• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

These cards I bought at Walmart...

Are the cards pirated?

• Yes, definitely

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Maybe a few of them

Votes: 2 33.3%
  • No, but it's illegal for that company to sell them this way

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I'm not sure

Votes: 1 16.7%
  • Not at all!

Votes: 3 50.0%

• Total voters

Wei_wei

'04 Hoenn League Champion
Years
Hello everybody,

I've collected the TGC since it came out. I have over 500 cards, and basically know what I'm doing ;P However, I ran into something weird today, and I honest-to-god can't tell if the cards are pirated/fake or not. I have a lot of experience telling the difference between the two, but this idea of what I saw is so new to me.

I went to Walmart, which, as you may know (Or may not, if your country doesn't have Walmarts) is that they do sometimes sell retail stuff that factories wanted gone. I've seen it plenty of times before. Today, when I went to get a Plasma Freeze pack over by the counters (I'm trying to get Espeon! :) Four blippin' packs and I STILL haven't gotten one! But I got Umbreon and Jolteon, haha!), and I saw these Pokemon cards that just looked... weird. A little off, y'know? You could see the backs of the cards through the plastic, and as far as I could see, they looked legit. The package was green, with pictures of random Pokemon on it (Mudkip, Weaville, Jigglypuff, Torchic, Piplup, Budew, Chimchar, Turtwig, Charmander, Cyndaquil, Bulbasaur, and some other Pokemon I don't know [but I know is real]). It was only $3 and I wanted to see what was up, so I bought it.

The back reads,