• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Help With Oneshot's

Swift!

The Swiftiest
Years
  • I have an idea for a Oneshot, but I've never written one before and I don't know how to go about doing so.
    Let me just jump right in with what I need help with...

1. What is the average length of a Oneshot?
    2. What must a Onceshot include? (introduction, conflict, conclusion, etc)
    3. If the Oneshot is about characters from the franchise and yet the idea isn't canon, does it matter how you go about portraying it?

Thanks to anyone who bothers to help.

icomeanon6

It's "I Come Anon"
    Years
  • 1. A one-shot must be as long as it needs to be. Don't think about how long other people's are, just think about your story and what length suits it best.

2. A one-shot is generally a self-contained story, so it should contain everything you listed. The idea behind a one-shot is that it isn't a fragment of a story, but an entire story that isn't divided into chapters.

3. If you're using characters from one of the Pokemon canons, it's important to be consistent with characterization. The characters should act like they would if it were a canonical story. As for any events you make up, just be sure that they don't contradict any canonical events, and it should be fine.

JX Valentine

Your aquatic overlord
    Years
  • To add to what icomeanon's already said, let me just define what a one-shot is.