Energy Question - Double Rainbow Energy

Kairyu

speedy digital tablet artist
  • 743
    Posts
    21
    Years
    I just came across this new card the other day when I convinced a friend to start playing Pokemon. As we were opening a few packs I got a strange energy card called, Double Rainbow Energy. It wasn't all that great after reading it but an interesting question popped into my head...

    My Question: Lets say if I could attach this type of energy to Dragonite ex so I could use its first attack, Dragon Wave. Being that the energy card can pay for both energy costs, dragonite would be able to use it, right? But it also says I have to discard a lightning and Water energy card when using it. But if I had none to discard (since its a special energy card) am I still able to use the attack? It doesn't say that I can't use it if I can't discard anything, but it doesn't mention that I could either =/.

    I'm a bit forgetful on these type of rulings so I'm hoping you guys or gals could help this old dragon out. XD

    note: Yes, I know Double Rainbow energy can't be used on "EX pokemon" I am just using it as an example.

    oh here's a scan of what it looks like:
    [PokeCommunity.com] Energy Question - Double Rainbow Energy

    Again, thank you in advance for answering the question!
     
    Last edited:
    Well I first noticed you can't use those energies on EX Pok?mon until I read what you said and looked at the pictures soo hmm..
    The Rainbow Energy says that it can be 2 different energies BUT it can't be 2 same evergies at a time giving your 'ol Dragonite to attack. This is kind of simple isn't it? Hmm maybe I'm wrong though XD

    Ok I told you on MSN;
    EDIT: No
     
    Last edited:
    MiNuN* said:
    Well I first noticed you can't use those energies on EX Pok?mon until I read what you said and looked at the pictures soo hmm..
    The Rainbow Energy says that it can be 2 different energies BUT it can't be 2 same evergies at a time giving your 'ol Dragonite to attack. This is kind of simple isn't it? Hmm maybe I'm wrong though XD
    Eh? That doesn't answer my question >_0

    Double rainbow energy can provide every type of energy, just only two at a time. Nothing more and nothing less. My question is, if the attack said to discard two specific energy cards would I have to discard that energy card in order for my attack to work? But the contradiction is that I don't have that specific energy card to discard, you see.

    In my point of view I think it would work, but I think it would be safe that I ask about it first.
     
    Bullados said:
    This HAS been ruled on. The official ruling from POP is that if the Pokemon that Double Rainbow Energy is attached to ever becomes a Pokemon-ex, then Double Rainbow Energy is immediately discarded.

    This means that you couldn't even think of the combo that you're thinking of.
    *Big Sigh*

    Please read my entire 1st post before answering my question, do not just look at the pictures XD. I've already stated that I am using Dragonite ex as a example because its the only pokemon I could think of that has a attack that requires two kinds of energy yet contains the text that you must discard those cards... But it didn't say you could not use the attack if you were "unable" to discard the specified cards.
     
    since double rainbow energy says it can turn in to any energy well its an energy can't it turn in to its self x2?
     
    ahh.. I had to use a few big words XD

    sableye said:
    since double rainbow energy says it can turn in to any energy well its an energy can't it turn in to its self x2?
    Huh? Please elaborate.

    Bullados said:
    Basic Energy, it can't become Special Energy.

    You cannot attach Double Rainbow to any Pokemon-ex, even after it has come into play.
    lol don't worry about that part, I'm just using its first attack as an example. So please, just ignore the fact that its from a EX pokemon.

    Bullados said:
    However, Double Rainbow would have to be discarded to pay for both of those effects because they say [L] and [W] energy, and not BASIC [L] and [W] energy card.
    Actually, I think you're wrong about that. Why is that?
    Well, because:

    1) The attack specified that a Lightning and Water energy card is to be discarded from the pokemon using the attack. The word "card" is a very important word, without it you would be correct with your previous statement. As the term "energy" would only count the actual amount of energy attached to the concerning pokemon rather than the amount of "energy cards" attached to it.

    2) Double Rainbow Energy is considered as being one energy card, it just has the ability to provide 2 energies at any one time. Also, it is specifically noted as a special energy card. Not a Water or Lightning energy card. Though, it can provide that type of energy to pay for the attack costs.
     
    So that quite frankly explains that I'am the only one who answered your question? *on my first post* And all the others explains things you didn't ask for?
    And yeah now I understand..
    The Double rainbow Energy ISN'T a water and lightning energy so you CAN attack without DISCARDING ^_^; ..Right?
     
    Last edited:
    MiNuN* said:
    So that quite frankly explains that I'am the only one who answered your question? *on my first post* And all the others explains things you didn't ask for?
    And yeah now I understand..
    The Double rainbow Energy ISN'T a water and lightning energy so you CAN attack without DISCARDING ^_^; ..Right?
    Exactly! That's basically the question I'm trying to ask everyone, but it seems not many know all the rules about energy and energy cards (its been a big issue within my group of friends.)

    Well after chatting with a friend from pokemonzeo forums we came to a conclusion that it is "implied" that you must discard a Lightning and Water Energy Card. Mostly because Nintendo remove the last line of text to most "new" cards with a similar ability saying, "If _____ and _____ cards isn't discarded then the attack does nothing." I think they did it to help save room for other text, lol. Oh well I guess I answered my own question, ahh thanks anyway everyone! :P
     
    Bullados said:
    Basic Energy, it can't become Special Energy.

    You cannot attach Double Rainbow to any Pokemon-ex, even after it has come into play. However, Double Rainbow would have to be discarded to pay for both of those effects because they say [L] and [W] energy, and not BASIC [L] and [W] energy card.
    it dosent say basic Energy look at the card closely it says it can turn in to any energy card.
    Its an Energy card can't it turn in to its self x2 so you would get 2 Double Rainbow Energys?
     
    Back
    Top