• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

What do you guys do first in hacks (and some other related questions)

Years
    • Seen Jan 19, 2017
    Hello there. I'm new to the ROM hacking community (and just game making in general) and while I am learning all sorts of new things, I'd still like to discuss things as well.

To pros and beginners and everyone inbetween: Where do you start with your game hack? After planning and outlining and drafting and concepts and all that (or if your like me a little bit, after choosing a concept and hacking by the seat of your pants)?

I'm planning on starting with my town map, so that way I know where everything goes. Though I have FireRed as my base so I have lot more space to work with, which is needed due to the amount of wildness I have planned.

So where do you guys start on your hacks, after planning and concepts?

ALSO, unrelated to my main question but still related to hacking, is there any pokemon editors that allow you to change evolutions to some of the weirder ways introduced in Gen IV onwards? Because I'd like to have all trade pokemon evolve while holding an item (not using it) and also I'm planning on creating an Eevee evolution that requires a Smeargle to be in the party.

Also, since we have Feebas involve into Milotic through max beauty, I was wondering if there was unused code or something similar that would allow a pokemon to evolve with max toughness or coolness. I wanted to use that was to start a branch evolution with a pokemon I'm pretty sure many of us used in the gen I, at least, for a small while.

Del

Iт'ѕ rαιɴιɴɢ oυтѕιde [...]
    Years