• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

My First Attempt at a Real Team (NU)

FalconsDrummer

Why yes, I have an Octillery.
Years
  • Hi! I haven't really done much competitive battling (and when I did, I usually lost). This is my first try at putting a lot of thought into a team. It started last summer, when I would be bored at my mind-numbing job so I would try to think of unique movesets and such - only to come home and find that the ideas I came up with were already on Smogon. I worked on it, though, making combinations of my own ideas and Smogon sets. I submit to you, what's left of the S&M raters, the first draft of my NU Rain Dance team. (Side note: I did actually catch/breed and raise all of these myself.)

101d.png
    211.png
    195.png
    224.png
    6e.png
    400.png

Here goes:
    101d.png

Blue Sparx/ELECTRODE @ Damp Rock
    Ability: Static
    EVs: 252 Atk / 4 SpA / 252 Spe
    Nature: Hasty (+Spe, -Def)
    - Rain Dance
    - Taunt
    - Thunder
    - Explosion

This is an example of one I thought of on my own, felt proud of, and then discovered it's pretty commonly used. Nevertheless, it seems pretty effective at its job, which is to immediately blow my cover, exposing this as a Rain Dance team, and then get out. He sets up the first Rain Dance then blows up. Alternatively, Taunt can be used to prevent the opponent's lead from setting up, and Thunder can be used to deal some damage (100% accuracy in rain) if the situation calls for it.

211.png

Spudge/QUILFISH @ Life Orb
    Ability: Swift Swim
    EVs: 252 Atk / 4 Def / 252 Spe
    Nature: Adamant (+Atk, -SpA)
    - Toxic Spikes
    - Waterfall