is offline
                                Revered with the stars
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2010
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Lonely
                                  Posts: 308
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by jota_rdk View Post
                                  I can't find the palette in APE? Do yo know the direction?
                                  There is a tutorial in the tutorial section by someone named Blitz, it's called 'How to palette edit anything'. Or something along those lines, using the method he used in the tutorial you can find the offsets for the HP boxes. They DO range in between 3 palettes I believe. It's been a while since I last did anything of that nature. I would get you a link, but I'm lazy :D
                                    #22817    
                                  Old September 28th, 2012 (2:11 PM). Edited September 28th, 2012 by Avonly.
                                  Avonly's Avatar
                                  Avonly Avonly is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Sep 2012
                                    Gender: Female
                                    Posts: 4
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by miksy91 View Post
                                    First of all, Tile Layer Pro or Tile Molester won't help you a bit in changing "battle sprites" in R/B/Y. Those sprites are compressed meaning there is a code for fitting the image in smaller size than it would be as uncompressed image (type of an image that could be edited easily with Tile Layer Pro for instance).

                                    There is a tool for inserting the battle sprites of that girl and replacing them with the original boy's sprites however. Go to Skeetendo Inc. (through that link in my signature) and try to find help threads that would suit your needs there. Problems similar to this one have been discussed there already.
                                    Miksy,
                                    I'm an ordinary girl, who accidentally found these sprites and thought, that would be nice to put them in game.
                                    But, as I write before, don't know ANYTHING about rom editing, I decided to ask the PokéCommunity users if they could do it on my request.
                                    Change a few sprites for many of them, creators advanced hacks, should not be a big problem.
                                    For me, it is - with tutorial too '

                                    I had no idea about existence Skeetendo.
                                    I create an account and ask for the same.
                                    Maybe a get help there.

                                    Thank you~
                                      #22818    
                                    Old September 28th, 2012 (2:32 PM).
                                    Nick20Haunter Nick20Haunter is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Sep 2012
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 2
                                      after a week of searching and trying to figure it out myself i see that i am definitely stuck.

                                      pokemon fire red->How can i change the item held by the pokemon of trainers already in game?

                                      i have everything else i need to do for my game figured out but this part, i want to theme the acquirement of valuable items on using the ability theif.
                                        #22819    
                                      Old September 28th, 2012 (3:17 PM).
                                      Alignment's Avatar
                                      Alignment Alignment is offline
                                      Revered with the stars
                                         
                                        Join Date: Mar 2010
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Lonely
                                        Posts: 308
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Nick20Haunter View Post
                                        after a week of searching and trying to figure it out myself i see that i am definitely stuck.

                                        pokemon fire red->How can i change the item held by the pokemon of trainers already in game?

                                        i have everything else i need to do for my game figured out but this part, i want to theme the acquirement of valuable items on using the ability theif.
                                        You can change held items on Advance Trainer. I don't think thief actually steals permanently though.
                                          #22820    
                                        Old September 28th, 2012 (5:19 PM).
                                        rbedsole's Avatar
                                        rbedsole rbedsole is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Oct 2011
                                          Location: Monroeville, AL
                                          Age: 28
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Quiet
                                          Posts: 19
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Alignment View Post
                                          Errr... I don't think you can or should for that matter. PKSV has a built in script generator if you want.



                                          UNLZ, the same way you did the background.
                                          I meant like scripts people have made and uploaded I know foullump did but he used megaupload which doesn't work anymore
                                            #22821    
                                          Old September 28th, 2012 (6:10 PM).
                                          Felgrand89 Felgrand89 is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Aug 2012
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 15
                                            Im using PPRE to edit some new pokemon into Platinum. The only thing I can't seem to change is the pokemon's name. I'll delete the old name, type in a new name and hit save, but it doesn't change at all. I'm using PPRE14 Beta I believe. Any help would be appreciated.
                                              #22822    
                                            Old September 28th, 2012 (6:25 PM).
                                            Alignment's Avatar
                                            Alignment Alignment is offline
                                            Revered with the stars
                                               
                                              Join Date: Mar 2010
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Lonely
                                              Posts: 308
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by rbedsole View Post
                                              I meant like scripts people have made and uploaded I know foullump did but he used megaupload which doesn't work anymore
                                              He made tutorials didn't he? I'm not sure what you mean by 'scripts', or atleast I think that we're referring to different things.
                                                #22823    
                                              Old September 28th, 2012 (7:27 PM).
                                              rbedsole's Avatar
                                              rbedsole rbedsole is offline
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Oct 2011
                                                Location: Monroeville, AL
                                                Age: 28
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Nature: Quiet
                                                Posts: 19
                                                Quote:
                                                Originally Posted by Alignment View Post
                                                He made tutorials didn't he? I'm not sure what you mean by 'scripts', or atleast I think that we're referring to different things.
                                                in the description section of some of his youtube videos he put links to scripts that weren't compiled yet they were still text files like his examples in his tutorials
                                                  #22824    
                                                Old September 28th, 2012 (7:56 PM).
                                                Thrasher24's Avatar
                                                Thrasher24 Thrasher24 is offline
                                                ~Legendary Master~
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Mar 2011
                                                  Location: Outside of Pallet Town, Kanto
                                                  Gender: Male
                                                  Nature: Adamant
                                                  Posts: 55
                                                  how do i change song for the "push start" menus? blue/sliver/leaf green
                                                  __________________
                                                  My 6 PkMn:
                                                  Fly! Char! Master!
                                                  Fossil! Pichu! Mew2
                                                    #22825    
                                                  Old September 28th, 2012 (8:31 PM).
                                                  Alignment's Avatar
                                                  Alignment Alignment is offline
                                                  Revered with the stars
                                                     
                                                    Join Date: Mar 2010
                                                    Gender: Male
                                                    Nature: Lonely
                                                    Posts: 308
                                                    Quote:
                                                    Originally Posted by rbedsole View Post
                                                    in the description section of some of his youtube videos he put links to scripts that weren't compiled yet they were still text files like his examples in his tutorials
                                                    Could you perhaps tell me what you're going to use these scripts for? It may help me help you because I don't think anyone really does that and maybe I can find a solution for you by other means.
                                                    Closed Thread

                                                    Quick Reply

                                                    Join the conversation!

                                                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                    Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                                    Sponsored Links
                                                    Thread Tools

                                                    Posting Rules
                                                    You may not post new threads
                                                    You may not post replies
                                                    You may not post attachments
                                                    You may not edit your posts

                                                    BB code is On
                                                    Smilies are On
                                                    [IMG] code is On
                                                    HTML code is Off

                                                    Forum Jump


                                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:05 AM.