ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #24801    
Old April 28th, 2013 (7:04 PM).
dondon151 dondon151 is offline
     
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 33
    This kind of thing is not that easy to search for, so I apologize if it's really obvious, but...

    Is there documentation on switching types of moves (e.g., Dark, Dragon, Poison) from physical to special or vice versa in gen 3 games?

    Relevant Advertising!

      #24802    
    Old April 28th, 2013 (7:43 PM).
    LaDestitute's Avatar
    LaDestitute LaDestitute is offline
    Razor Sharp
       
      Join Date: Apr 2013
      Location: West Coast, USA
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Calm
      Posts: 84
      If I read correctly, move split types weren't introduced until Gen IV so all types were either defined as physical or special for all of their damage dealing moves. I haven't seen many tutorials on introducing the Gen IV move type split so you may have to do extensive research, or something.

      -----
      I figured out how to change a trainer's sprite finally by importing the sprite using unLZGBA, noting of the new sprite's offset (using FreeSpaceFinder for an free space offset to store it in) and of the offset of Professor Oak's sprite in the intro and then going into a hex editor and changing the pointer of the default sprite to the new one.

      I was able to import the sprite, write it to the rom, change the pointer, etc without any problem. Yet, when I boot up the rom, Oak's sprite hasn't changed at all. I even tried it with a fresh base rom, no luck with that either.
        #24803    
      Old April 28th, 2013 (8:52 PM).
      dondon151 dondon151 is offline
         
        Join Date: Jan 2012
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 33
        No, I meant that I wanted to switch all Dark moves from special to physical, or all Poison moves from physical to special, etc.
          #24804    
        Old April 28th, 2013 (9:06 PM).
        yozzyurubuza's Avatar
        yozzyurubuza yozzyurubuza is offline
           
          Join Date: Aug 2011
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 15
          Is there a way to import the exact very old BGM from 1st and 2nd Gen to 3rd Gen? I can convert the following into mp3 and turn it into midi but it is not going to be exactly the same that I wanted to be.
            #24805    
          Old April 28th, 2013 (9:26 PM).
          LaDestitute's Avatar
          LaDestitute LaDestitute is offline
          Razor Sharp
             
            Join Date: Apr 2013
            Location: West Coast, USA
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Calm
            Posts: 84
            Still, the gen IV move type split and switching all moves of a certain type are pretty similar methods. You could do either, really.
            What I'm getting to is...
            I tried looking for what you specified, nothing in tutorials or R&D. Although, I could of sworn I saw a gen IV move type split hack in Gen III research thread in R&D a couple of days ago, if that helps.

            @yozzyurubuza: My only hunch there is to use a tool to export the music files (maybe as raw), MAYBE convert them, and re-import them into a Gen III rom, with a tool and/or hex editing.
              #24806    
            Old April 28th, 2013 (10:59 PM).
            ShyRayq's Avatar
            ShyRayq ShyRayq is offline
            Unprofessional Unprofessional
               
              Join Date: Aug 2007
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 1,482
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by dondon151 View Post
              No, I meant that I wanted to switch all Dark moves from special to physical, or all Poison moves from physical to special, etc.
              One solution, though unpretty, requires the P/S Split, so patch it on to your FR/Em
              Then, just assign all Dark moves to Physical, and all other moves to their rightful type special thingy.
              It's quite simple actually.
              __________________
              3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
              IGN: Peter; (X, Y, OR, AS, M)
              Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
              Living Pokedex Complete: LG, E, Pl, Y, OR, M
              Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

              PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
                #24807    
              Old April 29th, 2013 (1:09 AM). Edited April 29th, 2013 by dondon151.
              dondon151 dondon151 is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2012
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 33
                Surely there must be a simpler method, though? Given how the types themselves are assigned a certain physical/special identity, then I would assume that there is some overarching mechanism, table, etc. that determines whether all moves in a certain type are physical or special. But I mean, I might just be wrong here.

                While I'm at it, I have another question: is there any way to set a certain map's weather to strong sunlight by default? The setweather commands only seem to include weathers that induce rain or sandstorm.
                  #24808    
                Old April 29th, 2013 (2:22 AM).
                GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                • Gold Tier
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2012
                Location: Earth
                Age: 18
                Gender: Female
                Nature: Jolly
                Posts: 2,477
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
                Code:
                if (genderRatio != 0xFF)
                {
                    if ((PID & 0xFF) < genderRatio)
                    {
                        return female;
                    }
                    else
                    {
                        return male;
                    }
                }
                else
                {
                    return genderless;
                }
                That's how gender is calculated in the Gen 3 games. When you use actual ASM to implement such checks, it is sadly very clunky and long winded.

                Could you explain that to me please? How exactly would I call this and make sure a certain pokemon does this instead of them all?
                __________________
                I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                Support me at my site!
                Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                  #24809    
                Old April 29th, 2013 (2:42 AM).
                Aryan143's Avatar
                Aryan143 Aryan143 is offline
                The Fennekin Fan!
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2012
                  Location: Delhi, India
                  Age: 17
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Modest
                  Posts: 756
                  I want some help. I tried hacking Ruby now. I tried to edit the trainer backsprites in NSE. I changed the palette in APE, the image in NSE and it looks fine in NSE, But when I test it in the game, the palette is screwed up.
                  __________________
                  Check out my gaming company:

                    #24810    
                  Old April 29th, 2013 (4:01 AM). Edited April 29th, 2013 by LaDestitute.
                  LaDestitute's Avatar
                  LaDestitute LaDestitute is offline
                  Razor Sharp
                     
                    Join Date: Apr 2013
                    Location: West Coast, USA
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Calm
                    Posts: 84
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Aryan143 View Post
                    I want some help. I tried hacking Ruby now. I tried to edit the trainer backsprites in NSE. I changed the palette in APE, the image in NSE and it looks fine in NSE, But when I test it in the game, the palette is screwed up.
                    I'm actually having the same problem with Red's sprite in the intro of FR, along with that I can't replace Oak's greyscale sprite in NSE while I can with Red, Rival's, the girl, etc.
                      #24811    
                    Old April 29th, 2013 (4:48 AM).
                    Jambo51's Avatar
                    Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
                    Glory To Arstotzka
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2009
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Quiet
                      Posts: 732
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by dondon151 View Post
                      Surely there must be a simpler method, though? Given how the types themselves are assigned a certain physical/special identity, then I would assume that there is some overarching mechanism, table, etc. that determines whether all moves in a certain type are physical or special. But I mean, I might just be wrong here.
                      No, there's not. It's a straight up compare, and the types are organised such that Physical is under 8 and Special is over 9. You'd have to rewrite the code entirely, or even just add an extra compare, to wholesale set Dark to physical, or any such change.

                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by dondon151 View Post
                      While I'm at it, I have another question: is there any way to set a certain map's weather to strong sunlight by default? The setweather commands only seem to include weathers that induce rain or sandstorm.
                      If you're talking about FR, this weather type is actually broken, it doesn't work (crashes the game on use).
                      __________________
                      Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
                        #24812    
                      Old April 29th, 2013 (4:52 AM).
                      kearnseyboy6's Avatar
                      kearnseyboy6 kearnseyboy6 is offline
                      Aussie's Toughest Mudder
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2008
                        Posts: 300
                        Hi everyone, I'm following both Links and Jambo's tut on adding new flight spots/healing places but when ever I try to test this when I white out I get a black screen. Everything seems to be followed correctly, i can heal in the center. I have set the healing place to 0x15 but this doesn't work still.

                        Sorry if this is the wrong spot.
                        __________________
                        HOLIDAYING CURRENTLY!!
                          #24813    
                        Old April 29th, 2013 (6:13 AM).
                        Aryan143's Avatar
                        Aryan143 Aryan143 is offline
                        The Fennekin Fan!
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2012
                          Location: Delhi, India
                          Age: 17
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Modest
                          Posts: 756
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by LaDestitute View Post
                          I'm actually having the same problem with Red's sprite in the intro of FR, along with that I can't replace Oak's greyscale sprite in NSE while I can with Red, Rival's, the girl, etc.
                          So have anyone found any way to fix it? My problem is only for Ruby because I inserted the backsprites as well as the Intro Sprites in DR2 so it not for FR.
                          __________________
                          Check out my gaming company:

                            #24814    
                          Old April 29th, 2013 (7:24 AM).
                          LaDestitute's Avatar
                          LaDestitute LaDestitute is offline
                          Razor Sharp
                             
                            Join Date: Apr 2013
                            Location: West Coast, USA
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Calm
                            Posts: 84
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Aryan143 View Post
                            So have anyone found any way to fix it? My problem is only for Ruby because I inserted the backsprites as well as the Intro Sprites in DR2 so it not for FR.
                            Still having the issue of a messed up palette but I opened up a separate but fresh FR rom with NSE, only to find it wouldn't let me replace the greyscale intro sprites with my own. Not sure what I'm doing wrong, but it might be the way I'm making my custom intro sprites greyscale.
                              #24815    
                            Old April 29th, 2013 (7:39 AM).
                            Aryan143's Avatar
                            Aryan143 Aryan143 is offline
                            The Fennekin Fan!
                               
                              Join Date: Jul 2012
                              Location: Delhi, India
                              Age: 17
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Modest
                              Posts: 756
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by LaDestitute View Post
                              Still having the issue of a messed up palette but I opened up a separate but fresh FR rom with NSE, only to find it wouldn't let me replace the greyscale intro sprites with my own. Not sure what I'm doing wrong, but it might be the way I'm making my custom intro sprites greyscale.
                              Its better to not use NSE for Intro sprites. Just use unlz-gba for them. You can VM me if you want to know the whole process of inserting.
                              __________________
                              Check out my gaming company:

                                #24816    
                              Old April 29th, 2013 (2:10 PM).
                              Chinchou(+_+)'s Avatar
                              Chinchou(+_+) Chinchou(+_+) is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Apr 2013
                                Location: Under Da' Sea
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Jolly
                                Posts: 8
                                any good alternatives than advance map for Mac?
                                __________________
                                Please go watch/fav/llama me on Deviantart, it would mean a lot to me! BurningSylveon
                                  #24817    
                                Old April 29th, 2013 (2:44 PM).
                                karatekid552's Avatar
                                karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                What happens if I push it?....
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                                  Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Bold
                                  Posts: 1,766
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Chinchou(+_+) View Post
                                  any good alternatives than advance map for Mac?
                                  Elite Map is the only other alternative, but it is old and probably still won't work. I haven't experimented much with Macs, but some of the hackers use Wine. I don't know if A-map is compatible, but you can give it a try.
                                  __________________

                                  Paired with Simba
                                    #24818    
                                  Old April 29th, 2013 (3:56 PM).
                                  Akiba's Avatar
                                  Akiba Akiba is offline
                                  • Crystal Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2011
                                  Location: in a gap
                                  Age: 17
                                  Gender: Female
                                  Nature: Brave
                                  Posts: 4,268
                                  Like LaDestitute, I use Paint.NET.

                                  But of course, GIMP is good, and Photoshop is good for tiling.

                                  But here's a link to a Standalone Windows XP version of Paint, which support indexed images very well:
                                  __________________
                                    #24819    
                                  Old April 29th, 2013 (4:26 PM).
                                  LaDestitute's Avatar
                                  LaDestitute LaDestitute is offline
                                  Razor Sharp
                                     
                                    Join Date: Apr 2013
                                    Location: West Coast, USA
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Calm
                                    Posts: 84
                                    Okay, I managed to successfully change the intro sprites using unLZGBA+APE, but in-game, the palettes of Oak/Hero/Heroine/Rival are all messed up...so I'm back at a dead end.
                                      #24820    
                                    Old April 29th, 2013 (11:49 PM).
                                    Akiba's Avatar
                                    Akiba Akiba is offline
                                    • Crystal Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Mar 2011
                                    Location: in a gap
                                    Age: 17
                                    Gender: Female
                                    Nature: Brave
                                    Posts: 4,268
                                    Just wondering... Is there a way to increase the number of blocks in Tileset 0 by AdvanceMap? AdvanceMap's block editor does support increasing tileset sizes, but does not seem to be able to do so for the primary tileset.
                                    __________________
                                      #24821    
                                    Old April 30th, 2013 (2:17 AM).
                                    GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                                    GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                                    (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                                    • Gold Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Nov 2012
                                    Location: Earth
                                    Age: 18
                                    Gender: Female
                                    Nature: Jolly
                                    Posts: 2,477
                                    It's already max size because if you put it as the second tileset in the map header it doesnt make it bigger anyway
                                    __________________
                                    I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                                    The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                                    Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                                    Support me at my site!
                                    Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                                      #24822    
                                    Old April 30th, 2013 (2:47 PM).
                                    Konekodemon's Avatar
                                    Konekodemon Konekodemon is offline
                                    The Master of Pokemon Breeding
                                    • Crystal Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Mar 2007
                                    Location: NC
                                    Age: 32
                                    Gender: Female
                                    Nature: Gentle
                                    Posts: 1,953
                                    Could someone be my sensei and teach me all about coding in hack making? I've been wanting to make my own Pokemon hacks for years but I've never been able to make one. And the ones I do make are always full of glitches, that I can't seem to fix. I'd credit you in any hack I make. If you need paying I'd pay you to teach me.
                                    __________________

                                    Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
                                    Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile.php?id=231549&ref=61528
                                    Get a Free PS3, this is no joke: http://www.YourPS34free.com/index.php?ref=5580831
                                      #24823    
                                    Old April 30th, 2013 (2:51 PM).
                                    Akiba's Avatar
                                    Akiba Akiba is offline
                                    • Crystal Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Mar 2011
                                    Location: in a gap
                                    Age: 17
                                    Gender: Female
                                    Nature: Brave
                                    Posts: 4,268
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Konekodemon View Post
                                    Could someone be my sensei and teach me all about coding in hack making? I've been wanting to make my own Pokemon hacks for years but I've never been able to make one. And the ones I do make are always full of glitches, that I can't seem to fix. I'd credit you in any hack I make. If you need paying I'd pay you to teach me.
                                    Sure, I could teach you, I guess.

                                    Just add me on Skype.
                                    __________________
                                      #24824    
                                    Old April 30th, 2013 (7:15 PM).
                                    LaDestitute's Avatar
                                    LaDestitute LaDestitute is offline
                                    Razor Sharp
                                       
                                      Join Date: Apr 2013
                                      Location: West Coast, USA
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Calm
                                      Posts: 84
                                      Okay, got past the issue of editing the intro sprites.

                                      Two questions:
                                      1. How would I change a Pokemon's hatch rate to instant and then back to normal? I want the starters in my hack to hatch from eggs, but not have it where their able to abuse the idea to get instant starters later on.

                                      2. How would I make an item that either has an affect only on a certain Pokemon, or can be held only by said Pokemon and that the held item changes their battle/icon sprites? I have a hermit crab Pokemon that can swap out shells for stat boosts, while their defense stats are normally low without one.
                                        #24825    
                                      Old April 30th, 2013 (8:31 PM).
                                      kearnseyboy6's Avatar
                                      kearnseyboy6 kearnseyboy6 is offline
                                      Aussie's Toughest Mudder
                                         
                                        Join Date: Dec 2008
                                        Posts: 300
                                        Two questions please!

                                        Is there a way to change fire reds girl (red) and boy (blue) text colour when you talk to them?

                                        Also are we limited to only the colours in Diegoisawesome script tutorial that he mentioned?
                                        __________________
                                        HOLIDAYING CURRENTLY!!
                                        Closed Thread
                                        Quick Reply

                                        Sponsored Links
                                        Thread Tools

                                        Posting Rules
                                        You may not post new threads
                                        You may not post replies
                                        You may not post attachments
                                        You may not edit your posts

                                        BB code is On
                                        Smilies are On
                                        [IMG] code is On
                                        HTML code is Off

                                        Forum Jump


                                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:57 PM.