ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #23751    
Old February 9th, 2013 (12:43 PM).
Blue's Avatar
Blue Blue is offline
problematic
  • Moderator
  • Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 20,257
Does anyone know where I can find the introductions Text on Advanced Text for Fire Red? I've searched in a few places and I can't seem to find it, I've also looked under the Archived Introduction but all that's under there is the Professor Oak Script. I'm talking about the text that appears before that.
__________________

Relevant Advertising!

  #23752    
Old February 9th, 2013 (1:05 PM). Edited February 9th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
     
    Join Date: Nov 2012
    Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Bold
    Posts: 1,766
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Suicune™ View Post
    Does anyone know where I can find the introductions Text on Advanced Text for Fire Red? I've searched in a few places and I can't seem to find it, I've also looked under the Archived Introduction but all that's under there is the Professor Oak Script. I'm talking about the text that appears before that.
    You do realize there is a search button, where you can type the first few words and have it find the text for you?

    I found the button help intro at 1857581 (decimal).

    The text with a Pikachu sitting on it is at 1858052 (dec).

    Hope this helps.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Mr. Whiscash View Post
    Would it be okay to recruit people for artistic help on a rom hacking project? This is important because I've lost my ability to sprite well due to years of stagnation and art direction is the entire point of the project I have in mind.
    I think so, go to the Team Discussions section and start a recruitment thread. Tell them what your hack is about and what you need help for.
    __________________

    Paired with Simba
      #23753    
    Old February 9th, 2013 (1:44 PM).
    Blue's Avatar
    Blue Blue is offline
    problematic
    • Moderator
    • Platinum Tier
     
    Join Date: Jan 2008
    Location: United Kingdom
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Relaxed
    Posts: 20,257
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
    You do realize there is a search button, where you can type the first few words and have it find the text for you?

    I found the button help intro at 1857581 (decimal).

    The text with a Pikachu sitting on it is at 1858052 (dec).

    Hope this helps.
    Yeah, I tried that and I can't edit it from that and nor does it locate me to the actual script.
    __________________
      #23754    
    Old February 9th, 2013 (2:33 PM).
    karatekid552's Avatar
    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
    What happens if I push it?....
       
      Join Date: Nov 2012
      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Bold
      Posts: 1,766
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Suicune™ View Post
      Yeah, I tried that and I can't edit it from that and nor does it locate me to the actual script.
      Okay, so after you search and find it, in the bottom middle of the search window, click "add to .ini". Fill out the info and then click "add to INI". Now it will be in the folder you specified, such as Introduction or something else.
      __________________

      Paired with Simba
        #23755    
      Old February 9th, 2013 (4:52 PM).
      Blue's Avatar
      Blue Blue is offline
      problematic
      • Moderator
      • Platinum Tier
       
      Join Date: Jan 2008
      Location: United Kingdom
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Relaxed
      Posts: 20,257
      Got it.

      Is it possible to disable the feature that prevents Johto & Hoenn Pokemon evolving in Fire Red & Leaf Green without having the National Dex?

      I want to leave any scripts regarding the Pokedex untouched but I want to make it possible to catch all 386 Pokemon before the Elite Four and if Hoenn & Johto Pokemon can't evolve it's impossible.
      __________________
        #23756    
      Old February 9th, 2013 (5:03 PM).
      Noossab Blue's Avatar
      Noossab Blue Noossab Blue is offline
         
        Join Date: Dec 2012
        Location: USA
        Gender: Female
        Nature: Quirky
        Posts: 240
        In a hex editor go to 0xCE91A and change the 4 bytes there to 00 00 14 E0 and then change 0x126C4D from D9 to E0 to get stone evos working.

        Question of my own: Does anyone know where the pickup item data is stored? Or just how to change the pickup items in general?
        __________________
        IGN: Anna/Noossab Blue
        3DS FC: 3196 3609 8450

        Thanks to SilverGrey for the awesome banner! Click to see!
        Current as of 1/31/14: I updated again!

          #23757    
        Old February 9th, 2013 (5:26 PM).
        FBI's Avatar
        FBI FBI is offline
        Free supporter
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Jan 2013
        Location: Unknown Island
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 1,772
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Noossab Blue View Post
        In a hex editor go to 0xCE91A and change the 4 bytes there to 00 00 14 E0 and then change 0x126C4D from D9 to E0 to get stone evos working.

        Question of my own: Does anyone know where the pickup item data is stored? Or just how to change the pickup items in general?
        Pickup item? Explain what you mean and for what version?
        __________________
        ...
          #23758    
        Old February 9th, 2013 (7:00 PM).
        Noossab Blue's Avatar
        Noossab Blue Noossab Blue is offline
           
          Join Date: Dec 2012
          Location: USA
          Gender: Female
          Nature: Quirky
          Posts: 240
          FR and I mean changing the items that can be found using pickup.
          __________________
          IGN: Anna/Noossab Blue
          3DS FC: 3196 3609 8450

          Thanks to SilverGrey for the awesome banner! Click to see!
          Current as of 1/31/14: I updated again!

            #23759    
          Old February 9th, 2013 (7:42 PM).
          Omega Zero's Avatar
          Omega Zero Omega Zero is offline
          Is back...
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: Dec 2009
          Location: I'm always living aren't I?
          Age: 19
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 445
          does anyone know the offset so i can enable the Ruby/saphire grass animation in firered?

          I need it for icey grass animation so i can have that and the normal one.

          Thanks in advance.
          __________________
            #23760    
          Old February 10th, 2013 (3:48 AM).
          Flame999's Avatar
          Flame999 Flame999 is offline
             
            Join Date: Nov 2008
            Location: Lavaridge Town
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Calm
            Posts: 103
            I'm trying to do a worping script where you are teleported to an area after talking to the person and i have no clue how to do that so if someone could point me in the right direction that would be great
              #23761    
            Old February 10th, 2013 (4:23 AM).
            ~Anbuja's Avatar
            ~Anbuja ~Anbuja is offline
            Let's Keep It Simple
               
              Join Date: Oct 2010
              Location: In Snorlax Stomach
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Lonely
              Posts: 321
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Omega Zero View Post
              does anyone know the offset so i can enable the Ruby/saphire grass animation in firered?

              I need it for icey grass animation so i can have that and the normal one.

              Thanks in advance.
              http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=252704
              Hope this helps :>
              __________________
                #23762    
              Old February 10th, 2013 (4:32 AM).
              .parado✗'s Avatar
              .parado✗ .parado✗ is offline
              paranormal user
                 
                Join Date: Sep 2012
                Location: Ha✗land
                Age: 21
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Gentle
                Posts: 38
                In XSE the command is: warp

                Structure: warp 0xBank 0xMap 0xWarp Exit (or just type 0xFF for warptoposition) 0xX coo. 0xY coo.

                ~para
                __________________
                If you are interested in a german romhacker forum, go to

                www.board.romresources.net

                I'm registered under the name: "Laz0r" there.
                  #23763    
                Old February 10th, 2013 (6:33 AM).
                Jim Boob's Avatar
                Jim Boob Jim Boob is offline
                Freelance Mapper
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2013
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 30
                  Is there a way to quickly delete every single map from a rom?
                  __________________
                  Happy to help mapping & scripting.
                  My Maps -
                  Deviant art
                    #23764    
                  Old February 10th, 2013 (6:53 AM).
                  FBI's Avatar
                  FBI FBI is offline
                  Free supporter
                  • Silver Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2013
                  Location: Unknown Island
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 1,772
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Jim Boob View Post
                  Is there a way to quickly delete every single map from a rom?
                  I don't think there is a "delete all maps" button anywhere, that being said you should never delete all the maps before starting. What you should do is delete/replace existing maps are you make new ones.
                  __________________
                  ...
                    #23765    
                  Old February 10th, 2013 (12:27 PM).
                  BullZai BullZai is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2013
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 6
                    I had to rewrite a quite big script, but if I try to compile it, it gives me an error and says there is a missing keyword, but the line is empty. Does anyone know what I did wrong, or do you need to see the script?
                      #23766    
                    Old February 10th, 2013 (12:29 PM).
                    .parado✗'s Avatar
                    .parado✗ .parado✗ is offline
                    paranormal user
                       
                      Join Date: Sep 2012
                      Location: Ha✗land
                      Age: 21
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Gentle
                      Posts: 38
                      Best tool to make this -> hexeditor xD

                      But I would replace old maps, cause they have the header and so on...
                      __________________
                      If you are interested in a german romhacker forum, go to

                      www.board.romresources.net

                      I'm registered under the name: "Laz0r" there.
                        #23767    
                      Old February 10th, 2013 (12:54 PM).
                      FBI's Avatar
                      FBI FBI is offline
                      Free supporter
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2013
                      Location: Unknown Island
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 1,772
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by BullZai View Post
                      I had to rewrite a quite big script, but if I try to compile it, it gives me an error and says there is a missing keyword, but the line is empty. Does anyone know what I did wrong, or do you need to see the script?
                      Post your script, though from what you've described you're missing a parameter on one of your commands.
                      __________________
                      ...
                        #23768    
                      Old February 10th, 2013 (1:12 PM).
                      karatekid552's Avatar
                      karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                      What happens if I push it?....
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                        Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Bold
                        Posts: 1,766
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by FBI agent View Post
                        Post your script, though from what you've described you're missing a parameter on one of your commands.
                        Actually, I have seen this in other places. The only solution is to retype it. It's an XSE bug, one of the very few.

                        There is another solution, but it requires a second computer. Put your script in a notepad file and redownload XSE but on a different computer. Now open the script in that computer and it should work fine.
                        __________________

                        Paired with Simba
                          #23769    
                        Old February 10th, 2013 (2:04 PM).
                        Omega Zero's Avatar
                        Omega Zero Omega Zero is offline
                        Is back...
                        • Gold Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2009
                        Location: I'm always living aren't I?
                        Age: 19
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Relaxed
                        Posts: 445
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Anbuja's_BlooDY View Post
                        Thanks for the help but i've already checked that thread all it has is the ash grass
                        and the tall grass,

                        i can't use the tall grass the animation doesn't work properly the tile isn't blocked by the hero.
                        __________________
                          #23770    
                        Old February 10th, 2013 (4:16 PM). Edited February 10th, 2013 by tente2.
                        tente2's Avatar
                        tente2 tente2 is offline
                        "Outta my way, dammit!"
                           
                          Join Date: Sep 2009
                          Location: Snowpoint City
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Bashful
                          Posts: 403
                          Okay. I have been searching all over Pokecommunity (and on Google, too) but I simply am not able to find an answer to my question. Which I find really weird, considering I would have imagined this would have been a very common question.

                          In G/S (specifically, Silver), how do you change the starting position of the Hiro? (I have a hex editor and everything.) What offset/byte(s) do I change, and what do I change to determine what? I believe somewhere on Pokecommunity I had found the offset, followed by an explanation of what part of the offset did what (determined map bank, number, x and y axis) but I have lost the link to the page, and even after searching thoroughly and going through my browsing history I am not able to find it again.

                          I am aware there is a tool to accomplish this, but I would like to learn how to do this myself. I tried using the tool, anyway, but it doesn't even work anymore (and I couldn't read the source). (If anybody knows how to change the player's starting money, that would also be cool...?)

                          Any help would be immensely appreciated! If anybody needs any more information, I would be happy to provide it.
                          __________________
                            #23771    
                          Old February 10th, 2013 (4:51 PM).
                          Zanny77's Avatar
                          Zanny77 Zanny77 is offline
                          I'm back, baby!
                             
                            Join Date: Mar 2009
                            Location: Maine
                            Age: 26
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Jolly
                            Posts: 259
                            Hey just a quick question, is there any way to change the Y Coordinate of the starting character in the map? If I try and change the location using Start Map Chooser Advance it only lets me change the X Coordinate
                            __________________

                            I SUPPORTQUOTECREDITHACK
                              #23772    
                            Old February 10th, 2013 (5:23 PM). Edited February 11th, 2013 by karatekid552.
                            karatekid552's Avatar
                            karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                            What happens if I push it?....
                               
                              Join Date: Nov 2012
                              Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Bold
                              Posts: 1,766
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Zanny77 View Post
                              Hey just a quick question, is there any way to change the Y Coordinate of the starting character in the map? If I try and change the location using Start Map Chooser Advance it only lets me change the X Coordinate
                              Not possible through SMCA, but looking at the source code I found where this data is stored so I am going to go into HxD and see if it can be done manually.

                              I DID IT!!!!! The byte at 54A00 (should be 06 as a value) holds the y-coordinate. HackMew must have missed it because it was about 10 bytes before the X-coordinate, when logically it should be after. (You usually graph X then Y). No offense to HackMew, he did a lot for all of us.

                              Edit: I was not the first person to find this. I was going through the notes that came with JPAN's patch and this was in there. There is a lot of data in those notes...
                              __________________

                              Paired with Simba
                                #23773    
                              Old February 10th, 2013 (5:41 PM).
                              Zanny77's Avatar
                              Zanny77 Zanny77 is offline
                              I'm back, baby!
                                 
                                Join Date: Mar 2009
                                Location: Maine
                                Age: 26
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Jolly
                                Posts: 259
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                Not possible through SMCA, but looking at the source code I found where this data is stored so I am going to go into HxD and see if it can be done manually.

                                I DID IT!!!!! The byte at 54A00 (should be 06 as a value) holds the y-coordinate. HackMew must have missed it because it was about 10 bytes before the X-coordinate, when logically it should be after. (You always graph X then Y). No offense to HackMew, he did a lot for all of us.
                                Oh ok thanks for the info! The only thing is I don't know how to change it manually with HxD or whatever. What exactly do you do and use?
                                __________________

                                I SUPPORTQUOTECREDITHACK
                                  #23774    
                                Old February 10th, 2013 (5:46 PM).
                                karatekid552's Avatar
                                karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                What happens if I push it?....
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                                  Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Bold
                                  Posts: 1,766
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Zanny77 View Post
                                  Oh ok thanks for the info! The only thing is I don't know how to change it manually with HxD or whatever. What exactly do you do and use?
                                  Learn how to use a hex editor, then goto the offset I specified and change the value to the y-coordinate you want.

                                  HxD is one of the best hex editors though it sadly does not support .tbl files.
                                  __________________

                                  Paired with Simba
                                    #23775    
                                  Old February 10th, 2013 (5:50 PM).
                                  Zanny77's Avatar
                                  Zanny77 Zanny77 is offline
                                  I'm back, baby!
                                     
                                    Join Date: Mar 2009
                                    Location: Maine
                                    Age: 26
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Jolly
                                    Posts: 259
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                    Learn how to use a hex editor, then goto the offset I specified and change the value to the y-coordinate you want.

                                    HxD is one of the best hex editors though it sadly does not support .tbl files.
                                    uhh ok so for FireRed hacking, which hex editor would you recommend the most? HxD?
                                    __________________

                                    I SUPPORTQUOTECREDITHACK
                                    Closed Thread

                                    Quick Reply

                                    Join the conversation!

                                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                    Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                    Sponsored Links
                                    Thread Tools

                                    Posting Rules
                                    You may not post new threads
                                    You may not post replies
                                    You may not post attachments
                                    You may not edit your posts

                                    BB code is On
                                    Smilies are On
                                    [IMG] code is On
                                    HTML code is Off

                                    Forum Jump


                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:12 AM.