• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Developing] Cubed: Rotations Relative (video included)

Zerro

Dreamer
Years
  • Cubed is a game that I have been working on for several years in various different forms. It started out as a simple C++ game. Over it's lifetime I would develop some, then scrap the project, and start anew months later. Now I have a game that I am rather proud of. Developed 100% by me, using Unity and C#. I humbly await feedback.

Cubed is a hybrid action puzzle game with hints of exploration.

The game itself takes place on a Cube. This Cube is your home. Your world. At the start of the game most of the Cube is shut down. Locked away beyond your reach. Scattered throughout the world are floating spheres called cores. When you find these cores you can enter them and be immediately teleported to a 'level'

Completing a core activates it. Active cores supply power to the world, give you access to previously inaccessible places. The Cube world acts as a level select and a general progression indication. Activating the cores breathes life into your world.

But what of the gameplay?

The game is a 3D side view side scroller. On a Cube. What does this mean? If you walk to the right in a straight line, you will eventually end up right where you started. If you fall down a hole and nothing stops your fall, you will fall down and eventually fall to the exact place you started. Rotations can get a little confusing, it is best to see it in action.

Keep in mind I am no artist. So none of the game assets are final. I am merely showing off gameplay features.