• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Writing Advice Needed (Making Characters Likable)

Years
  • Hey guys, my name is Queen Freeloader & I am an aspiring writer. Though I recently started & surely have a lot to learn, I am determined to improve. I realized there are a lot of fantastic writers on this forum & I didn't see why I couldn't ask you guys for your advice on a problem I'm experiencing while writing.

My characters are often either unlikable or very hollow & one dimensional. After re-reading the short pieces I have written, I am unable to get into the stories due to the lack of caring about the protagonists. This has been my biggest weakness for as long as I can remember, and I am polity asking for any writers to help me out.

For example, in one fanfiction I've started on, one of the main characters is a vicious bully (who slowly grew out of her ways). One of the reasons for her hasty nature is her own dark past so my original plan was to play the sympathy card, but I have to admit, she's still not particularly likable. Even I, the author, wouldn't root for her if I was an average reader despite her being the heroine.

Anyways, that's about it! Thanks so much!

Negrek

Am I more than you bargained for yet?
    Years
  • "Hollow and one-dimensional" is a far, far, far, far larger problem than "unlikeable." I'd focus on that first, both in the interest of improving your writing and producing characters people will have an easier time connecting with.