Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

TrollandToad.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1351    
Old August 11th, 2010 (5:53 AM).
KotovSyndrome_'s Avatar
KotovSyndrome_ KotovSyndrome_ is offline
Consumer of many asparagus.
     
    Join Date: Jul 2008
    Location: Wales
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Adamant
    Posts: 57
    Hackmew, I must say.. Awesome programs :D
    I've been using most of them a lot, but I was wondering..
    Could you develop one that allows the user to edit the Oak speech at the start of the game? :/
    I know you can do it with Hex Editing or A-Text, but A-Text doesn't work for many people, and Hex Editing isn't easy (well, at least for me )

    Thanks
    __________________

    Time out, let's stop and think this through,
    We've all got better things to do,
    Than talk in circles, run in place,
    Answers inches from our face.
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #1352    
    Old August 14th, 2010 (5:39 AM).
    Matizam127 Matizam127 is offline
       
      Join Date: Feb 2010
      Location: Poland
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Hardy
      Posts: 3
      HackMew programs rulez! :-D

      Where I can get Advance Item?
      Reply With Quote
        #1353    
      Old August 16th, 2010 (5:52 AM).
      HackMew's Avatar
      HackMew HackMew is offline
      Mewtwo Strikes Back
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Jun 2006
      Posts: 1,314
      First post: updated. I've said enough :)
      __________________
      Reply With Quote
        #1354    
      Old August 16th, 2010 (6:22 AM).
      Diegoisawesome's Avatar
      Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
      Oh god the bees
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Dec 2007
      Location: :noitacoL
      Age: 20
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Naive
      Posts: 1,039
      Nice to see a tool update!
      It's nice to see that your new tools will be multiplatform.
      Just one thing: You should have FreeSpaceFinder.exe renamed to FSF.exe in the package, so that it works out-of-the-box with XSE.
      EDIT: Also, FSF can't load a ROM with another program using it...
      Basically, that takes away a lot of the usefulness.
      __________________


      My other resources:
      My Website
      diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
      diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
      The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
      Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
      GBA Intro Manager
      The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
      Reply With Quote
        #1355    
      Old August 16th, 2010 (6:51 AM).
      HackMew's Avatar
      HackMew HackMew is offline
      Mewtwo Strikes Back
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Jun 2006
      Posts: 1,314
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by diegoisawesome View Post
      Nice to see a tool update!
      It's nice to see that your new tools will be multiplatform.
      Just one thing: You should have FreeSpaceFinder.exe renamed to FSF.exe in the package, so that it works out-of-the-box with XSE.
      EDIT: Also, FSF can't load a ROM with another program using it...
      Basically, that takes away a lot of the usefulness.
      Thanks for commenting. About the name... Maybe I should have. But the new XSE will take care of the new .exe name. What about the "can't load" problem? Please be specific on the actual program(s). Also, please read carefully the first post.
      __________________
      Reply With Quote
        #1356    
      Old August 16th, 2010 (8:01 AM).
      Diegoisawesome's Avatar
      Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
      Oh god the bees
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Dec 2007
      Location: :noitacoL
      Age: 20
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Naive
      Posts: 1,039
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
      Thanks for commenting. About the name... Maybe I should have. But the new XSE will take care of the new .exe name. What about the "can't load" problem? Please be specific on the actual program(s). Also, please read carefully the first post.
      Hmm, let's see...
      Right now, the programs I have the ROM open in: AdvaneMap 1.92, VisualBoyAdvance 1.8.0 (although that's never been a problem before), XSE, and A-Trainer. The most likely culprit is A-Map, as almost all programs refuse to load a ROM at the same time as it.
      The exact error I get is:
      Quote:
      The process cannot access the file '(my ROM address)' because it is being used by another process.
      Code:
      See the end of this message for details on invoking 
      just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.
      
      ************** Exception Text **************
      System.IO.IOException: The process cannot access the file 'C:\ROMs\Hacking Stuff\CrystalDust.gba' because it is being used by another process.
         at System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)
         at System.IO.FileStream.Init(String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, Int32 rights, Boolean useRights, FileShare share, Int32 bufferSize, FileOptions options, SECURITY_ATTRIBUTES secAttrs, String msgPath, Boolean bFromProxy)
         at System.IO.FileStream..ctor(String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, FileShare share)
         at HackMew.ToolsFactory.GameManager.ReadHeader[T]()
         at FreeSpaceFinder.formMain.LoadFile(String fileName)
         at FreeSpaceFinder.formMain.Open()
         at FreeSpaceFinder.formMain.miOpenROM_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
         at System.Windows.Forms.MenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e)
         at System.Windows.Forms.MenuItem.MenuItemData.Execute()
         at System.Windows.Forms.Command.Invoke()
         at System.Windows.Forms.Command.DispatchID(Int32 id)
         at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmCommand(Message& m)
         at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
         at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
         at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.WndProc(Message& m)
         at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
         at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
         at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
         at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
      
      
      ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
      mscorlib
          Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
          Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
          CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      FreeSpaceFinder
          Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
          Win32 Version: 2.0.0.0
          CodeBase: file:///C:/ROMs/Hacking%20Stuff/Tools/XSE/FSF.exe
      ----------------------------------------
      System.Windows.Forms
          Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
          Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
          CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      System
          Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
          Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
          CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      System.Drawing
          Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
          Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
          CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      System.Xml
          Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
          Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
          CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      System.Configuration
          Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
          Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
          CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      fjnt6elp
          Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
          Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
          CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      
      ************** JIT Debugging **************
      To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
      application or computer (machine.config) must have the
      jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
      The application must also be compiled with debugging
      enabled.
      
      For example:
      
      
      
      When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
      will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
      rather than be handled by this dialog box.
      This happens a lot with .NET programs and A-Map.
      __________________


      My other resources:
      My Website
      diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
      diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
      The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
      Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
      GBA Intro Manager
      The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
      Reply With Quote
        #1357    
      Old August 16th, 2010 (8:47 AM). Edited August 16th, 2010 by HackMew.
      HackMew's Avatar
      HackMew HackMew is offline
      Mewtwo Strikes Back
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Jun 2006
      Posts: 1,314
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by diegoisawesome View Post
      Hmm, let's see...
      Right now, the programs I have the ROM open in: AdvaneMap 1.92, VisualBoyAdvance 1.8.0 (although that's never been a problem before), XSE, and A-Trainer. The most likely culprit is A-Map, as almost all programs refuse to load a ROM at the same time as it.
      The exact error I get is:

      [...]

      This happens a lot with .NET programs and A-Map.
      Just like I guessed. FYI, it has nothing in particular to do with the .NET framework. The problem is indeed AdvanceMap which basically locks the file.

      The error you got happened while trying to read the game header, in which code FileShare.Read were used. If I used FileShare.ReadWrite (thus allowing read and write access from other processes), the error wouldn't exists. But if you think about it, it's logical not allowing other processes to write to a file we're reading form. If the file content gets changed while reading it, what we read could be completely wrong. The same thing applies when writing to a file.

      To sum it up, everything boils down to AdvanceMap (similar issues could also happen while using unLZ.GBA) which is locking the file even when it doesn't need to. To prove my point: try opening two instances of the new FSF. And load the same ROM in both. No error will happen. Besides writing my own map editor, there's not much I can do about it excepting catching the error and show an error message.
      __________________
      Reply With Quote
        #1358    
      Old August 16th, 2010 (8:50 AM).
      Diegoisawesome's Avatar
      Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
      Oh god the bees
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Dec 2007
      Location: :noitacoL
      Age: 20
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Naive
      Posts: 1,039
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
      Just like I guessed. FYI, it has nothing in particular to do with the .NET framework. The problem is indeed AdvanceMap which locks the file. The error you got happened while trying to read the game header, in which code FileShare.Read were used. If I used FileShare.ReadWrite (thus allowing read and write access from other processes), the error wouldn't exists. But if you think about it, it's logical not allowing other processes to write to a file we're reading/writing from/to. If the file content gets changed while reading it, what we read could be completely wrong. To sum it up, everything boils down to AdvanceMap (similar issues could also happen while using unLZ.GBA) which is locking the file even when it doesn't need to. Besides writing my own map editor, there's not much I can do about it excepting catching the error and show an error message.
      Yeah, I understand. Maybe, however, you can fix it for Un-LZ Hacked (when you upgrade it).
      Also, maybe LU-HO can be told about this bug (although he probably already has been) and, when the next A-Map comes out, it'll be fixed...
      __________________


      My other resources:
      My Website
      diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
      diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
      The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
      Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
      GBA Intro Manager
      The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
      Reply With Quote
        #1359    
      Old August 17th, 2010 (3:23 PM).
      Nightcrow's Avatar
      Nightcrow Nightcrow is offline
         
        Join Date: Jun 2010
        Location: Belgium
        Age: 31
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Calm
        Posts: 44
        Finally a trainer editor that doesn't screw you over when you give trainers extra pokemon. LOVE IT!
        Reply With Quote
          #1360    
        Old August 21st, 2010 (2:36 PM).
        Funfat.'s Avatar
        Funfat. Funfat. is offline
        Working on scripts that fail
           
          Join Date: Apr 2009
          Location: At home
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Bold
          Posts: 17
          can you edit SMCA so we can change the X position in firered?
          __________________
          Cna yuo raed tihs? Olny 55% of plepoe can.

          I cdnuolt blveiee taht I cluod aulaclty uesdnatnrd waht I was rdanieg.
          The phaonmneal pweor of the hmuan mnid, aoccdrnig to a rscheearch
          at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it dseno't mtaetr in waht oerdr the ltteres in a
          wrod are, the olny iproamtnt tihng is taht the frsit and lsat ltteer be in the
          rghit pclae. The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it whotuit
          a pboerlm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter
          by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe. Azanmig huh? yaeh and I awlyas tghuhot
          slpeling was ipmorantt!
          fi yuo cna raed tihs, palce it in yuor siantugre
          I feogrt who ollanirigy had tihs but wohveer did. TAHNKS
          Reply With Quote[/sig-reason]
          Reply With Quote
            #1361    
          Old August 21st, 2010 (5:17 PM).
          DigitalDetection DigitalDetection is offline
             
            Join Date: Aug 2010
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 9
            nice tools mewtwo!
            im gana use these in my new hack im gana start soon
            Reply With Quote
              #1362    
            Old August 28th, 2010 (11:08 AM).
            shawn0173's Avatar
            shawn0173 shawn0173 is offline
            Pokemon: Metallic Flames!
               
              Join Date: Jul 2010
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 82
              thanks for the tools! they are so helpful!!!
              Reply With Quote
                #1363    
              Old August 28th, 2010 (6:13 PM).
              Team Rocket's Raichu Team Rocket's Raichu is offline
              Bye-Bye!
                 
                Join Date: Mar 2009
                Age: 22
                Posts: 535
                Nice new layout. Hope you get around to changing the whole thread to the nice CSS.
                __________________

                I'm a supermod of that forum.

                I've left, bye PC.
                Reply With Quote
                  #1364    
                Old September 1st, 2010 (12:43 PM). Edited September 1st, 2010 by 0m3GA ARS3NAL.
                0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                Im comin' home...
                • Silver Tier
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2008
                Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                Age: 25
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Gentle
                Posts: 1,816
                hrmm... just ran into a snag...

                XSE is slow... like REALLY slow...
                The compiler takes 87 seconds to compile 24 lines of code... Just a simple hello world code, but man...

                I was wondering if this would be system based, I'm using my mom's netbook...

                Specs...

                Windows XP Pro SP3

                RAM 0.98 GB

                Has an Intel Atom 1.6 GHz Processor... I'm confused though, every time I click the 'Debug' button, one of the cores gets MAXED, like, 100% used.

                It lasts for around 87 seconds each time (On the same script of course, I can only imagine the horror of anything longer.) and then the script finishes...

                Speaking of lag, just tried closing FSF... seems to hang for a few seconds before closing....
                __________________
                >Boot Jailbot
                >Pass *****
                .
                .
                Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                Greetings Warden
                of Superjail Penitentiary
                Awaiting user input...

                >Display User_Info
                ╠══User Info══╣
                Username:
                0m3GA ARS3NAL
                Age: 18
                Sex: Male ♂
                Race: Caucasian
                Quote:
                "What is this
                I don't even..."

                M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                ╠══End of File══╣
                Awaiting user input...

                >
                Reply With Quote
                  #1365    
                Old September 11th, 2010 (12:51 AM).
                Andrut's Avatar
                Andrut Andrut is offline
                Collecting dust since 1898
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2009
                  Location: Warsaw, Poland
                  Age: 19
                  Posts: 286
                  Advance Trainer's "search" tool doesn't work for me, no matter on which computer i download it on.
                  Is it supposed to work? The tool freezes when i start searching....
                  Reply With Quote
                    #1366    
                  Old September 19th, 2010 (5:39 PM).
                  Johto_legend's Avatar
                  Johto_legend Johto_legend is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Jan 2010
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 189
                    ok so im a mac user. Can all these tools run on mac? if not, which which ones? and what are the mono plugins thingys i need to get?
                    or basically, how do i get these to work on my mac?
                    Reply With Quote
                      #1367    
                    Old September 23rd, 2010 (5:18 PM).
                    Team Rocket's Raichu Team Rocket's Raichu is offline
                    Bye-Bye!
                       
                      Join Date: Mar 2009
                      Age: 22
                      Posts: 535
                      You would have to install Windows via Boot Camp (default program on Macs), and then use them from Windows. Don't worry. It won't get rid of your Mac OS if you do it. :D
                      __________________

                      I'm a supermod of that forum.

                      I've left, bye PC.
                      Reply With Quote
                        #1368    
                      Old September 25th, 2010 (11:01 AM). Edited September 26th, 2010 by Random92.
                      Random92 Random92 is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Sep 2010
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 29
                        What is A-patch good for?

                        Edit: Oh I understand what it's for now. I just thought everyone released their games as .rom files, but I guess that's illegal so they have to make a patch instead.

                        I am also searching for a 3rd generation item editor. Where can I find one?
                        Reply With Quote
                          #1369    
                        Old September 28th, 2010 (10:21 AM).
                        Jm20's Avatar
                        Jm20 Jm20 is offline
                        A.k.a. Zig :-)
                           
                          Join Date: Sep 2009
                          Location: The Netherlands
                          Age: 25
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 88
                          I tried to batch compile, and recieved the error:
                          "Runtime error 13
                          Type mismatch"
                          Is this a noobish mistake from me, or is it a bug? Anyway, can I use the batch compiler anyway?
                          Reply With Quote
                            #1370    
                          Old September 29th, 2010 (3:42 AM).
                          Poke_DaviD's Avatar
                          Poke_DaviD Poke_DaviD is offline
                             
                            Join Date: May 2006
                            Location: Canada
                            Age: 27
                            Gender:
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 36
                            For some reason XSE keep's closing when I open it .. I've tried running it with different compatibility and as admin .. any help?

                            Running Windows 7 32-Bit
                            __________________

                            ------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            ------------------------------------------------------------------------


                            Dragon Ball Z: New Levels
                            Progess: 0%[-[15%]---------]100%
                            Reply With Quote
                              #1371    
                            Old October 14th, 2010 (4:34 PM).
                            francisbb's Avatar
                            francisbb francisbb is offline
                            Join the Legacy...
                               
                              Join Date: Aug 2010
                              Location: SLEEPY ISLAND z...z...Z
                              Age: 22
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Modest
                              Posts: 27
                              Your hacking tools are awsome
                              Reply With Quote
                                #1372    
                              Old October 14th, 2010 (4:44 PM).
                              countryemo's Avatar
                              countryemo countryemo is offline
                              Kicking against the earth!
                              • Silver Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Dec 2009
                              Location: Littleroot Town
                              Age: 23
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Quiet
                              Posts: 2,358
                              Oh yeah, might as well post this

                              So I recently downloaded A-ptch, but when I try to apply one, I cant click "run"
                              __________________
                              Reply With Quote
                                #1373    
                              Old October 22nd, 2010 (7:23 AM).
                              Hobusu's Avatar
                              Hobusu Hobusu is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: May 2009
                                Nature: Quirky
                                Posts: 52
                                I have a problem...

                                I get the Runtime Error 380 in SMCA and I kinda need this program to work.

                                Just to be sure, I redownloaded the latest version and it still happens.

                                I'm trying to hack FR right now.
                                __________________
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #1374    
                                Old October 22nd, 2010 (7:36 AM). Edited October 22nd, 2010 by metalsteelix.
                                metalsteelix's Avatar
                                metalsteelix metalsteelix is offline
                                shadow
                                   
                                  Join Date: Aug 2010
                                  Location: the netherlands
                                  Age: 21
                                  Gender: Female
                                  Nature: Quiet
                                  Posts: 15
                                  hello hackmew!

                                  i got all the things but i'm missing some files like comctl32.ocx etc.
                                  do you know where i can get these?
                                  i got this now, and i needed player to run it.
                                  got that too, and now i need dll, i don't get it all :s
                                  __________________
                                  hello all, my name is shadow.
                                  i recently joined the pokecommunity, so you will hear more from me
                                  why not look around at my youtube? i make walkthroughs from other hacks.
                                  http://www.youtube.com/user/shadowswalkthroughs
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #1375    
                                  Old October 22nd, 2010 (11:10 PM).
                                  plaplo plaplo is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Oct 2010
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 1
                                    I still Dont Know How Shinyzer Works I've got Version 1.1 or something.
                                    i checked the tutorial but i still dont know how it works!


                                    PLZ Help!!!
                                    Reply With Quote
                                    Reply

                                    Quick Reply

                                    Join the conversation!

                                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                    Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                    Sponsored Links
                                    Thread Tools

                                    Posting Rules
                                    You may not post new threads
                                    You may not post replies
                                    You may not post attachments
                                    You may not edit your posts

                                    BB code is On
                                    Smilies are On
                                    [IMG] code is On
                                    HTML code is Off

                                    Forum Jump


                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:06 AM.