• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Question] What options are there for making games?

CharizardY

Master of Fire
Years
  • I've been pondering the idea of becoming a game developer for almost over 5 years now. As much as i'd like to re-enroll back into Full Sail University for game development the timing right now isn't working out with my wallet. I'm interested in learning how to create my own games. Game like Pokemon and Zelda are my focus point as for the look.

I have a graphic/web design background and education. My real question is what resources are out there and what's thee best paid/free software out!

Thanks all.

tImE

It's still me, 44tim44 ;)
    Years
  • Well, this forum is focused mostly on Pokémon fan-games, especially those developed using development software RPG Maker XP.
    It's an easy to use program with great potential to make what you want, if you put in enough time to learn it's associated scripting language Ruby.

There is also newer version of RPG Maker, called "VX" and "VX Ace", but they lack the ability to use Pokémon Essentials, which is basically and SDK for "RPG Maker XP" which is specialized for making Pokémon Games.
    Since you mentioned Zelda, I might as well add that there are "Starter Kits/SDKs" for that as well, but not here.

There are also the options of making your own engine in your own desired programming language, or using other Game Making Programs like "Game Maker", etc.